Efficacy and Safety of Baxdrostat in Uncontrolled and Resistant Hypertension
Flack JM, Azizi M, Brown JM, Dwyer JP, Fronczek J, Jones ESW, Olsson DS, Perl S, Shibata H, Wang JG, Wilderäng U, Wittes J, Williams B, BaxHTN Investigators.
- DOI
- 10.1056/nejmoa2507109
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-22
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/873f3846-f21a-4135-97d5-ec3477f4c9f2 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×2−1★
- ClaimsOverstated claim−0.5★
- ReportingKey resources not met−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability not met−0.5★
- 01Key resources not identified
The investigational drug is identified by name and dose, but manufacturer/source, formulation, and lot information are not reported; SAS is named without a version.
“Participants were randomly assigned 1:1:1 to receive baxdrostat 1 mg, baxdrostat 2 mg, or placebo once daily.”
MethodsFind in source - 02Data and code not shared
The paper lacks a data availability statement; no public repository or access mechanism is described for the data, which is a key reporting gap.
- 03Conclusion reaches beyond the evidence
Baxdrostat may reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease and death.
“Previous studies have shown that 5–10 mmHg reductions in SBP are associated with reduced risk of cardiovascular disease and death.”
Discussion ¶2Find in source
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
The paper reports a well-designed phase 3 trial with strong methods and clear reporting for most dimensions, but has critical gaps in key resource identification and data availability, and a minor ethics reporting gap. One outcome claim is overstated.
Three independent evaluations of the same paper were synthesized; the paper is a published phase 3 trial. The statistics verification covered 11 tests with 11 consistent; no retracted or missing references were found. The integrity check flagged a duplicated eGFR sentence and a minor sample size discrepancy.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 11 tests: 11 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 11 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 1Primary endpoint: baxdrostat 1 mg vs placebo LS mean difference in seated-SBP change
“Estimated treatment differences for baxdrostat 1mg and 2mg relative to placebo were –8.7 mmHg (95% CI, –11.5 to –5.8; P<0.0001) and – 9.8 mmHg (–12.6 to –7.0; P<0.0001), respectively.”
Taken as given: The estimate and CI are on the linear (mmHg) scale, so log=0; The CI is a 95% confidence interval; The p-value is two-sided from the ANCOVA modelMethod: Two-sided p derived from the estimate and 95% CI assuming a normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(-8.7, -11.5, -5.8, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 1Primary endpoint: baxdrostat 2 mg vs placebo LS mean difference in seated-SBP change
“Estimated treatment differences for baxdrostat 1mg and 2mg relative to placebo were –8.7 mmHg (95% CI, –11.5 to –5.8; P<0.0001) and – 9.8 mmHg (–12.6 to –7.0; P<0.0001), respectively.”
Taken as given: The estimate and CI are on the linear (mmHg) scale, so log=0; The CI is a 95% confidence interval; The p-value is two-sided from the ANCOVA modelMethod: Two-sided p derived from the estimate and 95% CI assuming a normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(-9.8, -12.6, -7.0, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 1Secondary endpoint: change in seated-DBP, baxdrostat 1 mg vs placebo
“LS mean placebo-corrected difference (95% CI) – mmHg | – | –3.3 (–5.2 to –1.4) | –3.9 (–5.7 to –2.0) | | P value | – | 0.0008 | <0.0001”
Taken as given: The estimate and CI are on the linear (mmHg) scale, so log=0; The CI is a 95% confidence interval; The p-value is two-sided from the ANCOVA modelMethod: Two-sided p derived from the estimate and 95% CI assuming a normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(-3.3, -5.2, -1.4, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 1Secondary endpoint: change in seated-DBP, baxdrostat 2 mg vs placebo
“LS mean placebo-corrected difference (95% CI) – mmHg | – | –3.3 (–5.2 to –1.4) | –3.9 (–5.7 to –2.0) | | P value | – | 0.0008 | <0.0001”
Taken as given: The estimate and CI are on the linear (mmHg) scale, so log=0; The CI is a 95% confidence interval; The p-value is two-sided from the ANCOVA modelMethod: Two-sided p derived from the estimate and 95% CI assuming a normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(-3.9, -5.7, -2.0, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p = .002 · recomputed p = .002Reviewer 1Secondary endpoint: randomized withdrawal, baxdrostat 2 mg vs placebo
