Abatacept versus hydroxychloroquine for prevention of rheumatoid arthritis in individuals with palindromic rheumatism: a randomized open-label trial.
Sanmarti R, Pérez-García C, de-Toro FJ, Salvador G, Escudero-Contreras A, Cuervo A, Graell E, Reina D, Kanterewicz E, Corominas H, Urionaguena-Onaindia I, López-Lasanta M, Olivé A, Sala-Gómez M, Frade-Sosa B, Morlà-Novell RM, Polino L, Meraz-Ostiz JA, Oreiro N, Blanco FJ, Pérez-Nadales I, Ortega-Castro R, Busquets-Pérez N, Gómez-Centeno AD, Camacho O, Rodríguez-Cros JR, Millan-Arciniegas AM, García-Llorente JF, Borrell H, Prior-Español Á, Castell-Quiñones S, Cruceta A, Bonfill E, Domenech-Gómez G, Roca-Fàbregas A, Ríos J, Tobalina-Maestre L, Gómara MJ, Haro I
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-026-04395-6
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-20
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/6ee8c655-5d89-406f-80fa-2c965d75b8ca is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- StatisticsImpossible or misreported statistic ×3−3★
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×2−1★
- ClaimsOverstated claim−0.5★
- ReportingStudy design partially met−0.25★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
A demonstrable critical failure caps the rating at the minimum, regardless of the deductions above.
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run: 4 reported means were read, and their group size is not stated where the values are printed. These checks need the count the mean was averaged over, so none was performed.
- 01Printed percentage does not match its own countdemonstrable
22.9% does not match the reported count 8/36
“8 (22.9%) of the 36 participants”
- 02Printed percentage does not match its own countdemonstrable
22.9% does not match the reported count 8/36
“8 (22.9%) of the 36 participants treated with hydroxychloroquine”
ResultsFind in source - 03Printed percentage does not match its own countdemonstrable
1.8% does not match the reported count 4/34
“4/4 (1.8%)”
Table 2 - 04Conclusion reaches beyond the evidence
Abatacept could be considered in clinical practice for patients with seropositive PR after careful discussion of risks and benefits.
“Despite the limitations of our study, abatacept could be considered in clinical practice when patients with seropositive PR are managed, after a careful discussion of risks and benefits, and individual values and preferences are incorporated into our…”
DiscussionFind in source
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
The paper is a well-conducted randomized open-label trial with a clear scientific premise, rigorous randomization, and adequate reporting of ethics, biological variables, and key resources. The main weaknesses are the open-label design, vague data availability, and minor statistical reporting gaps.
Both reviewers classified the study as interventional; no divergence. The evaluation covered all eight dimensions; several sub-criteria were not applicable for a human clinical trial (e.g., housing conditions, cell line authentication). The statistics verification component checked only a subset of tests; the 3 inconsistent recomputations were not flagged as decision errors and may reflect rounding.
Numerical inconsistencies
2 findings · worst criticalValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Summary statistic impossible for the stated N (GRIM/GRIMMER)Recomputed
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 4 tests: 4 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 4 via agent-written checks. 3 reported summary statistics mathematically impossible for the stated N (PERCENT).
- PERCENT22.9% does not match the reported count 8/36
“8 (22.9%) of the 36 participants”
- PERCENT22.9% does not match the reported count 8/36
“8 (22.9%) of the 36 participants treated with hydroxychloroquine”
ResultsFind in source - PERCENT1.8% does not match the reported count 4/34
“4/4 (1.8%)”
Table 2
- CONSISTENTreported p = .010 · recomputed p = .010Reviewers 1, 2Primary outcome: chi-square test for RA development at 24 months (failure imputation) in mFAS.
“7 (20.6%) of the 34 participants treated with abatacept and 18 (50.0%) of the 36 participants treated with hydroxychloroquine developed RA during the 24 months of follow-up ( P = 0.010)”
Taken as given: The numbers 7 and 18 are the event counts in the abatacept and hydroxychloroquine groups, respectively.; The denominators are 34 and 36, so non-events are 27 and 18.; The test is a two-sided chi-square test without continuity correction.Method: Pearson chi-square test from 2x2 contingency table using pChi2x2.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(7,27,18,18) - CONSISTENTreported p = .007 · recomputed p = .007Reviewer 1Primary outcome at 12 months: chi-square test for RA development (failure imputation) in mFAS.
