Ibrutinib and rituximab versus immunochemotherapy in patients with previously untreated mantle cell lymphoma (ENRICH): a randomised, open-label, phase 2/3 superiority trial.
Lewis DJ, Jerkeman M, Sorrell L, Wright D, Glimelius I, Poulsen CB, Pasanen A, Rawstron A, Wader KF, Morley N, Burton C, Davies AJ, Lagerlöf I, Dalal S, De Tute R, McNamara C, Crosbie N, Toldbod HE, Sanders J, Allgar V, Aroori S, Warner M, Scully C, Wainman B, Christensen JH, Riise J, Sonnevi K, Bishton MJ, Eyre TA, Rule S, ENRICH investigators
- DOI
- 10.1016/S0140-6736(25)01432-1
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-20
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/8ec8caff-5fee-4a5d-9c4e-e1dc97d21771 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- No data or code availability links were detected to verify.
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted and well-reported randomized clinical trial with a clear scientific premise, rigorous design, and transparent reporting. The main weakness is the vague data availability statement, which lacks a concrete access mechanism and does not mention code sharing. Minor copyedit issues and a small internal inconsistency in the abstract's adverse event percentages should be addressed.
Both reviewers independently scored all eight dimensions and agreed on all statuses, with minor differences in sub-criteria (outlier handling, assumptions verification) that do not affect the overall pass. The study type is interventional, as both reviewers agreed. The statistics verification component recomputed 5 tests, all consistent, but this does not validate the entire statistical analysis. The citation check found no retracted or non-existent references.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 5 tests: 5 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 1 recomputed directly from the reported test statistics, 4 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p = .003 · recomputed p = .008Recomputed HR 0.69 (95% CI 0.52–0.90), reported p=0.0034
“HR 0.69 [95% CI 0.52–0.90]; p=0.0034”
Taken as given: 0.52–0.90 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the HR of 0.69, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the HR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.0034 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(0.69, 0.52, 0.9, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .003 · recomputed p = .008Reviewers 1, 2Primary HR p-value from CI
“HR 0·69 [95% CI 0·52–0·90]; p=0·0034”
Taken as given: The HR is 0.69 with 95% CI 0.52-0.90.; The p-value is two-sided from the Cox model.Method: Recomputed p from HR and CI using normal approximation on log scale.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.69, 0.52, 0.90, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewers 1, 2R-CHOP subgroup HR p-value from CI
“For the R-CHOP subgroup, the HR for ibrutinib–rituximab compared to R-CHOP was 0·37 (95% CI 0·22–0·62).”
Taken as given: The HR is 0.37 with 95% CI 0.22-0.62.; The p-value is two-sided.Method: Recomputed p from HR and CI using normal approximation on log scale.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.37, 0.22, 0.62, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .530 · recomputed p = .563Reviewer 1Bendamustine subgroup HR p-value from CI
“For the rituximab–bendamustine subgroup, the HR for ibrutinib–rituximab compared to rituximab–bendamustine was 0·91 (95% CI 0·66–1·25)”
Taken as given: The HR is 0.91 with 95% CI 0.66-1.25.; The p-value is two-sided.Method: Recomputed p from HR and CI using normal approximation on log scale.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.91, 0.66, 1.25, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .560 · recomputed p = .563Reviewer 2Subgroup analysis: bendamustine–rituximab choice, HR 0.91, 95% CI 0.66-1.25.
“For the rituximab–bendamustine subgroup, the HR for ibrutinib–rituximab compared to rituximab–bendamustine was 0·91 (95% CI 0·66–1·25)”
Taken as given: The HR and CI are from a Cox model within the bendamustine–rituximab choice subgroup.; The CI is two-sided at 95%.; The p-value is two-sided.Method: p-value derived from the reported HR and 95% CI using the same method as above.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.91, 0.66, 1.25, 1)
- lowinternal contradictionThe abstract reports 67% and 70% for grade 3+ adverse events, but the results section reports 132 (67%) of 198 for ibrutinib-rituximab and 99 (69%) of 143 for bendamustine-rituximab, and 37 (71%) of 52 for R-CHOP. The abstract's 70% for immunotherapy does not match any single group.
