Sustained effect of prasinezumab on Parkinson's disease motor progression in the open-label extension of the PASADENA trial.
Pagano G, Monnet A, Reyes A, Ribba B, Svoboda H, Kustermann T, Simuni T, Postuma RB, Pavese N, Stocchi F, Brockmann K, Smigorski K, Gerbaldo V, Fontoura P, Doody R, Kerchner GA, Brundin P, Marek K, Bonni A, Nikolcheva T, PASADENA Investigators, Prasinezumab Study Group
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-024-03270-6
- Record issued
- 2026-08-16
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-21
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/425d98f5-5b21-4432-b64c-79028564ddce is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×2−1★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ClaimsTreatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful−0.5★
- LinksDead data/code link ×2−0.5★
- ReportingStudy design partially met−0.25★
- CitationsUnresolved reference−0.25★
- No reported statistical tests were found to recompute.
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run: 10 reported means were read, and their group size is not stated where the values are printed (this source has no machine-readable table structure). These checks need the count the mean was averaged over, so none was performed.
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The primary efficacy claim is based on MDS-UPDRS Part III and Part II scores, which are clinical rating scales, not biomarkers. However, the study uses an external comparator (PPMI) rather than a placebo control, and the analysis is exploratory. The paper does not demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD) nor cite validated evidence linking MDS-UPDRS changes to long-term clinical outcomes beyond the scale itself. The claim of sustained motor progression slowing relies on a surrogate endpoint (MDS-UPDRS) without establishing a validated link to hard clinical outcomes.
“The primary endpoints of this analysis were: change from baseline to year 4 in the severity of motor progression ... as measured by change in MDS–UPDRS Parts II and III in both ON and OFF state”
- 02Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful
The reported effect sizes are relative differences in MDS-UPDRS scores (e.g., -51%, -65%, -94%, -118%) and absolute differences (e.g., -5.73, -7.26 points). While the paper mentions a within-patient worsening threshold of 5 points for MDS-UPDRS Part III OFF, the observed differences are presented as group differences and the clinical meaningfulness is not robustly anchored. The study is exploratory and lacks a placebo control, and the effect sizes are not explicitly compared to a minimal clinically important difference (MCID) for all endpoints.
“A within-patient worsening threshold of 5 points has been identified for MDS–UPDRS Part III OFF ... and thus the observed differences in change scores are meaningful.”
- 03Declared data/code link does not resolve
Dead link — nothing to verify.
“https://www.ppmi-info.org/access-dataspecimens/download-data”
- 04Declared data/code link does not resolve
Dead link — nothing to verify.
“http://www.ppmi-info.org/access-dataspecimens/download-data”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
The paper is a well-conducted observational comparison of an open-label extension with an external comparator, with strong reporting of methods, ethics, and data availability. The main weaknesses are the lack of a pre-specified analysis plan, no power analysis, and incomplete reporting of outlier handling and code sharing.
The reviewers disagreed on study type (observational vs. interventional); I adopted 'observational' because the primary analysis is a comparison of an OLE cohort with an external observational cohort, not a randomized intervention. The statistics verification component found no recomputable tests, so statistical correctness is not fully confirmed.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
- lowinternal contradictionThe abstract reports a -118% relative difference for early-start ON state, which implies a greater than 100% reduction, potentially indicating that the treatment group improved beyond baseline. This is unusual but not impossible.
“ON state (delayed start, −94%; early start, −118%)”
AbstractFind in source
Overstated conclusions
3 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningfulAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
9 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 5 only partially supported (evidence backs part of the claim; gaps or caveats remain); the rest adequately supported.
- partialReviewer 1The effect of prasinezumab is unlikely to be due to a placebo effect.The paper provides several arguments (gradual separation, washout period, large effect sizes) but acknowledges that a placebo effect cannot be fully ruled out due to the lack of a placebo arm.Evidence: Discussion section provides three arguments against placebo effect, but also lists it as a limitation.
“Despite the lack of a placebo arm, it is unlikely that these results are related to a placebo effect.”
Discussion ¶3Find in source - partialReviewer 2The effect of prasinezumab on slowing motor progression may be sustained long term.The claim is partially supported by the data showing sustained separation over 4 years, but the exploratory nature and lack of a concurrent placebo group limit the strength of the evidence.Evidence: Results and Discussion: separation from PPMI-based prediction occurred from year 2 onwards and continued to year 4.
