Efficacy and Safety of Oral PCSK9 Inhibitor Enlicitide in Adults With Heterozygous Familial Hypercholesterolemia: A Randomized Clinical Trial.
Ballantyne CM, Gellis L, Tardif JC, Banka P, Navar AM, Asprusten EA, Scott R, Stroes ESG, Froman S, Mendizabal G, Wang F, Catapano AL
- DOI
- 10.1001/jama.2025.20620
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-21
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/459d1cda-9d3e-46e2-8dbe-a9975a5a4bf6 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern−0.5★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- No data or code availability links were detected to verify.
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The primary endpoint is the percentage change in LDL-C level, a surrogate biomarker for cardiovascular outcomes. The paper does not demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD data) nor cite validated evidence linking LDL-C reduction to clinical outcomes in this specific context.
“The primary outcome was the mean percentage change in LDL-C level at week 24.”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted phase 3 randomized controlled trial with a clear premise, rigorous design, and appropriate statistical analysis. The main weaknesses are missing explicit ethics approval and informed consent statements, an incomplete data sharing statement, and a few minor reporting gaps (e.g., statistical software, randomization method, power analysis).
Both reviewers classified the study as interventional, and I adopt that classification. The evaluation covered the abstract and methods/results sections; some details (e.g., full data sharing statement, ethics approval) were not available in the provided text. The statistics verification checked 5 reported tests, all consistent, but this does not confirm the entire statistical analysis.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 5 tests: 5 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 5 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewers 1, 2Primary endpoint between-group difference at week 24
“between-group difference, −59.4% [95% CI, −65.6% to −53.2%]; P < .001”
Taken as given: The CI is a 95% confidence interval for the difference in means.; The reported p-value is two-sided.Method: Two-sided p-value derived from the estimate and 95% CI using the normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(-59.4, -65.6, -53.2, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewers 1, 2Secondary endpoint at week 52
“between-group difference, −61.5% [95% CI, −69.4% to −53.7%]; P < .001”
Taken as given: The CI is a 95% confidence interval for the difference in means.; The reported p-value is two-sided.Method: Two-sided p-value derived from the estimate and 95% CI using the normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(-61.5, -69.4, -53.7, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 2Secondary outcome non-HDL-C at week 24
“At week 24, the mean percentage change in non–HDL-C level was −52.3% in the enlicitide group vs 2.1% in the placebo group (between-group difference, −53.0% [95% CI, −58.5% to −47.4%]; P < .001)”
Taken as given: The between-group difference is -53.0 with 95% CI -58.5 to -47.4.; The CI is two-sided at 95%.; The p-value is two-tailed.Method: Recomputed p from estimate and CI using normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(-53.0, -58.5, -47.4, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 2Secondary outcome apolipoprotein B at week 24
“the mean percentage change in apolipoprotein B level was −48.2% vs 1.8%, respectively (between-group difference, −49.1% [95% CI, −54.0% to −44.3%]; P < .001)”
Taken as given: The between-group difference is -49.1 with 95% CI -54.0 to -44.3.; The CI is two-sided at 95%.; The p-value is two-tailed.Method: Recomputed p from estimate and CI using normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(-49.1, -54.0, -44.3, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 2Secondary outcome lipoprotein(a) at week 24
“the median percentage change in lipoprotein(a) level was −24.7% vs −1.6% (between-group difference, −27.5% [95% CI, −34.3% to −20.6%]; P < .001)”
Taken as given: The between-group difference is -27.5 with 95% CI -34.3 to -20.6.; The CI is two-sided at 95%.; The p-value is two-tailed.Method: Recomputed p from estimate and CI using normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(-27.5, -34.3, -20.6, 0)
- lowinternal contradictionThe data sharing statement is incomplete, but this is a reporting issue, not a validity threat.
“Data Sharing Statement: See .”
