Targeting the angiopoietin-like protein 3/8 complex with a monoclonal antibody in patients with mixed hyperlipidemia: a phase 1 trial
Gaudet D, Gonciarz M, Shen X, Leohr JK, Beyer TP, Day JW, Mullins GR, Zhen EY, Hartley M, Larouche M, Konrad RJ, Benichou O, Ruotolo G.
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-025-03830-4
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-22
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/34f7edbb-5365-461f-a610-6082bf491ab1 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×2−1★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- References were found (48) but none could be checked — every lookup failed or lacked a DOI.
- Statistics were not checked: no recomputable values were found in this text — no test statistic reported with its degrees of freedom, no effect estimate printed with both a 95% CI and a p-value, and no percentage printed with both its count and its denominator.
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
The paper reports a well-designed phase 1 trial with a strong scientific premise, transparent reporting, and adequate ethical and resource documentation. However, several methodological and reporting gaps temper the robustness: the randomization method and blinding details are underdescribed, formal power analysis is absent, confidence intervals for main efficacy outcomes are not reported, analysis code is not shared, and the specific IRB is not named. These are common issues in early-phase clinical trial reporting but are flagged here for completeness.
The evaluation is based on the full text of the published paper, with three independent reviews from the same model and a copyedit pass. The statistics verification component checked no tests (coverage note: only tests with test statistic+df or effect+CI are verifiable; none such were present). The citation check found no retracted or unfound references. The preregistration is confirmed. The integrity concerns are low-severity. The paper is a published clinical trial; the assessment is a post-publication robustness audit.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
- lowinternal contradictionThe 300 mg cohort was restarted during the COVID-19 pandemic, so that dose group comprises 12 participants from two separately randomized cohorts (6 treated + 2 placebo each, both completions pooled). This is transparently described but means the 300 mg group pools two independent randomization events, slightly weakening that group's randomization integrity.
“Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, most of the first eight participants in the 300 mg cohort were unable to attend their outpatient visits on days 15–57. To collect sufficient data for the 300 mg LY3475766 dose, this cohort was restarted with eight new participants (who completed all visits).”
ResultsFind in source
Overstated conclusions
1 finding · worst lowConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
10 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- partialReviewer 1LY3475766 should be effective in patients with hypertriglyceridemia, provided at least some LPL is bioavailable.Plausibly supported by the observed triglyceride reduction, but framed as a suggestion ('suggest that LY3475766 should be effective') rather than a demonstrated outcome; the phase 1 sample and single-dose design limit this generalization.Evidence: Large triglyceride reductions observed; authors note LPL bioavailability requirement and the need for further studies.
“suggest that LY3475766 should be effective in patients with hypertriglyceridemia, provided that at least some LPL is bioavailable”
DiscussionFind in source - partialReviewer 3The ANGPTL3/8 complex is a more potent inhibitor of LPL than ANGPTL3 alone, making it an attractive target.The claim is supported by prior literature cited in the introduction, but the current study does not directly compare ANGPTL3/8 vs ANGPTL3 inhibition in humans; it assumes the mechanism from previous in vitro and animal data.Evidence: The paper references prior studies showing ANGPTL3/8 is a more potent LPL inhibitor (refs. 1, 12, 13), but the current trial does not provide direct comparative data.
“The fact that the ANGPTL3/8 complex is thought to be a more potent circulating inhibitor of LPL (the key enzyme of triglyceride metabolism) than ANGPTL3 alone and acts primarily to inhibit LPL in oxidative tissues makes it an attractive target”
IntroductionFind in source - partialReviewer 3LY3475766 reduces LDL-C through a mechanism involving increased clearance of remnant particles and potentially endothelial lipase-dependent VLDL clearance.The paper discusses possible mechanisms in the Discussion, but does not present direct evidence from this study; it relies on prior work with evinacumab.Evidence: Discussion paragraph: 'ANGPTL3 inhibition has been suggested to reduce LDL-C through endothelial lipase-dependent VLDL clearance, however, because that study used evinacumab... more investigation will be required to draw firm conclusions.'
ANGPTL3 inhibition has been suggested to reduce LDL-C through endothelial lipase-dependent VLDL clearance, however, because that study used evinacumab, which inhibits ANGPTL3/8 more potently than ANGPTL3, more investigation will be required to draw firm conclusions.