“estimated difference of –5.1 mmHg [95% CI, –8.3 to –1.9; P=0.0016]”
Taken as given: The estimate and CI are on the linear (mmHg) scale, so log=0; The CI is a 95% confidence interval; The p-value is two-sided from the ANCOVA modelMethod: Two-sided p derived from the estimate and 95% CI assuming a normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(-5.1, -8.3, -1.9, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 2Primary endpoint, baxdrostat 1 mg vs placebo, change in seated-SBP at week 12
“Estimated treatment differences of baxdrostat 1 mg and 2 mg relative to placebo were –8.7 mmHg (95% CI, –11.5 to –5.8; P<0.0001)”
Taken as given: The point estimate is -8.7 and the 95% CI is (-11.5, -5.8) for the LS mean difference; The CI is two-sided at 95% and the estimate is a mean difference, not a ratio (log=0); The p-value is two-tailed for the treatment differenceMethod: Two-tailed p derived from the estimate and its 95% CI via normal approximation (pCI).How we recomputed it: pCI(-8.7, -11.5, -5.8, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 2Primary endpoint, baxdrostat 2 mg vs placebo, change in seated-SBP at week 12
“Estimated treatment differences of baxdrostat 1 mg and 2 mg relative to placebo were –8.7 mmHg (95% CI, –11.5 to –5.8; P<0.0001) and –9.8 mmHg (95% CI, –12.6 to –7.0; P<0.0001), respectively.”
Taken as given: The point estimate is -9.8 and the 95% CI is (-12.6, -7.0) for the LS mean difference; The CI is two-sided at 95% and the estimate is a mean difference, not a ratio (log=0); The p-value is two-tailed for the treatment differenceMethod: Two-tailed p derived from the estimate and its 95% CI via normal approximation (pCI).How we recomputed it: pCI(-9.8, -12.6, -7.0, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 2Secondary endpoint, change in seated-DBP from baseline to week 12, baxdrostat 1 mg vs placebo
“For seated-DBP, LS mean estimated placebo-corrected treatment differences at week 12 were –3.3 mmHg (95% CI, –5.2 to –1.4; P=0.0008) with baxdrostat 1 mg”
Taken as given: The point estimate is -3.3 and the 95% CI is (-5.2, -1.4) for the LS mean difference; The CI is two-sided at 95% and the estimate is a mean difference, not a ratio (log=0); The p-value is two-tailed for the treatment differenceMethod: Two-tailed p derived from the estimate and its 95% CI via normal approximation (pCI).How we recomputed it: pCI(-3.3, -5.2, -1.4, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .002 · recomputed p = .002Reviewer 2Secondary endpoint, randomized withdrawal (part 3), baxdrostat 2 mg vs placebo, change in seated-SBP week 24 to week 32
“estimated difference of –5.1 mmHg [95% CI, –8.3 to –1.9; P=0.0016]”
Taken as given: The point estimate is -5.1 and the 95% CI is (-8.3, -1.9) for the LS mean difference; The CI is two-sided at 95% and the estimate is a mean difference, not a ratio (log=0); The p-value is two-tailed for the treatment differenceMethod: Two-tailed p derived from the estimate and its 95% CI via normal approximation (pCI).How we recomputed it: pCI(-5.1, -8.3, -1.9, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 3Primary endpoint: treatment difference for baxdrostat 1mg vs placebo
“Estimated treatment differences for baxdrostat 1mg and 2mg relative to placebo were –8.7 mmHg (95% CI, –11.5 to –5.8; P<0.0001)”
Taken as given: The 95% confidence interval is based on a normal approximation (two-sided).; The estimate is the LS mean difference.Method: Two-tailed p-value from a normal approximation using the estimate and 95% CI.How we recomputed it: pCI(-8.7, -11.5, -5.8, 0) - CONSISTENTreported p = .002 · recomputed p = .002Reviewer 3Secondary endpoint: randomized withdrawal difference for baxdrostat 2mg vs placebo
“LS mean placebo-corrected difference (95% CI) – mmHg | – | NA | –5.1 (–8.3 to –1.9) | P value | – | NA | 0.0016”
Taken as given: The 95% confidence interval is based on a normal approximation.; The estimate is the LS mean difference.Method: Two-tailed p-value from a normal approximation using the estimate and 95% CI.How we recomputed it: pCI(-5.1, -8.3, -1.9, 0)
- lowinternal contradictionThe safety text reports the eGFR >30% change identically twice in one sentence ('12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5% and, ≥30% was 12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5%'), which reads as a duplicated/truncated statistic and is ambiguous about the actual thresholds reported.
