Zoliflodacin versus ceftriaxone plus azithromycin for treatment of uncomplicated urogenital gonorrhoea: an international, randomised, controlled, open-label, phase 3, non-inferiority clinical trial
Luckey A, Balasegaram M, Barbee LA, Batteiger TA, Broadhurst H, Cohen SE, Delany-Moretlwe S, de Vries HJC, Dionne JA, Gill K, Kenyon C, Kittiyaowamarn R, Lewis D, Mueller JP, Naicker V, O'Brien S, O'Donnell JP, Phanuphak N, Spooner E, Srinivasan S, Taylor SN, Unemo M, Zwane Z, Hook EW, Zoliflodacin Phase 3 Study Group.
- DOI
- 10.1016/s0140-6736(25)01953-1
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-21
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/4071a771-8a2a-4496-b3d6-a0065ccf115e is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×2−1★
- ClaimsUnsupported claim (uncorroborated)−0.5★
- ClaimsOverstated claim−0.5★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- ReportingKey resources partially met−0.25★
- ReportingStatistical analysis partially met−0.25★
- CitationsUnresolved reference−0.25★
- 01Conclusion not supported by the paper’s own evidence
This is the largest trial conducted to date in participants with N gonorrhoeae infection.
“A major strength of this study is its size; this is the largest trial conducted to date in participants with N gonorrhoeae infection.”
DiscussionFind in source - 02Internal contradictions in the reported numbers
The trial profile states 1011 participants were screened at 16 of 17 sites, with an additional 32 screened at a 17th site (31 randomized) and excluded after a GCP breach, yet the total randomized is 930 with only 81 screen failures. The arithmetic is ambiguous: if the 32 are outside the 1011, the total screened is 1043 and 1043−81=962, not 930; if they are inside, the excluded participants appear to remain in the randomized count.
“Between Nov 6, 2019, and March 16, 2023, 1011 participants were screened at 16 of the 17 sites. One site screened an additional 32 participants (31 of whom were randomly assigned and treated); however, after identification of a serious breach of Good Clinical…”
Abstract ¶1Find in source - 03Internal contradictions in the reported numbers
The text reports 455 participants from South Africa, but Table 1 sums to 424 (278 zoliflodacin + 146 comparator). The stated percentage (46%) is consistent with 424/930, not 455/930.
“Most participants were from South Africa (455 [46%] participants), followed by Thailand (270 [29%] participants), the USA (158 [17%] participants), and Europe (78 [8%] participants).”
Table 1Find in source - 04Conclusion reaches beyond the evidence
Zoliflodacin might reduce antibiotic selection pressure and help preserve the effectiveness of other antibiotic classes, notably ceftriaxone.
“Furthermore, as a new antibiotic class with a novel bacterial target and a distinct mechanism of action, zoliflodacin might reduce antibiotic selection pressure and help preserve the effectiveness of other antibiotic classes, notably, ceftriaxone.”
Discussion ¶3Find in source
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
The paper reports a well-designed phase 3 trial with a clear scientific premise, robust randomization, and thorough statistical methods. Key reporting gaps include unnamed ethics committees, missing manufacturer details for investigational drugs, imprecise p-value reporting, and internal contradictions in participant counts (South Africa number and trial profile).
Synthesis based on two independent reviewer evaluations (same model, independent runs) that agreed on seven of eight dimensions; the statistical analysis divergence was resolved by weighing the imprecise p-value as a reporting deficiency. Copyedit findings and verification components (citation, statistics, reproducibility, integrity, claim audit) were integrated. The statistics verification covered only 2 tests; the citation check found one reference not located in the registry.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst mediumValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 2 tests: 2 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 2 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 1Two-tailed Wald p for the race odds ratio in the post-hoc logistic regression for neutropenia, recomputed from the reported 90% CI.
