Phase 3 Results of Bepirovirsen Treatment for Chronic Hepatitis B Virus Infection.
Hou J, Lim SG, Buti M, Yuen MF, Gane E, Lampertico P, Terrault N, Nguyen H, Yim HJ, Xie Q, Lin J, Qiu Y, Jeng WJ, Heo J, Peng CY, Chen CH, Chuang WL, Xie Y, Hlebowicz M, Idriz N, Mehta R, Agarwal K, Gomes da Silva MM, Franca A, Cernat R, Leerapun A, Coffin CS, Gadano A, Andreone P, Fujiyama S, Sevastianos V, Suzuki Y, Ratziu V, Riachi G, Stocker H, Lim TH, Asselah T, Tanaka Y, Holmes J, Liang X, Cremer J, Lukić T, Plein H, Quinn G, Tao Y, Paff M, Theodore D, Elston R, B-Well Study Group
- DOI
- 10.1056/NEJMoa2515131
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-20
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/70408aa4-33ec-4e7d-bbcd-77dc1ba4d2a9 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern−0.5★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ClaimsTreatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- No data or code availability links were detected to verify.
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The primary efficacy endpoint is 'functional cure', defined as sustained HBV DNA below LLOQ and HBsAg loss (<0.05 IU/mL) for at least 24 weeks after discontinuing NA therapy. HBsAg loss is a surrogate biomarker for clinical outcomes (e.g., reduced risk of cirrhosis, hepatocellular carcinoma). Although the paper cites that HBsAg loss is associated with better clinical outcomes, it does not provide validated evidence linking this surrogate to hard clinical outcomes in the context of this trial, nor does it demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD data). The efficacy claim rests on this surrogate endpoint.
“A functional cure, defined as an HBV DNA level below the lower limit of quantification (LLOQ) and hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) loss (i.e., a level of <0.05 IU per milliliter) for at least 24 weeks after finite (fixed-duration) therapy ... is the…”
- 02Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful
The primary outcome is a functional cure achieved in 20% and 19% of bepirovirsen-treated patients in the two trials, compared with 0% in placebo. While the difference is statistically significant, the absolute effect size is modest (about one in five patients). The paper does not anchor this effect size to a minimal clinically important difference or provide a clear biological/clinical meaningfulness threshold beyond statistical significance. The effect is presented as a positive result but lacks explicit anchoring to clinical meaningfulness.
“The percentage of patients with a functional cure at week 72 was significantly higher with bepirovirsen than with placebo both in the B-Well 1 trial (in 127 of 650 patients [20%] vs. none of 328 patients) and in the B-Well 2 trial (in 106 of 570 patients…”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted pair of replicate phase 3 randomized trials with strong methodology, clear reporting of demographics, ethics, and statistical methods. The main weakness is the vague data sharing statement, which lacks specific access details. Minor copyedit issues and a small N discrepancy in Table 1 are noted.
Both reviewers classified the study as interventional, and no divergence was noted. The evaluation covered the full text, including methods, results, and discussion. Bench-specific criteria (e.g., cell line authentication) were not applicable. The statistics verification checked only 2 tests, so the broader statistical correctness is not fully verified.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 2 tests: 2 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 2 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewers 1, 2Primary outcome risk difference in B-Well 1
“The percentage of patients with a functional cure at week 72 was significantly higher with bepirovirsen than with placebo both in the B-Well 1 trial (in 127 of 650 patients [20%] vs. none of 328 patients)”
Taken as given: The 127 and 650 are the event count and group total for the bepirovirsen arm.; The 0 and 328 are the event count and group total for the placebo arm.; The test is a two-sided Pearson chi-square test.Method: Two-sided Pearson chi-square test on the 2x2 table.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(127, 650-127, 0, 328) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewers 1, 2Primary outcome risk difference in B-Well 2
“in the B-Well 2 trial (in 106 of 570 patients [19%] vs. none of 286 patients)”
Taken as given: The 106 and 570 are the event count and group total for the bepirovirsen arm.; The 0 and 286 are the event count and group total for the placebo arm.; The test is a two-sided Pearson chi-square test.Method: Two-sided Pearson chi-square test on the 2x2 table.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(106, 570-106, 0, 286)
- lowinternal contradictionTable 1 footnote states HBsAg values are for 570 patients in the bepirovirsen group in B-Well 2, while the column header indicates N=571. This discrepancy is not explained.