Article Information
Overstated conclusions
1 finding · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
6 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- supportedReviewer 1Enlicitide significantly reduces LDL-C compared to placebo.The primary endpoint shows a large, statistically significant reduction with a narrow CI.Evidence: Primary endpoint: between-group difference −59.4% (95% CI, −65.6% to −53.2%; P < .001).
“The mean percentage change in LDL-C level at week 24 was −58.2% in the enlicitide group vs 2.6% in the placebo group (between-group difference, −59.4% [95% CI, −65.6% to −53.2%]; P < .001).”
Abstract - supportedReviewer 1Enlicitide is well tolerated.The paper reports similar adverse event rates between groups, supporting tolerability.Evidence: The incidence of adverse events, serious adverse events, and study discontinuation due to adverse events was similar between groups.
“The incidence of adverse events, serious adverse events, and study discontinuation due to adverse events was similar between groups.”
Abstract - supportedReviewer 1Enlicitide reduces apolipoprotein B and non-HDL-C.Secondary outcomes show significant reductions with CIs.Evidence: Mean percentage change in non-HDL-C: −53.0% (95% CI, −58.5% to −47.4%); apolipoprotein B: −49.1% (95% CI, −54.0% to −44.3%).
“At week 24, the mean percentage change in non–HDL-C level was −52.3% in the enlicitide group vs 2.1% in the placebo group (between-group difference, −53.0% [95% CI, −58.5% to −47.4%]; P < .001), the mean percentage change in apolipoprotein B level was −48.2% vs 1.8%, respectively (between-group difference, −49.1% [95% CI, −54.0% to −44.3%]; P < .001)”
Abstract - supportedReviewer 2Enlicitide is effective in lowering LDL-C in adults with HeFH.The primary outcome shows a significant reduction in LDL-C with enlicitide vs placebo.Evidence: Primary outcome: between-group difference -59.4% (95% CI -65.6 to -53.2; P<.001).
“the percentage change in the level of low-density lipoprotein cholesterol at 24 weeks was clinically meaningful and significant in those treated with enlicitide (−58.2%) vs placebo (2.6%) (between-group difference, −59.4%).”
Abstract - supportedReviewer 2Enlicitide is well-tolerated.The paper reports similar adverse event rates between groups, supporting tolerability.Evidence: The incidence of adverse events, serious adverse events, and study discontinuation due to adverse events was similar between groups.
“The incidence of adverse events, serious adverse events, and study discontinuation due to adverse events was similar between groups.”
Results - supportedReviewer 2Enlicitide reduces apolipoprotein B, non-HDL-C, and lipoprotein(a).Secondary outcomes show significant reductions in these lipid parameters.Evidence: Secondary outcomes: non-HDL-C difference -53.0%, apoB -49.1%, Lp(a) -27.5%, all P<.001.
“At week 24, the mean percentage change in non–HDL-C level was −52.3% in the enlicitide group vs 2.1% in the placebo group (between-group difference, −53.0% [95% CI, −58.5% to −47.4%]; P < .001), the mean percentage change in apolipoprotein B level was −48.2% vs 1.8%, respectively (between-group difference, −49.1% [95% CI, −54.0% to −44.3%]; P < .001), and the median percentage change in lipoprotein(a) level was −24.7% vs −1.6% (between-group difference, −27.5% [95% CI, −34.3% to −20.6%]; P < .001).”
Results ¶2
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is the percentage change in LDL-C level, a surrogate biomarker for cardiovascular outcomes. The paper does not demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD data) nor cite validated evidence linking LDL-C reduction to clinical outcomes in this specific context.
“The primary outcome was the mean percentage change in LDL-C level at week 24.”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizeThe effect size is large (between-group difference of -59.4% in LDL-C at week 24) and statistically significant, with a clear anchor to clinical meaningfulness as the trial aimed to achieve guideline-recommended LDL-C goals.
