Ponatinib vs Imatinib in Frontline Philadelphia Chromosome-Positive Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia: A Randomized Clinical Trial.
Jabbour E, Kantarjian HM, Aldoss I, Montesinos P, Leonard JT, Gómez-Almaguer D, Baer MR, Gambacorti-Passerini C, McCloskey J, Minami Y, Papayannidis C, Rocha V, Rousselot P, Vachhani P, Wang ES, Wang B, Hennessy M, Vorog A, Patel N, Yeh T, Ribera JM
- DOI
- 10.1001/jama.2024.4783
- Record issued
- 2026-08-16
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-20
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/73156586-a92a-48f7-abab-2611a0f317e1 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern−0.5★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ClaimsTreatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful−0.5★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- No data or code availability links were detected to verify.
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The primary endpoint is MRD-negative complete remission, a surrogate biomarker (BCR::ABL1 ≤0.01% by PCR). The paper does not demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD data) nor cite validated evidence linking MRD negativity to long-term clinical outcomes such as overall survival in this setting.
“The primary end point of this interim analysis was MRD-negative complete remission (≤0.01% BCR::ABL1 [MR4] centrally assessed by reverse transcriptase–quantitative polymerase chain reaction), with complete remission maintained for at least 4 weeks at the end…”
- 02Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful
The primary effect is a difference in MRD-negative CR rate of 34.4% vs 16.7% (risk difference 0.18). While statistically significant, the absolute rate in the ponatinib arm is only about one-third of patients, and no anchor to clinical meaningfulness (e.g., minimal clinically important difference or long-term survival benefit) is provided. The effect size is presented as a positive result without demonstrating that this surrogate improvement translates into a clinically meaningful benefit.
“The MRD-negative complete remission rate (primary end point) was significantly higher with ponatinib (34.4% [53/154]) vs imatinib (16.7% [13/78]) (risk difference, 0.18 [95% CI, 0.06-0.29]; P = .002).”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted phase 3 randomized trial with a clear scientific premise, rigorous design, and appropriate statistical reporting. The main weaknesses are missing explicit ethics approval and informed consent statements, a vague data sharing statement, and incomplete reporting of randomization methods, power analysis, and statistical software.
Both reviewers agreed on the study type (interventional). The evaluation covered all eight dimensions; several sub-criteria were marked not applicable (e.g., species/strain, housing, cell line authentication) due to the human clinical trial context. The statistics verification checked only a subset of reported tests (2 tests, both consistent); other statistics remain unverified. The citation check found no retracted or unresolved references.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 2 tests: 2 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 2 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p = .002 · recomputed p = .005Reviewer 1Primary endpoint risk difference p-value
“The MRD-negative complete remission rate (primary end point) was significantly higher with ponatinib (34.4% [53/154]) vs imatinib (16.7% [13/78]) (risk difference, 0.18 [95% CI, 0.06-0.29]; P = .002).”
Taken as given: The numbers 53 and 154 are the events and total for the ponatinib group.; The numbers 13 and 78 are the events and total for the imatinib group.; The p-value is from a two-sided test for the difference in proportions.Method: Pearson chi-square test for 2x2 table using cell counts.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(53, 101, 13, 65) - CONSISTENTreported p = .002 · recomputed p = .005Reviewer 2Primary endpoint comparison of MRD-negative CR rates between ponatinib and imatinib.
“The MRD-negative complete remission rate (primary end point) was significantly higher with ponatinib (34.4% [53/154]) vs imatinib (16.7% [13/78]) (risk difference, 0.18 [95% CI, 0.06-0.29]; P = .002).”
Taken as given: The numbers 53 and 154 are the event count and total for the ponatinib group.; The numbers 13 and 78 are the event count and total for the imatinib group.; The test used is a two-sided chi-square test for 2x2 table.Method: Computed Pearson chi-square p-value from the 2x2 table (53,101,13,65) using pChi2x2.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(53, 101, 13, 65)
- lowinternal contradictionThe abstract reports 245 patients randomized, but the analysis population is 232. The difference (13 patients) is not explained in the provided text.
