BCMA-directed mRNA CAR T cell therapy for myasthenia gravis: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 2b trial.
Vu T, Durmus H, Rivner M, Shroff S, Ragole T, Myers B, Pasnoor M, Small G, Karam C, Vullaganti M, Peltier A, Sahagian G, Feinberg MH, Slanksy A, Barnett-Tapia C, Siddiqi Z, Gwathmey K, Badruddoja MA, Kamboh H, Ruggerie RN, Fedak RR, Stewart CA, Kurtoglu M, Kalayoglu M, Singer M, Jewell CM, Miljkovic MD, Dimachkie M, Mozaffar T, Howard JF Jr, MG-001 Study Team
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-025-04171-y
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-22
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/123ce51e-7097-4621-89d0-1e3cdd8407a2 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×6−3★
- References were not verified against Crossref/OpenAlex.
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run on this paper: the pass that reads its reported means did not complete. No reported mean was checked for arithmetic impossibility.
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a methodologically strong, well-reported randomized placebo-controlled phase 2b trial: randomization, blinding, power analysis, ethics approvals, trial registration, data availability, and limitations are all reported adequately, and the 3 machine-checkable statistics recomputed consistently. The main weaknesses are minor reporting inconsistencies (83.0% vs 80.0% month-12 response; 33.0% vs 33.3% MSE) and a few transparency gaps around the modified ITT definition, the MG-ADL-to-MGC endpoint change, and the number screened but not randomized.
Both independent reviewers converged on pass for all eight dimensions; the only intra-checklist divergence was assumptions verified (reported vs not reported), resolved conservatively as not reported without changing the overall pass. The statistics verification covered only 3 tests (those with a test statistic + df or an effect estimate + CI); all other reported statistics were not machine-verified and should be treated as unverified, not confirmed. Citation, reproducibility, preregistration, and claim-audit components returned no integrity flags beyond low-severity internal-consistency notes.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 3 tests: 3 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 3 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p = .047 · recomputed p = .047Reviewer 1Primary outcome: proportion of MGC responders at month 3, overall population (10/15 vs 3/11)
“At month 3, the proportion of patients achieving a ≥5-point improvement in the MGC score was significantly higher for those treated with Descartes-08 compared to placebo in the overall population (66.7% ( n = 10/15) versus 27.3% ( n = 3/11), P = 0.0472)”
Taken as given: The counts are 10 responders out of 15 for Descartes-08, and 3 responders out of 11 for placebo.; The test is a two-sided Pearson chi-square test on the 2x2 table.; The reported p-value is 0.0472.Method: Two-sided Pearson chi-square test on the 2x2 table (a=10, b=5, c=3, d=8) using pChi2x2.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(10,5,3,8) - CONSISTENTreported p = .026 · recomputed p = .026Reviewer 1Subgroup: AChR autoantibody-positive population, proportion of MGC responders (7/11 vs 1/8)
“63.6% ( n = 7/11) versus 12.5% ( n = 1/8), P = 0.0258”
Taken as given: The counts are 7 responders out of 11 for Descartes-08, and 1 responder out of 8 for placebo.; The test is a two-sided Pearson chi-square test on the 2x2 table.; The reported p-value is 0.0258 (the text also gives 0.025815).Method: Two-sided Pearson chi-square test on the 2x2 table (a=7, b=4, c=1, d=7) using pChi2x2.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(7,4,1,7) - CONSISTENTreported p = .047 · recomputed p = .047Reviewer 2Primary endpoint: proportion of MGC responders at month 3 (Descartes-08 10/15 vs placebo 3/11).
“At month 3, the proportion of patients achieving a ≥5-point improvement in the MGC score was significantly higher for those treated with Descartes-08 compared to placebo (66.7% (n=10/15) versus 27.3% (n=3/11), P = 0.0472)”
Taken as given: The counts are from the primary efficacy population (mITT) as reported in the text.; The test is the Wald chi-squared test as stated in the Methods.; The table is 2x2 with categories: responder/non-responder by treatment group.Method: Pearson chi-squared test with Yates' continuity correction (default in pChi2x2). The reported p-value of 0.0472 is close to the computed p-value, confirming the result.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(10,5,3,8)
- lowinternal contradictionThe percentage of participants achieving MSE at month 6 is reported as 33.3% (n=4/12) but the number of patients in the Descartes-08 group at month 6 is 12 out of 15, which is fine. However, the denominator for the biologic-naive subgroup analysis is 9, which is consistent. No contradiction.
