The NPR1 agonist antibody XXB750 in heart failure: a phase 2 randomized trial.
Solomon SD, McMurray JJV, Felker GM, Januzzi JL, Lam CSP, Voors AA, Claggett B, Nuehrenberg TG, Rizkala AR, Koch C, Zhu W, Lefkowitz MP
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-026-04313-w
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-21
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/91c99595-edf4-4ff0-86c2-c4b395eda9e5 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern−0.5★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ClaimsTreatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful−0.5★
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The primary endpoint is change in NT-proBNP, a surrogate biomarker for heart failure. The paper does not provide evidence linking NT-proBNP change to hard clinical outcomes in this context, and target engagement is not demonstrated as the drug decreased cGMP, contrary to expected agonism. Thus, the surrogate is inadequate.
“The primary endpoint was the change in NT-proBNP levels at 16 weeks after treatment initiation”
- 02Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful
The reported effect is an increase in NT-proBNP (ratio 1.34) and decrease in cGMP (ratio 0.77) with XXB750, which is opposite to the intended therapeutic effect and associated with harm. No clinically meaningful benefit is demonstrated; the effect is adverse and not anchored to any clinical benefit.
“NT-proBNP levels rose (ratio of change from baseline 1.34, 95% confidence interval (CI) 1.07–1.66) and cyclic guanosine monophosphate (cGMP) levels declined (ratio of change from baseline 0.77, 95% CI 0.65–0.91) in the pooled XXB750 arms”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
The paper reports a phase 2 randomized trial of the NPR1 agonist XXB750 in heart failure, terminated early for safety concerns. The scientific premise, biological variables, ethics, and reporting transparency are well handled, but the study design and statistical analysis have reporting gaps (randomization method, power analysis applicability, assumptions verification, exact p-values for primary endpoint), and the data availability statement lacks specificity.
All three reviewers classified the study as interventional; no disagreement. The evaluation covered the full text, with N/A for non-applicable criteria (e.g., animal housing, cell line authentication). The statistics verification recomputed only 1 test (consistent), and the citation check found no retracted or not-found references.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 1 test: 1 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 1 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p = .004 · recomputed p = .003Reviewers 1, 2, 3Log-rank test comparing pooled XXB750 vs placebo for death or worsening HF events
“log-rank P = 0.0038, comparing pooled XXB750 arms to the placebo arm.”
Taken as given: The pooled XXB750 arm had 20 events out of 81 patients (from Table 2: Death or worsening HF event 20 (24.7%)).; The placebo arm had 0 events out of 29 patients.; The log-rank test is approximated by a chi-square test on the 2x2 table of events vs non-events.; The p-value is two-sided.Method: Pearson chi-square test on the 2x2 table (20,61,0,29) as an approximation to the log-rank test.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(20, 61, 0, 29)
- lowinternal contradictionThe number of participants randomized to 120 mg XXB750 is reported as 56 in the Results text but as 55 in the abstract, Table 1, and Table 2.
“56–120 mg XXB750”
Results ¶1Find in source
Overstated conclusions
3 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningfulAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
9 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 3 only partially supported (evidence backs part of the claim; gaps or caveats remain); the rest adequately supported.
- partialReviewer 1XXB750 may paradoxically behave as a functional antagonist of endogenous natriuretic peptides.The claim is a plausible interpretation of the observed biomarker and clinical findings, but the paper acknowledges it is hypothesis-generating.Evidence: Discussion states the paradoxical effects were most apparent in patients on background sacubitril/valsartan, but the trial was underpowered for subgroup analyses.
“XXB750 may behave not as an agonist but might paradoxically exert antagonist effects, possibly blunting the effects of endogenous natriuretic peptides.”
Discussion ¶2Find in source - partialReviewers 2, 3XXB750 may paradoxically behave as a functional antagonist of endogenous natriuretic peptides in patients with heart failure.The biomarker and clinical data are consistent with antagonist effects, but the paper acknowledges this is a hypothesis and the mechanism is unclear.Evidence: Discussion section proposes the antagonist hypothesis based on the unexpected biomarker and clinical findings, noting that the effect was most pronounced in patients on background sacubitril/valsartan.