“The listed values are for 570 patients in the bepirovirsen group in B-Well 2.”
Table 1Find in source
Overstated conclusions
2 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningfulAssessed
4 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- supportedReviewers 1, 2Bepirovirsen results in a functional cure in significantly more patients than placebo.The primary outcome results are statistically significant in both trials with a large effect size.Evidence: Primary outcome: 20% vs 0% in B-Well 1, 19% vs 0% in B-Well 2, P<0.001.
“The percentage of patients with a functional cure at week 72 was significantly higher with bepirovirsen than with placebo both in the B-Well 1 trial (in 127 of 650 patients [20%] vs. none of 328 patients) and in the B-Well 2 trial (in 106 of 570 patients [19%] vs. none of 286 patients).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1The safety profile of bepirovirsen is acceptable.Adverse events are more common with bepirovirsen but are mostly manageable and consistent with class effects.Evidence: Safety data show higher rates of adverse events, but serious events are infrequent and deaths are unrelated.
“The safety profile of bepirovirsen was consistent across B-Well 1 and B-Well 2.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The replicate trial design provides robust evidence.Two identical trials with consistent results support the robustness of the findings.Evidence: Both trials show similar efficacy and safety results.
The replicate trial design and multicountry enrollment across B-Well 1 and B-Well 2 provide robust evidence for the efficacy and safety of bepirovirsen in patients with chronic HBV infection worldwide.
Discussion ¶2reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2The safety profile of bepirovirsen is consistent with known class effects.The paper reports higher rates of adverse events with bepirovirsen, consistent with antisense oligonucleotide class effects, and discusses them.Evidence: Safety results show higher rates of adverse events, injection-site reactions, and ALT increases with bepirovirsen.
“The higher incidence of adverse events with bepirovirsen than with placebo was mostly linked to the known class effects of bepirovirsen and other antisense oligonucleotides.”
Discussion ¶4Find in source
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit; effect size not shown to be clinically meaningful.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary efficacy endpoint is 'functional cure', defined as sustained HBV DNA below LLOQ and HBsAg loss (<0.05 IU/mL) for at least 24 weeks after discontinuing NA therapy. HBsAg loss is a surrogate biomarker for clinical outcomes (e.g., reduced risk of cirrhosis, hepatocellular carcinoma). Although the paper cites that HBsAg loss is associated with better clinical outcomes, it does not provide validated evidence linking this surrogate to hard clinical outcomes in the context of this trial, nor does it demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD data). The efficacy claim rests on this surrogate endpoint.
“A functional cure, defined as an HBV DNA level below the lower limit of quantification (LLOQ) and hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) loss (i.e., a level of <0.05 IU per milliliter) for at least 24 weeks after finite (fixed-duration) therapy ... is the treatment goal for patients with chronic HBV infection and the recommended end point for new finite HBV therapies.”
- INADEQUATEEffect sizeThe primary outcome is a functional cure achieved in 20% and 19% of bepirovirsen-treated patients in the two trials, compared with 0% in placebo. While the difference is statistically significant, the absolute effect size is modest (about one in five patients). The paper does not anchor this effect size to a minimal clinically important difference or provide a clear biological/clinical meaningfulness threshold beyond statistical significance. The effect is presented as a positive result but lacks explicit anchoring to clinical meaningfulness.
“The percentage of patients with a functional cure at week 72 was significantly higher with bepirovirsen than with placebo both in the B-Well 1 trial (in 127 of 650 patients [20%] vs. none of 328 patients) and in the B-Well 2 trial (in 106 of 570 patients [19%] vs. none of 286 patients).”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
1 finding · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
The introduction cites prior research on HBV infection, functional cure definitions, and phase 2 bepirovirsen studies. The rationale for the trials is clearly linked to the need for finite therapies achieving functional cure. Limitations of prior research are implicitly addressed by the replicate trial design and the focus on a defined endpoint.
Randomization was performed via a central interactive response system with stratification by HBsAg level. The trials were double-blind. A power analysis is reported (≥750 patients per trial for >99% power). Inclusion/exclusion criteria are described. Missing data handling is specified (nonresponse imputation). The comparator is placebo, and the replicate design provides independent replication.