“Post-hoc multivariate logistic regression analysis revealed a strong association of neutropenia with race (Black or African American odds ratio 109·70, 90% CI 20·91–575·53; p<0·0001) and male sex (0·24, 0·11–0·53, p=0·0029)”
Taken as given: The 90% CI is a Wald interval on the log-odds scale.; The p-value is a two-tailed Wald z-test on the log-odds coefficient.; The critical value for a 90% CI is 1.6449.Method: p = 2*(1-normalCdf(abs(log(OR)/SE))) with SE = (log(hi)-log(lo))/(2*1.6449).How we recomputed it: 2*(1-normalCdf(Math.abs(Math.log(109.70)/((Math.log(575.53)-Math.log(20.91))/(2*1.6448536269514722))))) - CONSISTENTreported p = .003 · recomputed p = .003Reviewer 1Two-tailed Wald p for the male sex odds ratio in the post-hoc logistic regression, recomputed from the reported 90% CI.
“Post-hoc multivariate logistic regression analysis revealed a strong association of neutropenia with race (Black or African American odds ratio 109·70, 90% CI 20·91–575·53; p<0·0001) and male sex (0·24, 0·11–0·53, p=0·0029)”
Taken as given: The 90% CI is a Wald interval on the log-odds scale.; The p-value is a two-tailed Wald z-test on the log-odds coefficient.; The critical value for a 90% CI is 1.6449.Method: p = 2*(1-normalCdf(abs(log(OR)/SE))) with SE = (log(hi)-log(lo))/(2*1.6449).How we recomputed it: 2*(1-normalCdf(Math.abs(Math.log(0.24)/((Math.log(0.53)-Math.log(0.11))/(2*1.6448536269514722)))))
- mediuminternal contradictionThe trial profile states 1011 participants were screened at 16 of 17 sites, with an additional 32 screened at a 17th site (31 randomized) and excluded after a GCP breach, yet the total randomized is 930 with only 81 screen failures. The arithmetic is ambiguous: if the 32 are outside the 1011, the total screened is 1043 and 1043−81=962, not 930; if they are inside, the excluded participants appear to remain in the randomized count.
“Between Nov 6, 2019, and March 16, 2023, 1011 participants were screened at 16 of the 17 sites. One site screened an additional 32 participants (31 of whom were randomly assigned and treated); however, after identification of a serious breach of Good Clinical Practice, all participant data from this site were excluded from statistical analyses.”
Abstract ¶1Find in source - mediuminternal contradictionThe text reports 455 participants from South Africa, but Table 1 sums to 424 (278 zoliflodacin + 146 comparator). The stated percentage (46%) is consistent with 424/930, not 455/930.
“Most participants were from South Africa (455 [46%] participants), followed by Thailand (270 [29%] participants), the USA (158 [17%] participants), and Europe (78 [8%] participants).”
Table 1Find in source
Overstated conclusions
2 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions not supported by the paper’s own evidenceAssessed
- Conclusions overstated beyond the evidenceAssessed
8 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 2 not fully backed by the presented evidence (unsupported or overstated).
- unsupportedReviewers 1, 2This is the largest trial conducted to date in participants with N gonorrhoeae infection.The superlative claim is asserted without any comparative data, citation, or systematic review of other trial sizes, so the paper itself offers no evidence for it.Evidence: None — no comparative trial sizes are presented.
“A major strength of this study is its size; this is the largest trial conducted to date in participants with N gonorrhoeae infection.”
DiscussionFind in source - overstatedReviewer 2Zoliflodacin might reduce antibiotic selection pressure and help preserve the effectiveness of other antibiotic classes, notably ceftriaxone.This claim is speculative and not directly supported by the study data; it is a reasonable hypothesis but not evidence-based.Evidence: No direct evidence from the study; the paper acknowledges the potential but does not provide data on selection pressure.
“Furthermore, as a new antibiotic class with a novel bacterial target and a distinct mechanism of action, zoliflodacin might reduce antibiotic selection pressure and help preserve the effectiveness of other antibiotic classes, notably, ceftriaxone.”
Discussion ¶3Find in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Zoliflodacin was non-inferior to ceftriaxone plus azithromycin for the treatment of uncomplicated urogenital gonorrhoea.The primary endpoint difference (5.3%, 95% CI 1.4–8.6) has an upper bound below the prespecified 12% margin, directly supporting non-inferiority.Evidence: Primary endpoint: 460/506 (90.9%) vs 229/238 (96.2%); difference 5.3% (95% CI 1.4–8.6).