“This exploratory analysis, which requires confirmation in future studies, suggested that the effect of prasinezumab in slowing motor progression in PD may be sustained long term.”
AbstractFind in source - partialReviewer 2Prasinezumab may slow motor progression and functional decline over the long term in early-stage PD.The claim is partially supported by the data, but the authors appropriately note limitations including the lack of a placebo arm and the need for confirmation in future studies.Evidence: Discussion: summary of results and limitations.
“Taken together, our results suggest that prasinezumab may slow motor progression and functional decline over the long term in early-stage PD.”
Discussion ¶7Find in source - partialReviewer 2The observed differences are unlikely to be related to a placebo effect.The authors provide three arguments (gradual separation, large effect sizes, washout period) but acknowledge that a placebo effect cannot be fully ruled out.Evidence: Discussion, paragraph 3: three arguments against placebo effect.
“Despite the lack of a placebo arm, it is unlikely that these results are related to a placebo effect.”
Discussion ¶3Find in source - partialReviewer 2Prasinezumab could synergize with dopaminergic medications.The claim is supported by lower ON-state motor scores and numerically lower LEDD in prasinezumab-treated groups, but the authors note this is speculative and requires further study.Evidence: Discussion, paragraph 6: lower ON-state scores and LEDD.
“These findings suggested that prasinezumab could synergize with dopaminergic medications.”
Discussion ¶6Find in source - supportedReviewer 1Prasinezumab slows motor progression in Parkinson's disease over 4 years compared to an external comparator.The claim is supported by the reported differences in MDS-UPDRS Part III and Part II scores between PASADENA and PPMI cohorts, with effect sizes and confidence intervals.Evidence: Results section reports relative differences in MDS-UPDRS Part III OFF, ON, and Part II scores with 80% CIs.
“The PASADENA delayed-start ( n = 94) and early-start ( n = 177) groups showed a slower decline (a smaller increase in score) in MDS–UPDRS Part III scores in the OFF state (delayed start, −51%; early start, −65%), ON state (delayed start, −94%; early start, −118%) and MDS–UPDRS Part II (delayed start, −48%; early start, −40%) than did the Parkinson’s Progression Markers Initiative external comparator ( n = 303).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Prasinezumab may slow non-motor symptom progression, specifically sleep.The claim is supported by the reported differences in MDS-UPDRS Part I sleep subscores, though the paper cautions about interpretation due to baseline differences.Evidence: Results section reports lower MDS-UPDRS Part I Sleep progression scores in PASADENA groups.
“The PASADENA delayed- and early-start groups also had lower MDS–UPDRS Part I Sleep progression scores (items 7 and 8) than did the PPMI cohort, with a −47% relative difference (mean (80% CI), −0.24 (−0.39 to −0.09) points) for the delayed-start group and a −61% relative difference (mean (80% CI), −0.31 (−0.43 to −0.19) points) for the early-start group after 4 years.”
Results ¶5Find in source - supportedReviewer 1Prasinezumab does not affect dopaminergic imaging (DaT-SPECT) progression.The claim is supported by the reported lack of difference in DaT-SPECT binding ratio progression, and the paper provides plausible explanations.Evidence: Results section reports no difference in DaT-SPECT putamen or caudate striatal binding ratio progression.
In comparison with the PPMI cohort, the PASADENA delayed- and early-start groups showed no difference in dopamine transporter imaging with single-photon emission computed tomography (DaT–SPECT) putamen or caudate striatal binding ratio progression over 4 years.
Results ¶6reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2Prasinezumab-treated individuals showed slower motor progression over 4 years compared with an external comparator cohort.The claim is supported by the primary analysis showing lower MDS-UPDRS Part III progression in both delayed-start and early-start groups versus the PPMI cohort, with effect sizes and confidence intervals reported.Evidence: Results section: MDS-UPDRS Part III OFF state progression differences of -51% and -65% with 80% CIs.
The PASADENA delayed-start (n = 94) and early-start (n = 177) groups showed a slower decline (a smaller increase in score) in MDS–UPDRS Part III scores in the OFF state (delayed start, −51%; early start, −65%), ON state (delayed start, −94%; early start, −118%) and MDS–UPDRS Part II (delayed start, −48%; early start, −40%) than did the Parkinson’s Progression Markers Initiative external comparator (n = 303).