“Of 245 patients randomized (median age, 54 years; 133 [54.3%] female), 232 (ponatinib, n = 154; imatinib, n = 78) who had p190 or p210 dominant isoforms verified by the central laboratory were analyzed for the primary end point.”
Abstract
Overstated conclusions
3 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningfulAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
3 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 1 only partially supported (evidence backs part of the claim; gaps or caveats remain); the rest adequately supported.
- partialReviewers 1, 2The safety profile of ponatinib was comparable with imatinib.The claim is based on the statement that arterial occlusive events were infrequent and comparable, but a full safety comparison is not detailed in the provided text.Evidence: The paper states 'Arterial occlusive events were infrequent and comparable between groups (ponatinib, 2.5%; imatinib, 1.2%).'
“Arterial occlusive events were infrequent and comparable between groups (ponatinib, 2.5%; imatinib, 1.2%).”
Abstract - supportedReviewers 1, 2Ponatinib demonstrated a significantly higher MRD-negative complete remission rate at the end of induction compared with imatinib.The primary endpoint result directly supports this claim.Evidence: The MRD-negative complete remission rate was 34.4% (53/154) with ponatinib vs 16.7% (13/78) with imatinib, risk difference 0.18 (95% CI, 0.06-0.29; P = .002).
“The MRD-negative complete remission rate (primary end point) was significantly higher with ponatinib (34.4% [53/154]) vs imatinib (16.7% [13/78]) (risk difference, 0.18 [95% CI, 0.06-0.29]; P = .002).”
Abstract - supportedReviewers 1, 2These efficacy and safety results support consideration of ponatinib as a frontline tyrosine kinase inhibitor in combination with chemotherapy for adults with newly diagnosed Ph+ ALL.The primary endpoint and safety data support this conclusion, though long-term outcomes are not yet mature.Evidence: The primary endpoint was met and safety was comparable.
“These efficacy and safety results support consideration of ponatinib as a frontline tyrosine kinase inhibitor in combination with chemotherapy for adults with newly diagnosed Ph+ ALL.”
Abstract
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit; effect size not shown to be clinically meaningful.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is MRD-negative complete remission, a surrogate biomarker (BCR::ABL1 ≤0.01% by PCR). The paper does not demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD data) nor cite validated evidence linking MRD negativity to long-term clinical outcomes such as overall survival in this setting.
“The primary end point of this interim analysis was MRD-negative complete remission (≤0.01% BCR::ABL1 [MR4] centrally assessed by reverse transcriptase–quantitative polymerase chain reaction), with complete remission maintained for at least 4 weeks at the end of cycle 3.”
- INADEQUATEEffect sizeThe primary effect is a difference in MRD-negative CR rate of 34.4% vs 16.7% (risk difference 0.18). While statistically significant, the absolute rate in the ponatinib arm is only about one-third of patients, and no anchor to clinical meaningfulness (e.g., minimal clinically important difference or long-term survival benefit) is provided. The effect size is presented as a positive result without demonstrating that this surrogate improvement translates into a clinically meaningful benefit.
“The MRD-negative complete remission rate (primary end point) was significantly higher with ponatinib (34.4% [53/154]) vs imatinib (16.7% [13/78]) (risk difference, 0.18 [95% CI, 0.06-0.29]; P = .002).”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
2 findings · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
The introduction cites the problem of acquired resistance to first- and second-generation BCR::ABL1 TKIs and notes that ponatinib inhibits BCR::ABL1 and all single-mutation variants, including T315I. The objective directly follows from this premise. Limitations of prior research are implicitly addressed by the design of a registrational phase 3 trial, though not explicitly discussed in the introduction.
“In newly diagnosed Philadelphia chromosome–positive (Ph+) acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL), disease progression due to acquired resistance to first- or second-generation BCR::ABL1 tyrosine kinase inhibitors is common. Ponatinib inhibits BCR::ABL1 and all single-mutation variants, including T315I.”
“To compare frontline ponatinib vs imatinib in adults with newly diagnosed Ph+ ALL.”
“In newly diagnosed Philadelphia chromosome–positive (Ph+) acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL), disease progression due to acquired resistance to first- or second-generation BCR::ABL1 tyrosine kinase inhibitors is common. Ponatinib inhibits BCR::ABL1 and all single-mutation variants, including T315I.”