“The percent change in eGFR >30% that occurred on treatment was 12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5% and, ≥30% was 12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5% and ≥50% in 0.4, 1.5 and 1.1%”
Safety section, eGFR paragraphFind in source
Overstated conclusions
2 findings · worst mediumConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions overstated beyond the evidenceAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
11 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 1 not fully backed by the presented evidence (unsupported or overstated).
- overstatedReviewer 3Baxdrostat may reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease and death.The paper cites that 5-10 mmHg SBP reductions are associated with reduced risk, but the trial did not test cardiovascular outcomes directly.Evidence: Discussion: 'Previous studies have shown that 5–10 mmHg reductions in SBP are associated with reduced risk of cardiovascular disease and death.'
“Previous studies have shown that 5–10 mmHg reductions in SBP are associated with reduced risk of cardiovascular disease and death.”
Discussion ¶2Find in source - partialReviewer 1BP changes were similar in pre-specified subgroups, suggesting an important role for dysregulated aldosterone in the pathophysiology of both uncontrolled and resistant hypertension, and potentially a broader population of hypertensive patients.Consistency across subgroups is shown, but the inference about aldosterone pathophysiology and a broader population extends beyond the presented data.Evidence: Subgroup forest plot referenced: 'Treatment effects by pre-specified subgroups for change in seated-SBP from baseline to week 12 are presented in and .'
“BP changes were similar in pre-specified subgroups, suggesting an important role for dysregulated aldosterone in the pathophysiology of both uncontrolled and resistant hypertension, and potentially a broader population of hypertensive patients.”
Discussion ¶1Find in source - partialReviewer 1These findings are consistent with functional eGFR changes due to the impact of BP lowering on renal perfusion.The eGFR trajectory is consistent with a functional effect, but no renal perfusion measurements are presented, so causality is not established.Evidence: eGFR declined by –7.0 and –6.9 ml/min/1.73m2 in baxdrostat groups vs –0.1 in placebo, and 'during the randomized withdrawal period (part 3), eGFR returned towards baseline levels in the placebo group.'
“These findings are consistent with functional eGFR changes due to the impact of BP lowering on renal perfusion.”
Discussion ¶5Find in source - partialReviewers 1, 2The slow offset of baxdrostat's BP effect is consistent with its mechanism of action on sodium homeostasis.Presented as speculation; the observed slow offset and incomplete return of aldosterone/PRA to baseline are consistent, but the paper offers no direct mechanistic evidence, and the placebo-arm CI (–1.2 to 4.0) is wide.Evidence: Randomized withdrawal: baxdrostat –3.7 mmHg (95% CI, –5.5 to –1.9) vs placebo +1.4 mmHg (–1.2 to 4.0); aldosterone/PRA did not return fully to baseline.
“We speculate that the slow offset of baxdrostat’s effect on BP is consistent with its mechanism of action on sodium homeostasis.”
DiscussionFind in source - partialReviewers 1, 3The slow offset of baxdrostat's effect on BP is consistent with its mechanism of action on sodium homeostasis.The observation of a slow offset is supported by the randomized withdrawal data, but the mechanistic explanation is speculative.Evidence: Discussion: 'the change in seated-SBP was –3.7 mmHg in the baxdrostat group ... We speculate that the slow offset of baxdrostat's effect on BP is consistent with its mechanism of action on sodium homeostasis.'
We speculate that the slow offset of baxdrostat's effect on BP is consistent with its mechanism of action on sodium homeostasis.
Discussion ¶3reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewers 1, 2Baxdrostat added to background therapy resulted in a reduction in seated-SBP at 12 weeks compared with placebo in patients with uncontrolled or resistant hypertension.The primary endpoint results directly support the conclusion.Evidence: Primary endpoint: LS mean placebo-corrected differences of –8.7 mmHg (95% CI, –11.5 to –5.8) and –9.8 mmHg (95% CI, –12.6 to –7.0), both P<0.0001 (Abstract; Table 2).
“Baxdrostat added to background therapy resulted in a reduction in seated-SBP at 12 weeks compared with placebo in patients with uncontrolled or resistant hypertension.”
ConclusionFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Hyperkalemia and hyponatremia occurred more frequently in the baxdrostat groups versus placebo, but there was a low incidence of hyperkalemia leading to discontinuation and a low rate of potassium measurements >6.0 mmol/l.The safety data in Table 3 quantitatively back the claim.Evidence: Table 3: AESI hyperkalemia 7 (2.7%), 21 (7.9%), 0 (0.0%); discontinuation 2 (0.8%), 4 (1.5%), 0; potassium >6.0 mmol/l 6 (2.3%), 8 (3.0%), 1 (0.4%).
“Hyperkalemia and hyponatremia occurred more frequently in the baxdrostat groups versus placebo, but there was a low incidence of hyperkalemia leading to discontinuation and a low rate of potassium measurements >6.0 mmol/l ().”
Discussion ¶4Find in source - supportedReviewers 2, 3BP lowering effects of baxdrostat were consistent with those reported for lorundrostat.The comparison is supported by the quoted lorundrostat effect size of –9.1 mmHg versus baxdrostat's –8.7/-9.8 mmHg.Evidence: Lorundrostat 50 mg placebo-adjusted SBP reduction of –9.1 mmHg (95% CI, –13.3 to –4.9); baxdrostat reductions of 8.7 and 9.8 mmHg.
“In a phase 3 trial in patients with uncontrolled and resistant hypertension, the placebo-adjusted reduction in office SBP with lorundrostat 50 mg was –9.1 mmHg (95% CI, –13.3 to –4.9) at week 6 (primary endpoint).”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewer 2The 12-week safety data for baxdrostat were generally consistent with lorundrostat clinical trials, with low serious AE rates and low hyperkalemia-related discontinuation.The safety data presented (serious AE rates, hyperkalemia discontinuations, potassium >6.0 rates) support the claim of a manageable safety profile.Evidence: Serious AEs 1.9%/3.4% (baxdrostat groups) vs 2.7% placebo; hyperkalemia leading to discontinuation 0.8%/1.5%; potassium >6.0 mmol/l 2.3%/3.0% vs 0.4%.
“Hyperkalemia and hyponatremia occurred more frequently in the baxdrostat groups versus placebo, but there was a low incidence of hyperkalemia leading to discontinuation and a low rate of potassium measurements >6.0 mmol/l”
Table 3Find in source - supportedReviewer 3Baxdrostat added to background therapy resulted in a reduction in seated-SBP at 12 weeks compared with placebo.The primary endpoint analysis provides robust evidence with significant p-values and clinically relevant effect sizes.Evidence: Primary endpoint: LS mean difference –8.7 mmHg (95% CI –11.5 to –5.8; P<0.0001) for baxdrostat 1 mg and –9.8 mmHg (–12.6 to –7.0; P<0.0001) for 2 mg.
Estimated treatment differences for baxdrostat 1 mg and 2 mg relative to placebo were –8.7 mmHg (95% CI, –11.5 to –5.8; P<0.0001) and –9.8 mmHg (–12.6 to –7.0; P<0.0001), respectively.
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 3Baxdrostat was generally safe with a low incidence of serious adverse events.Safety data are presented with low rates of serious AEs and discontinuation, though hyperkalemia and hyponatremia were more common in baxdrostat groups.Evidence: Table 3 shows serious AEs in 2.7%, 1.9%, 3.4% of placebo, baxdrostat 1 mg, 2 mg groups, respectively. Hyperkalemia >6.0 mmol/l in 0.4%, 2.3%, 3.0%.
Any serious adverse event | 7 (2.7) | 5 (1.9) | 9 (3.4) | ... Serum potassium >6.0 mmol/l | 1/262 (0.4) | 6/262 (2.3) | 8/263 (3.0)
Table 3reviewer’s wording
Efficacy claim is anchored to an adequate endpoint and a meaningful effect.
- ADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is seated office systolic blood pressure (SBP), a well-established surrogate for cardiovascular outcomes. The paper demonstrates target engagement (aldosterone reduction, plasma drug levels) and cites validated evidence linking SBP reduction to clinical outcomes.
“Previous studies have shown that 5–10 mmHg reductions in SBP are associated with reduced risk of cardiovascular disease and death.”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizePlacebo-adjusted reductions of 8.7 mmHg (baxdrostat 1 mg) and 9.8 mmHg (baxdrostat 2 mg) are clinically meaningful, as per cited literature indicating that 5–10 mmHg reductions in SBP reduce cardiovascular risk.
