Isatuximab, carfilzomib, lenalidomide and dexamethasone in newly diagnosed multiple myeloma: a randomized phase 3 trial.
Gay F, Roeloffzen W, Dimopoulos MA, Rosiñol L, van der Klift M, Mina R, Oriol A, Katodritou E, Wu KL, Rodríguez Otero P, Hájek R, Antonioli E, van Duin M, D'Agostino M, Martínez-López J, van Leeuwen-Segarceanu EM, Zamagni E, van de Donk NWCJ, Weisel KC, Pour L, Radocha J, Belotti A, Schjesvold F, Bladé J, Einsele H, Sonneveld P, Boccadoro M, Broijl A
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-026-04282-0
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-20
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/86760545-3484-48aa-9991-5f2f30d4c106 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×3−1.5★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ClaimsTreatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The primary endpoint is MRD negativity by NGS, a surrogate biomarker. Although the paper cites FDA ODAC support and references linking MRD to PFS/OS, it does not demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD) nor provide a validated surrogate-to-clinical-outcome link specific to this trial. The PFS data are immature, so the clinical benefit is not directly established.
“The primary endpoint was the rate of measurable residual disease (MRD) negativity (sensitivity of 10 −5 or better) by next-generation sequencing (NGS) after consolidation.”
- 02Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful
The primary effect is a difference in MRD negativity rates (77% vs 67%, OR 1.67). While statistically significant, the clinical meaningfulness is not anchored to a minimal clinically important difference or a direct clinical outcome. The effect size is presented as a surrogate improvement without evidence that it translates into improved survival or quality of life.
“Post-consolidation MRD negativity was significantly higher with Isa-KRd versus KRd at the 10 −5 (77% versus 67%; odds ratio (OR) 1.67, P = 0.049)”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted randomized phase 3 trial with a clear scientific premise, rigorous design, and transparent reporting. The main weakness is the data/code availability statement, which is vague and lacks a formal access mechanism, and the absence of a code-sharing statement. Minor copyedit issues include inconsistent superscript formatting and an unclear discontinuation count.
Both reviewers classified the study as interventional; no disagreement. The evaluation covered all eight dimensions; bench-resource criteria (antibodies, cell lines, mycoplasma) were not applicable for this drug trial. The statistics verification recomputed 10 reported tests consistently, but this covers only a subset of tests; the paper's statistics should not be considered fully verified beyond those checks.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 10 tests: 10 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 6 recomputed directly from the reported test statistics, 4 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Recomputed OR 2.36 (95% CI 1.47–3.79), reported p=0.0004
“OR 2.36, 95% CI 1.47–3.79, P = 0.0004”
Taken as given: 1.47–3.79 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the OR of 2.36, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the OR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.0004 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(2.36, 1.47, 3.79, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Recomputed OR 2.32 (95% CI 1.43–3.78), reported p=0.0007
“OR 2.32, 95% CI 1.43–3.78, P = 0.0007”
Taken as given: 1.43–3.78 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the OR of 2.32, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the OR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.0007 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(2.32, 1.43, 3.78, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .003 · recomputed p = .003Recomputed OR 2.44 (95% CI 1.36–4.40), reported p=0.0029
“OR 2.44, 95% CI 1.36–4.40, P = 0.0029”
Taken as given: 1.36–4.40 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the OR of 2.44, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the OR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.0029 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(2.44, 1.36, 4.4, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .008 · recomputed p = .008Recomputed OR 1.88 (95% CI 1.18–3.00), reported p=0.0083
“OR 1.88, 95% CI 1.18–3.00, P = 0.0083”
Taken as given: 1.18–3.00 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the OR of 1.88, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the OR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.0083 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(1.88, 1.18, 3, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .055 · recomputed p = .054Recomputed OR 1.63 (95% CI 0.99–2.67), reported p=0.055
“OR 1.63, 95% CI 0.99–2.67, P = 0.055”
Taken as given: 0.99–2.67 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the OR of 1.63, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the OR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.055 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(1.63, 0.99, 2.67, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .012 · recomputed p = .012Recomputed OR 1.82 (95% CI 1.14–2.91), reported p=0.012
“OR 1.82, 95% CI 1.14–2.91, P = 0.012”
Taken as given: 1.14–2.91 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the OR of 1.82, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the OR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.012 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(1.82, 1.14, 2.91, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .049 · recomputed p = .055Reviewer 1Primary endpoint OR and p-value from reported counts
“the 10 −5 MRD negativity rate after post-ASCT full-dose consolidation was significantly higher in the Isa-KRd arm versus the KRd arm (116 (77%) versus 101 (67%) patients, odds ratio (OR) 1.67, 95% CI 1.00–2.80, P = 0.049).”