“We determined that the enrollment of at least 750 patients in each of the B-Well trials would provide the trial with more than 99% power to determine the primary outcome with a two-sided alpha level of 0.05.”
“We determined that the enrollment of at least 750 patients in each of the B-Well trials would provide the trial with more than 99% power to determine the primary outcome with a two-sided alpha level of 0.05.”
Table 1 reports age, sex, race, ethnicity, HBsAg levels, HBV DNA, HBeAg status, and ALT. Both sexes are enrolled, so sex justification is not applicable. Age and health status are reported. Demographics are comprehensive.
“Age — yr 50.2±11.8 49.2±10.6 48.7±10.4 49.2±11.4 Male sex — no. (%) 461 (71) 227 (69) 414 (73) 202 (71)”
“Race or ethnic group — no. (%)† Asian 440 (67) 229 (70) 388 (68) 195 (68)”
“Male sex — no. (%) 461 (71) 227 (69) 414 (73) 202 (71)”
“Race or ethnic group — no. (%)† Asian 440 (67) 229 (70) 388 (68) 195 (68)”
“Hepatitis B surface antigen‡ Mean — IU/ml 952±1047 914±760 955±741 919±691”
The protocols were approved by the relevant institutional review board or ethics committee at each site, and all patients provided written informed consent. Regulatory compliance is implied by the trial conduct and reporting.
“All the patients provided written informed consent.”
“All the patients provided written informed consent.”
Bepirovirsen is named as an antisense oligonucleotide, and the dose and regimen are specified. Assays (COBAS, Elecsys) are identified with manufacturers. As a drug trial, the investigational product is the key resource and is adequately identified.
“Bepirovirsen (at a dose of 300 mg) or placebo was administered through weeks 1 to 24 as weekly subcutaneous injections”
The primary analysis uses the Miettinen–Nurminen method for risk differences with 95% CIs. P-values are reported as <0.001. Missing data are handled by nonresponse imputation. The statistical software is not explicitly named, but this is a minor omission. Data presentation includes per-group n and confidence intervals.
“We calculated the common risk difference using the summary Miettinen–Nurminen method across the two baseline HBsAg strata”
“P<0.001 for both comparisons”
“P<0.001 for both comparisons”
The paper states 'A data sharing statement provided by the authors is available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org.' This is vague and does not specify the access mechanism. No repository or accession numbers are provided in the text.
“A data sharing statement provided by the authors is available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org.”
“A data sharing statement provided by the authors is available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org.”
The trials are registered (ClinicalTrials.gov numbers provided). Limitations are discussed. Conclusions are proportional to the results. Funding and COI are disclosed. Methods are detailed enough for replication.
“ClinicalTrials.gov numbers, NCT05630807 and NCT05630820”
“Supported by GSK.”
“ClinicalTrials.gov numbers, NCT05630807 and NCT05630820”
“Supported by GSK. Disclosure forms provided by the authors are available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org.”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None found · partly checkedReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Nothing surfaced — but not everything feeding this category ran (missing: data/code link verification), so read this as a partial clean bill.