“Across induction and maintenance, 67% of patients assigned to ibrutinib–rituximab and 70% of patients receiving immunotherapy reported grade 3 or above adverse events.”
AbstractFind in source
Overstated conclusions
1 finding · worst lowConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
9 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 2 only partially supported (evidence backs part of the claim; gaps or caveats remain); the rest adequately supported.
- partialReviewer 1Ibrutinib–rituximab should be considered a new standard of care option for first-line treatment of older patients with mantle-cell lymphoma.The overall PFS benefit is significant, but the benefit is limited to the R-CHOP subgroup, and overall survival is not improved, so the claim is somewhat strong.Evidence: PFS benefit overall, but OS HR 0.87 (0.64-1.18) not significant.
“This study suggests that ibrutinib–rituximab should be considered a new standard of care option for first-line treatment of older patients with mantle-cell lymphoma.”
AbstractFind in source - partialReviewer 2Ibrutinib–rituximab should be considered a new standard of care option for first-line treatment of older patients with mantle cell lymphoma.The claim is supported for the overall population, but the benefit is limited to the R-CHOP subgroup; the bendamustine–rituximab subgroup shows no significant benefit. The claim may be overstated for patients who would otherwise receive bendamustine–rituximab.Evidence: Overall PFS benefit is significant, but subgroup analysis shows no benefit over bendamustine–rituximab.
“Ibrutinib–rituximab should be considered a new standard of care option for first-line treatment of older patients with mantle-cell lymphoma.”
Interpretation, final paragraphFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Ibrutinib–rituximab improves progression-free survival compared to immunochemotherapy in older patients with untreated mantle cell lymphoma.The primary analysis shows a significant improvement in PFS (HR 0.69, p=0.0034), supporting the claim.Evidence: Primary analysis: HR 0.69 (95% CI 0.52-0.90), p=0.0034.
“The median progression-free survival of ibrutinib–rituximab was superior to immunochemotherapy, with an adjusted hazard ratio (HR) of 0·69 (95% CI 0·52–0·90); p=0·0034.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1The benefit is primarily driven by improvement compared to R-CHOP, not bendamustine-rituximab.Subgroup analysis shows HR 0.37 for R-CHOP and HR 0.91 for bendamustine-rituximab, supporting the claim.Evidence: Subgroup HRs: R-CHOP 0.37 (0.22-0.62), bendamustine-rituximab 0.91 (0.66-1.25).
“For those with pre-randomisation choice R-CHOP, the HR was 0·37 (0·22–0·62), and with bendamustine–rituximab, the HR was 0·91 (0·66–1·25).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Ibrutinib–rituximab is associated with faster improvement in health-related quality of life compared to immunochemotherapy.The paper reports a faster improvement in QLQ-C30 scores at mid-induction, supporting the claim.Evidence: EORTC QLQ-C30 scores improved from 86 to 91 in the ibrutinib-rituximab group vs 85 to 85 in the control group at mid-induction.
“Health-related quality of life improved more rapidly in the ibrutinib–rituximab group compared to immunochemotherapy.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Ibrutinib–rituximab is superior to immunochemotherapy in progression-free survival in older patients with untreated mantle cell lymphoma.The primary analysis shows a statistically significant improvement in PFS (HR 0.69, 95% CI 0.52-0.90, p=0.0034), supporting the claim.Evidence: Primary analysis: HR 0.69, 95% CI 0.52-0.90, p=0.0034.
The primary analysis of progression-free survival showed superiority of ibrutinib–rituximab over immunochemotherapy (HR 0·69 [95% CI 0·52–0·90]; p=0·0034)
Results ¶2reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2The benefit is primarily driven by worse outcomes in the R-CHOP control group.The subgroup analysis shows a significant interaction (p=0.0038) and a large effect in the R-CHOP subgroup (HR 0.37) versus no significant effect in the bendamustine–rituximab subgroup (HR 0.91), supporting the claim.Evidence: Subgroup analysis: R-CHOP HR 0.37 (0.22-0.62), bendamustine–rituximab HR 0.91 (0.66-1.25), interaction p=0.0038.
“The rituximab–bendamustine choice control group was substantially different from the R-CHOP choice control group, and prespecified testing showed a significant interaction between the choice of immunochemotherapy and treatment allocation (p=0·0038; ).”