“Zoliflodacin was non-inferior to ceftriaxone plus azithromycin for the treatment of uncomplicated urogenital gonorrhoea and had a similar safety profile.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Zoliflodacin had a similar safety profile to the comparator.AE rates were identical (46% vs 46%), no serious AEs or deaths occurred, and events were mostly mild/moderate.Evidence: 286 (46%) of 619 vs 143 (46%) of 308 participants had at least one TEAE; no serious AEs.
“Zoliflodacin was non-inferior to ceftriaxone plus azithromycin for the treatment of uncomplicated urogenital gonorrhoea and had a similar safety profile.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2These data suggest a potential role for zoliflodacin as an effective oral treatment option for uncomplicated urogenital gonorrhoea.The non-inferior efficacy and similar safety, combined with the oral single-dose formulation, support this suggestion.Evidence: Non-inferiority established; safety similar; oral formulation.
“These data suggest a potential role for zoliflodacin as an effective oral treatment option for uncomplicated urogenital gonorrhoea.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Zoliflodacin also showed similar efficacy outcomes to the comparator for rectal and pharyngeal infections.The point estimates are close (pharyngeal 79.2% vs 78.6%; rectal 87.3% vs 88.6%) with wide CIs, and the paper acknowledges the study was not powered for these endpoints; 'similar' is a reasonable descriptive conclusion.Evidence: Pharyngeal difference −0.7% (95% CI −20.8 to 16.3); rectal difference 1.2% (95% CI −14.3 to 12.6).
“Zoliflodacin also showed similar efficacy outcomes to the comparator for rectal and pharyngeal infections and was well tolerated with a favourable safety profile.”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewer 2The study population was ethnically diverse and included a large representation from regions with a high burden of gonorrhoea in low-income and middle-income countries.The demographics and region data support this claim.Evidence: Table 1: 55% Black or African American, 31% Asian; 46% from South Africa, 29% from Thailand.
514 (55%) of 930 participants were Black or African American, 285 (31%) were Asian, and 113 (12%) were White. Most participants were from South Africa (455 [46%] participants), followed by Thailand (270 [29%] participants), the USA (158 [17%] participants), and Europe (78 [8%] participants).
Table 1reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2The study included women and people living with HIV.Enrollment data show 12% female and 21% HIV positive.Evidence: Table 1: 115 (12%) female, 199 (21%) HIV positive.
815 (88%) of 930 participants were assigned male at birth and 115 (12%) participants were assigned female at birth. ... Overall, 14 (2%) participants were younger than 18 years (range 15–17 years). ... 199 (21%) were living with HIV.
Table 1reviewer’s wording
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
3 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Statistical reporting gaps (tests, assumptions, effect sizes)Assessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
- Key resources under-identified (antibodies, cell lines, RRIDs)Assessed
The introduction and Research in context sections cite WHO incidence data, resistance trends, prior failed oral agents (solithromycin, delafloxacin), and ertapenem's limitations. The rationale linking the premise to the trial objective is explicit. The authors acknowledge the absence of a formal literature search before design, and they discuss weaknesses of prior treatments, satisfying the limitations-addressed criterion.
“Zoliflodacin is an oral, first-in-class, spiropyrimidinetrione antibiotic with a distinct mode of bactericidal action.”
“A phase 2 study found zoliflodacin efficacious in treating uncomplicated urogenital gonorrhoea, warranting further clinical investigation.”
“Before study conception and design, no formal literature search was undertaken, given the paucity of clinical development underway at the time. Instead, scientific advice was sought from global experts.”
“Phase 3 studies investigating two new oral treatments, solithromycin and delafloxacin, as well as the older antibiotics, gentamicin and fosfomycin, had not shown non-inferiority to standard of care, ceftriaxone.”
For a human RCT, the applicable sub-criteria are randomization method, randomization unit, blinding levels, power analysis, inclusion/exclusion, and outlier handling (analysis population/missing data). All are reported adequately. The open-label design is acknowledged with a rationale, microbiology laboratory staff and sponsor central team were masked, and the sample size calculation with 90% power and a 12% non-inferiority margin is explicit. Non-assessable TOC outcomes were handled as failures with multiple imputation sensitivity analyses.
