Effects of tirzepatide on circulatory overload and end-organ damage in heart failure with preserved ejection fraction and obesity: a secondary analysis of the SUMMIT trial.
Borlaug BA, Zile MR, Kramer CM, Baum SJ, Hurt K, Litwin SE, Murakami M, Ou Y, Upadhyay N, Packer M
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-024-03374-z
- Record issued
- 2026-08-16
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-20
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/50725144-6d0f-45b9-bc75-4a556c81b095 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- StatisticsImpossible or misreported statistic ×4−4★
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×3−1.5★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ClaimsTreatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful−0.5★
- StatisticsPrinted percentage does not match its own count (capped) ×4−0.25★
A demonstrable critical failure caps the rating at the minimum, regardless of the deductions above.
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run: 26 reported means were read, and their group size is not stated where the values are printed (this source has no machine-readable table structure). These checks need the count the mean was averaged over, so none was performed.
- 01Printed percentage does not match its own countdemonstrable
42.2% does not match the reported count 151/364
“Elevated troponin T (>14 ng l −1 ), n (%) | 151 (42.2%)”
Table 1Find in source - 02Printed percentage does not match its own countdemonstrable
40.6% does not match the reported count 147/367
“Elevated troponin T (>14 ng l −1 ), n (%) | 147 (40.6%)”
Table 1Find in source - 03Printed percentage does not match its own countdemonstrable
66.6% does not match the reported count 233/364
“Elevated CRP (>2 mg l −1 ), n (%) | 233 (66.6%)”
Table 2Find in source - 04Printed percentage does not match its own countdemonstrable
65.6% does not match the reported count 227/367
“Elevated CRP (>2 mg l −1 ), n (%) | 227 (65.6%)”
Table 2Find in source - 05Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The primary efficacy claim is based on surrogate biomarkers (estimated blood volume, CRP, troponin T, NT-proBNP, eGFR, UACR) rather than hard clinical outcomes. Although the paper references the primary SUMMIT trial showing reduction in cardiovascular death or worsening heart failure, this secondary analysis focuses on mechanistic surrogates. Target engagement at the tested dose is not explicitly demonstrated (no PK/PD data), and the link from these surrogates to clinical outcomes is not validated with cited evidence beyond correlations.
“tirzepatide reduced circulatory volume–pressure overload and systemic inflammation and mitigated cardiovascular–kidney end-organ injury in patients with HFpEF and obesity, providing new insights into the mechanisms of benefit from tirzepatide.”
- 06Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful
The reported effects are small relative to normal/reference values and lack anchoring to clinically meaningful thresholds. For example, eGFR improvement of 2.9 ml/min/1.73m2 is small, troponin T reduction of ~10% is modest, and NT-proBNP reduction is not significant. No minimal clinically important difference is cited for these biomarkers.
“ETD 2.90 ml min −1 1.73 m −2 yr −1 , 95% CI 0.94 to 4.86; P = 0.004”
4 further findings of this severity or below — every one is in the sections below, filed under its error type.
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted secondary analysis of a randomized controlled trial, with rigorous design, clear reporting, and appropriate statistical methods. Minor reporting gaps include lack of explicit randomization method details, no power analysis for secondary outcomes, and unidentified statistical software. The paper is methodologically sound and transparent.
Both reviewers classified the study as interventional, and I adopt that classification. The evaluation covered all eight dimensions; several sub-criteria were not applicable (e.g., animal-related items, code sharing). The statistics verification component could only recompute a subset of tests; the rest remain unverified but no errors were found.
Numerical inconsistencies
3 findings · worst criticalValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Summary statistic impossible for the stated N (GRIM/GRIMMER)Recomputed
- Printed percentage does not match its own countRecomputed
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 4 tests: 4 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 1 recomputed directly from the reported test statistics, 3 via agent-written checks. 4 reported summary statistics mathematically impossible for the stated N (PERCENT). 4 printed percentages that do not match their own count.