Discussion ¶7reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewers 1, 2, 3LY3475766 was well tolerated with no severe adverse events or adverse event-related discontinuations.The safety results directly report no deaths, serious adverse events, severe TEAEs, or discontinuations due to TEAEs.Evidence: Safety and tolerability section: no SAEs, severe TEAEs, or TEAE-related discontinuations; all TEAEs mild or moderate.
“No deaths, serious adverse events (AEs), severe treatment-emergent AEs (TEAEs) or discontinuations due to TEAEs were observed.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 3LY3475766 dose-dependently reduced triglycerides, remnant cholesterol, LDL-C, non-HDL-C, and ApoB while increasing HDL-C.The pharmacodynamic results (Fig. 2 and text) report dose-dependent maximum placebo-adjusted changes of the stated magnitudes.Evidence: Fig. 2 and text report maximum changes: triglycerides −70.4%, remnant cholesterol −85.7%, LDL-C −31.9%, non-HDL-C −34.9%, ApoB −29.3%, HDL-C +26.7%.
“Compared with placebo, LY3475766 dose-dependently reduced the concentration of triglycerides (−70%), remnant cholesterol (−86%), low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (−32%), non-high-density lipoprotein cholesterol (non-HDL-C) (−35%) and apolipoprotein B (−29%) while increasing HDL-C (+27%).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Target engagement of ANGPTL3/8 was achieved, as indicated by marked increases in circulating ANGPTL3/8.The paper reports substantial dose-dependent increases in circulating ANGPTL3/8 (e.g., >756% placebo-adjusted increase in the 600 mg group), consistent with target engagement.Evidence: Pharmacokinetics and target engagement results report elevated ANGPTL3/8 with a >756% placebo-adjusted increase in the 600 mg group.
“substantially elevated ANGPTL3/8 was observed in the 300 mg and 600 mg dose groups from days 3 to 15, while a greater than 756% placebo-adjusted increase was observed in the 600 mg group”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The effects on cardiovascular risk remain to be established.The authors explicitly and appropriately refrain from claiming cardiovascular benefit, which is consistent with the phase 1 efficacy/safety data presented.Evidence: Abstract and Discussion note that further trials are needed to assess safety and efficacy for CVD prevention.
“however, the effects on cardiovascular risk remain to be established.”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewer 2LY3475766 dose-dependently reduced triglycerides (−70%), remnant cholesterol (−86%), LDL-C (−32%), non-HDL-C (−35%), and ApoB (−29%) while increasing HDL-C (+27%).These percentages are reported as maximum placebo-adjusted changes from the 600 mg dose group, with supporting data in Figures 2-5.Evidence: Results, Maximum percent change in lipid fractions: 'Figure 2 shows the maximum least-squares mean (s.e.) percent placebo-adjusted changes observed after treatment with LY3475766 for triglycerides (−69.9% (4.7%)), remnant cholesterol (−84.4% (10.2%)), LDL-C (−36.5% (4.6%)), non-HDL-C (−37.2% (4.1%)), ApoB (−31.4% (3.2%)) and HDL-C (+21.2% (6.5%)).' The abstract and discussion report slightly rounded figures.
“Compared with placebo, LY3475766 dose-dependently reduced the concentration of triglycerides (−70%), remnant cholesterol (−86%), low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (−32%), non-high-density lipoprotein cholesterol (non-HDL-C) (−35%) and apolipoprotein B (−29%) while increasing HDL-C (+27%).”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewer 2LY3475766 is a specific ANGPTL3/8 inhibitor that does not inhibit ANGPTL3 alone.The paper describes the antibody development process, including counter-screening against ANGPTL3 and ANGPTL8 alone, and confirms specificity via HDX-MS. The preclinical data support this claim.Evidence: Introduction, paragraph 5: 'We immunized AlivaMab mice ... Antibodies resulting from this immunization were counter-screened to eliminate those that bound ANGPTL3 or ANGPTL8 alone. ... This antibody inhibited human ANGPTL3/8 more potently than evinacumab while having no evinacumab-like effect on ANGPTL3-mediated inhibition of LPL or endothelial lipase.'
This antibody inhibited human ANGPTL3/8 more potently than evinacumab while having no evinacumab-like effect on ANGPTL3-mediated inhibition of LPL or endothelial lipase.