Abstractreviewer’s wording
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit; effect size not shown to be clinically meaningful.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary efficacy claim is based on MDS-UPDRS Part III and Part II scores, which are clinical rating scales, not biomarkers. However, the study uses an external comparator (PPMI) rather than a placebo control, and the analysis is exploratory. The paper does not demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD) nor cite validated evidence linking MDS-UPDRS changes to long-term clinical outcomes beyond the scale itself. The claim of sustained motor progression slowing relies on a surrogate endpoint (MDS-UPDRS) without establishing a validated link to hard clinical outcomes.
“The primary endpoints of this analysis were: change from baseline to year 4 in the severity of motor progression ... as measured by change in MDS–UPDRS Parts II and III in both ON and OFF state”
- INADEQUATEEffect sizeThe reported effect sizes are relative differences in MDS-UPDRS scores (e.g., -51%, -65%, -94%, -118%) and absolute differences (e.g., -5.73, -7.26 points). While the paper mentions a within-patient worsening threshold of 5 points for MDS-UPDRS Part III OFF, the observed differences are presented as group differences and the clinical meaningfulness is not robustly anchored. The study is exploratory and lacks a placebo control, and the effect sizes are not explicitly compared to a minimal clinically important difference (MCID) for all endpoints.
“A within-patient worsening threshold of 5 points has been identified for MDS–UPDRS Part III OFF ... and thus the observed differences in change scores are meaningful.”
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Methods and results do not matchAssessed
2 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- lowmethod result mismatchThe paper states that the PPMI-based Part III ON disease model was not used for comparison due to poor fit, but the abstract and results still report ON state differences. This is a potential inconsistency in the analysis approach.
“we decided not to use the PPMI-based Part III ON disease model for further comparison with PASADENA.”
MethodsFind in source
Reporting gaps
1 finding · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Study-design details incomplete (controls, blinding, power)Assessed
The introduction cites prior studies on α-synuclein aggregation and the development of prasinezumab, including the PASADENA Phase II trial. It acknowledges that the primary endpoint was not met in the double-blind period but that motor progression was reduced. The rationale linking the premise to the study objectives is logical: to evaluate whether the effect on motor progression is sustained long-term. Limitations of prior research (e.g., lack of long-term data, placebo arm in OLE) are addressed in the discussion.
“Prasinezumab is a humanized monoclonal antibody designed to bind aggregated α-synuclein and inhibit the intercellular spread of pathogenic α-synuclein, thus potentially protecting neurons and slowing Parkinson’s disease (PD) progression”
“A major limitation of the OLE is the lack of a placebo arm, and, for this reason, it is not possible to fully rule out a potential placebo effect as an explanation for the differences in progression between PASADENA participants and the PPMI cohort.”
The original PASADENA trial was randomized and double-blind for Part 1, but the OLE is open-label. The present analysis uses an external comparator from PPMI, not a concurrent placebo group. Randomization method and unit are reported for the original trial but not for the OLE analysis. Blinding levels are not applicable for the OLE. No a priori power analysis is reported for this exploratory analysis. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are reported for both PASADENA and PPMI. Outlier handling is not explicitly described. Controls are not applicable as this is not a bench study. Independent replication is not reported.
“In PASADENA, key inclusion criteria included idiopathic PD with bradykinesia and one of the other cardinal signs of PD (resting tremor, rigidity) and no other known or suspected cause of PD; age 40‒80 years; dopamine transporter imaging with DaT–SPECT consistent with PD; diagnosis of PD for 2 years or less at screening; modified H&Y stage 1 or 2; and either treatment naive or on a stable dose of an MAO-B inhibitor for at least 90 days at baseline.”
“Missing values were considered events (26 records in PPMI, 12 in PASADENA).”
“In PASADENA, key inclusion criteria included idiopathic PD with bradykinesia and one of the other cardinal signs of PD (resting tremor, rigidity) and no other known or suspected cause of PD; age 40‒80 years; dopamine transporter imaging with DaT–SPECT consistent with PD; diagnosis of PD for 2 years or less at screening; modified H&Y stage 1 or 2; and either treatment naive or on a stable dose of an MAO-B inhibitor for at least 90 days at baseline.”
Sex is reported as a baseline characteristic (Table 1). Age and health status (MDS-UPDRS scores, H&Y stage) are reported. Demographics including age, sex, education, and cognitive assessment are provided. Species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable for a human clinical trial.