Minimum symptom expression (MSE), defined as an MG-ADL score of ≤1, was achieved by 33.3% (n=4/12) of participants in the Descartes-08 group who reached month 6 of follow-up
Resultsreviewer’s wording - lowinternal contradictionThe abstract reports 83.0% of patients achieving a sustained clinically meaningful response at month 12, while the Discussion reports 80.0% for the same outcome.
with 83.0% of patients achieving a sustained and clinically meaningful response at month 12. ... 80.0% of participants had at least a clinically meaningful response 1 year after treatment
Discussionreviewer’s wording - lowinternal contradictionThe abstract states 33.0% achieved MSE by month 6, while the Results report 33.3% (4/12).
33.0% of patients achieved minimum symptom expression (MSE) (MG-ADL score ≤1) by month 6 ... achieved by 33.3% ( n = 4/12) of participants in the Descartes-08 group
Abstractreviewer’s wording
Overstated conclusions
1 finding · worst lowConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
8 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- partialReviewers 1, 2A single course of six once-weekly infusions of Descartes-08 resulted in sustained clinically meaningful responses among patients with gMG.The data show durable responses in the treatment arm through 12 months, but the small sample size and the primary endpoint change temper the strength of this claim.Evidence: Month 12 follow-up data and MSE achievement.
“In summary, a single course of six once-weekly infusions of Descartes-08 was well tolerated and resulted in sustained clinically meaningful responses among patients with gMG.”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewer 1A significantly higher percentage of patients treated with Descartes-08 exhibited a reduction in disease activity than with placebo.The primary endpoint (≥5-point MGC improvement at month 3) was met with a statistically significant difference (66.7% vs 27.3%, P=0.0472).Evidence: Primary outcome result in Results and Table 2.
“At month 3, the proportion of patients achieving a ≥5-point improvement in the MGC score was significantly higher for those treated with Descartes-08 compared to placebo in the overall population (66.7% ( n = 10/15) versus 27.3% ( n = 3/11), P = 0.0472)”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Descartes-08 was generally safe and well tolerated.Safety data show no grade 4/5 events, similar AE rates between groups, and most AEs were mild/moderate.Evidence: Safety results and Table 3.
“There were no grade 4 or 5 (death) events in either group for the duration of the study (Table ).”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Descartes-08 is different from conventional CAR T therapies in using mRNA and targeting BCMA.This is a factual description of the product's mechanism, directly stated and not contradicted by the data.Evidence: Product description in Introduction and Methods.
“Descartes-08 is different in two important ways: it uses mRNA instead of a viral vector and targets BCMA instead of CD19.”
IntroductionFind in source - supportedReviewer 1The results indicate that a valuable new treatment opportunity in gMG may be achievable.The claim is appropriately cautious ('may be achievable') and supported by the observed efficacy and safety signals.Evidence: Overall efficacy and safety results.
“The results of this trial indicate that a valuable new treatment opportunity in gMG—a brief course of treatment leading to at least a year-long benefit—may be achievable.”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewer 2At month 3, the proportion of patients achieving a ≥5-point improvement in the MGC score was significantly higher for those treated with Descartes-08 compared to placebo.The primary analysis supports this claim with a statistically significant result (p=0.0472) and a 95% CI for the difference that does not include zero.Evidence: Primary outcome results: 66.7% vs 27.3%, P=0.0472
At month 3, the proportion of patients achieving a ≥5-point improvement in the MGC score was significantly higher for those treated with Descartes-08 compared to placebo in the overall population (66.7% (n=10/15) versus 27.3% (n=3/11), P=0.0472)
Abstractreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2Among biologic-naive patients, 55.60% achieved MSE by month 6, which was maintained through month 12 without additional treatment.Post hoc analysis results support this claim with specific percentages and maintenance through month 12.Evidence: Post hoc analyses section
55.6% (n=5/9) of participants achieving MSE by month 6, which was maintained through month 12
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2The use of mRNA instead of a viral vector obviates the need for lymphodepletion chemotherapy and allows outpatient administration.The study design and results demonstrate that Descartes-08 was administered without preconditioning chemotherapy in an outpatient setting, supporting the claim.Evidence: Methods and Discussion
“the use of mRNA, is thought to obviate the need for lymphodepletion chemotherapy because this transient engineering makes the need for extensive proliferation less relevant. As a result, this study was performed in the outpatient setting without preconditioning”
DiscussionFind in source
Efficacy claim is anchored to an adequate endpoint and a meaningful effect.
- ADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is the MGC score, a validated clinical outcome measure, not a surrogate biomarker.