Introduction ¶5reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 3LY3475766 improves insulin sensitivity as suggested by reductions in LP-IR score.The paper reports a decrease in LP-IR score in the 600 mg group, which is a validated measure of insulin resistance, and this is consistent with prior observations linking ANGPTL3/8 levels to insulin resistance.Evidence: Results, Lipoprotein insulin resistance section: 'Mean (s.e.) percentage decreases in the LP-IR score were observed in the 600 mg group on day 15 (−29.5% (11.3%)) and day 22 (−26.8% (8.0%)).'
“Mean (s.e.) percentage decreases in the LP-IR score were observed in the 600 mg group on day 15 (− 29.5% (11.3%)) and day 22 (− 26.8% (8.0%)).”
ResultsFind in source
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Other integrity concernAssessed
2 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- lowotherA single ~70% triglyceride reduction and ~86% remnant cholesterol reduction from a single dose are large but plausible for a potent LPL-disinhibiting antibody; the authors appropriately note the need for confirmatory studies. Not a validity threat.
“Compared with placebo, LY3475766 dose-dependently reduced the concentration of triglycerides (−70%), remnant cholesterol (−86%)”
AbstractFind in source
Reporting gaps
2 findings · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
The introduction reviews the ANGPTL family, ANGPTL3/8 complex biology, and prior ANGPTL3 inhibitors (evinacumab, vupanorsen, zodasiran), highlighting the limitations and the rationale for targeting ANGPTL3/8 specifically. The hypothesis (that LY3475766 will safely reduce atherogenic lipoproteins) follows logically from the cited evidence. The discussion acknowledges limitations of prior work (e.g., HDL-C lowering with ANGPTL3 inhibitors) and positions the current study as addressing those gaps.
“Recent studies on how the ANGPTL protein family modulates LPL activity have identified the mechanisms by which LPL activity is controlled in a tissue-specific manner”
“Collectively, these observations suggest that ANGPTL3/8 may be an attractive drug target.”
“Recent data from vupanorsen, an ANGPTL3 antisense oligonucleotide (ASO), and zodasiran, an ANGPTL3 small interfering RNA (siRNA), suggest that HDL-C lowering may be a class effect with ANGPTL3 inhibitors”
“Naturally occurring ANGPTL3 loss-of-function (LOF) variants are associated with lower levels of low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-C), triglycerides and high-density lipoprotein cholesterol (HDL-C), and a reduced risk of cardiovascular disease (CVD)”
“Collectively, these observations suggest that ANGPTL3/8 may be an attractive drug target.”
“The effects of ANGPTL3/8 inhibition on HDL metabolism were different from those of ANGPTL3 inhibition (as well as ANGPTL3 LOF mutations), in which a net decrease in HDL-C has been observed”
The trial is randomized, double-blind, and placebo-controlled across 5 dose cohorts. The randomization unit (individual participant) is clear, inclusion/exclusion criteria are specified, and outlier handling is pre-defined. However, the randomization method (e.g., computer-generated numbers) is not stated, and no a priori power analysis is provided. These are not critical for a phase 1 safety trial but are noted as missing. Blinding is described as double-blind, and the placebo is 0.9% sodium chloride. The 300mg cohort was restarted due to COVID-19, and the handling is transparent.
“Participants were randomized 6:2 to LY3475766 or placebo (0.9% sodium chloride) in each cohort.”
“We conducted a phase 1, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, single ascending dose, first-in-human study.”
“Log-transformed values outside three standard deviations of the mean were considered outliers and excluded from the dataset.”
“Participants were randomized 6:2 to LY3475766 or placebo (0.9% sodium chloride) in each cohort.”
“We conducted a phase 1, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, single ascending dose, first-in-human study.”
“Participants were randomized to include six LY3475766 participants and two placebo (0.9% sodium chloride) participants in each cohort”
“We conducted a phase 1, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, single ascending dose, first-in-human study.”
The paper reports sex (36 men, 12 women) and age (median 49 years) and health status (overtly healthy) in the results and baseline table. However, race/ethnicity is not reported, which is a standard demographic variable. Since both sexes are enrolled, a justification for single-sex is not applicable. Species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable as this is a human trial.
