Bimagrumab plus semaglutide alone or in combination for the treatment of obesity: a randomized phase 2 trial.
Heymsfield SB, Aronne LJ, Montgomery P, Klickstein LB, Coleman LA, Dole K, Mindeholm L, Spruill S, Li X, Attie KM, BELIEVE trial investigators
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-026-04204-0
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-21
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/375f5aa1-2b56-4b2e-a076-6f242c7abc60 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern−0.5★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- ReportingKey resources partially met−0.25★
- ReportingStatistical analysis partially met−0.25★
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run: 10 reported means were read, and their group size is not stated where the values are printed (this source has no machine-readable table structure). These checks need the count the mean was averaged over, so none was performed.
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
The paper is a well-conducted phase 2 RCT with strong methodological rigor in design, biological variables, and transparency. The main weaknesses are missing ethics-approval and informed-consent statements, lack of manufacturer identification for investigational products, imprecise p-value reporting, and missing statistical software identification.
The evaluation is based on the full manuscript text, with coverage of all eight dimensions. The statistical analysis verification recomputed only 4 tests (all consistent); the remaining p-values, especially threshold-only ones, were not verified. The reviewers were two independent runs of the same model and agreed on all dimensions except statistical analysis (warn vs. pass), which was resolved by weighing the evidence for imprecise p-value reporting.
Numerical inconsistencies
None foundValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Recomputed 4 tests: 4 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 4 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 1Primary endpoint: high-dose combination (bimagrumab 30 mg/kg + semaglutide 2.4 mg) LS mean difference from placebo in body weight at week 48, reported p < 0.001.
“−14.5 (−18.0 to −11.0) p < 0.001”
Taken as given: the 95% CI is two-sided; the estimate −14.5 kg is the LS mean difference from placebo with its 95% CI; the normal approximation adequately reflects the two-sided t-test usedMethod: Two-tailed p back-computed from the 95% CI: SE=(high−low)/(2×1.96), z=estimate/SE, p=2×(1−Φ(|z|)).How we recomputed it: pCI(-14.5, -18.0, -11.0, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p = .133 · recomputed p = .131Reviewer 1Primary endpoint: bimagrumab 10 mg/kg LS mean difference from placebo in body weight at week 48, reported p = 0.133.
“−2.7 (−6.2 to 0.8) p = 0.133”
Taken as given: the 95% CI is two-sided; the estimate −2.7 kg is the LS mean difference from placebo with its 95% CI; the normal approximation adequately reflects the two-sided t-test usedMethod: Two-tailed p back-computed from the 95% CI: SE=(high−low)/(2×1.96), z=estimate/SE, p=2×(1−Φ(|z|)).How we recomputed it: pCI(-2.7, -6.2, 0.8, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = .001Reviewer 1Primary endpoint: bimagrumab 30 mg/kg LS mean difference from placebo in body weight at week 48, reported p < 0.001.
“−5.9 (−9.5 to −2.4) p < 0.001”
Taken as given: the 95% CI is two-sided; the estimate −5.9 kg is the LS mean difference from placebo with its 95% CI; the normal approximation adequately reflects the two-sided t-test usedMethod: Two-tailed p back-computed from the 95% CI: SE=(high−low)/(2×1.96), z=estimate/SE, p=2×(1−Φ(|z|)).How we recomputed it: pCI(-5.9, -9.5, -2.4, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p = .133 · recomputed p = .131Reviewer 2Verify p-value for bimagrumab 10 mg/kg vs placebo.
“LSM difference from placebo (95% CI) | −2.7 (−6.2 to 0.8) p = 0.133”
Taken as given: The 95% CI is two-sided; The estimate is the LSM difference; The CI is for the difference in meansMethod: Two-sided t-test via pCI from estimate and CIHow we recomputed it: pCI(-2.7, -6.2, 0.8, 0)
Overstated conclusions
None foundConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
5 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- supportedReviewer 1Bimagrumab combined with semaglutide led to up to 17.8 kg weight reduction, surpassing the effects of semaglutide alone (up to 14.2 kg).The primary-endpoint data directly support this: high-dose combination −17.8 kg vs semaglutide 2.4 mg −14.2 kg, with p=0.039 versus semaglutide 2.4 mg.Evidence: Table 2 primary endpoint: high-dose combination LSM −17.8 ± 1.3 kg vs semaglutide 2.4 mg −14.2 ± 1.2 kg; P value versus semaglutide 2.4 mg p = 0.039.