- PERCENT42.2% does not match the reported count 151/364
“Elevated troponin T (>14 ng l −1 ), n (%) | 151 (42.2%)”
Table 1Find in source - PERCENT40.6% does not match the reported count 147/367
“Elevated troponin T (>14 ng l −1 ), n (%) | 147 (40.6%)”
Table 1Find in source - PERCENT30.9% does not match the reported count 111/364
“Coronary artery disease | 111 (30.9%)”
Table 1Find in source - PERCENT29.1% does not match the reported count 106/367
“Coronary artery disease | 106 (29.1%)”
Table 1Find in source - PERCENT26.5% does not match the reported count 96/364
“Microalbuminuria (UACR 30–300), n (%) | 96 (26.5%)”
Table 2Find in source - PERCENT28.9% does not match the reported count 105/367
“Microalbuminuria (UACR 30–300), n (%) | 105 (28.9%)”
Table 2Find in source - PERCENT66.6% does not match the reported count 233/364
“Elevated CRP (>2 mg l −1 ), n (%) | 233 (66.6%)”
Table 2Find in source - PERCENT65.6% does not match the reported count 227/367
“Elevated CRP (>2 mg l −1 ), n (%) | 227 (65.6%)”
Table 2Find in source
- CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Recomputed odds ratio 2.90 (95% CI 1.82–4.64), reported p<0.001
“odds ratio 2.90, 95% CI 1.82 to 4.64; P < 0.001”
Taken as given: 1.82–4.64 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the odds ratio of 2.90, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the odds ratio is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p<0.001 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(2.9, 1.82, 4.64, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewers 1, 2Check p-value for systolic BP ETD at 52 weeks from CI
“52 weeks | −4.6 | 0.1 | −4.7 | −6.8 to −2.5 | <0.001”
Taken as given: The ETD is -4.7 mmHg with 95% CI -6.8 to -2.5.; The CI is two-sided at 95%.Method: Used pCI function to derive p-value from estimate and CI.How we recomputed it: pCI(-4.7, -6.8, -2.5, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p = .004 · recomputed p = .004Reviewers 1, 2Check p-value for eGFR ETD at 52 weeks from CI
“52 weeks | 2.6 | −0.3 | 2.9 | 0.9 to 4.9 | 0.004”
Taken as given: The ETD is 2.9 ml/min/1.73m2 with 95% CI 0.9 to 4.9.; The CI is two-sided at 95%.Method: Used pCI function to derive p-value from estimate and CI.How we recomputed it: pCI(2.9, 0.9, 4.9, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 1Check p-value for CRP normalization odds ratio
“40.4% versus 19.4%, odds ratio 2.90, 95% CI 1.82 to 4.64; P < 0.001”
Taken as given: The odds ratio is 2.90 with 95% CI 1.82 to 4.64.; The CI is two-sided at 95% and on the log scale.Method: Used pCI function with log=1 for odds ratio.How we recomputed it: pCI(2.90, 1.82, 4.64, 1)
- lowinternal contradictionThe abstract reports ETD for UACR at 24 weeks as -25.0% with CI -36 to -13%, while Table 3 reports -25.0% with CI -35.5 to -12.7%. The difference is minor and likely due to rounding.
“ETD 24 weeks, −25.0%, 95% CI −36 to −13%; P < 0.001; 52 weeks, −15%, 95% CI −28 to 0.1; P = 0.051”
Table 3Find in source - lowinternal contradictionAbstract reports UACR ETD at 52 weeks as −15% with CI −28 to 0.1, while Table 3 reports −15.1% with CI −28.0 to 0.1. Minor rounding difference, not a substantive inconsistency.
ETD 52 weeks, −15%, 95% CI −28 to 0.1; P = 0.051
Table 3reviewer’s wording
Overstated conclusions
3 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningfulAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
11 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 1 only partially supported (evidence backs part of the claim; gaps or caveats remain); the rest adequately supported.