“Age (years), mean (s.d.) | 59.98 (9.00) | 62.11 (8.53) | 0.243 | 59.98 (9.00) | 61.20 (9.28) | 0.133”
“Years of education ≥12, n (%) | 244 (90.0) | 279 (92.1) | 0.072 | 244.0 (90.0) | 236.2 (87.5) | 0.080”
“Male sex, n (%) | 188 (69.4) | 202 (66.7) | 0.058 | 188.0 (69.4) | 189.3 (70.1) | 0.017”
“Age (years), mean (s.d.) | 59.98 (9.00) | 62.11 (8.53) | 0.243 | 59.98 (9.00) | 61.20 (9.28) | 0.133”
“Years of education ≥12, n (%) | 244 (90.0) | 279 (92.1) | 0.072 | 244.0 (90.0) | 236.2 (87.5) | 0.080”
The paper states that the PASADENA protocol was approved by institutional review boards or ethics committees at each study site, and the trial was conducted according to the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice. All participants provided written informed consent. Similarly, the PPMI study was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice with local ethics committee approval and informed consent.
“The trial was conducted according to the principles of the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice guidelines.”
Prasinezumab is identified as a humanized monoclonal antibody, and the manufacturer is implied (Roche). Statistical software is identified with versions. No antibodies, cell lines, or organisms are used in this clinical study.
“All analyses were performed using SAS software v.9.04 and R v.4.0.3.”
“Prasinezumab is a humanized monoclonal antibody designed to bind aggregated α-synuclein”
“All analyses were performed using SAS software v.9.04 and R v.4.0.3.”
“intravenous prasinezumab administered every 4 weeks in early-stage PD”
The paper names statistical tests (MMRM, logistic regression, propensity score weighting). Effect sizes with 80% confidence intervals are reported throughout. Software is identified (SAS v.9.04, R v.4.0.3). Data presentation includes figures with error bars and per-group n. Assumptions verification is not explicitly reported but the use of MMRM with unstructured covariance handles some assumptions. Exact p-values are not reported; instead, the analysis uses estimation with confidence intervals, which is appropriate. Mathematical plausibility checks are not applicable for these continuous outcomes with large N.
“A mixed model for repeated measures (MMRM) was used for the longitudinal endpoints including covariates: age, sex, education, bilateral putamen at baseline, the visit (as a categorical factor), a group-by-visit interaction and the baseline endpoint.”
“with a −51% relative difference (mean (80% confidence interval (CI)), −5.73 (−7.33 to −4.14) points) for the delayed-start group”
“All analyses were performed using SAS software v.9.04 and R v.4.0.3.”
“A mixed model for repeated measures (MMRM) was used for the longitudinal endpoints including covariates: age, sex, education, bilateral putamen at baseline, the visit (as a categorical factor), a group-by-visit interaction and the baseline endpoint.”
“with a −51% relative difference (mean (80% confidence interval (CI)), −5.73 (−7.33 to −4.14) points) for the delayed-start group”
“All analyses were performed using SAS software v.9.04 and R v.4.0.3.”
The paper provides a data availability statement with concrete access routes: PASADENA data via Vivli platform, PPMI data via the PPMI database, and a figshare dataset (DOI provided). This meets the criteria for adequate reporting. Repository deposit and accession numbers are not applicable for patient-level clinical trial data. Code sharing is not reported, but the paper does not describe custom code beyond standard statistical software.
“Qualified researchers may request access to individual patient-level data through the clinical study data request platform ( https://vivli.org/ ).”
“The datasets generated and analyzed that support the conclusions of this study are available via figshare at 10.6084/m9.figshare.25541221”
Methods are detailed enough for replication. The trial is registered (NCT03100149). A reporting summary is linked. All outcomes are reported, including null results (e.g., DaT-SPECT, MDS-UPDRS Part IV). Limitations are extensively discussed. Conclusions are proportional, noting the exploratory nature and need for confirmation. Funding sources and competing interests are disclosed.
“PASADENA ClinicalTrials.gov no. NCT03100149”
“We identified several limitations in this exploratory analysis.”
“The study is sponsored by F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd.”
“We identified several limitations in this exploratory analysis. Some of these are related to potential differences between the external observational PPMI cohort and PASADENA participants.”
“This exploratory analysis, which requires confirmation in future studies, suggested that the effect of prasinezumab in slowing motor progression in PD may be sustained long term.”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
2 findings · worst mediumReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
- Dead data/code linksRecomputed
- References not resolvable to a published paperRecomputed
Checked 29 references by DOI: 25 verified — 1 DOI unresolved, 3 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- UNRESOLVED10.6084/m9.figshare.25541221Sustained effect of prasinezumab on Parkinson’s disease motor progression in the open-label extension of the PASADENA trialCited DOI does not resolve to any Crossref record.