Taken as given: The counts 116 and 101 are the number of MRD-negative patients in each arm.; The total number of patients in each arm is 151.; The p-value is from a chi-square test (as per the sample size calculation using chi-square with Yates' correction).Method: Pearson chi-square test on 2x2 table (Isa-KRd MRD-negative vs positive, KRd MRD-negative vs positive).How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(116, 151-116, 101, 151-101) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewers 1, 2Post-induction 10^-5 MRD OR and p-value
“the post-induction 10 −5 MRD negativity rate was statistically significantly higher in the Isa-KRd arm versus the KRd arm (69 (46%) versus 41 (27%) patients, OR 2.32, 95% CI 1.43–3.78, P = 0.0007).”
Taken as given: The counts 69 and 41 are the number of MRD-negative patients in each arm.; The total number of patients in each arm is 151.; The p-value is from a chi-square test.Method: Pearson chi-square test on 2x2 table.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(69, 151-69, 41, 151-41) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 1Post-ASCT 10^-6 MRD OR and p-value
“the 10 −6 MRD negativity rate was also significantly higher in the Isa-KRd arm (102 (68%) versus 72 (48%) patients; OR 2.36, 95% CI 1.47–3.79, P = 0.0004).”
Taken as given: The counts 102 and 72 are the number of MRD-negative patients in each arm.; The total number of patients in each arm is 151.; The p-value is from a chi-square test.Method: Pearson chi-square test on 2x2 table.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(102, 151-102, 72, 151-72) - CONSISTENTreported p = .049 · recomputed p = .051Reviewer 2Primary endpoint: post-consolidation MRD negativity at 10^-5, OR=1.67, 95% CI 1.00-2.80, P=0.049
“the 10 −5 MRD negativity rate after post-ASCT full-dose consolidation was significantly higher in the Isa-KRd arm versus the KRd arm (116 (77%) versus 101 (67%) patients, odds ratio (OR) 1.67, 95% CI 1.00–2.80, P = 0.049)”
Taken as given: The OR is from a logistic regression model.; The CI is a 95% confidence interval for the OR.; The p-value is two-sided.Method: Recomputed p-value from the reported OR and 95% CI using the normal approximation for the log-odds ratio.How we recomputed it: pCI(1.67, 1.00, 2.80, 1)
- lowinternal contradictionThe abstract reports post-consolidation MRD negativity at 10^-5 as 77% vs 67%, but the results section reports the same numbers. However, the abstract also reports 10^-6 as 68% vs 48%, which matches the results. No contradiction found.
“Post-consolidation MRD negativity was significantly higher with Isa-KRd versus KRd at the 10 −5 (77% versus 67%; odds ratio (OR) 1.67, P = 0.049) and 10 −6 (68% versus 48%; OR 2.36, P = 0.0004) sensitivities.”
AbstractFind in source - lowinternal contradictionIn the Results section, the number of discontinuations during post-ASCT full-dose consolidation in the Isa-KRd arm is stated as 9, with 5 due to AEs and 2 due to death, leaving 2 unaccounted for.
“Nine patients discontinued therapy during post-ASCT full-dose consolidation in the Isa-KRd arm (5 due to adverse events (AEs) and 2 due to death) versus 3 in the KRd arm (1 due to AEs).”
ResultsFind in source
Overstated conclusions
3 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningfulAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
8 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 2 only partially supported (evidence backs part of the claim; gaps or caveats remain); the rest adequately supported.
- partialReviewer 1The benefit of Isa-KRd was maintained in high-risk and ultra-high-risk patients.Subgroup analyses show consistent benefit, but the paper notes these are exploratory and based on small numbers, so the claim is partially supported.Evidence: Subgroup analyses in Results and Extended Data Tables.