Results ¶2Find in source - supportedReviewer 2Ibrutinib–rituximab is associated with less haematological toxicity compared with immunochemotherapy.The safety data show lower rates of haematological adverse events in the ibrutinib–rituximab group compared to both R-CHOP and bendamustine–rituximab groups.Evidence: Table 2: haematological AEs: ibrutinib–rituximab 17%, R-CHOP 50%, bendamustine–rituximab 34% during induction.
“Grade 3 or above haematological adverse events were reported in 33 (17%) of 198, 26 (50%) of 52, and 48 (34%) of 143 in the intervention, R-CHOP, and rituximab–bendamustine groups, respectively.”
Results ¶8Find in source - supportedReviewer 2Ibrutinib–rituximab is associated with more non-haematological toxicity compared with immunochemotherapy.The safety data show higher rates of non-haematological AEs in the ibrutinib–rituximab group, particularly cardiac events and hypertension.Evidence: Table 2: non-haematological AEs: ibrutinib–rituximab 61%, R-CHOP 52%, bendamustine–rituximab 52% during induction.
Grade 3 or above non-haematological adverse events were reported in 120 (61%) of 198, 27 (52%) of 52, and 75 (52%) of 143 of the intervention, R-CHOP, and rituximab–bendamustine groups, respectively.
Results ¶8reviewer’s wording
Efficacy claim is anchored to an adequate endpoint and a meaningful effect.
- ADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is progression-free survival (PFS), a hard clinical outcome reflecting disease progression or death. Although PFS is a surrogate for overall survival in some contexts, it is a clinically meaningful endpoint in oncology trials and is widely accepted as a direct measure of disease control. The trial also reports overall survival as a secondary endpoint, and the PFS benefit is supported by a statistically significant hazard ratio. No additional surrogate validation is required because PFS is a standard clinical endpoint.
“The primary outcome was investigator-assessed progression-free survival, defined as the time from random allocation to disease progression or death from any cause, as determined by investigator assessment.”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizeThe primary effect size is a hazard ratio of 0.69 (95% CI 0.52–0.90) for progression-free survival, with median PFS improved from 42.4 months to 65.3 months. This represents a clinically meaningful improvement in a key outcome for mantle cell lymphoma. The effect is statistically significant (p=0.0034) and the magnitude is substantial, supporting clinical benefit.
“The median progression-free survival in the intervention group was 65·3 months (95% CI 52·7–not evaluable [NE]), compared with 42·4 months (95% CI 32·7–55·3) in the immunochemotherapy group. The primary analysis of progression-free survival showed superiority of ibrutinib–rituximab over immunochemotherapy (HR 0·69 [95% CI 0·52–0·90]; p=0·0034).”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
1 finding · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
The introduction cites multiple prior studies (SHINE, TRIANGLE, etc.) and discusses both strengths and weaknesses of existing treatments. The rationale linking the premise to the study objectives is logical, and the paper acknowledges limitations of prior research, such as the lack of a direct comparison of ibrutinib–rituximab with immunochemotherapy.
“The SHINE trial, which compared bendamustine–rituximab–ibrutinib with bendamustine–rituximab, demonstrated an improvement in progression-free survival but not overall survival with the addition of ibrutinib to immunochemotherapy.”
“ibrutinib–rituximab has never previously been compared with immunochemotherapy in a first-line randomised controlled trial.”
“Here we report the primary results of the international randomised phase 2/3 ENRICH trial, which aimed to demonstrate the superiority of the combination of ibrutinib–rituximab versus immunochemotherapy”
“Adding ibrutinib to the induction phase of R-CHOP alternating with R-DHAP (rituximab, dexamethasone, cytarabine, and cisplatin) improves failure-free survival and overall survival compared to standard induction and autologous stem-cell transplantation (ASCT), but is considered too intensive for patients older than 65 years.”
“Single-arm trials have demonstrated the efficacy of ibrutinib–rituximab in untreated mantle-cell lymphoma, however ibrutinib–rituximab has never previously been compared with immunochemotherapy in a first-line randomised controlled trial.”