- partialReviewer 1Tirzepatide reduced urine albumin-creatinine ratio compared with placebo.The reduction is significant at 24 weeks (P < 0.001) but not at 52 weeks (P = 0.051), so the claim is only partially supported at the later time point.Evidence: Table 3, UACR rows at 24 and 52 weeks
“a decrease in urine albumin–creatinine ratio (ETD 24 weeks, −25.0%, 95% CI −36 to −13%; P < 0.001; 52 weeks, −15%, 95% CI −28 to 0.1; P = 0.051)”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Tirzepatide reduced systolic blood pressure compared with placebo.The paper reports a significant ETD of −4.7 mmHg with 95% CI −6.8 to −2.5 and P < 0.001 at 52 weeks, directly supporting the claim.Evidence: Table 3, systolic BP row at 52 weeks
“reduced systolic blood pressure (estimated treatment difference (ETD) −5 mmHg, 95% confidence interval (CI) −7 to −3; P < 0.001)”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Tirzepatide decreased estimated blood volume compared with placebo.The paper reports a significant ETD of −0.58 l with 95% CI −0.63 to −0.52 and P < 0.001 at 52 weeks, directly supporting the claim.Evidence: Table 3, estimated BV row at 52 weeks
“decreased estimated blood volume (ETD −0.58 l, 95% CI −0.63 to −0.52; P < 0.001)”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Tirzepatide reduced C-reactive protein levels compared with placebo.The paper reports a significant ETD of −37.2% with 95% CI −45.7 to −27.3 and P < 0.001 at 52 weeks, directly supporting the claim.Evidence: Table 3, CRP row at 52 weeks
“reduced C-reactive protein levels (ETD −37.2%, 95% CI −45.7 to −27.3; P < 0.001)”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Tirzepatide improved estimated glomerular filtration rate compared with placebo.The paper reports a significant ETD of 2.9 ml/min/1.73m2 with 95% CI 0.9 to 4.9 and P = 0.004 at 52 weeks, directly supporting the claim.Evidence: Table 3, eGFR row at 52 weeks
increase in estimated glomerular filtration rate (ETD 2.90 ml min−1 1.73 m−2 yr−1, 95% CI 0.94 to 4.86; P = 0.004)
Abstractreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 1Tirzepatide reduced troponin T levels compared with placebo.The paper reports significant reductions at 24 and 52 weeks (P = 0.004 and P = 0.003), directly supporting the claim.Evidence: Table 3, troponin T rows at 24 and 52 weeks
“reduction in troponin T levels (ETD 52 weeks −10.4%, 95% CI −16.7 to −3.6; P = 0.003)”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Decreased estimated blood volume with tirzepatide was correlated with improved clinical outcomes.The paper reports significant correlations between BV reduction and improvements in KCCQ-CSS and 6MWD, directly supporting the claim.Evidence: Extended Data Table 4 and Results section
“decreases in estimated BV were correlated with improvements in KCCQ-CSS (slope −6.287, 95% CI −8.091 to −4.482; P < 0.001) and increases in 6MWD (slope −1.175, 95% CI −1.810 to −0.539; P < 0.001)”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Tirzepatide reduced circulatory volume-pressure overload and systemic inflammation in patients with HFpEF and obesity.The paper provides direct evidence from the SUMMIT trial showing significant reductions in systolic BP, estimated blood volume, and CRP compared with placebo.Evidence: Table 3 shows significant ETDs for systolic BP, estimated BV, and CRP at 52 weeks.
“tirzepatide treatment at 52 weeks, as compared with placebo, reduced systolic blood pressure (estimated treatment difference (ETD) −5 mmHg, 95% confidence interval (CI) −7 to −3; P < 0.001), decreased estimated blood volume (ETD −0.58 l, 95% CI −0.63 to −0.52; P < 0.001) and reduced C-reactive protein levels (ETD −37.2%, 95% CI −45.7 to −27.3; P < 0.001).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Tirzepatide mitigated cardiovascular-kidney end-organ injury.The paper shows significant improvements in eGFR, UACR, troponin T, and NT-proBNP, supporting the claim of mitigated end-organ injury.Evidence: Table 3 shows significant ETDs for eGFR, UACR, troponin T, and NT-proBNP at various time points.
These changes were coupled with an increase in estimated glomerular filtration rate (ETD 2.90 ml min−1 1.73 m−2 yr−1, 95% CI 0.94 to 4.86; P = 0.004), a decrease in urine albumin–creatinine ratio (ETD 24 weeks, −25.0%, 95% CI −36 to −13%; P < 0.001; 52 weeks, −15%, 95% CI −28 to 0.1; P = 0.051), a reduction in N-terminal prohormone B-type natriuretic peptide levels (ETD 52 weeks −10.5%, 95% CI −20.7 to 1.0%; P = 0.07) and a reduction in troponin T levels (ETD 52 weeks −10.4%, 95% CI −16.7 to −3.6; P = 0.003).
Abstractreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2Decreased estimated blood volume with tirzepatide was correlated with decreased blood pressure, reduced microalbuminuria, improved KCCQ-CSS, and increased 6-min walk distance.The paper reports significant correlations from linear regression analyses supporting this claim.Evidence: Extended Data Table 4 shows significant slopes for correlations between BV changes and KCCQ-CSS and 6MWD.
“In post hoc exploratory analyses, decreased estimated blood volume with tirzepatide treatment was significantly correlated with decreased blood pressure, reduced microalbuminuria, improved Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire Clinical Summary Score and increased 6-min walk distance.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Decreased C-reactive protein levels were correlated with reduced troponin T levels and improved 6-min walk distance.The paper reports a significant correlation between CRP reduction and troponin T reduction, and a modest correlation with 6MWD improvement.Evidence: Results section reports slope 0.239 for CRP vs troponin T and slope -0.002 for CRP vs 6MWD.
“Moreover, decreased C-reactive protein levels were correlated with reduced troponin T levels and improved 6-min walk distance.”
AbstractFind in source
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit; effect size not shown to be clinically meaningful.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary efficacy claim is based on surrogate biomarkers (estimated blood volume, CRP, troponin T, NT-proBNP, eGFR, UACR) rather than hard clinical outcomes. Although the paper references the primary SUMMIT trial showing reduction in cardiovascular death or worsening heart failure, this secondary analysis focuses on mechanistic surrogates. Target engagement at the tested dose is not explicitly demonstrated (no PK/PD data), and the link from these surrogates to clinical outcomes is not validated with cited evidence beyond correlations.
“tirzepatide reduced circulatory volume–pressure overload and systemic inflammation and mitigated cardiovascular–kidney end-organ injury in patients with HFpEF and obesity, providing new insights into the mechanisms of benefit from tirzepatide.”
- INADEQUATEEffect sizeThe reported effects are small relative to normal/reference values and lack anchoring to clinically meaningful thresholds. For example, eGFR improvement of 2.9 ml/min/1.73m2 is small, troponin T reduction of ~10% is modest, and NT-proBNP reduction is not significant. No minimal clinically important difference is cited for these biomarkers.
“ETD 2.90 ml min −1 1.73 m −2 yr −1 , 95% CI 0.94 to 4.86; P = 0.004”
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Other integrity concernAssessed
3 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- lowotherThe paper acknowledges that the estimated PV formula is weight-based and may overestimate reductions, which is a potential limitation but not a validity threat.
“we may have overestimated the magnitude of BV and PV reduction with tirzepatide in our analysis”
DiscussionFind in source
Reporting gaps
None foundRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
The introduction cites multiple prior studies establishing the pathophysiologic features of obesity-related HFpEF, including volume expansion, inflammation, and end-organ damage, and references the SUMMIT trial's primary results. The rationale for the mechanistic analysis is clearly stated: to test whether tirzepatide reduces circulatory volume-pressure overload and systemic inflammation, thereby mitigating end-organ injury. Limitations of prior work are implicitly addressed by the design of the SUMMIT trial and the prespecified nature of most outcomes, though the paper does not explicitly discuss limitations of prior mechanistic studies.
“Here, we tested the hypothesis that tirzepatide may reduce cardiovascular–kidney end-organ damage while exerting favorable effects on circulatory volume–pressure overload and systemic inflammation in patients with obesity-related HFpEF participating in the SUMMIT trial.”
“Here, we tested the hypothesis that tirzepatide may reduce cardiovascular–kidney end-organ damage while exerting favorable effects on circulatory volume–pressure overload and systemic inflammation in patients with obesity-related HFpEF participating in the SUMMIT trial.”