The benefit observed with the Isa-KRd quadruplet was maintained in all subgroups of patients, including those with high-risk disease, and especially those with ultra-high-risk disease (such as patients with 2+ HRCA and patients at high risk according to the recent IMS/IMWG classification).
Discussionreviewer’s wording - partialReviewer 1The 10^-6 cut-off is more informative than 10^-5 in highly effective regimens.The paper shows a larger difference at 10^-6, but this is an exploratory analysis and not prespecified, so the claim is partially supported.Evidence: Comparison of 10^-5 and 10^-6 MRD rates.
“our data are of interest as they suggest that, in the context of highly effective regimens, the 10 −6 cut-off is more informative than the 10 −5 cut-off”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Isa-KRd significantly improved NGS-MRD negativity in TE patients with NDMM.The primary endpoint (post-consolidation 10^-5 MRD negativity) was met with a statistically significant difference (77% vs 67%, OR 1.67, P=0.049).Evidence: Primary endpoint result in Results section.
“Isa-KRd significantly improved NGS-MRD negativity in TE patients with NDMM, with a manageable safety profile.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Deep MRD responses were rapid and durable.Post-induction MRD negativity was significantly higher with Isa-KRd, and 1-year sustained MRD negativity was also significantly higher, supporting rapid and durable responses.Evidence: Post-induction MRD rates and 1-year sustained MRD rates.
“Deep MRD responses were rapid (post-induction Isa-KRd versus KRd: 10 −5 46% versus 27%, OR 2.32, P = 0.0007; 10 −6 28% versus 14%, OR 2.44, P = 0.0029) and durable (1-year sustained 10 −6 MRD negativity 52% versus 38%, OR 1.82, P = 0.012).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Isa-KRd had a manageable safety profile.Grade 3-4 non-hematologic AEs, treatment discontinuations, and deaths due to AEs were similar between arms, supporting manageable safety.Evidence: Safety results in Results section.
“Grade 3–4 non-hematologic adverse events (AEs), treatment discontinuations and deaths due to AEs were similar in the two arms.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Deep MRD responses were rapid.Post-induction MRD negativity rates were significantly higher with Isa-KRd (46% vs 27% at 10^-5, P=0.0007).Evidence: Post-induction MRD negativity: 46% vs 27%, OR 2.32, P=0.0007.
“Deep MRD responses were rapid (post-induction Isa-KRd versus KRd: 10 −5 46% versus 27%, OR 2.32, P = 0.0007; 10 −6 28% versus 14%, OR 2.44, P = 0.0029)”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Deep MRD responses were durable.1-year sustained MRD negativity at 10^-6 was significantly higher with Isa-KRd (52% vs 38%, OR 1.82, P=0.012).Evidence: 1-year sustained MRD negativity: 52% vs 38%, OR 1.82, P=0.012.
“and durable (1-year sustained 10 −6 MRD negativity 52% versus 38%, OR 1.82, P = 0.012)”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Grade 3–4 non-hematologic AEs, treatment discontinuations and deaths due to AEs were similar in the two arms.The paper reports similar rates of these safety outcomes, with no significant differences highlighted.Evidence: Safety results: treatment discontinuation due to AE 12 (8%) vs 10 (7%); deaths due to AEs not explicitly compared but reported.
“Grade 3–4 non-hematologic adverse events (AEs), treatment discontinuations and deaths due to AEs were similar in the two arms.”
AbstractFind in source
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit; effect size not shown to be clinically meaningful.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is MRD negativity by NGS, a surrogate biomarker. Although the paper cites FDA ODAC support and references linking MRD to PFS/OS, it does not demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD) nor provide a validated surrogate-to-clinical-outcome link specific to this trial. The PFS data are immature, so the clinical benefit is not directly established.
“The primary endpoint was the rate of measurable residual disease (MRD) negativity (sensitivity of 10 −5 or better) by next-generation sequencing (NGS) after consolidation.”
- INADEQUATEEffect sizeThe primary effect is a difference in MRD negativity rates (77% vs 67%, OR 1.67). While statistically significant, the clinical meaningfulness is not anchored to a minimal clinically important difference or a direct clinical outcome. The effect size is presented as a surrogate improvement without evidence that it translates into improved survival or quality of life.