Randomization method is described (web-based system, 1:1 ratio, stratified by investigator choice). Blinding is not performed due to open-label design, which is stated. Power analysis is provided (planned sample size 400, HR 0.67, 90% power). Inclusion/exclusion criteria are described, and the analysis population (ITT) is defined. Outlier handling is addressed through censoring and sensitivity analyses. Controls are inherent in the comparator arm. Independent replication is not applicable for a single pivotal trial.
“Patients were randomly assigned to receive either rituximab plus immunochemotherapy or ibrutinib–rituximab in a 1:1 ratio, stratified by investigator choice of immunochemotherapy (R-CHOP or rituximab–bendamustine).”
“As an open-label design, no masking was done.”
“The planned sample size was 400 participants to detect superiority of ibrutinib–rituximab versus immunochemotherapy, assuming a recruitment rate of 100 patients per year, a follow-up period of 3 years after the final patient was randomly allocated, a predicted loss to follow-up at a rate of 0·05 per year, a hazard ratio (HR) of 0·67 with a 30-month median progression-free survival in the immunochemotherapy group, and a statistical power of 90%.”
“Patients were randomly assigned to receive either rituximab plus immunochemotherapy or ibrutinib–rituximab in a 1:1 ratio, stratified by investigator choice of immunochemotherapy (R-CHOP or rituximab–bendamustine).”
“The planned sample size was 400 participants to detect superiority of ibrutinib–rituximab versus immunochemotherapy, assuming a recruitment rate of 100 patients per year, a follow-up period of 3 years after the final patient was randomly allocated, a predicted loss to follow-up at a rate of 0·05 per year, a hazard ratio (HR) of 0·67 with a 30-month median progression-free survival in the immunochemotherapy group, and a statistical power of 90%.”
“Complete eligibility criteria are provided in the trial protocol (appendix).”
Sex is reported (75% male, 25% female). Age is reported with median and IQR. Health status is reported via ECOG performance status. Demographics include age, sex, MIPI score, and disease stage. Ethnicity was not collected, which is explained (illegal in Sweden). Species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable for a human clinical trial.
“296 patients (75%) were male and 101 patients (25%) were female; ethnicity data was not collected as ethnicity data are illegal to collect in Sweden.”
“The median age was 74 years (IQR 70–77) for the intervention group and 74 years (70–78) in the control group.”
“296 patients (75%) were male and 101 patients (25%) were female; ethnicity data were not collected.”
“The median age was 74 years (IQR 70–77) for the intervention group and 74 years (70–78) in the control group.”
“Table 1 Baseline participant characteristics by pre-randomisation investigator choice of immunochemotherapy and treatment allocation of the intention-to-treat population”
The paper states ethical approval was obtained from ethics committees of all participating countries, and all patients provided written informed consent. The trial was performed according to the Declaration of Helsinki. The trial was registered with EudraCT. These meet the criteria for adequate reporting.
“All patients provided written informed consent for trial participation, and the trial was performed according to the updated Declaration of Helsinki.”
“The trial was registered with EudraCT (2015–000832–13) and is closed for recruitment.”
“Ethical approval was obtained from the ethics committees of all participating countries ().”
“All patients provided written informed consent for trial participation, and the trial was performed according to the updated Declaration of Helsinki.”
“The trial was registered with EudraCT (2015–000832–13) and is closed for recruitment.”
The investigational products (ibrutinib, rituximab, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, prednisolone, bendamustine) are all identified with doses and regimens. Software used for analysis (R version 4.4.0) is identified. Antibodies, cell lines, mycoplasma testing, and organisms are not applicable as this is a clinical trial without wet-lab components.
“patients randomly allocated to the ibrutinib–rituximab (intervention) group received 560 mg oral ibrutinib daily in combination with six to eight cycles of 375 mg/m 2 intravenous rituximab on day 1 of each cycle”
“R-CHOP comprised 750 mg/m 2 of cyclophosphamide, 50 mg/m 2 of doxorubicin, 375 mg/m 2 of rituximab, and 1·4 mg/m 2 vincristine on day 1 of each 21-day cycle, with 100 mg prednisolone on days 1–5 of each cycle.”
“All analyses were conducted using R version 4.4.0.”