“The BP lowering effects of baxdrostat in our study were consistent with those reported for the aldosterone synthase inhibitor lorundrostat. ... Previous studies have shown that 5–10 mmHg reductions in SBP are associated with reduced risk of cardiovascular disease and death.”
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Other integrity concernAssessed
2 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- lowotherThe resistant-hypertension subpopulation analysis n for placebo (192) differs by one from the baseline resistant-hypertension count (193), which is likely due to a missing baseline/endpoint value but is not explicitly reconciled.
Table 1: Resistant hypertension 193 (73.1); Table 2: n | 192 | 187 | 199
Table 1reviewer’s wording
Reporting gaps
2 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data and code not sharedAssessed
- Key resources not identifiedAssessed
The introduction cites prior phase 2 trials (BrigHTN, HALO) and a study in primary aldosteronism, noting the failure of HALO. It explains the rationale for aldosterone synthase inhibition over MRAs and describes the current trial as longer-term and broader. The limitations of prior work (e.g., failed HALO) are explicitly addressed by the design of the current study.
“However, in a phase 2 trial (HALO) in patients with uncontrolled hypertension, baxdrostat failed to show a difference in change from baseline in seated-SBP at week 8 versus placebo.”
“An alternative therapeutic approach is direct inhibition of aldosterone synthase, which catalyzes the final three steps in aldosterone biosynthesis.”
“Here, we report the results of a longer-term, phase 3 trial assessing the efficacy and safety of baxdrostat in a broader population of patients with uncontrolled or resistant hypertension.”
“In the 12-week phase 2 BrigHTN trial in patients with resistant hypertension, baxdrostat reduced seated office systolic blood pressure (seated-SBP) compared with placebo. However, in a phase 2 trial (HALO) in patients with uncontrolled hypertension, baxdrostat failed to show a difference”
“An alternative therapeutic approach is direct inhibition of aldosterone synthase, which catalyzes the final three steps in aldosterone biosynthesis.”
“In the 12-week phase 2 BrigHTN trial in patients with resistant hypertension, baxdrostat reduced seated office systolic blood pressure (seated-SBP) compared with placebo. However, in a phase 2 trial (HALO) in patients with uncontrolled hypertension, baxdrostat failed to show a difference in change from baseline in seated-SBP at week 8 versus placebo.”
The trial is described as randomized, double-blind, and placebo-controlled. Randomization is stratified by hypertension status and baseline SBP, but the specific method (e.g., computer-generated sequence) is not stated. Blinding is clearly described (double-blind, placebo-controlled). A power analysis is provided (98% power to detect a 6 mmHg difference). Inclusion/exclusion criteria are detailed. Missing data handling is pre-specified (multiple imputation). The unit of randomization is the participant. Overall, 5 of 6 applicable sub-criteria are adequate.
“Randomization was stratified by baseline hypertension status (uncontrolled hypertension, resistant hypertension) and baseline seated-SBP (<145, ≥145 mmHg).”
“It was estimated that 720 participants would need to be randomized to achieve 98% power to detect a mean (standard deviation [SD]) difference of 6 (15) mmHg for change from baseline in seated-SBP at week 12 in favor of baxdrostat versus placebo using a two-sample t-test with a two-sided significance level of 0.025.”
“missing data at week 12 following treatment discontinuation were imputed using a multiple imputation retrieved dropout method and missing data at week 12 following initiation of rescue medication were imputed using a multiple imputation washout method.”
“It was estimated that 720 participants would need to be randomized to achieve 98% power to detect a mean (standard deviation [SD]) difference of 6 (15) mmHg for change from baseline in seated-SBP at week 12 in favor of baxdrostat versus placebo using a two-sample t-test with a two-sided significance level of 0.025.”
“Participants were randomly assigned 1:1:1 to receive baxdrostat 1 mg, baxdrostat 2 mg, or placebo once daily. Randomization was stratified by baseline hypertension status (uncontrolled hypertension, resistant hypertension) and baseline seated-SBP (<145, ≥145 mmHg).”
“missing data at week 12 following treatment discontinuation were imputed using a multiple imputation retrieved dropout method and missing data at week 12 following initiation of rescue medication were imputed using a multiple imputation washout method.”
“Participants were randomly assigned 1:1:1 to receive baxdrostat 1 mg, baxdrostat 2 mg, or placebo once daily. Randomization was stratified by baseline hypertension status (uncontrolled hypertension, resistant hypertension) and baseline seated-SBP (<145, ≥145 mmHg).”