“During the first 12 months, using failure imputation in the mFAS population, 3 (8.8%) of the 34 participants treated with abatacept and 13 (36.1%) of the 36 participants treated with hydroxychloroquine developed RA ( P = 0.007)”
Taken as given: The numbers 3 and 13 are the event counts in the abatacept and hydroxychloroquine groups, respectively.; The denominators are 34 and 36, so non-events are 31 and 23.; The test is a two-sided chi-square test.Method: Pearson chi-square test from 2x2 contingency table using pChi2x2.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(3,31,13,23) - CONSISTENTreported p = .030 · recomputed p = .030Reviewers 1, 2Time-to-event analysis: log-rank test for RA-free survival.
“participants treated with abatacept had a significantly longer time to progression to RA (hazard ratio 0.27, 95% confidence interval 0.07 to 0.96; log-rank test P = 0.0299)”
Taken as given: The log-rank test statistic is approximately 4.71 (derived from the p-value and 1 degree of freedom).; The test is two-sided.Method: Chi-square test with 1 degree of freedom from log-rank statistic.How we recomputed it: pChi2(4.71,1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .019 · recomputed p = .019Reviewer 2Primary outcome comparison (available data only) using chi-square test
“Using the available-data-only approach, the corresponding figures were 3 (10.0%) of 30 individuals and 10 (35.7%) of 28 individuals, respectively ( P = 0.019).”
Taken as given: The numbers 3 and 10 are the event counts in the abatacept and hydroxychloroquine groups, respectively.; The denominators are 30 and 28, respectively.; The test used is a two-sided chi-square test without continuity correction.Method: Pearson chi-square test on 2x2 table (3,27,10,18) using pChi2x2.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(3, 27, 10, 18)
- lowinternal contradictionIn Table 2, the percentage for 'Eye disorders' in the abatacept column is given as 1.8% but should be 11.8% (4/34 ≈ 11.8%). This appears to be a typographical error.
“Eye disorders | 3/2 (5.6%) | 4/4 (1.8%) | 0.422”
Table 2Find in source - lowinternal contradictionTable 1 reports female percentages as 69.5% for hydroxychloroquine and 73.5% for abatacept, but 25/36 = 69.4% and 25/34 = 73.5%, so the first is slightly off.
“Female | 25 (69.5%) | 25 (73.5%)”
Table 1Find in source
Overstated conclusions
2 findings · worst mediumConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions overstated beyond the evidenceAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
7 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 1 not fully backed by the presented evidence (unsupported or overstated), 2 only partially supported (evidence backs part of the claim; gaps or caveats remain).
- overstatedReviewer 1Abatacept could be considered in clinical practice for patients with seropositive PR after careful discussion of risks and benefits.The study provides evidence of efficacy, but the open-label design, small sample size, and lack of long-term follow-up limit the strength of the recommendation. The authors acknowledge these limitations, but the conclusion goes beyond what the evidence can support for routine clinical practice.Evidence: The study shows a significant reduction in RA progression, but the limitations (open-label, small sample, no imaging, no patient-reported outcomes) are discussed.
“Despite the limitations of our study, abatacept could be considered in clinical practice when patients with seropositive PR are managed, after a careful discussion of risks and benefits, and individual values and preferences are incorporated into our recommendation.”
DiscussionFind in source - partialReviewers 1, 2No relevant differences in the evolution of autoantibody titers were observed between the two treatment arms.Most comparisons showed no significant differences, but some individual timepoints (e.g., chimeric fibrin/filaggrin homocitrullinated peptide-IgG at month 24, CEP 1-IgA at month 3) showed statistically significant differences. The claim is broadly accurate but slightly overstated.Evidence: Supplementary Table 12: Most comparisons non-significant, but a few significant differences noted.
“No relevant differences in the evolution of antimodified peptide and/or protein antibody titers were observed between the two treatment arms.”
AbstractFind in source - partialReviewer 2Abatacept improved symptoms compared with hydroxychloroquine.Abatacept reduced attack intensity and increased remission, but no difference in attack frequency.Evidence: Remission: 19/34 vs 8/36, P=0.007; intensity reduced; frequency not significantly different.