“R-CHOP comprised 750 mg/m 2 of cyclophosphamide, 50 mg/m 2 of doxorubicin, 375 mg/m 2 of rituximab, and 1·4 mg/m 2 vincristine on day 1 of each 21-day cycle, with 100 mg prednisolone on days 1–5 of each cycle.”
“All analyses were conducted using R version 4.4.0.”
The primary analysis uses Cox proportional hazards regression, which is named. Effect sizes (HR) with 95% CIs are reported. Exact p-values are reported (p=0.0034). Software (R version 4.4.0) is identified. Data presentation includes Kaplan-Meier curves, per-group n, and adverse event tables. Assumptions for Cox regression are not explicitly verified, but this is standard for large trials. Mathematical plausibility checks are not applicable for continuous outcomes with large N.
“The HR and two-sided 95% CIs were derived using a Cox proportional hazards regression model, adjusting for the pre-randomisation investigator choice of immunochemotherapy.”
“HR 0·69 [95% CI 0·52–0·90]; p=0·0034”
“The HR and two-sided 95% CIs were derived using a Cox proportional hazards regression model, adjusting for the pre-randomisation investigator choice of immunochemotherapy.”
“The primary analysis of progression-free survival showed superiority of ibrutinib–rituximab over immunochemotherapy (HR 0·69 [95% CI 0·52–0·90]; p=0·0034; ; Kaplan–Meier curves for all participants and proportionality of hazards are shown in the ).”
“All analyses were conducted using R version 4.4.0.”
The data availability statement says clinical data can be provided on the basis of a scientific collaboration by contacting the trials unit. This is vague and does not specify a concrete mechanism, conditions, or timeframe, making it 'reported_but_inadequate'. No code sharing is reported, and no repository deposit or accession numbers are provided. For a clinical trial, managed access is acceptable, but the statement lacks detail.
“Clinical data can be provided on the basis of a scientific collaboration with the ENRICH trial group, by contacting Peninsula Clinical Trials Unit at the University of Plymouth, Plymouth, UK ( penctu@plymouth.ac.uk ).”
“Clinical data can be provided on the basis of a scientific collaboration with the ENRICH trial group, by contacting Peninsula Clinical Trials Unit at the University of Plymouth, Plymouth, UK ( penctu@plymouth.ac.uk ).”
Methods are detailed enough for replication. Trial registration is provided (EudraCT 2015-000832-13). Limitations are discussed (e.g., COVID-19 impact, small subgroups). Conclusions are proportional to the evidence. Funding sources and conflicts of interest are reported. No specific reporting guideline (e.g., CONSORT) is mentioned, but the paper follows standard clinical trial reporting conventions.
“The trial was registered with EudraCT (2015–000832–13) and is closed for recruitment.”
“This trial was substantially affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.”
“Funding Cancer Research UK (C7627/A17938) and Johnson and Johnson Pharmaceuticals.”
“The trial was registered with EudraCT (2015–000832–13) and is closed for recruitment.”
“This trial was substantially affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.”
“Funding Cancer Research UK (C7627/A17938) and Johnson and Johnson Pharmaceuticals.”
Registration stated in text, but no registry ID was detected. No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None found · partly checkedReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Nothing surfaced — but not everything feeding this category ran (missing: data/code link verification), so read this as a partial clean bill.
Checked 30 references by DOI: 27 verified — 3 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIRole of autologous stem cell transplantation in the context of ibrutinib-containing first-line treatment in younger patients with mantle cell lymphoma: results from the randomized triangle trial by the European MCL networkNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA multicenter phase 2 trial of zanubrutinib, obinutuzumab, and venetoclax (BOVen) in patients with treatment-naïve, TP53-mutant mantle cell lymphomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAcalabrutinib and rituximab in elderly patients with newly diagnosed mantle cell lymphoma including a matched population-based external comparator–the Nordic Lymphoma Group NLG-MCL8 (ALTAMIRA) phase II trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
Copyediting
5 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 5 minor suggestions below.
5 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity, typo.
- MINORtypoAbstract, Findings“67% of patients assigned to ibrutinib–rituximab and 70% of patients receiving immunotherapy reported grade 3 or above adverse events.”→ Change 'immunotherapy' to 'immunochemotherapy' for consistency.The term 'immunotherapy' is used inconsistently; the trial uses immunochemotherapy.