“To compare frontline ponatinib vs imatinib in adults with newly diagnosed Ph+ ALL.”
The trial is described as a global registrational, phase 3, open-label trial. Patients were randomized 2:1 to ponatinib or imatinib. The randomization method is not detailed (e.g., block or stratified), but the unit is the patient. Blinding is not applicable as it is open-label, which is stated. A power analysis is not explicitly reported, but the trial is registrational and the primary endpoint is clearly defined. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are implied by the eligibility description (adults 18+ with newly diagnosed Ph+ ALL). Outlier handling is not explicitly described, but the analysis population is defined (patients with p190 or p210 dominant isoforms verified by central laboratory). Controls are inherent in the comparator arm. Independent replication is not applicable for a single pivotal trial.
“Global registrational, phase 3, open-label trial in adults aged 18 years or older with newly diagnosed Ph+ ALL.”
“The primary end point of this interim analysis was MRD-negative complete remission (≤0.01% BCR::ABL1 [MR4] centrally assessed by reverse transcriptase–quantitative polymerase chain reaction), with complete remission maintained for at least 4 weeks at the end of cycle 3.”
“Global registrational, phase 3, open-label trial in adults aged 18 years or older with newly diagnosed Ph+ ALL.”
“eligible patients at 77 sites were randomized 2:1 to ponatinib (30 mg/d) or imatinib (600 mg/d) with reduced-intensity chemotherapy”
The abstract reports median age (54 years) and sex (133 [54.3%] female). The demographics are reported in the results. Since this is a human trial, species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable. Sex is reported for the overall population, and both sexes are enrolled, so sex justification is not applicable. Age and health status are implied by the inclusion criteria (newly diagnosed Ph+ ALL), but detailed health status is not reported.
“Of 245 patients randomized (median age, 54 years; 133 [54.3%] female)”
“Of 245 patients randomized (median age, 54 years; 133 [54.3%] female)”
The paper mentions trial registration (ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT03589326) and the sponsor, but does not include a statement about IRB/ethics approval or informed consent. Since this is a human clinical trial, these are required. The absence of these statements is a reporting gap, not evidence of misconduct.
“ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT03589326”
“Trial Registration ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT03589326”
The drugs are named (ponatinib and imatinib) with doses (30 mg/d and 600 mg/d). The sponsor (Takeda) is identified. Since this is a drug trial, the investigational product is the key resource, and it is adequately identified. No antibodies, cell lines, or other reagents are used. Software tools are not mentioned, but the statistical analysis software is not identified.
“Patients received ponatinib, 30 mg/d, or imatinib, 600 mg/d, with reduced-intensity chemotherapy”
“Patients received ponatinib, 30 mg/d, or imatinib, 600 mg/d, with reduced-intensity chemotherapy”
The primary endpoint analysis reports a risk difference of 0.18 (95% CI, 0.06-0.29; P = .002). This is an effect size with CI and an exact p-value. The statistical test is not explicitly named, but it is likely a two-proportion z-test or chi-square test. The paper does not report assumptions verification, but for a large trial, this is often not required. The software is not identified. Data presentation includes the primary endpoint rates and CIs. Mathematical plausibility is not applicable for large-N continuous outcomes.
“The MRD-negative complete remission rate (primary end point) was significantly higher with ponatinib (34.4% [53/154]) vs imatinib (16.7% [13/78]) (risk difference, 0.18 [95% CI, 0.06-0.29]; P = .002).”
“The MRD-negative complete remission rate (primary end point) was significantly higher with ponatinib (34.4% [53/154]) vs imatinib (16.7% [13/78]) (risk difference, 0.18 [95% CI, 0.06-0.29]; P = .002).”
The paper mentions 'Data Sharing Statement: See .' which likely refers to a supplementary section, but the actual statement is not included in the provided text. The trial is sponsored by Takeda, and data sharing may be managed through a controlled access process, but this is not described. No code is shared.
“Data Sharing Statement: See .”
“Data Sharing Statement: See .”