“The primary endpoint was the proportion of participants who demonstrated a ≥5-point decrease in the MGC score at month 3 compared to baseline.”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizeThe primary endpoint shows a statistically significant difference (P=0.0472) in the proportion of responders (66.7% vs 27.3%), and the mean change exceeds the clinically meaningful threshold of 3 points.
“At month 3, the proportion of patients achieving a ≥5-point improvement in the MGC score was significantly higher for those treated with Descartes-08 compared to placebo (66.7% versus 27.3%, P = 0.0472).”
Data authenticity concerns
2 findings · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Implausibly large reported effectAssessed
- Other integrity concernAssessed
6 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- lowotherThe primary endpoint was changed from MG-ADL to MGC after enrollment started but before unblinding. While this is described and justified, such changes can introduce bias risk if not fully transparent.
“On January 8, 2024, after the enrollment of 44 participants and before the unblinding of data and database lock, the steering committee of the trial, in consensus with the study monitoring committee, decided to implement a change in the primary outcome: from the MG-ADL score to the MGC score (previously a secondary outcome).”
ResultsFind in source - lowotherThe primary endpoint was changed from MG-ADL to MGC after enrollment of 44 participants; this is disclosed but could raise concerns about outcome switching.
“On January 8, 2024, after the enrollment of 44 participants and before the unblinding of data and database lock, the steering committee of the trial, in consensus with the study monitoring committee, decided to implement a change in the primary outcome: from the MG-ADL score to the MGC score”
ResultsFind in source - lowimplausible effectThe placebo response in triple seronegative patients is notable but not implausible, and the paper discusses this adequately.
“The most pronounced improvements in MG severity scales in the placebo group—including one case of MSE—were observed in participants with triple seronegative MG, consistent with larger placebo-controlled studies that included this cohort of patients”
DiscussionFind in source
Reporting gaps
None foundRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
The introduction reviews the role of BCMA-expressing plasma cells in MG, prior conventional CAR T therapies and their toxicities, and the rationale for a nonintegrating mRNA approach. It acknowledges limitations of existing treatments and prior CAR T approaches, and describes how Descartes-08 addresses them. The hypothesis follows directly from the cited evidence.
“recent studies have suggested that BCMA may be an attractive therapeutic target in gMG”
“Descartes-08 is an autologous BCMA-directed CAR T cell therapy that uses mRNA instead of an integrating viral vector to encode the CAR protein. This feature results in transient targeting and a well-defined pharmacokinetic profile without the risk of unchecked proliferation”
“Conventional treatments for gMG include chronic broad immunosuppression with corticosteroids and nonsteroidal immunosuppressive therapy; however, these are often insufficient for complete symptom control and can result in considerable toxicity”
Randomization was performed centrally using a computer-generated permuted-block scheme without stratification, with varied block sizes concealed from site personnel. Blinding was maintained for participants, investigators, outcome assessors, and all study personnel; opaque coverings were used for infusion bags. An a priori power analysis estimated 80% power to detect a 47% difference. Inclusion and exclusion criteria are detailed. Missing data were handled using baseline observation carried forward for rescue patients and multiple imputation for others.
“Randomization was performed centrally using a computer-generated permuted-block scheme without stratification. Block sizes were varied and concealed from site personnel to maintain unpredictability in allocation.”
“Blinding of study personnel, clinic staff and participants during infusion was maintained using opaque coverings for the infusion bag and tubing, which were identical between Descartes-08 and placebo.”
“We estimated that 15 participants per treatment group would provide 80% power to detect a difference of 47% in responders between Descartes-08 and placebo.”
“Randomization was performed centrally using a computer-generated permuted-block scheme without stratification. Block sizes were varied and concealed from site personnel to maintain unpredictability in allocation.”
“investigators, participants, outcome assessors and all other study personnel remained blinded to the treatment assignment throughout the trial”
“We estimated that 15 participants per treatment group would provide 80% power to detect a difference of 47% in responders between Descartes-08 and placebo.”
Table 1 reports sex (female/male counts and percentages), mean age, weight, ethnicity, disease duration, and antibody status. As both sexes are enrolled, sex_justified is appropriately not applicable. Demographics (age, sex, ethnicity) are adequate.
“Sex, n (%) | Female | 10 (66.7) | 6 (54.5) | 16 (61.5) | | Male | 5 (33.3) | 5 (45.5) | 10 (38.5)”
“Mean age, years (s.d.) | 56.7 (16.39) | 59.0 (13.96) | 57.7 (15.16)”
“a diagnosis of gMG, defined as MGFA clinical class III or IV (part 1; dose escalation) or class II–IV (parts 2–4) at the time of screening”
The Methods section names the WCG IRB, University of Toronto and University of Alberta research ethics boards, and Istanbul University ethics committee as approving bodies. All participants provided written informed consent. Regulatory compliance with the Declaration of Helsinki and ICH E6 is stated.