“The local or regional and central microbiology analytical laboratory staff who did primary endpoint microbiological analysis and the sponsor's central study team members were masked to treatment allocation until after database lock.”
“Assuming a 90% cure rate in the comparator group, a –4% treatment difference, and a prespecified non-inferiority margin of less than 12% for the upper bound of the two-sided 95% CI for the primary endpoint, the microbiological intention-to-treat (urogenital) sample size was calculated as 696 participants, with a 2:1 allocation ratio, to provide 90% power”
“The randomisation sequence was obtained using computer-generated random numbers, and treatment allocation was provided to each trial site by a web-based randomisation system. Randomisation was done using random permutated blocks of three, six, and nine with stratification by assigned sex at birth; each block maintained the 2:1 randomisation ratio.”
“Assuming a 90% cure rate in the comparator group, a –4% treatment difference, and a prespecified non-inferiority margin of less than 12% for the upper bound of the two-sided 95% CI for the primary endpoint, the microbiological intention-to-treat (urogenital) sample size was calculated as 696 participants, with a 2:1 allocation ratio, to provide 90% power to show that zoliflodacin was non-inferior to the comparator with respect to microbiological cure rate at TOC.”
“Participants included in the microbiological intention-to-treat who had non-assessable outcomes at TOC (eg, missed or out-of-window TOC visits, or samples taken as per protocol but without results) were analysed as microbiological failures.”
For a human interventional trial, sex_reported, age_weight_health, and demographics apply. Sex and demographics are reported adequately. Health status is described through eligibility criteria and HIV status, but weight is not reported; therefore age_weight_health is judged reported_but_inadequate. Since 2 of 3 applicable sub-criteria are adequate, the dimension passes.
“815 (88%) of 930 participants were assigned male at birth and 115 (12%) participants were assigned female at birth.”
“The mean participant age was 29·7 years (SD 9·4).”
“514 (55%) of 930 participants were Black or African American, 285 (31%) were Asian, and 113 (12%) were White.”
“815 (88%) of 930 participants were assigned male at birth and 115 (12%) participants were assigned female at birth.”
“The mean participant age was 29·7 years (SD 9·4).”
The paper states that the protocol was approved by the institutional review board or ethics committee of all participating centres, but does not name the specific bodies. A reference to a supplementary table containing the names is implied but not explicitly provided in the main text. Informed consent is adequately described as written. Regulatory compliance with FDA guidance is stated. The lack of a named approving body triggers a warn status.
“The study protocol and its amendments were approved by the institutional review board or ethics committee of all participating centres (), and all participants provided written informed consent.”
“This phase 3, multinational, open-label, randomised, controlled, non-inferiority trial was designed and conducted in accordance with US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) guidance”
“The study protocol and its amendments were approved by the institutional review board or ethics committee of all participating centres (), and all participants provided written informed consent.”
“all participants provided written informed consent.”
“This phase 3, multinational, open-label, randomised, controlled, non-inferiority trial was designed and conducted in accordance with US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) guidance and advice from research and public health bodies.”
Zoliflodacin is described as '3 g (granules as oral suspension)' and comparator as 'ceftriaxone 500 mg (intramuscular) plus azithromycin 1 g (oral)', but no manufacturers or catalog numbers are provided. For a drug trial, the investigational product should be identified with manufacturer. SAS version 9.4 is adequately identified. No other biological or chemical resources are used, so other sub-criteria are not applicable. The proportion of applicable criteria adequate is 1/2 (50%), resulting in a warn.
“either a single oral dose of zoliflodacin 3 g (granules as oral suspension) or the comparator, a single intramuscular 500 mg dose of ceftriaxone plus a single oral 1 g dose of azithromycin”
“Statistical analyses were done by Plus-Project (Knutsford, UK) using SAS version 9.4.”
“either a single oral dose of zoliflodacin 3 g (granules as oral suspension) or the comparator, a single intramuscular 500 mg dose of ceftriaxone plus a single oral 1 g dose of azithromycin”
“Statistical analyses were done by Plus-Project (Knutsford, UK) using SAS version 9.4.”