“Abatacept was also associated with a reduced intensity of joint attacks and a higher frequency of symptom remission; however, there were no differences in the frequency of attacks between the two study drugs.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Abatacept reduced the risk of progression to RA compared with hydroxychloroquine in patients with seropositive palindromic rheumatism.The primary outcome (RA development at 24 months) shows a statistically significant difference (P=0.010) with a risk difference of 29.4% (95% CI 8.2 to 50.7). Sensitivity analyses (ADO, per-protocol, logistic regression adjusting for imbalances) are consistent.Evidence: Primary analysis with failure imputation: 7/34 (20.6%) vs 18/36 (50.0%), P=0.010, risk difference 29.4% (95% CI 8.2 to 50.7).
“In the primary analysis, in the modified full analysis set with failure imputation, 7 (20.6%) of the 34 participants treated with abatacept and 18 (50.0%) of the 36 participants treated with hydroxychloroquine developed RA during the 24 months of follow-up ( P = 0.010; risk difference 29.4%, 95% confidence interval 8.2 to 50.7), meeting the primary endpoint.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Abatacept was associated with a reduced intensity of joint attacks and a higher frequency of symptom remission.The paper reports statistically significant differences in attack intensity (Mann-Whitney U-test) and remission proportion (chi-square test). However, the frequency of attacks did not differ significantly.Evidence: Remission: 19/34 (55.9%) vs 8/36 (22.9%), P=0.007. Intensity: median 4.0 vs 7.0, P value not explicitly given but stated as statistically significant.
the proportion of patients in remission in the mFAS population was 19 (55.9%) of the 34 participants treated with abatacept, and 8 (22.9%) of the 36 participants treated with hydroxychloroquine ( P = 0.007)... The differences in the intensity of attacks during the 24-month period between the two study groups were statistically significant.
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewers 1, 2Both drugs were well tolerated.Adverse event rates are reported and compared; no significant differences in serious adverse events or discontinuations. One serious adverse event in abatacept group (melena) was not considered related.Evidence: Table 2: Any adverse events 73.5% vs 63.9% (P=0.446); serious adverse events 2.9% vs 5.6% (P=1.000).
Overall, 25 (73.5%) of the 34 participants treated with abatacept and 23 (63.9%) of the 36 participants treated with hydroxychloroquine experienced at least one adverse event... One participant treated with abatacept experienced a serious adverse event... not considered related to the study drug.
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2Abatacept reduced the risk of progression to RA compared with hydroxychloroquine.The primary endpoint was met with a statistically significant difference and supportive sensitivity analyses.Evidence: Primary analysis: 7/34 vs 18/36, P=0.010; ADO: 3/30 vs 10/28, P=0.019; time-to-event HR 0.27 (95% CI 0.07-0.96).
“abatacept given for 2 years reduced the risk of progression to RA and improved symptoms.”
AbstractFind in source
Efficacy claim is anchored to an adequate endpoint and a meaningful effect.
- ADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is the development of persistent arthritis fulfilling the 2010 RA classification criteria, which is a clinical outcome (development of a disease), not a surrogate biomarker. The trial directly measures progression to RA, a clinically meaningful endpoint.
“The primary outcome was the development of persistent arthritis (that is, lasting more than 1 week in the same joint) that fulfilled the 2010 RA classification criteria of the American College of Rheumatology/European League Against Rheumatism as evaluated by the participant clinicians during the 24 months of follow-up.”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizeThe primary effect size is a risk difference of 29.4% (95% CI 8.2 to 50.7) in the proportion developing RA, with a hazard ratio of 0.27 (95% CI 0.07 to 0.96). The authors explicitly anchor this as clinically relevant, citing that a risk difference greater than 20% is clinically relevant in similar trials.
“Overall, the risk difference between abatacept and placebo was greater than 20% in these trials, which is a clinically relevant effect size consistent with our results in individuals with PR.”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
2 findings · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
- Study-design details incomplete (controls, blinding, power)Assessed
Prior work is cited extensively, including observational studies on PR progression to RA, placebo-controlled trials of abatacept and rituximab in at-risk populations, and the rationale for using hydroxychloroquine as a comparator. The premise that PR is a preclinical RA state and that T cell activation is a key target is logically linked to the study objectives. Limitations of prior research (e.g., lack of RCTs in PR, small sample sizes, short follow-up) are acknowledged and addressed by the study design.
“As we know of no other randomized clinical trials in patients with PR, we cannot compare our results with those of other trials of individuals with PR.”