“Post-consolidation MRD negativity was significantly higher with Isa-KRd versus KRd at the 10 −5 (77% versus 67%; odds ratio (OR) 1.67, P = 0.049)”
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Other integrity concernAssessed
3 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- lowotherThe paper reports that 126 vs 136 patients started light consolidation, but the total number of patients who completed light consolidation is 114 vs 127. The difference (12 vs 9) matches the discontinuations reported. No inconsistency.
“In total, 126 versus 136 patients started light consolidation in the Isa-KRd versus KRd arms. Twelve patients discontinued treatment during light consolidation in the Isa-KRd arm (4 due to AEs and 2 due to death) versus 9 in the KRd arm (3 due to AEs and 1 due to death; see the ‘Safety’ section for details on the causes of discontinuation and death). Patients who completed light consolidation were 114 (75%) versus 127 (84%) in the Isa-KRd versus KRd arms.”
ResultsFind in source
Reporting gaps
1 finding · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
The introduction cites multiple prior studies (FORTE, MIDAS, GMMG-CONCEPT) and explains the rationale for comparing Isa-KRd vs KRd, noting the lack of randomized trials for this quadruplet. Limitations of prior research (e.g., single-arm studies) are acknowledged, and the trial aims to address this gap. The premise is well-supported.
“In the phase 2 UNITO-MM-01/FORTE trial, carfilzomib–lenalidomide–dexamethasone (KRd) plus ASCT resulted in high rates of pre-maintenance measurable residual disease (MRD) negativity (sensitivity of 10 −5 , 62%) and median progression-free survival (PFS; 99 months)”
“This trial aims to show the superiority of Isa-KRd versus KRd to support the use of a new quadruplet option for the treatment of patients with NDMM, in the absence of randomized trials evaluating quadruplets that combine KRd with anti-CD38 mAbs, as only single-arm studies have been initiated.”
“as only single-arm studies have been initiated”
“On the basis of its efficacy in the relapse setting, carfilzomib has been investigated in several studies involving transplant-eligible (TE) patients with NDMM.”
“This trial aims to show the superiority of Isa-KRd versus KRd to support the use of a new quadruplet option for the treatment of patients with NDMM, in the absence of randomized trials evaluating quadruplets that combine KRd with anti-CD38 mAbs, as only single-arm studies have been initiated.”
“in the absence of randomized trials evaluating quadruplets that combine KRd with anti-CD38 mAbs, as only single-arm studies have been initiated.”
Randomization method is described (computer-generated, block randomization, stratified by ISS and cytogenetic risk). Power analysis is provided for the primary and key secondary endpoints. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are detailed. Outlier handling is addressed via ITT analysis and single imputation for missing MRD data. Controls are inherent in the randomized comparison. Independent replication is not applicable for a single pivotal trial. Blinding is not performed (open-label), but this is explicitly stated.
“At enrollment, a computer system randomly assigned patients (1:1) to treatment into one of the two induction and consolidation arms. Patients were stratified according to International Staging System (ISS) stage (I versus II versus III) and cytogenetic risk assessed by fluorescence in situ hybridization (high risk (presence of t(4;14) and/or t(14;16) and/or del(17p)) versus standard risk or missing (none of these abnormalities)) and then randomized using a web-based, computer-generated procedure completely concealed from study participants.”
“The calculation of the sample size for the primary endpoint was done with the following assumptions, considering the ITT population: α = 0.05 (two-sided), β = 0.10 and post-ASCT full-dose consolidation MRD negativity (sensitivity of 10 −5 , by NGS) rate: Isa-KRd 64% versus KRd 45%. The total number of patients required was 300 (by the χ 2 test with Yates’ continuity correction).”
“The EMN24 IsKia trial is a randomized, open-label, phase 3 trial”
“At enrollment, a computer system randomly assigned patients (1:1) to treatment into one of the two induction and consolidation arms.”
“The calculation of the sample size for the primary endpoint was done with the following assumptions, considering the ITT population: α = 0.05 (two-sided), β = 0.10 and post-ASCT full-dose consolidation MRD negativity (sensitivity of 10 −5 , by NGS) rate: Isa-KRd 64% versus KRd 45%.”