Checked 29 references by DOI: 1 verified — 28 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIWHO global hepatitis report 2026No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIQuality of life in patients with HBV infection: a systematic review and meta-analysisNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIExperience and impact of stigma in people with chronic hepatitis B: a qualitative study in Asia, Europe, and the United StatesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGuidance on treatment endpoints and study design for clinical trials aiming to achieve cure in chronic hepatitis B and D: report from the 2022 AASLD-EASL HBV-HDV Treatment Endpoints ConferenceNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEASL clinical practice guidelines on the management of hepatitis B virus infectionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPerspective on emerging therapies to achieve functional cure of chronic hepatitis BNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIHBsAg seroclearance further reduces hepatocellular carcinoma risk after complete viral suppression with nucleos(t)ide analoguesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIHepatitis B surface antigen seroclearance: immune mechanisms, clinical impact, importance for drug developmentNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIScientific and medical evidence informing expansion of hepatitis B treatment guidelinesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAdherence to nucleos(t)ide analogue therapies for chronic hepatitis B infection: a systematic review and meta-analysisNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEvaluating the effect of standard of care treatment on burden of chronic hepatitis B: a retrospective analysis of the United States veterans populationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEfficacy and safety of bepirovirsen in chronic hepatitis B infectionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISafety, tolerability and antiviral activity of the antisense oligonucleotide bepirovirsen in patients with chronic hepatitis B: a phase 2 randomized controlled trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBepirovirsen induces innate immune activation in the liver potentially through TLR8 signalingNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIImmunomodulation by bepirovirsen may induce killing of infected hepatocytes (B-Together study)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIUp to 2 years’ functional cure in response to bepirovirsen therapy in B-Clear Not-on-NA responders: B-Sure third reportNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIUp to 18 months’ functional cure in response to bepirovirsen therapy in B-Clear On-NA responders: B-Sure third reportNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIChronic hepatitis B virus infection: developing drugs for treatment. Guidance for industryNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGuideline on the clinical evaluation of medicinal products intended for the treatment of chronic hepatitis B (CHB)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILong-term follow-up study to evaluate durability of treatment response in previous bepirovirsen study participants (B-Sure)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICharacterisation of people living with chronic hepatitis B virus infection in England and stratification by HBsAg levels: a cross-sectional studyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDistribution characteristics of serum HBsAg levels in Chinese patients with chronic hepatitis B based on CR-HepBNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIClinical outcomes and quantitative HBV surface antigen levels in diverse chronic hepatitis B patients in Canada: a retrospective real-world study of CHB in Canada (REVEAL-CANADA)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIStudy of GSK3965193 in healthy participants and participants living with chronic hepatitis B infectionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA study of sequential therapy with daplusiran/tomligisiran (DAP/TOM) followed by bepirovirsen in participants living with chronic hepatitis B (CHB) (B-UNITED)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA study on the safety, efficacy and immune response following sequential treatment with an anti-sense oligonucleotide against chronic hepatitis B (CHB) and chronic hepatitis B targeted immunotherapy (CHB-TI) in CHB patients receiving Nucleos(t)Ide Analogue (NA) therapyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISequential Peg-IFN after bepirovirsen may reduce post-treatment relapse in chronic hepatitis BNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAdverse drug reactions and toxicity of the Food and Drug Administration-approved antisense oligonucleotide drugsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
Copyediting
2 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 2 minor suggestions below.
2 copyedit issues flagged: mostly typo, consistency.
- MINORtypoAbstract, Results“in 127 of 650 patients [20%] vs. none of 328 patients”→ Consider adding 'patients' after 'none' for clarity.Minor grammatical omission.
- MINORconsistencyTable 1 footnote“The listed values are for 570 patients in the bepirovirsen group in B-Well 2.”→ Clarify why the N differs from the column header N=571.Potential inconsistency in N reporting.
The published work is robust and well-reported, with only minor reporting gaps. An informed reader should weigh the vague data sharing statement and the minor N discrepancy in Table 1, but these do not undermine the main conclusions. No erratum is warranted for the core findings, though clarifying the data sharing mechanism and the N discrepancy would improve transparency.
- 1.HIGHdata codeIn the data sharing statement (end of article), specify the access mechanism (e.g., via a data access committee or platform) and conditions, rather than a vague reference to a statement available at NEJM.org.The current statement is vague and does not meet the expectation for concrete data availability, which is a common reviewer concern.
- 2.HIGHreportingIn Table 1 footnote, clarify why the HBsAg values are for 570 patients in the bepirovirsen group in B-Well 2 while the column header indicates N=571.The N discrepancy is an internal contradiction that could raise questions about data integrity.
- 3.MEDIUMstatisticsIn the Methods, Statistical Analysis section, explicitly name the statistical software used (e.g., SAS version).Identifying the software is standard for reproducibility and was flagged by both reviewers.
- 4.MEDIUMreportingAdd a statement about adherence to reporting guidelines (e.g., CONSORT) in the Methods or supplementary material.Mentioning CONSORT adherence is expected for randomized trials and was flagged as not reported.
- 5.MEDIUMstatisticsIn the Results, consider reporting exact p-values (e.g., P=0.001) instead of only 'P<0.001' where possible.Exact p-values provide more precision, though threshold reporting is common in clinical trials.
- 6.LOWcopyeditIn the Abstract, Results, add 'patients' after 'none' for clarity: 'vs. none of 328 patients'.Minor grammatical omission that could be clarified.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.