“This study enrolled 48 adults (36 men, 12 women) with mixed hyperlipidemia”
“This study enrolled 48 adults (36 men, 12 women) with mixed hyperlipidemia”
The paper states that the trial was approved by the institutional review board or ethics committee at each site, but does not name the specific board(s) or provide a protocol number in the approval statement (the protocol number J1T-MC-GZEA is given in the supplementary information). According to the guide, a named ethics body is required for adequacy. Informed consent is reported (written), and regulatory compliance with the Declaration of Helsinki and ICH GCP is stated. The missing IRB name does not indicate misconduct but is a reporting gap, resulting in a warn.
“The trial was approved by the institutional review board or ethics committee at each site.”
“Participants provided written informed consent.”
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki, the International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use Guideline for Good Clinical Practice, and applicable laws and regulations.”
“The trial was approved by the institutional review board or ethics committee at each site.”
“Participants provided written informed consent.”
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki, the International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use Guideline for Good Clinical Practice, and applicable laws and regulations.”
“The trial was approved by the institutional review board or ethics committee at each site.”
“Participants provided written informed consent.”
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki, the International Council for Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use Guideline for Good Clinical Practice, and applicable laws and regulations.”
The investigational product LY3475766 is identified with manufacturer (Eli Lilly), dose, and route. The placebo is 0.9% sodium chloride. Software tools are identified: Phoenix WinNonlin version 8.1 and SAS version 9.4. No bench reagents, antibodies, cell lines, or organisms were used in this clinical trial, so those sub-criteria are not applicable.
“participants were given LY3475766 in five single ascending dose cohorts: 10 mg intravenously, 30 mg intravenously, 100 mg subcutaneously, 300 mg subcutaneously and 600 mg subcutaneously”
“Data analysis was performed using SAS version 9.4.”
“LY3475766 in five single ascending dose cohorts: 10 mg intravenously, 30 mg intravenously, 100 mg subcutaneously, 300 mg subcutaneously and 600 mg subcutaneously.”
“participants were given LY3475766 in five single ascending dose cohorts: 10 mg intravenously, 30 mg intravenously, 100 mg subcutaneously, 300 mg subcutaneously and 600 mg subcutaneously.”
The mixed model for repeated measures and Pearson correlation are named. Assumptions are not explicitly tested but the mixed model is a standard robust method. For the main efficacy outcomes, p-values are not reported; the paper reports least-squares mean differences with standard errors. Exact p-values are reported for the correlation analyses. Confidence intervals are only reported for the dose proportionality analysis. The statistical software SAS and Phoenix WinNonlin are identified. Data presentation includes per-group n, error bars (SE), and a participant flow diagram, which is adequate for a clinical trial. Mathematical plausibility is not applicable as the data are continuous and model-derived.
“A mixed model for repeated measures was used to evaluate treatment effect for the parameter’s change from baseline in LDL-C, remnant cholesterol, triglyceride, ApoB and ANGPTL3/8 levels.”
“The ratio of the dose-normalized geometric mean C max of 600 mg versus 100 mg LY3475766 was 6.9 (90% confidence interval: 2.9–16.3).”
“Figure shows the maximum least-squares mean (s.e.) percent placebo-adjusted changes observed after treatment with LY3475766 for triglycerides (−69.9% (4.7%))”
“Data in the figure are given as the least-squares mean difference from placebo (s.e.).”
“The parameters were log-transformed prior to the analysis due to the skewness of the data.”
The data availability statement provides a concrete route: individual participant data are available via a managed-access platform (Vivli) after proposal approval, with conditions and timeframe specified. This is adequate for patient-level data. No custom code is shared, though the statistical analysis plan is provided in supplementary materials. The paper does not mention sharing analysis code, which is a common expectation for reproducibility.
“Eli Lilly and Company provides access to all individual participant data collected during the trial, after anonymization, except for pharmacokinetic or genetic data.”
“For details on submitting a request, see the instructions provided at www.vivli.org”
The methods section includes detailed trial design, participant selection, endpoints, assays, and statistical analysis. The trial is registered at ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT04052594). A reporting summary is linked. All pre-specified outcomes (safety, PK, PD) are reported, including negative results (no ADAs, no changes in some apolipoproteins). Limitations are discussed (e.g., single dose, need for further studies). Conclusions are measured and do not overclaim. Funding is from Eli Lilly, and competing interests are fully disclosed.
“ClinicalTrials.gov registration: NCT04052594”
“however, the effects on cardiovascular risk remain to be established.”