“The EMN24 IsKia trial is a randomized, open-label, phase 3 trial”
Table 1 reports age (median and IQR), sex (female/male counts and percentages), and ECOG performance status. Health status is implied by inclusion criteria (e.g., ECOG ≤2, organ function). Species/strain and housing are not applicable for a human trial. Demographics are adequately reported.
“Age (years) Median (IQR) | 61 (55–66) | 60 (54–63) | | Sex Female Male | 72 (48) 79 (52) | 67 (44) 84 (56)”
“ECOG performance status b 0 1 2 | 88 (58) 51 (34) 12 (8) | 93 (62) 51 (34) 7 (5)”
“Sex Female Male | 72 (48) 79 (52) | 67 (44) 84 (56)”
“Age (years) Median (IQR) | 61 (55–66) | 60 (54–63)”
“ECOG performance status b 0 1 2 | 88 (58) 51 (34) 12 (8) | 93 (62) 51 (34) 7 (5)”
The paper states approval by the ethics committee of the coordinating center (Comitato etico territoriale Lombardia 6, Italy) and that all patients gave written informed consent. Regulatory compliance is stated (Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice). This is a human interventional trial, so IACUC is not applicable.
“This trial and its Protocol and amendments were approved by the ethics or institutional review boards at each of the participating centers (ethics committee of the coordinating center: Comitato etico territoriale Lombardia 6, Italy).”
“All patients gave written informed consent before participating in the trial, which was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice guidelines.”
“This trial and its Protocol and amendments were approved by the ethics or institutional review boards at each of the participating centers (ethics committee of the coordinating center: Comitato etico territoriale Lombardia 6, Italy).”
“All patients gave written informed consent before participating in the trial”
“which was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice guidelines.”
The drugs are named with manufacturers implied (Sanofi for isatuximab, Amgen for carfilzomib) and detailed dosing regimens are provided. The MRD assay is performed by Adaptive Biotechnologies, which is identified. Software tools (R, REDCap) are identified. Since this is a drug trial, bench criteria are not applicable.
“Patients in the KRd arm received 4 28-day induction cycles with KRd (carfilzomib 20 mg m −2 intravenously administered (IV) on day 1 of cycle 1, followed by 56 mg m −2 IV on days 8 and 15 of cycle 1, then 56 mg m −2 IV on days 1, 8 and 15 for all subsequent doses; lenalidomide 25 mg orally administered (PO) on days 1–21; dexamethasone 40 mg on days 1, 8, 15 and 22)”
“Statistical analyses were done with R (v4.2.1).”
“Patients in the KRd arm received 4 28-day induction cycles with KRd (carfilzomib 20 mg m −2 intravenously administered (IV) on day 1 of cycle 1, followed by 56 mg m −2 IV on days 8 and 15 of cycle 1, then 56 mg m −2 IV on days 1, 8 and 15 for all subsequent doses; lenalidomide 25 mg orally administered (PO) on days 1–21; dexamethasone 40 mg on days 1, 8, 15 and 22)”
“Statistical analyses were done with R (v4.2.1).”
“Study data were collected and managed using Research Electronic Data Capture (REDCap, developed by the REDCap Consortium)”
The paper reports ORs with 95% CIs and exact p-values (e.g., P = 0.049). Assumptions are handled by design (ITT, logistic regression adjusted for stratification). Data presentation includes tables and figures with CIs. Mathematical plausibility is not applicable for large-N continuous outcomes. No demonstrable errors found.
“the 10 −5 MRD negativity rate after post-ASCT full-dose consolidation was significantly higher in the Isa-KRd arm versus the KRd arm (116 (77%) versus 101 (67%) patients, odds ratio (OR) 1.67, 95% CI 1.00–2.80, P = 0.049).”
“Logistic regression models were used to estimate ORs and their 95% CIs and P values for the analyses of binary endpoints, response criteria (as defined by the IMWG) and MRD rates.”
“Logistic regression models were used to estimate ORs and their 95% CIs and P values for the analyses of binary endpoints”
“odds ratio (OR) 1.67, 95% CI 1.00–2.80, P = 0.049”
“OR 2.36, 95% CI 1.47–3.79, P = 0.0004”
The data availability statement says deidentified data will be made available upon reasonably justified request to the sponsor, but does not specify a data access committee or platform, and the response time is vague ('typically'). Code availability is not reported; only the software used is mentioned. For a clinical trial, managed access is acceptable, but the statement lacks concrete details.
