Inflammation, Cholesterol, Lipoprotein(a), and 30-Year Cardiovascular Outcomes in Women.
Ridker PM, Moorthy MV, Cook NR, Rifai N, Lee IM, Buring JE
- DOI
- 10.1056/NEJMoa2405182
- Record issued
- 2026-08-16
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-21
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/657466ed-5bf3-42dc-9d32-b7f4739ea278 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×2−1★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- Statistics were not checked: no recomputable values were found in this text — no test statistic reported with its degrees of freedom, no effect estimate printed with both a 95% CI and a p-value, and no percentage printed with both its count and its denominator.
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run: 2 reported means were read, and their group size is not stated where the values are printed (this source has no machine-readable table structure). These checks need the count the mean was averaged over, so none was performed.
- No data or code availability links were detected to verify.
- 01Other integrity concern
Trial NCT00000479 was first submitted to ClinicalTrials.gov on 1999-10-27, after the registered study start date of 1992-09. Retrospective registration means the protocol and outcomes were not on the public record before the study ran, which is what prospective registration exists to establish.
NCT00000479
reviewer’s wording
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
The paper is a well-conducted prospective cohort study with clear methods, appropriate statistical analysis, and transparent reporting of limitations and funding. The main weaknesses are the lack of an explicit ethics approval statement, missing data availability statement, and minor reporting gaps (software, exact p-values, reporting guideline).
Both reviewers classified the study as observational; no divergence. The evaluation covered all eight dimensions; randomization, blinding, and animal-related sub-criteria were not applicable. The statistics verification component had limited coverage (0 tests recomputed), so statistical correctness beyond the reported HRs and CIs is not independently confirmed.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
- lowinternal contradictionTable 1 shows Lp(a) quintile 5 age IQR as 53 (49–50), which is internally inconsistent (upper bound lower than lower bound).
53 (49–50)
Table 1reviewer’s wording
Overstated conclusions
1 finding · worst lowConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
4 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 1 only partially supported (evidence backs part of the claim; gaps or caveats remain); the rest adequately supported.
- partialReviewers 1, 2These data support efforts to extend strategies for primary prevention beyond traditional 10-year estimates.The data show long-term associations, but the claim about extending prevention strategies is inferential and not directly tested.Evidence: 30-year cumulative incidence curves and hazard ratios.
“These data support efforts to extend strategies for primary prevention of atherosclerotic events beyond traditional 10-year estimates of risk.”
ConclusionFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2A single bundled measure of hsCRP, LDL-C, and Lp(a) among initially healthy American women is associated with incident cardiovascular events over 30 years.The claim is supported by the primary analysis showing graded associations and combined effects.Evidence: Adjusted hazard ratios for top vs bottom quintile and combined effects with 0,1,2,3 biomarkers in top quintile.
“A single bundled measure of hsCRP, LDL-C, and Lp(a) among initially healthy American women is associated with incident cardiovascular events over 30-years.”
ConclusionFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Each biomarker provides independent contributions to overall risk.Biomarker-adjusted models show attenuated but independent associations for each biomarker.Evidence: Per quintile hazard ratios in biomarker-adjusted models: hsCRP 1.14, LDL-C 1.08, Lp(a) 1.06.
“In analysis further adjusting simultaneously for each of the other biomarkers, on a per quintile basis the observed hazard ratios were 1.14 (95% CI, 1.11 to 1.17) for hsCRP, 1.08 (95% CI, 1.05 to 1.10) for LDL-C, and 1.06 (95% CI, 1.03 to 1.08) for Lp(a).”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The greatest spread for risk was obtained in models using all three biomarkers.Combined effects analysis shows increasing hazard ratios with number of elevated biomarkers.Evidence: Hazard ratios for 0,1,2,3 biomarkers in top quintile: 1.0, 1.27, 1.66, 2.63.
For the primary end point, the covariable adjusted hazard ratios for individuals with 0, 1, 2, or 3 biomarker levels in the 5th quintile were 1.0 (referent), 1.27 (95% CI, 1.19 to 1.37), 1.66 (95% CI, 1.51 to 1.83), and 2.63 (95% CI, 2.16 to 3.19).
Resultsreviewer’s wording
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst mediumAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Other integrity concernAssessed
2 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- mediumotherTrial NCT00000479 was first submitted to ClinicalTrials.gov on 1999-10-27, after the registered study start date of 1992-09. Retrospective registration means the protocol and outcomes were not on the public record before the study ran, which is what prospective registration exists to establish.
NCT00000479
reviewer’s wording
Reporting gaps
2 findings · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
The introduction cites prior trials and short-term studies, acknowledges the gap in long-term data, and states a clear hypothesis. Limitations of prior research are implicitly addressed by the long follow-up and combined biomarker approach.