“bimagrumab combined with semaglutide led to up to 17.8 kg weight reduction, surpassing the effects of semaglutide alone (up to 14.2 kg)”
Table 2Find in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The combination preserved lean mass while reducing visceral fat.DXA data show combination groups lost less lean mass (−1.3 kg high-dose vs −3.9 kg semaglutide 2.4 mg) while reducing VAT (−0.7 kg vs −0.4 kg), both p<0.001 versus semaglutide 2.4 mg.Evidence: Table 2 secondary endpoints: total body lean mass and VAT (DXA) with p-values versus semaglutide 2.4 mg.
“Notably, the combination preserved lean mass while reducing visceral fat”
Table 2Find in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Bimagrumab plus semaglutide resulted in substantial reductions in body weight.Highly significant reductions versus placebo (−17.8 kg vs −3.3 kg, p<0.001) at week 48, with continued improvement to week 72 (−24.2 kg high-dose combination).Evidence: Primary endpoint and week-72 efficacy-estimand results.
“Bimagrumab plus semaglutide resulted in substantial reductions in body weight”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Safety was consistent with the known safety profiles of both drugs.Safety data show the expected AE profiles (muscle spasms/acne with bimagrumab; nausea/diarrhea/constipation with semaglutide), no deaths, and no new safety signals in the extension.Evidence: Table 3 and open-label extension safety data.
“safety was consistent with the known safety profiles of both drugs”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2The combination shows potential for effective obesity management.The results demonstrate significant weight loss and favorable body composition changes, supporting the potential of the combination, though the paper appropriately notes the phase 2 nature and need for further study.Evidence: Discussion and abstract highlight the findings, but the paper states these are preliminary and require confirmation.
“Bimagrumab plus semaglutide resulted in substantial reductions in body weight, and safety was consistent with the known safety profiles of both drugs.”
DiscussionFind in source
Efficacy claim is anchored to an adequate endpoint and a meaningful effect.
- N/ASurrogate endpointPrimary endpoint is body weight, a clinical outcome
“The primary and secondary endpoints were absolute change from baseline in body weight at week 48 and week 72, respectively.”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizeHigh-dose combination achieved -17.8 kg weight loss vs placebo -3.3 kg, a clinically meaningful effect
“The least squares mean absolute changes in body weight at week 48 were −9.3 kg (bimagrumab 30 mg kg−1), −14.2 kg (semaglutide 2.4 mg) and −17.8 kg (bimagrumab 30 mg kg−1 plus semaglutide 2.4 mg—that is, high-dose combination) versus −3.3 kg (placebo) (all P < 0.001 versus placebo).”
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Other integrity concernAssessed
1 integrity concern flagged (0 high).
- lowotherBaseline laboratory values are presented as geometric mean with extremely high CVs (e.g., free testosterone CV 365.9% overall, hsCRP CV 132.9%); these are wide but plausible for log-normally distributed biomarkers measured in a heterogeneous population, and are not arithmetic impossibilities.
“Free testosterone c , nmol l −1 | 2.2 (365.9)”
Table 1Find in source
Reporting gaps
3 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Statistical reporting gaps (tests, assumptions, effect sizes)Assessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
- Key resources under-identified (antibodies, cell lines, RRIDs)Assessed
The introduction cites prior studies on bimagrumab's effects on fat and lean mass, the role of incretin-based therapies, and preclinical combination data. It logically links the premise to the study objectives and addresses limitations of prior research (e.g., lean mass loss with current therapies).
Randomization used a centralized web-based interactive response system with stratification by sex (1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1 ratio). Blinding: bimagrumab was double-blind, semaglutide was open-label due to commercial prefilled pens, with a stated rationale. Power analysis: 495 participants provided >80% power to detect a 5% weight reduction difference with SD 8% and 20% dropout. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are detailed in Methods. Other criteria (replicate_distinction, controls, independent_replication) are not applicable for a human RCT.
“Participants were randomly assigned (1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1:1 ratio) to one of the following nine treatment groups using a centralized web-based interactive response system”
“The participant, investigator and sponsor were blinded to bimagrumab dose or placebo−bimagrumab until database lock to avoid bias in reporting adverse events and efficacy.”
“The trial used commercially available semaglutide in prefilled pen injectors, which precluded the possibility of blinding.”
Sex is reported (57.4% female), age (mean 47.5 years), race/ethnicity, and health status (BMI, waist circumference, HbA1c, etc.) are all provided. Sex_justified is not applicable as both sexes were enrolled. Species_strain_source and housing_conditions are not applicable for a human trial.