“suggesting that XXB750 may paradoxically behave as a functional antagonist of endogenous natriuretic peptides in patients with heart failure.”
AbstractFind in source - partialReviewer 3The adverse effects of XXB750 are more pronounced in patients on background sacubitril/valsartan.The subgroup analysis shows a trend, but the paper cautions that the trial was underpowered for interaction testing.Evidence: Table 3 shows greater biomarker changes and more events in the sacubitril/valsartan background group, but the paper notes limitations.
“the finding that the adverse effects of XXB750 appear to be more pronounced in those patients on background sacubitril/valsartan needs to be viewed with caution.”
Discussion ¶5Find in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2XXB750 treatment led to increased NT-proBNP levels and worsening heart failure events compared with control.The paper presents biomarker data and adverse event counts that directly support this claim.Evidence: Table 2 shows NT-proBNP ratio change 1.34 (95% CI 1.07-1.66) for pooled XXB750 vs 0.90 for placebo; death or worsening HF events 20 (24.7%) vs 0 (0%).
“XXB750 treatment led to increased NT-proBNP levels, lowered cGMP levels and more worsening heart failure events”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1The trial was stopped early due to excess heart failure events in the XXB750 group.The paper clearly documents the DMC recommendation and the excess events.Evidence: Results and Methods describe the DMC recommendation on 6 August 2024 due to evidence of harm.
“The trial was stopped following a recommendation of the data safety monitoring board on 6 August 2024 because of evidence of harm in patients receiving XXB750.”
Results ¶1Find in source - supportedReviewer 2The trial was stopped early due to excess heart failure events in participants receiving XXB750.The paper clearly states that the DMC recommended termination due to evidence of harm, and the event rates support this.Evidence: Results section states the trial was stopped on 6 August 2024 following DMC recommendation; Table 2 shows higher event rates in XXB750 arms.
“Because of the excess heart failure events in participants receiving XXB750, the data monitoring committee recommended stopping the trial prematurely.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2The adverse effects of XXB750 appear to be more pronounced in patients on background sacubitril/valsartan.Table 3 shows higher rates of worsening HF events and more pronounced biomarker changes in the background sacubitril/valsartan subgroup compared to the ACEi/ARB subgroup.Evidence: Table 3 shows death or worsening HF event rates of 31.6% (60 mg) and 25.0% (120 mg) in the sacubitril/valsartan background group vs 14.3% and 20.0% in the ACEi/ARB background group.
“those on background sacubitril/valsartan showing the greatest reduction in cGMP, the greatest rise in NT-proBNP, and the worst clinical outcomes.”
Discussion ¶2Find in source - supportedReviewer 3XXB750 treatment led to increased NT-proBNP levels and lowered cGMP levels in patients with heart failure.The claim is directly supported by the reported biomarker changes in the pooled XXB750 arms.Evidence: NT-proBNP ratio change 1.34 (95% CI 1.07-1.66) and cGMP ratio change 0.77 (95% CI 0.65-0.91) in pooled XXB750 arms.
“At 16 weeks, NT-proBNP levels rose (ratio of change from baseline 1.34, 95% confidence interval (CI) 1.07–1.66) and cyclic guanosine monophosphate (cGMP) levels declined (ratio of change from baseline 0.77, 95% CI 0.65–0.91) in the pooled XXB750 arms”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 3XXB750 treatment was associated with more worsening heart failure events compared with placebo or sacubitril/valsartan.The claim is supported by the reported event rates and the log-rank test.Evidence: Death or worsening HF events occurred in 25% of XXB750, 8% of sacubitril/valsartan, and 0% of placebo; log-rank P=0.0038.
“Death or worsening heart failure events occurred more frequently in those receiving XXB750 (25%) compared with those receiving sacubitril/valsartan (8%), or placebo (0%).”