“To date, three randomized placebo-controlled trials demonstrate that reducing inflammation can significantly lower cardiovascular event rates”
“However, data are scarce on the long-term (25 to 30 year) risks associated with these biomarkers alone and in combination.”
“Consequently, we hypothesized that bundling together hsCRP, LDL-C, and Lp(a) at a single time point might provide a useful method for lifetime biomarker risk assessment.”
“To date, three randomized placebo-controlled trials demonstrate that reducing inflammation can significantly lower cardiovascular event rates”
“However, data are scarce on the long-term (25 to 30 year) risks associated with these biomarkers alone and in combination.”
“Consequently, we hypothesized that bundling together hsCRP, LDL-C, and Lp(a) at a single time point might provide a useful method for lifetime biomarker risk assessment.”
As an observational study, randomization and blinding are not applicable. The study clearly defines inclusion criteria (initially healthy women), endpoints, and statistical models. Power analysis is not reported, but the large sample size and long follow-up provide adequate power. Outlier handling is not explicitly discussed, but the analysis population is well defined.
“The primary end point for these analyses was the occurrence of first major incident cardiovascular events, inclusive of: incident myocardial infarction that was confirmed if the reported event was associated with myocardial damage biomarkers or diagnostic electrocardiographic criteria”
“The study population was then divided according to increasing quintiles of each biomarker and hazard ratios for incident cardiovascular events assessed in cause-specific Cox proportional hazard models”
“The WHS enrolled 39,876 healthy American female health professionals between 1992 and 1995”
“The primary end point for these analyses was the occurrence of first major incident cardiovascular events, inclusive of: incident myocardial infarction that was confirmed if the reported event was associated with myocardial damage biomarkers or diagnostic electrocardiographic criteria”
“hazard ratios for incident cardiovascular events assessed in cause-specific Cox proportional hazard models comparing quintiles 2 through 5 with the lowest (referent) quintile, including other deaths as a competing risk.”
The study reports age, sex (all female), hypertension, diabetes, smoking, BMI, and race. Since it is a human cohort, species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable. Sex is reported (all female) but justification for single-sex is not explicitly provided, though the focus on women is stated as a rationale.
“Second, while we focused attention on women for whom cardiovascular disease remains underdiagnosed and undertreated, long-term data in men are needed to generalize our findings.”
“94% were Caucasian”
The paper mentions funding and trial registration but does not mention IRB approval or informed consent. Given the use of human participants and biomarker data, this is a reporting gap.
“ClinicalTrials.gov (http://ClinicalTrials.gov) : NCT00000479”
The assays for hsCRP, LDL-C, and Lp(a) are named with manufacturers. No antibodies, cell lines, or organisms are used. Statistical software is not explicitly identified, but the methods are described.
“Levels of hsCRP were measured with a validated high-sensitivity assay (Denka Seikan), LDL-C was measured with a direct-measurement assay (Roche Diagnostics), and Lp(a) was measured by an assay independent of apolipoprotein(a) isoform size (Denka Seikan)”
“Levels of hsCRP were measured with a validated high-sensitivity assay (Denka Seikan), LDL-C was measured with a direct-measurement assay (Roche Diagnostics), and Lp(a) was measured by an assay independent of apolipoprotein(a) isoform size (Denka Seikan)”
The study uses Cox proportional hazards models, reports hazard ratios with 95% CIs, and provides exact p-values in some instances. Assumptions are addressed through landmark analyses and Fine-Gray models. Data presentation includes cumulative incidence curves and tables with per-group Ns. Mathematical plausibility checks are not applicable due to large N and continuous outcomes.
“Spearman correlation coefficients were used to discern baseline relationships between hsCRP, LDL-C, and Lp(a).”
“the covariable adjusted hazard ratio for this primary end point comparing the top to bottom quintile was 1.70 (95% CI, 1.52 to 1.90) for hsCRP”
“Spearman correlation coefficients were used to discern baseline relationships between hsCRP, LDL-C, and Lp(a).”
“the covariable adjusted hazard ratio for this primary end point comparing the top to bottom quintile was 1.70 (95% CI, 1.52 to 1.90) for hsCRP”
The paper does not include a data availability statement. Given the patient-level data, managed access would be expected, but no mechanism is described. No code is shared.
Methods are detailed, limitations are discussed, and conclusions are proportional. The trial is registered. A reporting guideline is not explicitly mentioned, but the paper follows standard epidemiological reporting. All outcomes are reported.