“Part 1 was a 12-week double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled period, forming the basis of the primary outcome reported here.”
“It was estimated that 720 participants would need to be randomized to achieve 98% power to detect a mean (standard deviation [SD]) difference of 6 (15) mmHg for change from baseline in seated-SBP at week 12 in favor of baxdrostat versus placebo using a two-sample t-test with a two-sided significance level of 0.025.”
Table 1 provides detailed demographics: age (mean±SD), sex (percentage male/female), race/ethnicity, BMI, eGFR, diabetes status, baseline BP, and serum electrolytes. Both sexes are enrolled, so sex_justified is not applicable. The trial reports health status (e.g., eGFR, diabetes) and baseline hypertension classification. All applicable sub-criteria (sex_reported, age_weight_health, demographics) are adequate.
“Male sex – no. (%) | 162 (61.4) | 169 (64.0) | 163 (61.3)”
“Age – yrs | 61.9±11.6 | 59.8±11.8 | 61.8±11.7”
“Male sex – no. (%) | 162 (61.4) | 169 (64.0) | 163 (61.3)”
“Age – yrs | 61.9±11.6 | 59.8±11.8 | 61.8±11.7”
The paper states that Institutional Review Boards/Independent Ethics Committees approved the protocol, and all participants provided written informed consent. It also declares compliance with the Declaration of Helsinki, ICH GCP, and applicable laws. These meet the criteria for adequate reporting.
“Institutional Review Boards/Independent Ethics Committees approved the protocol (available at nejm.org (https://nejm.org/) ), and all participants provided written, informed consent before enrollment.”
“the trial was conducted in accordance with the principles of the Declaration of Helsinki, the International Conference for Harmonization Good Clinical Practice guidelines, and applicable laws and regulations.”
“Institutional Review Boards/Independent Ethics Committees approved the protocol”
“all participants provided written, informed consent before enrollment.”
“the trial was conducted in accordance with the principles of the Declaration of Helsinki, the International Conference for Harmonization Good Clinical Practice guidelines, and applicable laws and regulations.”
“the trial was conducted in accordance with the principles of the Declaration of Helsinki, the International Conference for Harmonization Good Clinical Practice guidelines, and applicable laws and regulations.”
This is a drug trial, so the investigational product (baxdrostat and placebo) and statistical software are the applicable resources. The drug is identified as baxdrostat 1 mg or 2 mg, but no manufacturer/source or formulation is stated. SAS is identified with vendor but not version. Neither applicable resource criterion is fully adequate, resulting in a fail.
“Participants were randomly assigned 1:1:1 to receive baxdrostat 1 mg, baxdrostat 2 mg, or placebo once daily.”
“All statistical analyses were performed using SAS software (SAS Institute Inc., Cary, NC, USA).”
“baxdrostat 1mg, baxdrostat 2mg, or placebo once daily”
“All statistical analyses were performed using SAS software (SAS Institute Inc., Cary, NC, USA).”
“Baxdrostat is a highly selective, potent aldosterone synthase inhibitor with a plasma half-life of approximately 30 hours, allowing once daily administration.”
“All statistical analyses were performed using SAS software (SAS Institute Inc., Cary, NC, USA).”
The primary analysis uses ANCOVA with factors and covariates. Exact p-values (e.g., P<0.0001, P=0.0016) are reported. Effect sizes are presented as LS mean differences with 95% CIs. The software (SAS) is named but without version. Data presentation includes forest plots, line graphs with error bars, and per-group sample sizes. Assumptions are considered adequate due to the pre-specified model. Mathematical plausibility is not applicable for large N continuous outcomes. 5 of 6 applicable sub-criteria are adequate.
“The primary analysis used analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) with treatment and hypertension status (uncontrolled, resistant) as factors and baseline seated-SBP as a covariate.”
“Estimated treatment differences for baxdrostat 1mg and 2mg relative to placebo were –8.7 mmHg (95% CI, –11.5 to –5.8; P<0.0001) and – 9.8 mmHg (–12.6 to –7.0; P<0.0001), respectively.”
“All statistical analyses were performed using SAS software (SAS Institute Inc., Cary, NC, USA).”
“The primary analysis used analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) with treatment and hypertension status (uncontrolled, resistant) as factors and baseline seated-SBP as a covariate.”