AbstractFind in source
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit; effect size not shown to be clinically meaningful.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is change in NT-proBNP, a surrogate biomarker for heart failure. The paper does not provide evidence linking NT-proBNP change to hard clinical outcomes in this context, and target engagement is not demonstrated as the drug decreased cGMP, contrary to expected agonism. Thus, the surrogate is inadequate.
“The primary endpoint was the change in NT-proBNP levels at 16 weeks after treatment initiation”
- INADEQUATEEffect sizeThe reported effect is an increase in NT-proBNP (ratio 1.34) and decrease in cGMP (ratio 0.77) with XXB750, which is opposite to the intended therapeutic effect and associated with harm. No clinically meaningful benefit is demonstrated; the effect is adverse and not anchored to any clinical benefit.
“NT-proBNP levels rose (ratio of change from baseline 1.34, 95% confidence interval (CI) 1.07–1.66) and cyclic guanosine monophosphate (cGMP) levels declined (ratio of change from baseline 0.77, 95% CI 0.65–0.91) in the pooled XXB750 arms”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
None foundRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
The introduction cites multiple prior studies on natriuretic peptides, neprilysin inhibition, and previous NPR1 agonists (MANP, REGN5381), acknowledging both the strengths and limitations of these approaches. The rationale linking the premise to the study objectives is logical: sustained NPR1 stimulation could offer an alternative to neprilysin inhibition. Limitations of prior approaches (short-acting nature of sacubitril/valsartan, bradykinin-related angioedema risk) are explicitly addressed.
“sacubitril/valsartan is relatively short-acting, augments bradykinin (resulting in a slight risk for angioedema) and may be less effective in patients with altered natriuretic peptide secretion and processing”
“we tested the hypothesis that the NPR1 receptor agonist XXB750 would, by activating particulate guanylyl cyclase and increasing intracellular cGMP, lead to arterial and venous dilatation in patients with HF.”
“sacubitril/valsartan is relatively short-acting, augments bradykinin (resulting in a slight risk for angioedema) and may be less effective in patients with altered natriuretic peptide secretion and processing”
“Because of the potential for XXB750 as a therapeutic for HF, we sought to assess the safety and efficacy of XXB750 in three doses given in different dosing regimens compared with placebo in patients with HF and left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) <50% receiving standard therapy.”
“Natriuretic peptides, including A- and B-type natriuretic peptide (ANP and BNP), are upregulated in HF and, through their action on the natriuretic peptide receptor 1 (NPR1, also known as NPRA) and membrane-bound particulate guanylate cyclase, stimulate natriuresis, diuresis and vasodilation.”
“Sustained stimulation of the NPR1 receptor offers a potential alternative approach to targeting the NP system.”
“sacubitril/valsartan is relatively short-acting, augments bradykinin (resulting in a slight risk for angioedema) and may be less effective in patients with altered natriuretic peptide secretion and processing”
Randomization method is described (stratified by region and background therapy), and blinding is described for XXB750/placebo (open-label for sacubitril/valsartan). Inclusion/exclusion criteria are detailed. Power analysis was originally planned but became inapplicable due to early termination; the paper explains this. Outlier handling is not explicitly addressed, but the analysis population is defined (misrandomized patient excluded).
“Randomization was stratified by region and ACEi or ARB versus sacubitril/valsartan background therapy”
“Those patients who were on background angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor or angiotensin receptor blocker treatment were randomized to receive 60 mg XXB750, 120 mg XXB750 or placebo in a blinded fashion or sacubitril/valsartan treatment in an open-label fashion.”
“Owing to the early study termination, the primary estimand and statistical modeling for the dose–response relationship were no longer applicable.”
“Those patients who were on background angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor or angiotensin receptor blocker treatment were randomized to receive 60 mg XXB750, 120 mg XXB750 or placebo in a blinded fashion or sacubitril/valsartan treatment in an open-label fashion.”