“Three placebo-controlled trials have shown the efficacy of biologic disease-modifying anti-rheumatic drugs (DMARDs) in delaying the onset of RA with the anti-B cell rituximab or preventing its onset with the T cell down-modulator abatacept”
Randomization method (central, SAS PROC PLAN, block size multiple of two, stratified by center) and unit (individual patient) are adequately reported. Blinding is absent (open-label), which is a significant weakness, though the authors discuss this limitation. Power analysis is reported with assumptions (42% vs 11% progression, 80% power, alpha=0.05) and sample size (35 per group). Inclusion/exclusion criteria are clearly defined. Outlier handling is not explicitly addressed; missing data are handled via failure imputation and ADO. Controls are present (active comparator hydroxychloroquine). Independent replication is not reported. Replicate distinction (biological vs technical) is not applicable for a human RCT.
“Randomization codes were assigned centrally using electronic Case Report Forms at the time of patient inclusion. These randomized codes were produced by PROC PLAN of the SAS, with a 1:1 ratio of assignment between both arms, in blocks multiple of two elements and stratified by center.”
“The participants, clinicians and outcome assessors were not blinded to the treatment assignment.”
“Randomization codes were assigned centrally using electronic Case Report Forms at the time of patient inclusion. These randomized codes were produced by PROC PLAN of the SAS, with a 1:1 ratio of assignment between both arms, in blocks multiple of two elements and stratified by center.”
“Assuming a 2-year progression rate of at least 42% in the control group and 11% in the experimental group, a sample size of 35 patients per group (total 70) was necessary to reach a power of 80% at a nominal two-sided alpha level of 0.05”
“The lack of blinding is the main limitation of our study.”
Sex is reported (Table 1: 69.5% female in hydroxychloroquine, 73.5% female in abatacept). Age is reported (median 50.5 and 53.5 years). Demographics include ethnicity (White, Hispanic, Other), smoking status, BMI, symptom duration, and serology (ACPA, RF). Species/strain/source and housing conditions are not applicable for a human trial. Sex justification is not applicable because both sexes are enrolled.
“Male | 11 (30.6%) | 9 (26.5%) | | Female | 25 (69.5%) | 25 (73.5%)”
“Age, years; median (P25, P75) | 50.5 (41.5, 57) | 53.5 (45, 61)”
The ethics committee of Hospital Clínic Barcelona is named with a reference number (HCB/2018/0768). The Spanish Agency of Medicines is also named. Written informed consent was obtained from all participants. Compliance with the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practices is stated. The trial is registered at ClinicalTrials.gov and EudraCT.
“The protocol was approved by the ethics committee of the Hospital Clínic Barcelona (Barcelona, Spain; Reference HCB/2018/0768) and the Spanish Agency of Medicines (Reference 2018 MUH/CLIN/EC).”
“All participants provided written informed consent before inclusion in the study.”
“This study was conducted in accordance with the principles of the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practices.”
“The protocol was approved by the ethics committee of the Hospital Clínic Barcelona (Barcelona, Spain; Reference HCB/2018/0768) and the Spanish Agency of Medicines (Reference 2018 MUH/CLIN/EC).”
“All participants provided written informed consent before inclusion in the study.”
“This study was conducted in accordance with the principles of the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practices.”
The investigational products are clearly identified: abatacept (125 mg subcutaneous injections, weekly then every 2 weeks) and hydroxychloroquine (5 mg/kg per day). The manufacturer of abatacept (Bristol Myers Squibb) is mentioned in the acknowledgements. Statistical software (SAS version 9.4) is identified. Antibodies, cell lines, mycoplasma testing, and organisms are not applicable for this clinical trial. Reagents for autoantibody assays are described (ELISA methods with specific antigens) but vendor/catalog numbers are not provided for all; however, this is a secondary analysis and the primary resources (drugs) are adequately reported.
“abatacept ( n = 34; 125 mg subcutaneous injections weekly during the first year and every 2 weeks during the second year) compared with oral hydroxychloroquine ( n = 36; 5 mg kg − 1 per day)”
“Statistical analysis was performed using SAS (version 9.4; SAS Institute Inc.).”
“Participants were randomized to abatacept (125 mg subcutaneous injections weekly) or oral hydroxychloroquine (5 mg kg − 1 per day)”
“Statistical analysis was performed using SAS (version 9.4; SAS Institute Inc.).”
Tests are named (chi-square, Fisher's exact, log-rank, Mann-Whitney U, t-test, mixed models). Effect sizes with CIs are reported for the primary outcome (risk difference 29.4%, 95% CI 8.2 to 50.7; HR 0.27, 95% CI 0.07 to 0.96). Software is identified (SAS 9.4). Data presentation includes per-group n, box plots, and Kaplan-Meier curves. Assumptions verification (normality, equal variance) is not explicitly reported, but for a clinical trial using standard methods this is acceptable. Exact p-values are reported for the primary outcome (P = 0.010) and many secondary outcomes, though some are reported as thresholds (e.g., P < 0.001). Mathematical plausibility checks are not applicable for continuous outcomes with N > 100.