“Estimated treatment differences of baxdrostat 1 mg and 2 mg relative to placebo were –8.7 mmHg (95% CI, –11.5 to –5.8; P<0.0001) and –9.8 mmHg (95% CI, –12.6 to –7.0; P<0.0001), respectively.”
“The primary analysis used analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) with treatment and hypertension status (uncontrolled, resistant) as factors and baseline seated-SBP as a covariate.”
The paper mentions trial registration and that data were collected and analyzed by AstraZeneca, but there is no explicit statement about data availability to external researchers. No repository deposit or accession numbers are provided. For a clinical trial, a data availability statement is required, even if it states that data are available upon request. Its absence results in a fail.
“Data were collected and analyzed by AstraZeneca.”
“The trial was registered on clinicaltrials.gov on 09-13-23; https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06034743”
The methods are sufficiently detailed for replication. The trial is registered (NCT06034743). All pre-specified outcomes, including safety, are reported. Limitations are discussed (e.g., low ambulatory BP measurement, underrepresented groups). Conclusions are proportional to the evidence. Funding and conflicts are disclosed. However, no reporting guideline (e.g., CONSORT) is mentioned. 6 of 7 applicable sub-criteria are adequate.
“The trial was registered on clinicaltrials.gov on 09-13-23; https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06034743 .”
“The present study has certain limitations.”
“The BaxHTN trial was funded by AstraZeneca.”
“BaxHTN clinicaltrials.gov number, NCT06034743”
“The present study has certain limitations. Ambulatory BP was measured in only a small number of participants.”
“The BaxHTN trial was funded by AstraZeneca.”
“BaxHTN clinicaltrials.gov number, NCT06034743 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT06034743)”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 25 references by DOI: 24 verified — 1 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIBaxdrostat in patients with uncontrolled hypertensionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
4 data/code links checked; 3 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06034743LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT06034743LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06168409LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://nejm.org/UNVERIFIEDHTTP 403Liveness indeterminate — content not checked.
Copyediting
1 finding · worst lowWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
- Wording or formatting errors that need correctingAssessed
11 copyedit issues flagged (1 major): mostly consistency, clarity, typo.
- MAJORconsistencyResults, Safety, paragraph on eGFR“The percent change in eGFR >30% that occurred on treatment was 12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5% and, ≥30% was 12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5% and ≥50% in 0.4, 1.5 and 1.1%”→ The percent change in eGFR ≥30% that occurred on treatment was 12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5%, and ≥50% was 0.4%, 1.5% and 1.1%.The phrase '12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5%' is duplicated and the 0.4/1.5/1.1 values lack percent signs.
- MINORtypoResults, Safety, paragraph 2“Hyperkaemia (potassium levels >5.5mmol/l) occurred in 16/262 (6.1%), 29/261 (11.1%) and 1/260 (0.4)”→ Hyperkalemia (potassium levels >5.5 mmol/l) occurred in 16/262 (6.1%), 29/261 (11.1%), and 1/260 (0.4%).Misspelling, missing closing parenthesis, and missing percent sign.
- MINORpunctuationIntroduction, paragraph 1“allowing once daily administration. , In the 12-week phase 2 BrigHTN trial”→ allowing once daily administration. In the 12-week phase 2 BrigHTN trialStray comma before 'In'.
- MINORpunctuationMethods, Ethics“available at nejm.org (https://nejm.org/) ),”→ available at nejm.org (https://nejm.org/),Extra closing parenthesis.
- MINORclarityFront matter“The BaxHTN Investigators are listed in the ✉ Corresponding author.”→ The BaxHTN Investigators are listed in the Supplementary Appendix.The phrase is grammatically garbled.
- MINORclaritySafety section, eGFR paragraph“The percent change in eGFR >30% that occurred on treatment was 12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5% and, ≥30% was 12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5% and ≥50% in 0.4, 1.5 and 1.1%”→ Rewrite to state the percentages for each threshold (>30%, ≥50%) clearly, removing the duplicated 12.6%, 15.6% and 1.5%.The sentence repeats the same three values and conflates thresholds, making the statistic ambiguous.
- MINORtypoSafety section, hyperkalemia paragraph“Hyperkaemia (potassium levels >5.5mmol/l) occurred in 16/262 (6.1%), 29/261 (11.1%) and 1/260 (0.4)”→ Correct 'Hyperkaemia' to 'Hyperkalemia', add the percent symbol to '0.4', and complete the sentence.Misspelling and an incomplete sentence with a missing percent sign.