“Randomization was stratified by region and ACEi or ARB versus sacubitril/valsartan background therapy”
“randomly allocated to receive blinded subcutaneous XXB750 60-mg doses, XXB750 titrated to a maximum dose of 120 mg, matching subcutaneous placebo or open-label oral sacubitril/valsartan”
“a sample size of 600 participants (120 allocated to placebo, 120 to 60 mg of XXB750, 180 to 120 mg of XXB750 and 180 to 240 mg of XXB750) would have provided a power of 90% if the underlying true maximum NT-proBNP reduction with XXB750 versus placebo was 23%.”
Sex is reported (70% male, 30% female) and both sexes are enrolled, so sex_justified is not applicable. Age, weight (BMI), health status (NYHA class, comorbidities, eGFR, NT-proBNP) are reported in Table 1. Species/strain/housing are not applicable as this is a human trial. Demographics (age, sex, race/ethnicity, comorbidities) are comprehensively reported.
“We randomized 136 participants (70% male, 30% female)”
“The individuals in the trial were predominantly white (84%), with most participants from Europe or the USA. The mean age was 69.8 years, with a range from 38 to 91 years, and 70% were men.”
“We randomized 136 participants (70% male, 30% female)”
“Age (years) | 71.7 ± 11.0 | 67.3 ± 11.6 | 69.6 ± 9.7 | 70.1 ± 10.0”
“White | 25 (86.2%) | 22 (88.0%) | 24 (92.3%) | 43 (78.2%)”
“70% were men”
“The mean age was 69.8 years, with a range from 38 to 91 years”
“The individuals in the trial were predominantly white (84%), with most participants from Europe or the USA.”
The paper states that the trial protocol was approved by institutional review boards or ethics committees at each trial center, and written informed consent was obtained from each patient. Regulatory compliance is implied by the mention of IRB/ethics committee approval and the trial registration (NCT06142383). The data availability statement mentions anonymization in line with applicable laws and regulations.
“The trial protocol (available with the full text of this article) was approved by institutional review boards or ethics committees at each trial center.”
“Written informed consent was obtained from each patient.”
“The trial protocol (available with the full text of this article) was approved by institutional review boards or ethics committees at each trial center.”
“Written informed consent was obtained from each patient.”
“Clinicaltrials.gov registration: NCT06142383 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06142383)”
“The trial protocol (available with the full text of this article) was approved by institutional review boards or ethics committees at each trial center.”
“Written informed consent was obtained from each patient.”
The investigational product XXB750 is described as a 'long-acting fully human monoclonal IgG1 antibody targeting the NPR1 receptor' with dosing information (60 mg, 120 mg). The active comparator sacubitril/valsartan is named with target dose (97/103 mg twice daily). No antibodies, cell lines, or organisms are used in this clinical trial. Software tools for statistical analysis are not explicitly identified (e.g., SAS version), which is a minor gap.
“XXB750, a human monoclonal antibody activating natriuretic peptide receptor 1”
“Participants randomized to XXB750, or its matching placebo, received one subcutaneous injection every 4 weeks, with a total of four injections during the 16-week treatment period”
“XXB750, a long-acting fully human monoclonal IgG1 antibody targeting the NPR1 receptor, has been shown to increase plasma cGMP in a dose-dependent fashion”
“participants randomized to open-label sacubitril/valsartan were titrated, where possible, to a target dose of 97/103 mg twice daily for 16 weeks.”
“XXB750, a human monoclonal antibody activating natriuretic peptide receptor 1”
“open-label sacubitril/valsartan were titrated, where possible, to a target dose of 97/103 mg twice daily for 16 weeks”
The primary endpoint is summarized descriptively with geometric means and 95% CIs. ANCOVA is used for sensitivity analyses. Exact p-values are reported for the log-rank test (P=0.0038) and interaction tests. Effect sizes are reported with CIs. Software is not explicitly identified, but the analysis is standard. Data presentation includes violin plots and Kaplan-Meier curves.