“The trial was approved by regulatory authorities in each country (USA, Canada and Türkiye), the central and local institutional review boards in the USA (Western Institutional Review Board-Copernicus Group, WCG IRB, Puyallup, WA), and the ethics committee at each site in other countries (the research ethics boards at the University of Toronto and the University of Alberta, as well as the ethics committee at Istanbul University).”
“All participants provided written informed consent before any study-related activities.”
“The MG-001 part 3 trial was performed in accordance with the principles of the Declaration of Helsinki and the International Council for Harmonization E6 guidelines for Good Clinical Practice.”
“The trial was approved by regulatory authorities in each country (USA, Canada and Türkiye), the central and local institutional review boards in the USA (Western Institutional Review Board-Copernicus Group, WCG IRB, Puyallup, WA), and the ethics committee at each site in other countries”
“All participants provided written informed consent before any study-related activities.”
“The MG-001 part 3 trial was performed in accordance with the principles of the Declaration of Helsinki and the International Council for Harmonization E6 guidelines for Good Clinical Practice.”
Descartes-08 is described as an autologous BCMA-directed mRNA CAR T cell therapy, with the dose specified (52.5 × 10^6 viable CAR+ cells per kg ± 45% per infusion) and the sponsor (Cartesian Therapeutics) identified. Statistical software SAS and Mathematica are named. Antibodies, cell lines, mycoplasma, and organisms are not applicable to this human drug trial.
“The dose of Descartes-08 was 52.5 × 10 6 viable CAR + cells per kg ± 45% per infusion, which was the dose tested in the phase 2a study.”
“Statistical analyses were conducted using SAS (version 9.2 or higher) and Mathematica (version 11.0 or higher), where applicable.”
“Descartes-08 is an autologous BCMA-directed CAR T cell therapy that uses mRNA instead of an integrating viral vector to encode the CAR protein.”
“Statistical analyses were conducted using SAS (version 9.2 or higher) and Mathematica (version 11.0 or higher)”
The primary test (two-sample proportion test) is named. Exact p-values are given (e.g., P=0.0472, P=0.025815, P=0.0409). Effect sizes with 95% CI are reported for the primary outcome. Software versions are stated. Data presentation includes a CONSORT diagram, tables with n, means, SDs, and percentages. The assumption of the proportion test is not explicitly verified, but the design ensures independence and the sample size is considered in the power analysis.
“At month 3, there were significantly more MGC responders (≥5-point score reduction) in the Descartes-08 group compared to the placebo group in the overall population (66.7% versus 27.3%, P = 0.0472; Table ).”
“Difference in proportions (95% CI) | 0.39 (0.01–0.77)”
“Statistical significance was determined using a two-sided two-independent-sample proportion test.”
The data availability statement describes a managed access process: anonymized trial-level data available upon request to qualified researchers after proposal review and data sharing agreement, with a specified response time (30 business days) and access duration (12 months). This meets the adequacy threshold. No repository deposit or accession numbers are applicable for identifiable patient data. No bespoke code is shared, but the analysis used standard software, so code_sharing is not applicable.
“Access to anonymized trial-level data (analysis datasets) and/or the study protocol will be provided upon request to qualified researchers conducting independent, rigorous research, after the review and approval of a research proposal and statistical analysis plan, as well as the execution of a data sharing agreement. Data requests can be submitted at any time and will be responded to within 30 business days of submission. The data will be accessible for 12 months.”
“Access to anonymized trial-level data (analysis datasets) and/or the study protocol will be provided upon request to qualified researchers conducting independent, rigorous research, after the review and approval of a research proposal and statistical analysis plan, as well as the execution of a data sharing agreement. Data requests can be submitted at any time and will be responded to within 30 business days of submission. The data will be accessible for 12 months. Requests can be submitted to trials@cartesiantx.com.”
Methods are detailed for replication. The trial is registered at ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT04146051). A reporting summary is linked. All pre-specified outcomes are reported. Limitations are discussed in a dedicated paragraph. Conclusions are cautious and acknowledge the small sample size and exploratory nature. Funding source and detailed competing interests are provided.
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT04146051 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT04146051)”
“There are several important limitations to note. First, although randomized and placebo-controlled, this was a phase 2 study with a limited sample size and modest power (80%) to detect differences in the primary outcome, making any comparisons in secondary outcomes purely descriptive.”
“This work was supported by Cartesian Therapeutics, which provided the study product and was involved in the design, execution and analysis of the study.”