- MINORconsistencyResults, paragraph 1“296 patients (75%) were male and 101 patients (25%) were female; ethnicity data was not collected as ethnicity data are illegal to collect in Sweden.”→ Consider rephrasing to avoid repetition of 'ethnicity data'.Minor redundancy.
- MINORclarityDiscussion, paragraph 4“The overall survival was similar across the whole trial but was numerically improved with ibrutinib–rituximab in those with a pre-randomisation choice of R-CHOP.”→ Clarify that 'numerically improved' means not statistically significant.Could be misinterpreted as a significant finding.
- MINORconsistencyResults, paragraph 1“296 patients (75%) were male and 101 patients (25%) were female; ethnicity data were not collected.”→ Consider adding a brief explanation for why ethnicity data were not collected (e.g., 'as ethnicity data are illegal to collect in Sweden') earlier in the text, not just in the table footnote.The explanation is in the table footnote but not in the main text.
- MINORclarityDiscussion, paragraph 1“According to a predefined statistical plan, this was primarily driven by worse outcomes in the R-CHOP control group compared to the ibrutinib–rituximab intervention group, whereas the progression-free survival for ibrutinib–rituximab and rituximab–bendamustine were broadly comparable.”→ Rephrase for clarity: '...this was primarily driven by worse outcomes in the R-CHOP control group compared with the ibrutinib–rituximab group, whereas progression-free survival was broadly comparable between ibrutinib–rituximab and rituximab–bendamustine.'The original sentence is slightly awkward.
The published work is robust and well-reported, with only minor reporting gaps. An informed reader should weigh the vague data availability statement and the lack of explicit reporting guideline adherence. The internal inconsistency in the abstract's adverse event percentages warrants a correction or clarification. No substantive validity threats were identified.
- 1.HIGHdata codeIn the Data sharing section, specify a concrete data access mechanism (e.g., a managed-access platform like YODA or Vivli), conditions for access, and an expected timeframe for responding to requests.The current statement is vague ('on the basis of a scientific collaboration') and does not meet common data availability standards for clinical trials.
- 2.HIGHdata codeAdd a statement about code sharing, including any custom analysis code used for primary or secondary analyses, ideally in a public repository with a persistent identifier.No code sharing is mentioned, which limits reproducibility.
- 3.HIGHreportingIn the Methods section, explicitly reference adherence to a reporting guideline such as CONSORT.The paper does not mention a reporting guideline, which is expected for a clinical trial and enhances transparency.
- 4.HIGHstatisticsIn the Statistical analysis section, explicitly report verification of the proportional hazards assumption for the Cox model (e.g., a test or graphical assessment).One reviewer noted that assumptions are not explicitly verified, which is a minor reporting gap.
- 5.MEDIUMcopyeditIn the Abstract, Findings, change 'immunotherapy' to 'immunochemotherapy' for consistency.The term 'immunotherapy' is used inconsistently; the trial uses immunochemotherapy.
- 6.MEDIUMcopyeditIn the Results, paragraph 1, rephrase the sentence about ethnicity to avoid repetition of 'ethnicity data'.Minor redundancy in the sentence.
- 7.MEDIUMcopyeditIn the Discussion, paragraph 4, clarify that 'numerically improved' means not statistically significant.Could be misinterpreted as a significant finding.
- 8.MEDIUMcopyeditIn the Results, paragraph 1, add a brief explanation for why ethnicity data were not collected in the main text, not just in the table footnote.The explanation is in the table footnote but not in the main text, which may confuse readers.
- 9.MEDIUMcopyeditIn the Discussion, paragraph 1, rephrase the sentence about the R-CHOP control group for clarity.The original sentence is slightly awkward and could be clearer.
- 10.MEDIUMreportingIn the Abstract, Findings, correct the percentage for grade 3+ adverse events in the control group to match the results section (e.g., 69% for bendamustine-rituximab and 71% for R-CHOP).The abstract reports 70% for 'immunotherapy', which does not match any single group in the results, creating an internal inconsistency.
- 11.LOWreportingIn the Funding section, clarify the role of the funder in the trial design and conduct.The current statement is brief and does not specify the funder's role.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.