“After the publication of this article, deidentified data collected for this analysis and related documents will be made available upon reasonably justified request, which needs to be written and addressed to the attention of the sponsor of the EMN24 IsKia trial, the European Myeloma Network (EMN), at the following e-mail address: info@emn.life.”
“After the publication of this article, deidentified data collected for this analysis and related documents will be made available upon reasonably justified request, which needs to be written and addressed to the attention of the sponsor of the EMN24 IsKia trial, the European Myeloma Network (EMN), at the following e-mail address: info@emn.life.”
“Response will typically be given in 3 months.”
“All statistical analyses were performed using R software (v4.2.1).”
Trial is registered (NCT04483739). A reporting summary is linked. Limitations are discussed (immature PFS, post hoc analyses). Conclusions are proportional. Funding and competing interests are disclosed.
“ClinicalTrials.gov registration: NCT04483739”
“Due to the current Statistical Analysis Plan (), the current follow-up of our trial does not yet allow for the evaluation of data on sustained MRD negativity beyond 1 year and for a comparison of PFS between the two arms.”
“Sanofi and Amgen provided the funding to conduct the trial, with no role in the design and conduct of the study”
“ClinicalTrials.gov registration: NCT04483739”
“Further information on research design is available in the linked to this article.”
“Due to the current Statistical Analysis Plan (), the current follow-up of our trial does not yet allow for the evaluation of data on sustained MRD negativity beyond 1 year and for a comparison of PFS between the two arms.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). Reporting guideline cited: CARE.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 56 references by DOI: 2 verified — 54 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIDaratumumab, bortezomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone for multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMaintenance with daratumumab or observation following treatment with bortezomib, thalidomide, and dexamethasone with or without daratumumab and autologous stem-cell transplant in patients with newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (CASSIOPEIA): an open-label, randomised, phase 3 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBortezomib, thalidomide, and dexamethasone with or without daratumumab before and after autologous stem-cell transplantation for newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (CASSIOPEIA): a randomised, open-label, phase 3 studyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAddition of isatuximab to lenalidomide, bortezomib, and dexamethasone as induction therapy for newly diagnosed, transplantation-eligible patients with multiple myeloma (GMMG-HD7): part 1 of an open-label, multicentre, randomised, active-controlled, phase 3 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIsatuximab, lenalidomide, bortezomib, and dexamethasone induction therapy for transplant-eligible newly diagnosed multiple myeloma: final part 1 analysis of the GMMG-HD7 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBortezomib, thalidomide, and dexamethasone with or without daratumumab and followed by daratumumab maintenance or observation in transplant-eligible newly diagnosed multiple myeloma: long-term follow-up of the CASSIOPEIA randomised controlled phase 3 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICarfilzomib–dexamethasone versus bortezomib-dexamethasone in relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma: updated overall survival, safety, and subgroupsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICarfilzomib with cyclophosphamide and dexamethasone or lenalidomide and dexamethasone plus autologous transplantation or carfilzomib plus lenalidomide and dexamethasone, followed by maintenance with carfilzomib plus lenalidomide or lenalidomide alone for patients with newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (FORTE): a randomized, open-label, phase 2 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICarfilzomib induction, consolidation, and maintenance with or without autologous stem-cell transplant: long-term follow-up of the randomised, phase 2 FORTE trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICarfilzomib induction, consolidation, and maintenance with or without autologous stem-cell transplantation in patients with newly diagnosed multiple myeloma: pre-planned cytogenetic subgroup analysis of the randomised, phase 2 FORTE trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIsatuximab, bortezomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone for multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISAR650984, a novel humanized CD38-targeting antibody, demonstrates potent antitumor activity in models of multiple myeloma and other CD38 + hematologic malignanciesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITargeting CD38 suppresses induction and function of T regulatory cells to mitigate immunosuppression in multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIsatuximab, carfilzomib, and dexamethasone in relapsed multiple myeloma (IKEMA): a multicentre, open-label, randomised phase 3 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIsatuximab plus pomalidomide and low-dose dexamethasone versus pomalidomide and low-dose dexamethasone in patients with relapsed and refractory multiple myeloma (ICARIA-MM): a randomised, multicentre, open-label, phase 3 studyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIsatuximab, carfilzomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone induction in newly diagnosed myeloma: analysis of the MIDAS trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIsatuximab, carfilzomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone for the treatment of high-risk newly diagnosed multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMeasurable residual disease-guided therapy in newly diagnosed myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDepth of response in multiple myeloma: a pooled analysis of three PETHEMA/GEM clinical trialsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA large meta-analysis establishes the role of MRD negativity in long-term survival outcomes in patients with multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEVIDENCE meta-analysis: evaluating minimal residual disease as an intermediate clinical end point for multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA phase 1/2 study of carfilzomib in combination with lenalidomide and low-dose dexamethasone as a frontline treatment for multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITreatment outcome with the combination of carfilzomib, lenalidomide, and low-dose dexamethasone (CRd) for newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (NDMM) after extended follow-upNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIInternational Myeloma Society/International Myeloma working group consensus recommendations on the definition of high-risk multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMeasurable residual disease by next-generation flow cytometry in multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDaratumumab plus lenalidomide and dexamethasone in relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma: extended follow-up of POLLUX, a randomized, open-label, phase 3 studyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIInternational harmonization in performing and reporting minimal residual disease assessment in multiple myeloma trialsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMinimal residual disease negativity using deep sequencing is a major prognostic factor in multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDaratumumab, carfilzomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone with minimal residual disease response-adapted therapy in newly diagnosed multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDaratumumab, lenalidomide, bortezomib, and dexamethasone for transplant-eligible newly diagnosed multiple myeloma: the GRIFFIN trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDaratumumab, cyclophosphamide, bortezomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone as induction and extended consolidation improves outcome in ultra-high-risk multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPredictors of unsustained measurable residual disease negativity in patients with multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPredictors of unsustained measurable residual disease negativity in transplant-eligible patients with multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPhase 3 study of teclistamab (Tec) in combination with lenalidomide (Len) and Tec alone versus Len alone in newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (NDMM) as maintenance therapy following autologous stem cell transplantation (ASCT): safety run-in (SRI) results from the Majestec-4/EMN30 TrialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEMAGINE/CARTITUDE-6: a randomized phase 3 study of DVRd followed by ciltacabtagene autoleucel versus DVRd followed by autologous stem cell transplant in transplant-eligible patients with newly diagnosed multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEuropean Myeloma Network guidelines for the management of multiple myeloma-related complicationsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIManagement of patients with multiple myeloma in the era of COVID-19 pandemic: a consensus paper from the European Myeloma Network (EMN)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIManagement of patients with multiple myeloma and COVID-19 in the post pandemic era: a consensus paper from the European Myeloma Network (EMN)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMultiple Myeloma. Version 4.2025No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIsatuximab subcutaneous by on-body injector versus isatuximab intravenous plus pomalidomide and dexamethasone in relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma: phase III IRAKLIA studyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMinimal residual disease response-adapted therapy in newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (MASTER): final report of the multicentre, single-arm, phase 2 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIsatuximab, carfilzomib, lenalidomide, and dexamethasone (Isa-KRd) in front-line treatment of high-risk multiple myeloma: interim analysis of the GMMG-CONCEPT trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIInternational Myeloma Working Group updated criteria for the diagnosis of multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIInternational staging system for multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITreatment of multiple myeloma with high-risk cytogenetics: a consensus of the International Myeloma Working GroupNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIRevised international staging system for multiple myeloma: a report from International Myeloma Working GroupNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISecond Revision of the International Staging System (R2-ISS) for overall survival in multiple myeloma: a European Myeloma Network (EMN) report within the HARMONY projectNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIInternational Myeloma Working Group consensus criteria for response and minimal residual disease assessment in multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDeep-sequencing approach for minimal residual disease detection in acute lymphoblastic leukemiaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIClonoSEQ assay for the detection of lymphoid malignanciesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOINext generation flow for highly sensitive and standardized detection of minimal residual disease in multiple myelomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICommon Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Version 5.0No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIResearch electronic data capture (REDCap)—a metadata-driven methodology and workflow process for providing translational research informatics supportNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe REDCap consortium: building an international community of software platform partnersNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
2 data/code links checked; 2 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT04483739LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04483739LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
6 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 6 minor suggestions below.