“most participants were female (57.4%) and White (75.1%)”
The paper mentions clinical trial registration (NCT05616013) and states adherence to the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice guidelines, but it does not include a clear statement that an IRB or ethics committee approved the study or that informed consent was obtained. This is a fixable reporting gap, not a misconduct indicator.
Bimagrumab is described as an investigational antibody but without a manufacturer or source. Semaglutide is referred to as 'commercially available' but not named with a manufacturer. The statistical software (e.g., SAS) is not mentioned. Other criteria (antibodies, cell lines, mycoplasma, organisms) are not applicable.
“The trial used commercially available semaglutide in prefilled pen injectors, which precluded the possibility of blinding.”
Tests are named (two-sided t-tests without multiplicity adjustment, ANCOVA, MMRM, logistic regression) and assumptions are handled by design (unstructured covariance, multiple imputation under MAR). Effect sizes with 95% CIs are reported for the primary endpoint and many secondary endpoints. However, numerous p-values appear only as 'p < 0.001' thresholds (imprecise reporting), and the statistical software/version is not stated. Baseline percentages were spot-checked (e.g., 291/507 = 57.4%; 32/56 = 57.1%) and are internally consistent; no arithmetic errors were found.
“−14.5 (−18.0 to −11.0) p < 0.001”
“No multiplicity adjustments were made; therefore, these results should not be used to infer definitive treatment effects.”
“The confidence intervals (CIs) and P values for comparisons with placebo and semaglutide 2.4 mg were calculated using two-sided t -tests without multiplicity adjustment.”
The data availability statement is concrete: names Vivli as the platform, specifies the conditions (6 months after approval, proposal review, signed agreement), and provides a URL. Repository deposit is not applicable for patient-level data. Accession numbers are not applicable. Code sharing is not reported, but the study likely used standard statistical software, not custom code. Data_availability_statement is adequate.
“Access is provided after a proposal has been approved by an independent review committee identified for this purpose and after receipt of a signed data-sharing agreement.”
“For details on submitting a request, see the instructions provided at https://vivli.org/”
Methods are complete enough for replication. Trial registration number is given (NCT05616013). All pre-specified outcomes are reported, including post-hoc analyses at week 72. Limitations are discussed (open-label semaglutide, no multiplicity adjustment, post-hoc analyses). Conclusions are proportional, noting that results should not be used to infer definitive treatment effects. Funding and conflicts of interest are comprehensively disclosed. A reporting guideline is not mentioned, which is a minor omission.
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT05616013”
“Eli Lilly and Company funded the study and all support for the manuscript.”
“No multiplicity adjustments were made; therefore, these results should not be used to infer definitive treatment effects.”
“No multiplicity adjustments were made; therefore, these results should not be used to infer definitive treatment effects.”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 33 references by DOI: 3 verified — 30 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIWorld Obesity Atlas 2024No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIObesity and cardiovascular disease: a scientific statement from the American Heart AssociationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIObesity: global epidemiology and pathogenesisNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIOnce-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITirzepatide once weekly for the treatment of obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIWeight loss composition is one-fourth fat-free mass: a critical review and critique of this widely cited ruleNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe impact of weight loss on fat-free mass, muscle, bone and hematopoiesis health: Implications for emerging pharmacotherapies aiming at fat reduction and lean mass preservationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAn antibody blocking activin type II receptors induces strong skeletal muscle hypertrophy and protects from atrophyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIRare loss of function variants in the hepatokine gene INHBE protect from abdominal obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMultiancestry exome sequencing reveals INHBE mutations associated with favorable fat distribution and protection from diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBimagrumab improves body composition and insulin sensitivity in insulin-resistant individualsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffect of bimagrumab vs placebo on body fat mass among adults with type 2 diabetes and obesity: a phase 2 randomized clinical trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe incretin/glucagon system as a target for pharmacotherapy of obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIOR10-03 Murine bimagrumab co-administration with incretin agonists results in additive efficacy and superior quality weight loss in the mouse diet-induced obesity modelNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAntibody blockade of activin type II receptors preserves skeletal muscle mass and enhances fat loss during GLP-1 receptor agonismNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDefinition and diagnostic criteria of clinical obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIStrategies for minimizing muscle loss during use of incretin-mimetic drugs for treatment of obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGLP1Ra-based therapies and DXA-acquired musculoskeletal health outcomes: a focused meta-analysis of placebo-controlled trialsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAmerican Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery review of body compositionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBody fat mass and distribution as predictors of metabolic outcome and weight loss after Roux-en-Y gastric bypassNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILaparoscopic sleeve gastrectomy and Roux-en-Y gastric bypass lead to equal changes in body composition and energy metabolism 17 months postoperatively: a prospective randomized trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITotal and regional appendicular skeletal muscle mass prediction from dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry body composition modelsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPhysiopathological mechanisms related to inflammation in obesity and type 2 diabetes mellitusNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGDF8 and activin A are the key negative regulators of muscle mass in postmenopausal females: a randomized phase I trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPhase 3 trial of sotatercept for treatment of pulmonary arterial hypertensionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of bimagrumab (BYM338)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITreatment of sarcopenia with bimagrumab: results from a phase II, randomized, controlled, proof-of-concept studyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffect of bimagrumab on thigh muscle volume and composition in men with casting-induced atrophyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBimagrumab to improve recovery after hip fracture in older adults: a multicentre, double-blind, randomised, parallel-group, placebo-controlled, phase 2a/b trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBimagrumab vs optimized standard of care for treatment of sarcopenia in community-dwelling older adults: a randomized clinical trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
2 data/code links checked; 2 live.