“7 (20.6%) of the 34 participants treated with abatacept and 18 (50.0%) of the 36 participants treated with hydroxychloroquine developed RA during the 24 months of follow-up ( P = 0.010; risk difference 29.4%, 95% confidence interval 8.2 to 50.7)”
“participants treated with abatacept had a significantly longer time to progression to RA (hazard ratio 0.27, 95% confidence interval 0.07 to 0.96; log-rank test P = 0.0299)”
“7 (20.6%) of the 34 participants treated with abatacept and 18 (50.0%) of the 36 participants treated with hydroxychloroquine developed RA during the 24 months of follow-up ( P = 0.010; risk difference 29.4%, 95% confidence interval 8.2 to 50.7)”
“the risk difference was 29.4% (95% confidence interval (CI) 8.2 to 50.7)”
“For the primary outcome, we conducted a chi-square or Fisher’s exact test, depending on the test requirements.”
A data availability statement is present: 'The datasets generated and/or analyzed during this clinical study are not publicly available due to restrictions related to data. Anonymized datasets may be provided by the corresponding author upon reasonable request with a response expected within 4 weeks.' This is reported_but_inadequate because it lacks a concrete managed-access platform or data-access committee. Code availability is stated as not publicly available. No repository deposit or accession numbers are provided. For a clinical trial, managed access is acceptable, but the statement is vague.
“The datasets generated and/or analyzed during this clinical study are not publicly available due to restrictions related to data. Anonymized datasets may be provided by the corresponding author upon reasonable request with a response expected within 4 weeks.”
“The code generated during this clinical study is not publicly available due to restrictions related to data.”
“Anonymized datasets may be provided by the corresponding author upon reasonable request with a response expected within 4 weeks.”
“The code generated during this clinical study is not publicly available due to restrictions related to data.”
Trial registration numbers are provided (NCT03669367 and EudraCT). Methods are comprehensive. Limitations are explicitly discussed, including lack of blinding, small sample size, and lack of imaging. Conclusions are appropriately cautious. Funding and competing interests are declared. Reporting guideline is not explicitly mentioned, but the paper follows CONSORT-like structure.
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier NCT03669367 (http://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT03669367) and EudraCT no. 2017-004543-20.”
“This study was funded by Bristol Myers Squibb through an ‘investigator sponsored research (ISR)’ grant (IM101-680_ 2016-ORE-0082).”
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier NCT03669367 (http://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT03669367) and EudraCT no. 2017-004543-20.”
“The lack of blinding is the main limitation of our study.”
“This study was funded by Bristol Myers Squibb through an ‘investigator sponsored research (ISR)’ grant (IM101-680_ 2016-ORE-0082).”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov, EudraCT). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 39 references by DOI: 31 verified — 8 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIThe role of anti-cyclic citrullinated peptide antibodies in predicting progression of palindromic rheumatism to rheumatoid arthritisNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDecreased progression to rheumatoid arthritis or other connective tissue diseases in patients with palindromic rheumatism treated with antimalarialsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPresence of anti-cyclic citrullinated peptide antibodies is associated with better treatment response to abatacept but not to TNF inhibitors in patients with rheumatoid arthritis: a meta-analysisNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPalindromic rheumatism: a response to chloroquineNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIHydroxychloroquine does not prevent the future development of rheumatoid arthritis in a population with baseline high levels of antibodies to citrullinated protein antigens and absence of inflammatory arthritis: interim analysis of the StopRA trial [abstract]No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe impact on anti-citrullinated protein antibody isotypes and epitope fine specificity in patients with early RA treated with abatacept and methotrexateNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAdjustment for baseline covariates in clinical trials – Scientific guidelineNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOInQuery version 9. Advisor user’s guideNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
2 data/code links checked; 2 live.
- datahttp://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT03669367LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT03669367LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
6 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 6 minor suggestions below.
6 copyedit issues flagged: mostly typo, consistency, clarity.
- MINORtypoTable 2, footnote“4/4 (1.8%)”→ Should be 4/4 (11.8%) to match the pattern of other rows.The percentage for 'Eye disorders' in the abatacept column is given as 1.8% but should be 11.8% (4/34 ≈ 11.8%).