All applicable sub-criteria are adequate except exact_p_values: the primary analysis uses CIs, but the post-hoc logistic regression reports p<0.0001 for race, which is a threshold rather than an exact value. Tests are named (Clopper–Pearson, Newcombe score, logistic regression), assumptions are handled by the analysis design, effect sizes with CIs are reported throughout, software is identified, data presentation includes n/N and CIs, and the reported percentages and counts are internally consistent (e.g., 460/506=90.9%, Table 1 sums agree). Per the scoring rule, the threshold-only p-value makes the dimension a warn.
“95% CIs were calculated using the Clopper–Pearson method. The point estimate for the treatment difference (comparator minus zoliflodacin) and the two-sided 95% CI were calculated using the Newcombe score method.”
“Post-hoc multivariate logistic regression analysis revealed a strong association of neutropenia with race (Black or African American odds ratio 109·70, 90% CI 20·91–575·53; p<0·0001) and male sex (0·24, 0·11–0·53, p=0·0029)”
“460/506 | 90·9% (88·1–93·3) | 229/238 | 96·2% (92·9–98·3) | 5·3% (1·4–8·6)”
“For the primary endpoint analysis, the proportion of participants with microbiological cure at TOC was calculated for the microbiological intention-to-treat (urogenital) population, and 95% CIs were calculated using the Clopper–Pearson method. The point estimate for the treatment difference (comparator minus zoliflodacin) and the two-sided 95% CI were calculated using the Newcombe score method.”
“Microbiological cure rates at TOC in the microbiological intention-to-treat (urogenital) population (primary efficacy endpoint) were 460 (90·9%, 95% CI 88·1–93·3) of 506 participants for zoliflodacin and 229 (96·2%, 92·9–98·3) of 238 participants for comparator.”
“Statistical analyses were done by Plus-Project (Knutsford, UK) using SAS version 9.4.”
The data availability statement names a specific route (datasharing@gardp.org), states that data will be available within 6 months of first regulatory approval, and describes anonymisation and a data sharing agreement. For identifiable patient-level data, repository deposit and accession numbers are not applicable, and no custom code is mentioned, so code sharing is not applicable. The single applicable criterion is adequate, giving a pass.
“Requests from researchers should be sent to GARDP at datasharing@gardp.org for consideration. If granted, relevant individual participant data will be anonymised and securely transferred. Participant-level data will be made available within 6 months of first regulatory approval. A signed data sharing agreement might be required.”
“The data underlying the results of this study and related study documents (eg, study protocol, statistical analysis plan, and informed consent form) can be made available upon request. Requests from researchers should be sent to GARDP at datasharing@gardp.org for consideration. If granted, relevant individual participant data will be anonymised and securely transferred. Participant-level data will be made available within 6 months of first regulatory approval. A signed data sharing agreement might be required.”
Methods are complete and the protocol and SAP are publicly linked. Registration is provided (NCT03959527, EudraCT 2019-000990-22). All pre-specified outcomes are reported, including negative/null findings and secondary analyses. Limitations are discussed at length, conclusions are balanced, and funding sources and conflicts of interest are detailed. The only gap is that no CONSORT checklist is referenced, so reporting_guideline is not_reported; the percentage of adequate sub-criteria is still above 60%.
“The trial is registered with ClinicalTrials.gov (http://ClinicalTrials.gov) , NCT03959527 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT03959527) , and EudraCT, 2019-000990-22.”
“Limitations of the study include the open-label study design, which was necessary due to the different formulations of study treatments and the unacceptability and operational burden of placebo injections required to mask the study.”
“The trial is registered with ClinicalTrials.gov (http://ClinicalTrials.gov) , NCT03959527 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT03959527) , and EudraCT, 2019-000990-22.”
“Limitations of the study include the open-label study design, which was necessary due to the different formulations of study treatments and the unacceptability and operational burden of placebo injections required to mask the study.”