6 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity, other.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract“Isa-KRd significantly improved NGS-MRD negativity in TE patients with NDMM, with a manageable safety profile.”→ Consider specifying the primary endpoint time point (post-consolidation) for clarity.The abstract states the primary endpoint result but could be more precise.
- MINORclarityMethods, Statistical analysis“The power of 85% ( β = 0.15) for the first key secondary endpoint (post-induction MRD negativity rate by NGS) was evaluated with the χ 2 test with Yates’ continuity correction, with the following assumptions, considering the ITT population: α = 0.05 (two-sided) and post-induction MRD negativity (sensitivity of 10 −5 ; by NGS) rate: Isa-KRd 30% versus KRd 15%.”→ Clarify that the power calculation is for the secondary endpoint and not the primary.The sentence is long and could be split for readability.
- MINORotherData availability“Response will typically be given in 3 months.”→ Specify a maximum response time or a formal process for data requests.The phrase 'typically' is vague.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract“10 −5 or better”→ Use consistent formatting for superscripts throughout.Superscript formatting is inconsistent in the abstract.
- MINORclarityResults, Patients and treatment“Nine patients discontinued therapy during post-ASCT full-dose consolidation in the Isa-KRd arm (5 due to adverse events (AEs) and 2 due to death) versus 3 in the KRd arm (1 due to AEs).”→ Clarify the reasons for the remaining 2 discontinuations in the Isa-KRd arm.The numbers do not sum to the total discontinuations.
- MINORconsistencyTable 1“Percentages were calculated on patients with available data.”→ Ensure all percentages in the table are consistent with this note.Some percentages may not sum to 100 due to missing data.
The published work is robust and methodologically sound; an informed reader should weigh the minor data-access vagueness and the lack of code sharing as transparency limitations, but these do not undermine the validity of the reported results. No erratum is warranted based on the identified issues, though the discontinuation count discrepancy in the Results section should be clarified.
- 1.HIGHdata codeIn the Data Availability section, specify a concrete data access mechanism (e.g., a data access committee or a platform like Vivli) and a maximum response time instead of 'typically 3 months'.The current statement is vague and does not meet common transparency standards for clinical trial data sharing.
- 2.HIGHdata codeAdd a Code Availability statement, even if it states that no custom code was used or that analysis code is available upon request.The absence of any code-sharing statement is a reporting gap that reviewers may flag.
- 3.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods or Reporting Summary, explicitly name the reporting guideline followed (e.g., CONSORT).Naming the guideline strengthens transparency and aligns with journal expectations.
- 4.MEDIUMcopyeditIn the Results section, clarify the reasons for the remaining 2 discontinuations in the Isa-KRd arm during post-ASCT full-dose consolidation (9 total, 5 AEs, 2 deaths).The numbers do not sum to the total, which could confuse readers and raise questions about data completeness.
- 5.MEDIUMcopyeditStandardize superscript formatting for '10^-5' and '10^-6' throughout the abstract and main text.Inconsistent formatting is a minor but noticeable copyedit issue.
- 6.MEDIUMreportingIn the Abstract, specify the primary endpoint time point (post-consolidation) for the MRD negativity result.Clarifying the time point improves precision and avoids ambiguity.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods, clarify that the power calculation for the first key secondary endpoint is distinct from the primary endpoint calculation.The current sentence is long and could be misread as the primary power calculation.
- 8.MEDIUMreportingReport the exact number of patients with missing MRD data at each time point and the reasons for missingness.Enhances transparency of the imputation approach and supports reproducibility.
- 9.MEDIUMreportingProvide a CONSORT flow diagram in the main text or supplement.A flow diagram improves reporting completeness for a randomized trial.
- 10.LOWreportingIn the Discussion, emphasize that the 10^-6 MRD analysis was exploratory and not prespecified.Avoids overinterpretation of exploratory findings.
- 11.LOWreportingReport the results of pre-specified subgroup analyses with confidence intervals for all subgroups, not just selected ones.Complete subgroup reporting supports transparency and reduces selective reporting concerns.
- 12.LOWreportingInclude a statement on the validation of the NGS assay used for MRD detection.Provides context for the reliability of the primary endpoint measurement.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.