“The mean percentage change in LDL-C level at week 24 was −58.2% in the enlicitide group vs 2.6% in the placebo group (between-group difference, −59.4% [95% CI, −65.6% to −53.2%]; P < .001).”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
2 findings · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
The introduction cites the increased cardiovascular risk in HeFH and the failure of many patients to achieve LDL-C goals with current therapies, establishing the need for new treatments. The objective directly follows from this premise. The paper does not explicitly discuss limitations of prior research, but the premise is well-supported.
“Many patients with HeFH do not achieve guideline-recommended LDL-C goals with the currently available lipid-lowering therapies.”
“To evaluate the efficacy of enlicitide decanoate (an oral proprotein convertase subtilisin/kexin type 9 inhibitor) vs placebo in adults with HeFH requiring further lowering of LDL-C levels despite use of statin therapy.”
“Persons with heterozygous familial hypercholesterolemia (HeFH) are at increased risk of atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease due to lifelong elevated levels of low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-C). Many patients with HeFH do not achieve guideline-recommended LDL-C goals with the currently available lipid-lowering therapies.”
“To evaluate the efficacy of enlicitide decanoate (an oral proprotein convertase subtilisin/kexin type 9 inhibitor) vs placebo in adults with HeFH requiring further lowering of LDL-C levels despite use of statin therapy.”
Randomization method is not explicitly described (e.g., computer-generated), but the trial is described as randomized and double-blind. The unit of randomization is the participant. Blinding is stated (double-blind). A power analysis is not reported, but the sample size is large and the effect size is large. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are clearly defined. The analysis population (modified intention-to-treat) is described, addressing missing data. The placebo control is appropriate.
“This phase 3, randomized clinical trial”
“included persons aged 18 years or older with HeFH currently using lipid-lowering therapy (taking at least a moderate- or high-intensity statin) and either an LDL-C level of 55 mg/dL or greater and a history of major atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease or an LDL-C level of 70 mg/dL or greater without a history of major atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease.”
“The primary outcome was the mean percentage change in LDL-C level at week 24.”
“This phase 3, randomized clinical trial included persons aged 18 years or older with HeFH currently using lipid-lowering therapy (taking at least a moderate- or high-intensity statin) and either an LDL-C level of 55 mg/dL or greater and a history of major atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease or an LDL-C level of 70 mg/dL or greater without a history of major atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease.”
“Participants were randomized (2:1) to 20 mg of enlicitide (n = 202) or placebo (n = 101) once daily for 52 weeks.”
The paper reports mean age, sex distribution, and baseline LDL-C levels. It does not report race/ethnicity or comorbidities in the abstract, but these are likely in the full results. Since both sexes are enrolled, sex justification is not applicable.
“mean age, 52.4 [SD, 13.5] years; 51% were female”
“The mean LDL-C level was 119.0 mg/dL (SD, 41.0 mg/dL) at baseline”
“Of the 303 participants (mean age, 52.4 [SD, 13.5] years; 51% were female) randomized, 293 (96.7%) completed the trial.”
“The mean LDL-C level was 119.0 mg/dL (SD, 41.0 mg/dL) at baseline, all had statin current use (81.5% were taking a high-intensity statin), and 64.4% were taking ezetimibe.”
The paper is a clinical trial involving human participants, so ethics approval and informed consent are required. The abstract and methods do not mention an IRB or ethics committee approval, nor informed consent. The trial registration number is provided, which implies ethical oversight, but the explicit statement is missing.
“ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT05952869”
The drug enlicitide decanoate is named, and the dose (20 mg) is given. The manufacturer is implied (Merck). However, the formulation and lot numbers are not provided, which is typical for a clinical trial. No other biological resources are used.
“Participants were randomized (2:1) to 20 mg of enlicitide (n = 202) or placebo (n = 101) once daily for 52 weeks.”
“Participants were randomized (2:1) to 20 mg of enlicitide (n = 202) or placebo (n = 101) once daily for 52 weeks.”
The primary analysis uses a mixed model for repeated measures, which is appropriate. Tests are not explicitly named but the model is described. Exact p-values are reported (P < .001). Effect sizes with 95% CIs are reported. Statistical software is not identified. Data presentation includes per-group n and CIs. Mathematical plausibility is not applicable due to large N and continuous outcomes.