“This trial was sponsored and led by GARDP (registered under the legal name GARDP Foundation) and was fully publicly funded, with support from Germany's Federal Ministry of Research, Technology and Space (grant 03KA1831), the UK Department of Health and Social Care as part of the Global Antimicrobial Resistance Innovation Fund, Japan's Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare, the Government of The Netherlands' Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sport and Directorate-General for International Cooperation, the Government of Switzerland, and the Canton of Geneva, Switzerland.”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov, EudraCT). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
1 finding · worst lowReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
- References not resolvable to a published paperRecomputed
Checked 34 references by DOI: 27 verified — 1 DOI unresolved, 6 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- UNRESOLVED10.1016/s1473-3099(19Gonococcal antimicrobial susceptibility surveillance in the European Union/European Economic Area, summary of results for 2022Cited DOI does not resolve to any Crossref record.
- NO DOIWHO Global Health Observatory: global and regional STI estimatesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIWHO Gonorrhoea (Neisseria gonorrhoeae infection)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIUncomplicated gonorrhea: developing drugs for treatmentNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIWHO guidelines for the treatment of Neisseria gonorrhoeaeNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILaboratory diagnosis of sexually transmitted infections, including human immunodeficiency virusNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIM100—performance standards for antimicrobial susceptibility testing, 32nd EditionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
3 data/code links checked; 3 live.
- datahttps://cdn.clinicaltrials.gov/large-docs/27/NCT03959527/Prot_000.pdfLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://cdn.clinicaltrials.gov/large-docs/27/NCT03959527/SAP_001.pdfLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT03959527LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
1 finding · worst lowWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
- Wording or formatting errors that need correctingAssessed
8 copyedit issues flagged (2 major): mostly typo, consistency, grammar.
- MAJORconsistencyResults, paragraph 4 and Table 1“Most participants were from South Africa (455 [46%] participants)”→ Change '455' to '424' to match Table 1 (278 + 146).Table 1 sums to 424; 424/930 = 45.6% ≈ 46%.
- MAJORconsistencyResults, paragraph 1 and Abstract“1011 participants were screened at 16 of the 17 sites. One site screened an additional 32 participants (31 of whom were randomly assigned and treated); however, after identification of a serious breach of Good Clinical Practice, all participant data from this site were excluded from statistical analyses. ... 81 patients did not meet screening criteria and 930 participants were randomly assigned”→ Clarify whether the 1011 screened includes the excluded site's 32 participants and reconcile the total with the 930 randomized.The arithmetic is ambiguous: 1011 + 32 = 1043; 1043 − 81 − 32 = 930, but the text does not state this.
- MINORtypoResults, paragraph on culture proportions“114 (12%) of 930 (12%)”→ Delete the second '(12%)'.Duplicate percentage.
- MINORtypoMethods, Statistical analysis“who had a N gonorrheae culture result at TOC”→ Change to 'Neisseria gonorrhoeae' or 'N gonorrhoeae'.Incomplete species name.
- MINORtypoDiscussion, Limitations“heath-care seeking sensitivities among adolescents”→ Change 'heath-care' to 'health-care'.Misspelling.
- MINORgrammarMethods, Randomisation and masking“random permutated blocks of three, six, and nine”→ Change 'permutated' to 'permuted'.Standard term is 'random permuted blocks'.
- MINORotherAuthor list, first line“Zoliflodacin versus ceftriaxone plus azithromycin for treatment of uncomplicated urogenital gonorrhoea: an international, randomised, controlled, open-label, phase 3, non-inferiority clinical trial Luckey Alison BM Balasegaram Manica BMBS Barbee Lindley A MD Batteiger Teresa A MD Broadhurst Helen MSc Cohen Stephanie E MD Delany-Moretlwe Sinead Prof, MBBCh de Vries Henry J C Prof, MD Dionne Jodie A MD Gill Katherine MBChB Kenyon Chris PhD Kittiyaowamarn Rossaphorn MD Lewis Drew MD Mueller John P PhD Naicker Vimla MBChB O'Brien Seamus PhD O'Donnell John P BS Phanuphak Nittaya MD Spooner Elizabeth MBBCh Srinivasan Subasree MD Taylor Stephanie N Prof, MD Unemo Magnus Prof, PhD Zwane Zinhle MD Hook Edward W 3rd Prof, MD Zoliflodacin Phase 3 Study Group for the a Global Antibiotic Research & Development Partnership, Geneva, Switzerland”→ Remove the extraneous 'a' before 'Global Antibiotic Research & Development Partnership' and restructure the author list for clarity.The author list contains a stray 'a' and jumbled formatting.