- NO DOIPatient-focused drug development: incorporating clinical outcome assessments into endpoints for regulatory decision-making guidance for industry, Food and Drug Administration staff, and other stakeholdersNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEstimating the meaningful within-patient change threshold for the MDS-UPDRS Part IIINo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMixed Effects Models for the Population Approach: Models, Tasks, Methods and ToolsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
7 data/code links checked; 5 live, 2 dead.
- datahttps://vivli.org/LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://www.ppmi-info.org/access-dataspecimens/download-dataDEADHTTP 404Dead link — nothing to verify.
- datahttps://www.roche.com/research_and_development/who_we_are_how_we_work/clinical_trials/our_commitment_to_data_sharing.htmLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://www.ppmi-info.org/access-dataspecimens/download-dataDEADHTTP 404Dead link — nothing to verify.
- datahttp://www.ppmi-info.orgLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT03100149LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04777331LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
4 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 4 minor suggestions below.
4 copyedit issues flagged: mostly typo, consistency.
- MINORtypoIntroduction, paragraph 1“Early Pakinson’s Disease”→ Early Parkinson’s DiseaseTypo in the expansion of PASADENA.
- MINORconsistencyMethods, Data analysis“R v.4.0.3”→ R v.4.2.2Two different R versions are mentioned; clarify which was used.
- MINORtypoIntroduction, paragraph 2“Early Pakinson’s Disease”→ Early Parkinson’s DiseaseTypo in 'Pakinson's' should be 'Parkinson's'.
- MINORconsistencyMethods, Data analysis, Propensity score“The statistical software R (R Core Team 2020, v.4.2.2) was used”→ The statistical software R (R Core Team 2020, v.4.2.2) was usedVersion number discrepancy: earlier it says R v.4.0.3, here it says v.4.2.2. Clarify which version was used.
The published work is robust in its reporting and transparency, but readers should weigh the lack of a pre-specified analysis plan and the potential for residual confounding in the external comparator design. The minor copyedit issues and dead links should be corrected in any revision or erratum.
- 1.HIGHrigorAdd a pre-specified statistical analysis plan (SAP) to the Methods, including a power analysis or justification for not performing one.The absence of a pre-specified plan and power analysis weakens the study design and could be a reviewer concern.
- 2.HIGHrigorExplicitly describe outlier handling procedures in the Methods, including criteria for defining outliers and sensitivity analyses excluding them.Outlier handling is not reported, which is a gap in the analysis description.
- 3.HIGHdata codeAdd a statement on code availability, including scripts for propensity score weighting and disease modeling, in a public repository.Code sharing is not reported, which limits reproducibility.
- 4.HIGHdata codeFix the two dead links identified in the reproducibility check (in the Data availability section).Dead links undermine the data availability statement and could prevent readers from accessing the data.
- 5.MEDIUMreportingClarify the handling of missing data for all endpoints, not just the H&Y analysis, and describe imputation methods if used.Missing data handling is only described for one endpoint, which is incomplete.
- 6.MEDIUMrigorDiscuss the potential for unmeasured confounding in the external comparator design and how propensity score weighting addresses it.The external comparator design is prone to residual confounding, and this should be explicitly addressed.
- 7.MEDIUMrigorInclude a sensitivity analysis using alternative propensity score methods (e.g., matching) to confirm robustness.Sensitivity analyses would strengthen the conclusions.
- 8.MEDIUMreportingReport the number of participants with complete data for each endpoint to assess potential attrition bias.Attrition bias is a concern in longitudinal studies, and reporting completeness would help assess it.
- 9.MEDIUMstatisticsAdd a brief statement on assumptions verification for the MMRM (e.g., normality of residuals, homoscedasticity) in the Methods.Assumptions verification is not explicitly reported, which is a minor gap.
- 10.MEDIUMreportingClarify the definition of 'OFF state' for MDS-UPDRS Part III assessments in both cohorts to ensure comparability.Inconsistent definitions could affect the comparability of the cohorts.
- 11.LOWcopyeditFix the typo 'Pakinson’s' to 'Parkinson’s' in the Introduction (two occurrences).Typos in the expansion of PASADENA are minor but should be corrected.
- 12.LOWcopyeditClarify the R version used in the Methods: the paper mentions both v.4.0.3 and v.4.2.2.Inconsistent software versions could confuse readers about the exact analysis environment.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.