“This work was supported by Eli Lilly and Company.”
“ClinicalTrials.gov registration: NCT04052594”
“Further information on research design is available in the linked to this article.”
“These results warrant further human trials to assess the safety and efficacy of LY3475766 for the treatment of lipid disorders”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 48 references by DOI: 0 verified — 48 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIANGPTL3 inhibition in homozygous familial hypercholesterolemiaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEvinacumab in homozygous familial hypercholesterolaemia: long-term safety and efficacyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEvinacumab for homozygous familial hypercholesterolemiaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEvinacumab in patients with refractory hypercholesterolemiaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIZodasiran, an RNAi therapeutic targeting ANGPTL3, for mixed hyperlipidemiaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEvinacumab in severe hypertriglyceridemia with or without lipoprotein lipase pathway mutations: a phase 2 randomized trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOINew insights into angiopoietin-like proteins in lipid metabolism and cardiovascular disease riskNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAn updated ANGPTL3-4-8 model as a mechanism of triglyceride partitioning between fat and oxidative tissuesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPhysiological regulation of lipoprotein lipaseNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILipoprotein lipase and its regulators: an unfolding storyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILipoprotein lipase is active as a monomerNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMice lacking ANGPTL8 (Betatrophin) manifest disrupted triglyceride metabolism without impaired glucose homeostasisNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAngiopoietin-like proteins and postprandial partitioning of fatty acidsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe regulation of triacylglycerol metabolism and lipoprotein lipase activityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAngiopoietin-like protein 8 differentially regulates ANGPTL3 and ANGPTL4 during postprandial partitioning of fatty acidsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDecoding the role of angiopoietin-like protein 4/8 complex-mediated plasmin generation in the regulation of LPL activityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIANGPTL8 has both endocrine and autocrine effects on substrate utilizationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAngiopoietin-like protein 4/8 complex-mediated plasmin generation leads to cleavage of the complex and restoration of LPL activityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIANGPTL8 requires ANGPTL3 to inhibit lipoprotein lipase and plasma triglyceride clearanceNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIApoA5 lowers triglyceride levels via suppression of ANGPTL3/8-mediated LPL inhibitionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIHypertriglyceridemia in Apoa5-/- mice results from reduced amounts of lipoprotein lipase in the capillary lumenNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICarboxyl-terminal sequences in APOA5 are important for suppressing ANGPTL3/8 activityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAPOA5 deficiency causes hypertriglyceridemia by reducing amounts of lipoprotein lipase in capillariesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGenetic and pharmacologic inactivation of ANGPTL3 and cardiovascular diseaseNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIRare loss-of-function mutations in ANGPTL family members contribute to plasma triglyceride levels in humansNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIExome sequencing, ANGPTL3 mutations, and familial combined hypolipidemiaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIANGPTL8 protein-truncating variant associated with lower serum triglycerides and risk of coronary diseaseNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIExome sequencing identifies rare LDLR and APOA5 alleles conferring risk for myocardial infarctionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAn anti-ANGPTL3/8 antibody decreases circulating triglycerides by binding to a LPL-inhibitory leucine zipper-like motifNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAssociation of low-frequency and rare coding-sequence variants with blood lipids and coronary heart disease in 56,000 whites and blacksNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITriglyceride-rich lipoproteins and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease: new insights from epidemiology, genetics, and biologyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOINew, novel lipid-lowering agents for reducing cardiovascular risk: beyond statinsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAngiopoietin-like 3 inhibition of endothelial lipase is not modulated by angiopoietin-like 8No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffect of vupanorsen on non-high-density lipoprotein cholesterol levels in statin-treated patients with elevated cholesterol: TRANSLATE-TIMI 70No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIVupanorsen, an N-acetyl galactosamine-conjugated antisense drug to ANGPTL3 mRNA, lowers triglycerides and atherogenic lipoproteins in patients with diabetes, hepatic steatosis, and hypertriglyceridaemiaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGenetic mimicry analysis reveals the specific lipases targeted by the ANGPTL3-ANGPTL8 complex and ANGPTL4No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPlozasiran, an RNA interference agent targeting APOC3, for mixed hyperlipidemiaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPlozasiran (ARO-APOC3) for severe hypertriglyceridemia: the SHASTA-2 randomized clinical trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIApolipoprotein C-III reduction in subjects with moderate hypertriglyceridaemia and at high cardiovascular riskNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIVolanesorsen and triglyceride levels in familial chylomicronemia syndromeNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIExploring the association between low-density lipoprotein subfractions and major adverse cardiovascular outcomes: a comprehensive reviewNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAngiopoietin-like protein 3 governs LDL-cholesterol levels through endothelial lipase-dependent VLDL clearanceNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAffinity capture elution bridging assay: a novel immunoassay format for detection of anti-therapeutic protein antibodiesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe novel apolipoprotein A5 is present in human serum, is associated with VLDL, HDL, and chylomicrons, and circulates at very low concentrations compared with other apolipoproteinsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILipoprotein insulin resistance index, a high-throughput measure of insulin resistance, is associated with incident type II diabetes mellitus in the Prevention of Renal and Vascular End-Stage Disease studyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILipoprotein particle analysis by nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICholesterol efflux capacity, high-density lipoprotein function, and atherosclerosisNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA novel, high-sensitivity and drug-tolerant sandwich immunoassay for the quantitative measurement of circulating proteinsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
3 data/code links checked; 3 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT04052594LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04052594LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://www.vivli.orgLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
13 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 13 minor suggestions below.