The trial is registered (NCT03589326). Funding and conflicts of interest are disclosed. The methods describe the design, participants, intervention, and outcomes. The conclusions are supported by the primary endpoint result. However, the paper does not explicitly reference a reporting guideline (e.g., CONSORT) or discuss limitations in the provided text. All outcomes are reported, including the primary and key secondary endpoints.
“ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT03589326”
“Funding/Support: This study was sponsored by Takeda Development Center Americas Inc.”
“Trial Registration ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT03589326”
“Funding/Support: This study was sponsored by Takeda Development Center Americas Inc.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None found · partly checkedReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Nothing surfaced — but not everything feeding this category ran (missing: data/code link verification), so read this as a partial clean bill.
Checked 1 reference by DOI: 1 verified.
Every extracted reference resolved against Crossref/OpenAlex with no retraction flags.
Copyediting
3 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 3 minor suggestions below.
3 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract, Results“ponatinib, n = 154; imatinib, n = 78”→ Ensure these numbers are consistent with the total randomized (245) and the analysis population (232).The sum of 154 and 78 is 232, which matches the analysis population, but the total randomized is 245. This is likely due to exclusions, but should be clarified.
- MINORclarityData Sharing Statement“Data Sharing Statement: See .”→ Provide the actual data sharing statement or a link to it.The placeholder is incomplete.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract, Results“Of 245 patients randomized (median age, 54 years; 133 [54.3%] female), 232 (ponatinib, n = 154; imatinib, n = 78) who had p190 or p210 dominant isoforms verified by the central laboratory were analyzed for the primary end point.”→ Consider clarifying that the 232 analyzed are a subset of the 245 randomized, and that the analysis population is defined by central lab verification.The numbers are consistent but the sentence could be clearer.
The published work is generally robust, but an informed reader should weigh the missing explicit ethics approval and informed consent statements, the vague data sharing statement, and the incomplete reporting of randomization and power analysis. These are reporting gaps that could warrant a correction or clarification, but they do not undermine the primary findings.
- 1.HIGHethicsAdd an explicit statement of IRB/ethics committee approval and informed consent in the Methods section, including the name of the ethics committee and protocol number.This is a required reporting element for a human clinical trial; its absence is a concrete gap that readers and journals expect.
- 2.HIGHdata codeProvide a detailed data availability statement in the manuscript, specifying the mechanism for data access (e.g., via Takeda's data sharing portal) and any conditions.The current placeholder 'See .' is incomplete and does not meet transparency expectations for a data-driven trial.
- 3.HIGHreportingDescribe the randomization method (e.g., block randomization, stratification factors) in the Methods section.Randomization method is a key design element that is currently not reported, limiting assessment of allocation concealment and bias.
- 4.HIGHreportingInclude a power analysis or sample size calculation in the Methods section to justify the trial size.A power analysis is expected for a phase 3 trial and its absence weakens the justification for the sample size.
- 5.HIGHstatisticsSpecify the statistical software used for analysis (e.g., SAS version 9.4) in the Methods section.Naming the software is a standard reporting requirement that aids reproducibility.
- 6.MEDIUMreportingReference the CONSORT reporting guideline in the Methods or a separate section.Explicitly stating adherence to CONSORT improves transparency and completeness of reporting.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingAdd a limitations section in the Discussion to address potential biases, generalizability, and the interim nature of the analysis.A limitations discussion is expected in clinical trial reports and helps readers interpret the findings appropriately.
- 8.MEDIUMreportingClarify the inclusion/exclusion criteria in the Methods section (e.g., specific cytogenetic or molecular eligibility).Detailed eligibility criteria are essential for assessing external validity and reproducibility.
- 9.MEDIUMcopyeditClarify the relationship between the 245 randomized patients and the 232 analyzed for the primary endpoint in the Abstract and Results.The copyedit flagged that the difference (13 patients) is not explained; clarifying this avoids confusion about the analysis population.
- 10.MEDIUMcopyeditComplete the Data Sharing Statement by providing the actual statement or a link to it.The placeholder 'See .' is incomplete and should be filled in for transparency.
- 11.LOWotherIf applicable, provide accession numbers for any deposited data (e.g., clinical trial data in a repository).Accession numbers would enhance data availability and reproducibility.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.