“between-group difference, −59.4% [95% CI, −65.6% to −53.2%]; P < .001”
“The mean percentage change in LDL-C level at week 24 was −58.2% in the enlicitide group vs 2.6% in the placebo group (between-group difference, −59.4% [95% CI, −65.6% to −53.2%]; P < .001).”
The paper mentions a 'Data Sharing Statement: See .' but the actual statement is not included in the provided text. This is vague and does not specify a concrete access route. No data repository or code repository is mentioned.
“Data Sharing Statement: See .”
“Data Sharing Statement: See .”
The trial is registered with ClinicalTrials.gov. Methods are described in sufficient detail. The reporting guideline (CONSORT) is not explicitly mentioned, but the paper follows standard reporting. All outcomes are reported. Limitations are not explicitly discussed in the abstract, but likely in the full text. Conclusions are proportional. Funding and COI are disclosed.
“ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT05952869”
“Trial Registration ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT05952869”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None found · partly checkedReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Nothing surfaced — but not everything feeding this category ran (missing: data/code link verification), so read this as a partial clean bill.
Checked 1 reference by DOI: 1 verified.
Every extracted reference resolved against Crossref/OpenAlex with no retraction flags.
Copyediting
3 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 3 minor suggestions below.
3 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract“The trial was conducted at 59 sites across 17 countries; the first participant was screened on August 8, 2023, and the last follow-up visit occurred on April 7, 2025.”→ Consider adding 'the trial was conducted' for clarity.Minor style issue.
- MINORconsistencyArticle Information (Data Sharing Statement)“Data Sharing Statement: See .”→ Provide the full data sharing statement or a link to it.The statement is incomplete.
- MINORclarityMethods“No explicit ethics approval statement.”→ Add a statement about ethics approval and informed consent.Essential for a clinical trial.
The published work is robust overall, but an informed reader should weigh the missing explicit ethics approval and informed consent statements, and the incomplete data sharing statement. These are reporting gaps that could warrant a correction or clarification from the authors, but they do not undermine the validity of the trial results.
- 1.HIGHethicsAdd an explicit ethics approval statement in the Methods section, naming the IRB/ethics committee and approval number, and a statement on informed consent.A clinical trial must document ethics approval and informed consent; its absence is a serious reporting gap that could trigger a correction.
- 2.HIGHdata codeProvide the full data sharing statement in the manuscript, specifying how to access the data (e.g., via a data-sharing platform or on request with conditions).The current statement is incomplete ('See .'), which fails to meet transparency requirements for a data-driven trial.
- 3.HIGHreportingAdd a limitations section in the Discussion, addressing potential biases, generalizability, and missing data handling.Limitations are not explicitly discussed, which is expected in a clinical trial report and helps readers interpret the findings.
- 4.HIGHstatisticsIdentify the statistical software used for analysis (e.g., SAS version) in the Methods.Reporting the software is a standard requirement for reproducibility.
- 5.HIGHreportingMention adherence to CONSORT reporting guidelines in the Methods or as a footnote.Explicitly stating CONSORT adherence is expected for randomized trials.
- 6.MEDIUMrigorDescribe the randomization method (e.g., computer-generated random sequence) and allocation concealment in the Methods.The randomization method is not described, which is a minor but important methodological detail.
- 7.MEDIUMrigorReport the power analysis or sample size calculation in the Methods to justify the sample size.A power analysis is not reported, which is a common expectation for clinical trials.
- 8.MEDIUMstatisticsInclude a statement on how outliers or missing data were handled in the statistical analysis.Outlier handling is not explicitly described, which is a minor reporting gap.
- 9.LOWcopyeditClarify the sentence in the Abstract about trial conduct: 'The trial was conducted at 59 sites across 17 countries; the first participant was screened on August 8, 2023, and the last follow-up visit occurred on April 7, 2025.'Minor style issue for clarity.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.