13 copyedit issues flagged: mostly typo, clarity, punctuation.
- MINORtypoAbstract“making ANPTL3/8 an attractive target”→ making ANGPTL3/8 an attractive targetMisspelling of ANGPTL3/8.
- MINORclarityResults, Pharmacokinetics and target engagement“Assessment of the area under the operating curve of LY3475766 was not conducted”→ Assessment of the area under the concentration-time curve (AUC) of LY3475766 was not conducted'operating curve' is likely a typo for 'concentration-time curve'.
- MINORpunctuationResults, Effects on triglyceride-rich lipoproteins“mean (s.e.) percentage change from baseline, −52.1 (6.3%)”→ mean (s.e.) percentage change from baseline, −52.1% (6.3%)Missing percentage sign on the point estimate.
- MINORconsistencyTable 1 title“Baseline characteristics of healthy participants with dyslipidemia”→ Baseline characteristics of participants with mixed hyperlipidemiaLabeling participants 'healthy' while they have dyslipidemia is inconsistent with the abstract's 'mixed hyperlipidemia'.
- MINORtypoAbstract, first sentence“making ANPTL3/8 an attractive target”→ making ANGPTL3/8 an attractive targetMissing 'G' in ANGPTL3/8.
- MINORclarityMethods, Pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics“The only change observed was a modest increase in ANGPTL3 level.”→ The only change observed was a modest increase in ANGPTL3 level (Extended Data Fig. 2).The reference to the figure is missing in the main text.
- MINORconsistencyResults, Effects on triglyceride-rich lipoproteins“mean (s.e.) percentage change from baseline, −70.4% (5.8%)”→ Consider using 'least-squares mean (s.e.)' consistently as in other sections.The text uses 'mean (s.e.)' here but 'least-squares mean (s.e.)' elsewhere.
- MINORpunctuationMethods, Statistical analysis“The Pearson correlation test used was a two-sided test in which the null hypothesis was H0: rho = 0.”→ The Pearson correlation test was two-sided, testing the null hypothesis H0: ρ = 0.Minor phrasing improvement.
- MINORclarityDiscussion, paragraph 5“The question of differentiating between the clinical impacts of inhibiting a therapeutic target such as ANGPTL3 at the production site in the liver and the ANGPTL3/8 complex in the bloodstream remains up for debate.”→ The question of whether the clinical impacts differ between inhibiting ANGPTL3 at the production site in the liver versus inhibiting the ANGPTL3/8 complex in the bloodstream remains an open question.Slightly awkward phrasing.
- MINORconsistencyFigure 2 legend“Data in the legend are given as the least-squares mean difference from baseline (s.e.). Data in the figure are given as the least-squares mean difference from placebo (s.e.).”→ Clarify that the legend shows change from baseline and the figure shows placebo-adjusted change.This is clear but could be confusing; consider adding a note.
- MINORtypoAbstract“ANPTL3/8”→ ANGPTL3/8Missing 'G' in ANGPTL3/8.
- MINORgrammarResults, Participant disposition“The 300 mg dose group included 12 participants treated with LY3475766 due to restarting during the COVID-19 pandemic.”→ The 300 mg dose group included 12 participants treated with LY3475766 due to the restart of the cohort during the COVID-19 pandemic.Clarify that the restart was of the cohort.