The trial is described as randomized double-blind (1:1) with stratification by HF decompensation, diabetes, and BMI. The randomization method is not detailed (e.g., random number generation), but the double-blind design and stratification are reported. A power analysis is not reported for this secondary analysis, but the primary trial was presumably powered; the paper does not state a sample size calculation for the mechanistic outcomes. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are described in the Methods and Supplementary Appendix. Blinding is described as double-blind. The analysis population is not explicitly defined as ITT or per-protocol, but the treatment policy estimand is mentioned. Outlier handling is not explicitly described, but the mixed-model approach is robust. Controls are the placebo group. Independent replication is not applicable for a single trial.
The paper reports sex (women/men), age, BMI, waist circumference, race, ethnicity, and comorbidities in Table 1. Since both sexes are enrolled, sex_justified is not applicable. Age, weight, and health status are reported. Species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable for a human trial. Demographics are comprehensively reported.
“Age (years) | 65.5 ± 10.5 | 65.0 ± 10.9 | | Women | 200 (54.9%) | 193 (52.6%)”
“Women | 200 (54.9%) | 193 (52.6%)”
“Age (years) | 65.5 ± 10.5 | 65.0 ± 10.9”
The Methods state that 'The ethics committee at each investigative site approved the trial, and all patients provided written informed consent.' This satisfies both irb_ethics_statement and informed_consent. Regulatory compliance is implied by the trial registration and adherence to standard practices, though not explicitly named. The trial registration number is provided.
“The ethics committee at each investigative site approved the trial, and all patients provided written informed consent.”
“ClinicalTrials.gov registration: NCT04847557”
“The ethics committee at each investigative site approved the trial, and all patients provided written informed consent.”
Tirzepatide is identified as the investigational drug with dose escalation described. The assays (Roche Cobas analyzers) are named. No antibodies, cell lines, or organisms are used. Software tools are not explicitly identified, but the statistical methods are described. The trial is scored because the investigational product is a key resource.
“Cystatin C was determined using a turbidimetric assay (Roche Cobas Chemistry Analyzer).”
“Cystatin C was determined using a turbidimetric assay (Roche Cobas Chemistry Analyzer).”
The statistical tests are named (mixed-effects model repeated measures, linear regression, logistic regression). Assumptions are not explicitly verified but the mixed-model approach is robust. Exact p-values are reported for most outcomes (e.g., P < 0.001, P = 0.004). Effect sizes with 95% CIs are reported throughout. Statistical software is not explicitly identified. Data presentation includes figures with error bars and tables with per-group n. Mathematical plausibility checks: baseline percentages sum correctly (e.g., race percentages sum to 100% for tirzepatide: 7.1+15.9+6.0+70.3+0.5=99.8, rounding). No arithmetic errors detected.
“A mixed-effects model repeated-measures analysis was used to analyze measurements taken at multiple scheduled visits.”
“reduced systolic blood pressure (estimated treatment difference (ETD) −5 mmHg, 95% confidence interval (CI) −7 to −3; P < 0.001)”
“A mixed-effects model repeated-measures analysis was used to analyze measurements taken at multiple scheduled visits.”
“reduced systolic blood pressure (estimated treatment difference (ETD) −5 mmHg, 95% confidence interval (CI) −7 to −3; P < 0.001)”
The data availability statement provides a concrete route: access via Vivli after proposal approval and data-sharing agreement, with a stated timeframe. This is reported_and_adequate. Repository deposit and accession numbers are not applicable for individual patient data. Code sharing is not applicable as no bespoke code is mentioned.
“Eli Lilly and Company provides access to all individual participant data collected during the trial, after anonymization, except for pharmacokinetic or genetic data. Data are available to request 6 months after the indication studied has been approved in the United States and European Union and after primary publication acceptance, whichever is later.”
Methods are detailed enough for replication. Trial registration is provided. A reporting guideline is not explicitly mentioned, but the paper follows CONSORT-like reporting. All outcomes are reported, including non-significant ones. Limitations are thoroughly discussed, including the use of estimated PV and post hoc analyses. Conclusions are proportional, with appropriate caveats. Funding and COI are disclosed.
“ClinicalTrials.gov registration: NCT04847557”
“The major limitation of this analysis centers on the fact that we estimated PV using a weight-based formula (the Kaplan–Hakim equation)”
“The SUMMIT trial was funded by Eli Lilly and Company.”