- MINORconsistencyResults, paragraph 1“Twenty-six (76.5%) of the 34 individuals assigned to abatacept and 18 (50%) of the 36 individuals assigned to hydroxychloroquine included in the mFAS completed the study.”→ Ensure consistency: 26/34 = 76.5% is correct; 18/36 = 50% is correct.No error, but the sentence structure could be clearer.
- MINORclarityMethods, Procedures“although it was not explicitly stated in the question, it was understood that ‘intensity’ essentially referred to the degree of pain and/or functional impairment experienced by the patients.”→ This parenthetical comment is informal; consider removing or rephrasing.The sentence interrupts the flow of the methods description.
- MINORconsistencyTable 1“11 (32,4%)”→ Change comma to decimal point: 11 (32.4%)Inconsistent decimal separator.
- MINORtypoTable 2“4/4 (1.8%)”→ Likely should be 4/4 (11.8%)Percentage appears inconsistent with count.
- MINORclarityMethods, Procedures“although it was not explicitly stated in the question, it was understood that ‘intensity’ essentially referred to the degree of pain and/or functional impairment experienced by the patients.”→ Rephrase to clarify the definition of intensity.Awkward phrasing.
The published work is methodologically sound but has notable limitations: the open-label design and vague data availability statement should be weighed by readers. The minor copyedit issues and the overstated clinical recommendation warrant attention in any correction or re-analysis.
- 1.CRITICALstatisticsCorrect or explain the statistically impossible value: PERCENT: 22.9% does not match the reported count 8/36Demonstrable critical failure — blocks the verdict from passing.
- 2.CRITICALstatisticsCorrect or explain the statistically impossible value: PERCENT: 1.8% does not match the reported count 4/34Demonstrable critical failure — blocks the verdict from passing.
- 3.HIGHdata codeReplace the vague 'on reasonable request' data availability statement with a concrete managed-access mechanism (e.g., a named data access committee or platform like Vivli/YODA) in the Data availability section.A concrete access route improves transparency and reproducibility for a clinical trial.
- 4.HIGHreportingTemper the conclusion that 'abatacept could be considered in clinical practice' to reflect the open-label design, small sample size, and lack of long-term follow-up, as noted in the Discussion.The claim audit flagged this as overstated; the evidence supports efficacy but not a routine clinical recommendation.
- 5.MEDIUMcopyeditCorrect the percentage for 'Eye disorders' in Table 2 from 1.8% to 11.8% (4/34).The current percentage is internally inconsistent with the count and could mislead readers.
- 6.MEDIUMcopyeditFix the decimal separator inconsistency in Table 1: change '11 (32,4%)' to '11 (32.4%)'.Inconsistent decimal separators reduce clarity and professionalism.
- 7.MEDIUMstatisticsAdd a statement on verification of statistical test assumptions (normality, equal variance) or justify why they were not checked, in the Statistical analysis section.Assumption verification is a standard expectation and currently not explicitly reported.
- 8.MEDIUMstatisticsReport exact p-values for all secondary outcomes instead of thresholds like P < 0.001.Exact p-values improve transparency and allow readers to assess evidence strength.
- 9.MEDIUMdata codeConsider sharing de-identified participant data in a controlled-access repository (e.g., EGA or Vivli) with a DOI, if feasible under GDPR.Repository deposit with a DOI enhances reproducibility and is more concrete than 'on reasonable request'.
- 10.MEDIUMdata codeShare the statistical analysis code (e.g., SAS scripts) in a public repository with a DOI, even if data are restricted.Code sharing improves reproducibility and is independent of data access restrictions.
- 11.MEDIUMreportingExplicitly state adherence to a reporting guideline such as CONSORT in the Methods or Reporting Summary.Explicit guideline adherence is a standard expectation for clinical trials and currently not stated.
- 12.LOWrigorAdd a statement on how outliers were handled in the statistical analysis (e.g., whether any data points were excluded and why).Outlier handling is not explicitly reported, which is a minor reporting gap.
- 13.LOWreportingClarify the manufacturer/source of abatacept and hydroxychloroquine in the Methods to fully identify the investigational products.Full identification of investigational products is good practice, though not strictly required.
- 14.LOWcopyeditRephrase the informal parenthetical comment about 'intensity' in Methods, Procedures, to clarify the definition.The current phrasing is awkward and interrupts the methods description.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.