- datahttps://vivli.org/LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT05616013LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
5 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 5 minor suggestions below.
5 copyedit issues flagged: mostly clarity, grammar, consistency.
- MINORclarityBody composition (efficacy estimand)“Results for appendicular lean mass at week 48 are presented in Table .”→ Insert the table number (e.g., 'Table 2').Empty cross-reference placeholder.
- MINORgrammarReporting summary“Further information on research design is available in the linked to this article.”→ Revise to 'is available in the Reporting Summary linked to this article'.Incomplete sentence.
- MINORclarityData availability“are provided with this paper.”→ Remove the dangling clause or attach it to a complete sentence about supplementary materials.Sentence fragment at end of the data-availability statement.
- MINORconsistencyTable 2, dose labels“Placebo + semaglutide”→ Consider renaming 'Placebo + semaglutide' to 'Semaglutide alone' for clarity, as there is no bimagrumab in these arms.The column headers are accurate but could be confusing to readers.
- MINORclarityMethods, Statistical analysis“No multiplicity adjustments were made; therefore, these results should not be used to infer definitive treatment effects.”→ This caveat is appropriate and well-placed.No change needed, but it is a good practice.
This is a published paper; the post-publication robustness assessment indicates that the findings are generally reliable. An informed reader should weigh the missing ethics and consent statements, the lack of exact p-values for many comparisons, and the absence of manufacturer and software details. These are reporting gaps that do not invalidate the conclusions but would warrant a correction or clarification from the authors.
- 1.HIGHethicsAdd a named IRB/ethics committee approval statement with the protocol number to the Methods (Ethics section).This is a standard requirement for human clinical trials; its absence is a reporting gap that should be corrected or clarified.
- 2.HIGHethicsAdd a statement that written informed consent was obtained from all participants (or waived with justification) to the Methods (Ethics section).Informed consent is a fundamental ethical requirement for human subjects research; the current paper omits it.
- 3.HIGHstatisticsReplace threshold p-values ('p < 0.001') with exact p-values (e.g., p < 0.0001 or actual values) in Table 2 and figures where feasible.Exact p-values improve reproducibility and allow readers to assess the strength of evidence; threshold-only reporting is imprecise.
- 4.HIGHreportingIdentify the manufacturer/source for bimagrumab and the manufacturer for semaglutide in the Methods (Procedures).Full identification of investigational products is essential for reproducibility and to meet journal standards for resource reporting.
- 5.HIGHstatisticsSpecify the statistical software and version used (e.g., SAS version 9.4, R version 4.2) in the Statistical analysis section.Software identification is a standard requirement for reproducibility; it is currently missing.
- 6.MEDIUMcopyeditInsert the correct table number (e.g., 'Table 2') in the body composition results where the placeholder 'Table .' appears.The empty cross-reference is a copyedit error that should be corrected.
- 7.MEDIUMcopyeditRevise the sentence 'Further information on research design is available in the linked to this article' to 'is available in the Reporting Summary linked to this article'.The original is incomplete; the correction improves clarity.
- 8.MEDIUMcopyeditFix the dangling clause at the end of the data-availability statement: 'are provided with this paper.' should be attached to a complete sentence about supplementary materials.The sentence fragment should be corrected for clarity.
- 9.LOWcopyeditConsider renaming the column 'Placebo + semaglutide' in Table 2 to 'Semaglutide alone' for clarity.The current label is accurate but could be confusing to readers as it implies a placebo for bimagrumab when none is present.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.