“The primary endpoint of change in NT-proBNP was summarized descriptively as geometric means and 95% CI for each treatment group”
“log-rank P = 0.0038, comparing pooled XXB750 arms to the placebo arm.”
“Owing to the early study termination, the primary estimand and statistical modeling for the dose–response relationship were no longer applicable.”
“log-rank P = 0.0038, comparing pooled XXB750 arms to the placebo arm.”
“NT-proBNP levels rose (ratio of change from baseline 1.34, 95% confidence interval (CI) 1.07–1.66)”
“The primary endpoint of change in NT-proBNP was summarized descriptively as geometric means and 95% CI for each treatment group”
“log-rank P = 0.0038, comparing pooled XXB750 arms to the placebo arm.”
“NT-proBNP levels rose (ratio of change from baseline 1.34, 95% confidence interval (CI) 1.07–1.66)”
The data availability statement states that data are not publicly available but can be requested through a named platform (novctrd.com) with a described review process. This meets the criterion for managed access. No code is shared, but no bespoke code is mentioned.
“The data can be requested from https://www.novctrd.com/ .”
“The data from this clinical trial are not publicly available. Novartis is committed to sharing access to patient-level data and supporting clinical documents with qualified external researchers. These requests are reviewed on an ongoing basis and approved expeditiously on the basis of scientific merit based on the policies described at the website below.”
“The data can be requested from https://www.novctrd.com/ .”
“The data can be requested from https://www.novctrd.com/ .”
Methods are detailed enough for replication (dosing, randomization, inclusion/exclusion criteria). Trial registration number is provided. Limitations are discussed (early termination, lack of power, hypothesis-generating nature). Conclusions are proportional to the evidence, noting the paradoxical antagonist effect. Funding (Novartis) and competing interests are disclosed. A reporting guideline (e.g., CONSORT) is not explicitly referenced, though a 'Reporting summary' is mentioned as linked.
“Clinicaltrials.gov registration: NCT06142383”
“Because the trial was terminated early for safety concerns, it lacked sufficient power to adequately test the primary biomarker hypothesis, and the data presented need to be considered hypothesis-generating.”
“Clinicaltrials.gov registration: NCT06142383 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06142383)”
“Because the trial was terminated early for safety concerns, it lacked sufficient power to adequately test the primary biomarker hypothesis, and the data presented need to be considered hypothesis-generating.”
“The trial was funded by Novartis.”
“Clinicaltrials.gov registration: NCT06142383”
“Because the trial was terminated early for safety concerns, it lacked sufficient power to adequately test the primary biomarker hypothesis, and the data presented need to be considered hypothesis-generating.”
“The trial was funded by Novartis.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 23 references by DOI: 23 verified.
Every extracted reference resolved against Crossref/OpenAlex with no retraction flags.
2 data/code links checked; 2 live.
- datahttps://www.novctrd.com/LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06142383LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
7 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 7 minor suggestions below.
7 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity, other.
- MINORconsistencyResults, paragraph 1“56–120 mg XXB750”→ Change to '55–120 mg XXB750' to match the n=55 reported elsewhere.The number 56 appears to be a typo; the table and abstract state n=55.
- MINORclarityAbstract“cyclic guanosine monophosphate (cGMP) levels declined (ratio of change from baseline 0.77, 95% CI 0.65–0.91) in the pooled XXB750 arms”→ Consider rephrasing for clarity: 'cGMP levels declined in the pooled XXB750 arms (ratio of change from baseline 0.77, 95% CI 0.65–0.91)'.Minor readability improvement.
- MINORconsistencyResults, paragraph 1“56–120 mg XXB750”→ Should be '55–120 mg XXB750' to match the n=55 stated elsewhere.The text says 56 but Table 1 and other references say n=55 for the 120 mg group.
- MINORclarityAbstract“Death or worsening heart failure events occurred more frequently in those receiving XXB750 (25%) compared with those receiving sacubitril/valsartan (8%), or placebo (0%).”→ Consider rephrasing to 'Death or worsening heart failure events occurred more frequently in those receiving XXB750 (25%) compared with those receiving sacubitril/valsartan (8%) or placebo (0%).'The comma before 'or placebo' is slightly awkward.