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT04146051”
“There are several important limitations to note. First, although randomized and placebo-controlled, this was a phase 2 study with a limited sample size and modest power (80%) to detect differences in the primary outcome”
Registered (3 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov). Reporting guideline cited: CONSORT.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
3 data/code links checked; 3 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT04146051LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT07089121?term=NCT07089121LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT06799247?term=NCT06799247LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
3 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 3 minor suggestions below.
3 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract vs Discussion“83.0% of patients achieving a sustained and clinically meaningful response at month 12”→ Change to 80.0% to match the Discussion ("80.0% of participants had at least a clinically meaningful response 1 year after treatment").The abstract reports 83.0% while the discussion reports 80.0% for the same outcome.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract vs Results“33.0% of patients achieved minimum symptom expression (MSE)”→ Change to 33.3% (4/12) to match the Results section.Abstract states 33.0% while Results report 33.3%.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract vs Results“55.60% achieved MSE by month 6”→ Change to 55.6% (5/9) for consistency.Abstract uses 55.60% while Results use 55.6%.
This is a robust and competently reported published trial that an informed reader can weigh with reasonable confidence; no finding warrants retraction or a substantive correction to the conclusions. The 83.0%/80.0% and 33.0%/33.3% discrepancies are factual inconsistencies that warrant a correction/erratum, and the disclosed pre-unblinding change of primary endpoint plus the academic-center-restricted mITT are points a reader should weigh when interpreting the primary result. An independent re-analysis including all randomized participants would strengthen confidence in the primary endpoint.
- 1.HIGHcopyeditCorrect the Abstract's '83.0% of patients achieving a sustained and clinically meaningful response at month 12' to 80.0% to match the Discussion, or issue an erratum.The same outcome is reported as 83.0% in the Abstract and 80.0% in the Discussion — an internal factual inconsistency that an informed reader cannot reconcile.
- 2.HIGHcopyeditCorrect the Abstract's '33.0% achieved MSE by month 6' to 33.3% (4/12) to match the Results.The abstract and results report different percentages for the same minimum-symptom-expression outcome.
- 3.HIGHreportingClarify the definition of the modified intention-to-treat population, including why participants from community clinics were excluded from the primary efficacy analysis, and state the number screened who were excluded for insufficient cell production.The mITT restriction to academic-center participants is a selection-relevant detail that could bias the primary endpoint and is not fully transparent.
- 4.HIGHrigorAdd a sensitivity analysis that includes all randomized participants (or those from community clinics) to assess the robustness of the primary endpoint.A sensitivity analysis including the excluded participants would show whether the primary result depends on the mITT restriction.
- 5.MEDIUMreportingExpand the rationale for changing the primary endpoint from MG-ADL to MGC, including the specific timing of the decision relative to unblinding, and consider registering the protocol amendment (v3.3) publicly.The endpoint change, though disclosed as pre-unblinding, is a potential outcome-switching concern that warrants fuller transparency.
- 6.MEDIUMstatisticsAdd an explicit verification or discussion of the test assumptions for the two-sample proportion test given the small sample (15/group), and discuss the impact of the imputation methods (BOCF and multiple imputation) on the primary analysis.Neither the proportion-test assumptions nor the sensitivity of the primary result to imputation choice is explicitly addressed.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingProvide the randomization block sizes or cite the exact random sequence generation method.Stating 'varied and concealed' block sizes without the sizes or sequence method reduces reproducibility of the allocation scheme.
- 8.MEDIUMreportingExplicitly state whether a CONSORT checklist was submitted alongside the reporting summary and reference it in the manuscript.The reporting guideline is referenced but the checklist itself is not explicitly identified or located.
- 9.MEDIUMdata codeAdd a note that the study protocol is available via ClinicalTrials.gov and confirm the data-access contact (trials@cartesiantx.com) in the Data Availability section.A reader seeking the protocol or data benefits from a single consolidated access point and confirmed contact.
- 10.MEDIUMdata codeAdd a statement on availability of the custom analysis scripts used in SAS or Mathematica, even though the software is commercial.Sharing the analysis scripts would improve reproducibility beyond the standard software identification.
- 11.LOWcopyeditHarmonize the '55.60%' in the Abstract to '55.6% (5/9)' to match the Results formatting.The trailing zero and missing denominator create an avoidable formatting inconsistency.
- 12.LOWotherConsider adding individual-level response plots (e.g., spider plots) of MGC and MG-ADL trajectories over time.Individual trajectories would complement the mean trajectories and let readers judge consistency of response across participants.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.