- MINORpunctuationData Sharing section“The data underlying the results of this study and related study documents (eg, study protocol, statistical analysis plan, and informed consent form) can be made available upon request.”→ Change 'eg,' to 'e.g.,' for proper abbreviation.Standard abbreviation for 'exempli gratia' is 'e.g.,'.
As a post-publication audit, the paper is generally robust but has several reporting inconsistencies that undermine confidence in the reported numbers. The internal contradictions in participant counts and the unsupported superlative claim warrant a formal correction or erratum. An informed reader should weigh the ambiguities in the trial profile and the South Africa participant count, as well as the lack of named ethics committees.
- 1.HIGHreportingCorrect the South Africa participant count in the Results text from 455 to 424 to match Table 1, and ensure the percentage (46%) is consistent with the corrected numerator.This internal contradiction between text and table undermines data integrity and must be resolved in a correction.
- 2.HIGHreportingClarify the trial profile: state whether the 1011 participants screened include the 32 from the GCP-breached site, and reconcile the arithmetic (1011 screens, 81 screen failures, 32 excluded from breached site, 930 randomized) with a clear flow diagram footnote.The ambiguous arithmetic could imply a discrepancy in the number of randomized participants and should be explicitly resolved.
- 3.HIGHreportingRemove or support the claim 'This is the largest trial conducted to date in participants with N gonorrhoeae infection' by providing a systematic comparison or citation; otherwise, temper the language.The claim audit found this unsupported; an unsupported superlative claim can mislead readers and is a validity concern.
- 4.HIGHethicsAdd a supplementary table listing each participating centre's IRB/ethics committee name and approval number, and cite it in the Methods approval statement.The current approval statement does not name the approving bodies, which is a standard reporting requirement for clinical trials.
- 5.HIGHreportingVerify the reference that could not be found in the registry (DOI 10.1016/s1473-3099(19...) and either correct the DOI or replace it with a verifiable source.A reference that cannot be located in any registry is a fabrication signal and must be resolved.
- 6.HIGHreportingTemper the claim 'Zoliflodacin might reduce antibiotic selection pressure and help preserve the effectiveness of other antibiotic classes, notably ceftriaxone' by adding a qualifier that this is a hypothesis not tested by the study data.The claim audit rated this as overstated; over-claiming can lead to misinterpretation of the findings.
- 7.MEDIUMstatisticsReport the exact p-value for the race association in the post-hoc logistic regression (e.g., p=3.15×10^-6) instead of the threshold p<0.0001.Reporting exact p-values is a standard for transparency and allows readers to assess the strength of evidence.
- 8.MEDIUMreportingProvide the manufacturer/source information for zoliflodacin, ceftriaxone, and azithromycin in the Methods section.For reproducibility, investigational products should be fully identified with their source.
- 9.MEDIUMreportingAdd a completed CONSORT 2010 checklist as supplementary material and cite it in the Methods.The CONSORT checklist is the standard reporting guideline for RCTs and its absence is a gap.
- 10.MEDIUMcopyeditFix the duplicated percentage in the Results paragraph on rectal culture proportions: delete the second '(12%)'.This is a typographical error that could confuse readers.
- 11.MEDIUMcopyeditCorrect 'permutated' to 'permuted' in the Randomisation and masking section.Standard statistical terminology is 'permuted blocks'.
- 12.LOWcopyeditCorrect 'heath-care' to 'health-care' in the Discussion limitations.This is a minor typo.
- 13.LOWcopyeditCorrect the incomplete species name from 'N gonorrheae' to 'N gonorrhoeae' (or full binomial) in the Methods.Proper taxonomic nomenclature is expected.
- 14.LOWreportingConsider adding body weight (or BMI) to the baseline characteristics table for completeness.Weight is a relevant biological variable, though its absence is minor.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.