- MINORconsistencyTable 2“Death or worsening HF event | 0 (0.0%) | 2 (8.0%) | 7 (26.9%) | 13 (23.6%) | 20 (24.7%)”→ The pooled XXB750 percentage (24.7%) does not match the abstract's 25% exactly; ensure consistency or explain rounding.Minor rounding discrepancy.
- MINORclarityAbstract“cyclic guanosine monophosphate (cGMP) levels declined (ratio of change from baseline 0.77, 95% CI 0.65–0.91) in the pooled XXB750 arms”→ Consider clarifying that this is the ratio of change from baseline to week 16.The time point is not explicitly stated in the abstract.
- MINORotherMethods, Statistical analysis“We provided exploratory least-square mean difference in change versus placebo at 16 weeks in sensitivity analyses using analysis of covariance with log-transformed baseline biomarker values and treatment terms as covariates.”→ Consider adding 'analysis of covariance (ANCOVA)' for clarity.The abbreviation is not defined.
The published work is generally robust but has reporting gaps that an informed reader should weigh, particularly the lack of a described randomization method, the inapplicability of the original power analysis, and the absence of exact p-values for the primary endpoint. These do not invalidate the findings but warrant caution in interpretation; a correction or clarification of the randomization method and statistical reporting would strengthen the record.
- 1.HIGHrigorIn the Methods (Trial procedures), specify the randomization sequence generation method (e.g., computer-generated random numbers) and allocation concealment.The randomization method is not described, which is a reproducibility gap for a randomized trial.
- 2.HIGHstatisticsIn the Methods (Statistical analysis), report exact p-values for the primary biomarker endpoint (NT-proBNP change) or justify the estimation-only approach.Exact p-values are not reported for the primary endpoint, which limits the reader's ability to assess the strength of the evidence.
- 3.HIGHstatisticsIn the Methods (Statistical analysis), add a statement on outlier handling and sensitivity analyses.Outlier handling is not reported, which is a standard reporting requirement for statistical analyses.
- 4.HIGHstatisticsIn the Methods (Statistical analysis), identify the statistical software used (e.g., SAS version, R version).The software is not identified, which is a minor but standard reproducibility detail.
- 5.MEDIUMdata codeIn the Data Availability section, specify the conditions and expected timeframe for data request review.The current statement is vague and does not meet the specificity expected by many journals.
- 6.MEDIUMdata codeAdd a statement on code availability, even if no custom code was used (e.g., 'No custom code was used for the analyses').Code sharing is not mentioned, which is a common reporting expectation.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingExplicitly reference the CONSORT reporting guideline and confirm that the checklist is submitted with the manuscript.A reporting guideline is not explicitly referenced, which is a transparency gap for a clinical trial.
- 8.MEDIUMrigorIn the Discussion, acknowledge the potential bias from the open-label sacubitril/valsartan arm more explicitly.The open-label design of the comparator arm could introduce bias, and this is not fully discussed.
- 9.MEDIUMcopyeditIn Results, paragraph 1, change '56–120 mg XXB750' to '55–120 mg XXB750' to match the n=55 reported elsewhere.The number 56 appears to be a typo; the table and abstract state n=55.
- 10.MEDIUMcopyeditIn Table 2, ensure the pooled XXB750 percentage for 'Death or worsening HF event' (24.7%) matches the abstract's 25% or explain the rounding.There is a minor rounding discrepancy that could confuse readers.
- 11.LOWcopyeditIn the Abstract, clarify that the cGMP ratio of change is from baseline to week 16.The time point is not explicitly stated in the abstract.
- 12.LOWcopyeditIn the Methods (Statistical analysis), define 'analysis of covariance (ANCOVA)' when first used.The abbreviation is not defined, which is a minor clarity issue.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.