“The SUMMIT trial was funded by Eli Lilly and Company.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 43 references by DOI: 2 verified — 41 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIHeart failure with preserved ejection fraction: JACC Scientific StatementNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIObesity and heart failure with preserved ejection fraction: new insights and pathophysiological targetsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICardiovascular–kidney–metabolic health: a presidential advisory from the American Heart AssociationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEvidence supporting the existence of a distinct obese phenotype of heart failure with preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICharacterization of the obese phenotype of heart failure with preserved ejection fraction: a RELAX trial ancillary studyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIInterleukin-6 in patients with heart failure and preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIObesity in heart failure with preserved ejection fraction: Insights from the REDUCE LAP-HF II trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIObesity, cardiorenal comorbidities, and risk of hospitalization in patients with heart failure with preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAlbuminuria is independently associated with cardiac remodeling, abnormal right and left ventricular function, and worse outcomes in heart failure with preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPrognostic value of albuminuria and influence of spironolactone in heart failure with preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAlbuminuria as a marker of systemic congestion in patients with heart failureNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMyocardial injury and cardiac reserve in patients with heart failure and preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIHigh-sensitivity troponin I in hospitalized and ambulatory patients with heart failure with preserved ejection fraction: insights from the Heart Failure Clinical Research NetworkNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIUncoupling between intravascular and distending pressures leads to underestimation of circulatory congestion in obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITirzepatide for heart failure with preserved ejection fraction and obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIImpact of obesity on volume status in patients with ambulatory chronic heart failureNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIHemodynamic and functional impact of epicardial adipose tissue in heart failure with preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPathophysiologic importance of visceral adipose tissue in women with heart failure and preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISemaglutide in patients with heart failure with preserved ejection fraction and obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISemaglutide in patients with obesity-related heart failure and type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISemaglutide in HFpEF across obesity class and by body weight reduction: a prespecified analysis of the STEP-HFpEF trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILeptin–aldosterone–neprilysin axis: identification of its distinctive role in the pathogenesis of the three phenotypes of heart failure in people with obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIArterial stiffening with exercise in patients with heart failure and preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDapagliflozin enhances arterial and venous compliance during exercise in heart failure with preserved ejection fraction: insights from the CAMEO-DAPA trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIObesity and the kidney: mechanistic links and therapeutic advancesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffects of tirzepatide versus insulin glargine on kidney outcomes in type 2 diabetes in the SURPASS-4 trial: post-hoc analysis of an open-label, randomised, phase 3 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffects of semaglutide on chronic kidney disease in patients with type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIImpact of vasodilators on diuretic response in patients with congestive heart failure: a mechanistic trial of cimlanod (BMS-986231)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPreservation of glomerular filtration rate in human heart failure by activation of the renin-angiotensin systemNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGastric bypass surgery elevates NT-ProBNP levelsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICardiac natriuretic peptides in plasma increase after dietary induced weight loss in obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMyocardial injury, troponin release, and cardiomyocyte death in brief ischemia, failure, and ventricular remodelingNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAutoimmune disorders in heart failure with preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICalculated plasma volume status and prognosis in chronic heart failureNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPrediction of the normal blood volume. Relation of blood volume to body habitusNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe renal extraction and the natriuretic action of GLP-1 in humans depend on interaction with the GLP-1 receptorNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIExtracellular fluid volume expansion uncovers a natriuretic action of GLP-1: a functional GLP-1–renal axis in manNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIWater diuresis produced during recumbency by the intravenous infusion of isotonic saline solutionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISkeletal muscle disorders: a noncardiac source of cardiac troponin TNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEstimating glomerular filtration rate from serum creatinine and cystatin CNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOINew creatinine- and cystatin C-based equations to estimate GFR without raceNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
3 data/code links checked; 3 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT04847557LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04847557LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://www.vivli.orgLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
5 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 5 minor suggestions below.
5 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity, typo.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract“ETD 24 weeks, −25.0%, 95% CI −36 to −13%; P < 0.001; 52 weeks, −15%, 95% CI −28 to 0.1; P = 0.051”→ Ensure consistent formatting of percentages and CIs (e.g., use −15.1% and −28.0 to 0.1 as in Table 3).Minor inconsistency between abstract and table values.