“ClinicalTrials.gov (http://ClinicalTrials.gov) : NCT00000479”
“Limitations of our study merit consideration. To increase the likelihood of long-term protocol adherence, the WHS was designed for efficiency in 1992 to include female health professionals.”
“The Women’s Health Study is supported by grants HL043851, HL080467, and HL099355 from the National Heart, Lung and blood Institute (NHLBI) and grants CA047988 and CA182913 from the National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland.”
“ClinicalTrials.gov (http://ClinicalTrials.gov) : NCT00000479”
“Limitations of our study merit consideration. To increase the likelihood of long-term protocol adherence, the WHS was designed for efficiency in 1992 to include female health professionals.”
“The Women’s Health Study is supported by grants HL043851, HL080467, and HL099355 from the National Heart, Lung and blood Institute (NHLBI) and grants CA047988 and CA182913 from the National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None found · partly checkedReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Nothing surfaced — but not everything feeding this category ran (missing: data/code link verification), so read this as a partial clean bill.
Checked 22 references by DOI: 21 verified — 1 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIThe Women’s Health Study: summary of the study designNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
Copyediting
5 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 5 minor suggestions below.
5 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity, typo.
- MINORtypoAbstract, Methods“LDLC”→ LDL-CInconsistent abbreviation for LDL cholesterol.
- MINORconsistencyTable 2, Lp(a) quintile ranges“Range, mg/L”→ Range, mg/dLUnits for Lp(a) are mg/dL elsewhere; table header says mg/L.
- MINORclarityResults, Primary End Point“the covariable adjusted hazard ratio for this primary end point comparing the top to bottom quintile was 1.70 (95% CI, 1.52 to 1.90) for hsCRP”→ Consider adding 'top vs bottom quintile' for clarity.Minor wording.
- MINORconsistencyTable 1, Lp(a) quintile 5 age IQR“53 (49–50)”→ Check if the upper bound should be 59 instead of 50.The IQR appears inconsistent with other quintiles.
- MINORclarityMethods, Statistical Analysis“Confidence intervals are calculated at the 95% level.”→ Consider rephrasing to '95% confidence intervals were calculated.'Minor wording improvement.
The published work is methodologically robust, but an informed reader should weigh the missing explicit ethics approval statement and data availability statement as reporting gaps. The retrospective trial registration and the internal inconsistency in Table 1 (Lp(a) quintile 5 age IQR) warrant attention; a correction or clarification may be appropriate.
- 1.HIGHethicsAdd an explicit ethics approval statement in the Methods section, naming the IRB and protocol number, and describe how informed consent was obtained.The paper currently lacks an explicit ethics approval statement, which is a critical reporting gap for a human cohort study.
- 2.HIGHdata codeAdd a data availability statement in the Methods or a dedicated section, describing how to request access to the WHS data (e.g., via NHLBI BioLINCC or a data access committee).No data availability statement is present, which is a critical omission for a data-driven paper.
- 3.HIGHrigorCorrect the internal inconsistency in Table 1: Lp(a) quintile 5 age IQR is listed as 53 (49–50); verify and fix the upper bound.An impossible IQR (upper bound lower than lower bound) is a validity threat that could undermine trust in the data.
- 4.HIGHreportingClarify the trial registration status: NCT00000479 was first submitted to ClinicalTrials.gov in 1999, after the study start in 1992; acknowledge this retrospective registration in the paper.Retrospective registration means the protocol was not on the public record before the study ran, which is a transparency concern.
- 5.MEDIUMreportingIdentify the statistical software used (e.g., SAS, R) with version in the Statistical Analysis section.Software identification is a standard reporting requirement and aids reproducibility.
- 6.MEDIUMstatisticsConsider reporting exact p-values for key hazard ratios in the Results or tables, or explicitly state that CIs are used for inference.Exact p-values are not consistently reported, which may be expected by some readers.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingMention adherence to a reporting guideline such as STROBE in the Methods or as a supplement.Referencing a reporting guideline improves transparency and completeness.
- 8.MEDIUMotherProvide a brief justification for the single-sex cohort in the Methods, even though the focus on women is stated in the Discussion.A scientific justification for studying only women should be in the Methods to meet reporting standards.
- 9.LOWcopyeditFix the inconsistent abbreviation 'LDLC' to 'LDL-C' in the Abstract and Methods.Consistent terminology is expected in a polished manuscript.
- 10.LOWcopyeditCorrect the units for Lp(a) in Table 2: the header says 'mg/L' but the text uses 'mg/dL'; ensure consistency.Inconsistent units could confuse readers and affect interpretation.
- 11.LOWcopyeditRephrase 'Confidence intervals are calculated at the 95% level' to '95% confidence intervals were calculated' in the Methods.Minor wording improvement for clarity.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.