- MINORconsistencyDiscussion, randomized withdrawal interpretation“Interestingly, in the placebo arm of the 8-week randomized withdrawal period, the change in seated-SBP was only +1.4 mmHg (95% CI, –1.2 to 4.0), despite the expected clearance of baxdrostat from the blood by 1 week.”→ Consider clarifying that the CI includes zero/positive values when speculating about slow offset.The speculation is flagged as such, but the wide CI near zero could be noted as a caveat.
- MINORconsistencyTable 3, footnote“Denominators are number of subjects per treatment group who at baseline did not already fulfil the specific row-criteria”→ Consider clarifying that denominators vary per row due to baseline exclusions.This is standard but could be confusing.
- MINORconsistencyResults, Safety paragraph“Serum potassium levels >6 mmol/l were recorded in a central laboratory for 6 (2.3%), 8 (3.0%) and 1 (0.4%) participants receiving baxdrostat 1 mg, baxdrostat 2 mg and placebo, respectively.”→ Ensure that the denominators match Table 3 (6/262, 8/263, 1/262) and clarify the denominators.The text says 6 (2.3%) but Table 3 shows 6/262 (2.3%) for baxdrostat 1 mg; the denominator differs from the group total (264).
- MINORclarityResults, Ambulatory BP“Ambulatory BP was measured in only a small number of participants.”→ Specify the exact number of participants with ambulatory BP data.The number is not given in the main text.
As a published paper, it is generally robust but has several reporting gaps and one overclaimed inference. An informed reader should note the missing data availability statement, the incomplete key resource identification, and the overstated cardiovascular risk claim. A correction or erratum is warranted for the eGFR data reporting and the missing data availability statement.
- 1.HIGHdata codeAdd a data availability statement specifying how de-identified participant data can be accessed (e.g., via AstraZeneca's data-sharing portal or upon reasonable request) in the End Matter.The absence of a data availability statement is a major reporting gap that undermines reproducibility and transparency.
- 2.HIGHotherTone down the claim that 'Baxdrostat may reduce the risk of cardiovascular disease and death' to reflect that the trial did not assess cardiovascular outcomes directly; the statement relies on extrapolation from SBP reduction.This claim is overstated relative to the evidence presented and could mislead readers.
- 3.HIGHcopyeditCorrect the eGFR sentence in the Safety section that duplicates the same three percentages and conflates thresholds; provide the correct percentages for each threshold separately.The current text is ambiguous and appears to contain a data reporting error, which could affect interpretation of safety data.
- 4.HIGHrigorIdentify the manufacturer/source and formulation of baxdrostat and placebo in the Methods (Trial Procedures).Key resources are inadequately identified; the source of the investigational product is essential for reproducibility.
- 5.HIGHstatisticsState the version of SAS software (e.g., SAS 9.4) in the Statistical Analyses section.Software version is needed for reproducibility and is a standard reporting requirement.
- 6.HIGHethicsName the specific institutional review boards or ethics committees that approved the protocol and provide the protocol approval number(s) in the Ethics section.A generic statement is insufficient; a named IRB/IEC with approval number is standard for clinical trial reporting.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingReplace threshold p-values (e.g., P<0.0001) with exact values, or provide exact values in a Supplementary Appendix.Exact p-values are preferred for transparency and allow readers to assess significance more precisely.
- 8.MEDIUMreportingDescribe the randomization allocation mechanism (e.g., interactive response technology, block sizes) in the randomization paragraph.The method of generating the random allocation sequence is a key aspect of study design that is currently missing.
- 9.MEDIUMcopyeditCorrect the misspelling 'Hyperkaemia' to 'Hyperkalemia' and add the missing percent sign and closing parenthesis to the sentence.These typographical errors undermine the professionalism of the manuscript and could cause confusion.
- 10.MEDIUMreportingReference the CONSORT reporting checklist in the Methods or a designated section, and submit the checklist as supplementary material.Adherence to a reporting guideline is a standard expectation for clinical trials and enhances transparency.
- 11.LOWcopyeditRemove the stray comma before 'In' in the Introduction paragraph 1, and fix the extra closing parenthesis in the Ethics section.Minor punctuation errors should be corrected for a clean manuscript.
- 12.LOWcopyeditClarify the garbled sentence about The BaxHTN Investigators in the front matter.The current phrasing is grammatically incorrect and should be edited for clarity.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.