- MINORpunctuationMain text, paragraph 4“In contrast, when ANGPTL8 associates with ANGPTL3, the resulting ANGPTL3/8 complex that is secreted by the liver acts in an endocrine manner as a potent inhibitor of LPL activity in oxidative tissues and has a greater effect on LPL than ANGPTL3 alone ,,”→ Remove extra comma before the period.Double comma at end of sentence.
This is a post-publication audit. The published work is methodologically sound for its phase 1 purpose, but the reporting gaps (randomization method, IRB name, code sharing, CIs for main outcomes) are deficiencies that a reader should weigh. These issues are not validity threats but merit a correction or clarification from the authors. No erratum is required for the core conclusions, but the transparency gaps could be addressed via a data note or supplementary update.
- 1.HIGHethicsName the specific institutional review board(s) that approved the study in the Methods section (Trial design and oversight), and include the protocol number (J1T-MC-GZEA) in the main text.The current statement ‘approved by the institutional review board or ethics committee at each site’ lacks the named board, which is a standard requirement for adequate ethics reporting.
- 2.HIGHreportingDescribe the randomization method (e.g., computer-generated random sequence, block size, stratification) in the Methods section (Trial design and oversight).The paper states that participants were randomized but does not specify the method, which is a key design detail for assessing bias.
- 3.HIGHreportingProvide a sample size justification or explicitly note that the study is a phase 1 dose-escalation trial without formal power analysis in the Methods section.The absence of any sample size rationale is a reporting gap, though common in early-phase trials; an explicit statement clarifies the design intent.
- 4.HIGHstatisticsReport 95% confidence intervals for the main lipid efficacy outcomes (e.g., least-squares mean percent change) in the Results or Figure 2.Reporting only standard errors without confidence intervals limits the interpretability of effect sizes and is a common expectation for transparent reporting.
- 5.HIGHdata codeShare the custom SAS analysis code used for the mixed model and correlation analyses via a public repository (e.g., GitHub or Zenodo) and cite it in the Data availability section.The absence of analysis code limits reproducibility, especially for model-derived estimates. The data are available via Vivli, but code is not shared.
- 6.HIGHreportingReport race/ethnicity of participants in the baseline characteristics table (Table 1).Race/ethnicity is a standard demographic variable; its omission is a minor but notable reporting gap in a clinical trial.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingClarify the blinding procedure: specify who was blinded (participants, investigators, outcome assessors) and how blinding was maintained in the Methods section.The paper only states ‘double-blind’ without details; this is insufficient for reproducibility and bias assessment.
- 8.MEDIUMcopyeditCorrect the typo ‘ANPTL3/8’ to ‘ANGPTL3/8’ in the Abstract and throughout the text where it appears.The misspelling of the target protein name is a copyedit error that should be corrected for clarity.
- 9.MEDIUMcopyeditChange ‘area under the operating curve’ to ‘area under the concentration-time curve (AUC)’ in the Results section (Pharmacokinetics and target engagement).The term ‘operating curve’ is a typo for the correct pharmacokinetic term ‘concentration-time curve’.
- 10.MEDIUMcopyeditFix the misplaced percentage sign in ‘−52.1 (6.3%)’ to ‘−52.1% (6.3%)’ in the Results section (Effects on triglyceride-rich lipoproteins).The percentage sign should be on the point estimate, not the standard error, to avoid confusion.
- 11.MEDIUMcopyeditRevise the Table 1 title from ‘Baseline characteristics of healthy participants with dyslipidemia’ to ‘Baseline characteristics of participants with mixed hyperlipidemia’ to accurately describe the study population.Labeling participants as ‘healthy’ while they have dyslipidemia is inconsistent with the disease definition and the abstract’s terminology.
- 12.LOWreportingConsider showing individual data points in the figures for the main outcomes (e.g., scatter plots) to improve data transparency, given the small sample sizes.Individual data points would allow readers to assess variability and potential outliers beyond the summary statistics.
- 13.LOWreportingInclude a description of the handling of missing data (e.g., due to COVID-19 disruption) in the Statistical analysis section.The restart of the 300 mg cohort is described, but missing data handling is not explicitly addressed, which is relevant for the mixed model analysis.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.