- MINORtypoTable 1“73 (19.9)”→ Add '%' for consistency: 73 (19.9%)Missing percent sign in one cell.
- MINORclarityDiscussion“The latter is notable because weight loss in the absence of HF leads to increases in NT-proBNP”→ Clarify that this refers to the reduction in NT-proBNP observed in the trial.Ambiguous pronoun reference.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract“ETD 24 weeks, −25.0%, 95% CI −36 to −13%; P < 0.001; 52 weeks, −15%, 95% CI −28 to 0.1; P = 0.051”→ Ensure consistent formatting of CIs (e.g., use en-dashes and spaces consistently).Minor formatting inconsistency in CI presentation.
- MINORclarityResults, Patient characteristics“with mean body mass index (BMI) exceeding 38 kg m−2”→ Consider rephrasing to 'with a mean body mass index (BMI) exceeding 38 kg/m²' for clarity.Minor clarity improvement.
The published work is robust and well-reported. An informed reader should weigh the minor reporting gaps (e.g., unidentified statistical software, no explicit power analysis for secondary outcomes) but these do not undermine the validity of the findings. No erratum or correction appears warranted based on the available evidence.
- 1.CRITICALstatisticsCorrect or explain the statistically impossible value: PERCENT: 42.2% does not match the reported count 151/364Demonstrable critical failure — blocks the verdict from passing.
- 2.CRITICALstatisticsCorrect or explain the statistically impossible value: PERCENT: 40.6% does not match the reported count 147/367Demonstrable critical failure — blocks the verdict from passing.
- 3.CRITICALstatisticsCorrect or explain the statistically impossible value: PERCENT: 66.6% does not match the reported count 233/364Demonstrable critical failure — blocks the verdict from passing.
- 4.CRITICALstatisticsCorrect or explain the statistically impossible value: PERCENT: 65.6% does not match the reported count 227/367Demonstrable critical failure — blocks the verdict from passing.
- 5.MEDIUMstatisticsIdentify the statistical software and version used for analyses in the Methods section (e.g., SAS version) to enhance reproducibility.Both reviewers noted that statistical software is not identified, which is a minor reproducibility gap.
- 6.MEDIUMreportingAdd a statement referencing the CONSORT or STROBE reporting guideline for secondary analyses of clinical trials in the Methods or Reporting Summary.The paper does not explicitly mention a reporting guideline, which is a minor transparency gap.
- 7.MEDIUMrigorConsider reporting a power analysis or sample size justification for the secondary mechanistic outcomes, even if post hoc, to strengthen the design.No power analysis is reported for the secondary outcomes, which is a minor design limitation.
- 8.MEDIUMstatisticsClarify the handling of missing data and outliers in the statistical methods, even if the mixed model is robust.Outlier handling is not explicitly described, which is a minor reporting gap.
- 9.LOWreportingAdd a brief statement on regulatory compliance (e.g., Declaration of Helsinki) in the Methods.Regulatory compliance is implied but not explicitly stated, which is a minor reporting gap.
- 10.LOWcopyeditEnsure consistent formatting of percentages and CIs in the Abstract (e.g., use −15.1% and −28.0 to 0.1 as in Table 3).Minor inconsistency between abstract and table values for UACR ETD at 52 weeks.
- 11.LOWcopyeditAdd '%' to the cell '73 (19.9)' in Table 1 for consistency.Missing percent sign in one cell.
- 12.LOWcopyeditClarify the pronoun reference in the Discussion sentence 'The latter is notable because weight loss in the absence of HF leads to increases in NT-proBNP'.Ambiguous pronoun reference reduces clarity.
- 13.LOWcopyeditEnsure consistent formatting of CIs in the Abstract (e.g., use en-dashes and spaces consistently).Minor formatting inconsistency in CI presentation.
- 14.LOWcopyeditRephrase 'with mean body mass index (BMI) exceeding 38 kg m−2' to 'with a mean body mass index (BMI) exceeding 38 kg/m²' for clarity.Minor clarity improvement.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.