Integrated community-based HIV and sexual and reproductive health services for youth: a cluster-randomized trial.
Ferrand RA, Dauya E, Chikwari CD, Bandason T, Bernays S, Mackworth-Young C, Doyle AM, Grundy C, Indravudh P, Terris-Prestholt F, Mavodza CV, Mugurungi O, Apollo T, Ncube G, Larsson L, McCarthy O, Simms V, Tembo M, Kranzer K, Hayes RJ
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-025-03762-z
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-20
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/9377bd54-10de-4638-8ea7-3e99b71f67aa is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern−0.5★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ClaimsTreatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful−0.5★
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The primary efficacy claim is based on virological suppression (HIV viral load <1,000 copies/ml), which is a surrogate biomarker for clinical outcomes such as AIDS progression, mortality, and HIV transmission. The paper does not cite validated evidence linking this surrogate to clinical outcomes, nor does it demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (the intervention is a service delivery model, not a drug with a dose). The secondary outcomes (knowledge of HIV status, ART uptake, viral suppression) are also cascade surrogates. The paper reports a significant improvement in viral suppression among those on ART (RR=1.19, 95% CI 1.02–1.39), but this is a surrogate endpoint without established clinical meaningfulness in this context.
“Primary outcome was virological suppression (defined as HIV viral load <1,000 copies per ml) among youth with HIV (YWH)... Among those taking treatment, the intervention improved viral suppression.”
- 02Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful
The primary outcome showed no significant difference (RR=1.07, 95% CI 0.88–1.30). The only significant positive effect was on viral suppression among those on ART: 62.7% vs 52.6% (RR=1.19, 95% CI 1.02–1.39), an absolute increase of about 10 percentage points. However, this effect is not anchored to a minimal clinically important difference or to a meaningful clinical outcome; the paper does not state what magnitude of improvement would be clinically significant. The effect is presented as statistically significant but without explicit clinical meaningfulness.
“a higher proportion of those on ART had viral suppression (RR = 1.18 (95% CI, 1.02–1.37))”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted and transparently reported cluster-randomized trial. The design is rigorous, ethics approvals are documented, and the statistical analysis is appropriate. Minor reporting inconsistencies (RR discrepancy) and a typo are the only issues, but they do not affect the validity of the findings.
Both reviewers classified the study as interventional (cluster-randomized trial). All eight dimensions were applicable; no dimensions were excluded as not applicable. The statistics verification covered only a subset of tests (those with test statistics/df or effect estimates with CIs); threshold-only p-values and resampling-based p-values were not machine-verified. The citation check found no retracted or unresolved references.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 4 tests: 4 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 4 via agent-written checks.
- UNCOMPUTABLEreported p = .041 · recomputed p = .011Recomputed RR 1.20 (95% CI 1.08–1.43), reported p=0.041
“RR = 1.20 (95% CI, 1.08–1.43; P = 0.041”
Taken as given: 1.08–1.43 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the RR of 1.20, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the RR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.041 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(1.2, 1.08, 1.43, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .033 · recomputed p = .028Reviewer 1Check p-value for RR of viral suppression among those on ART (secondary outcome) using reported RR and 95% CI.
“VS | YWH taking ART | 599 | 52.6% | 62.7% | 1.19 (1.02–1.39) | 0.033 | 0.06”
Taken as given: The RR is 1.19 and the 95% CI is (1.02, 1.39).; The CI is two-sided at 95%.; The RR is on a log scale for the p-value calculation.Method: Recomputed two-sided p-value from the RR and its 95% CI using the normal approximation for the log RR.How we recomputed it: pCI(1.19, 1.02, 1.39, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .025 · recomputed p = .036Reviewer 1Check p-value for RR of taking ART among diagnosed YWH (secondary outcome) using reported RR and 95% CI.
“Taking ART | YWH who know their HIV status | 650 | 96.3% | 87.3% | 0.91 (0.83–0.99) | 0.025 | 0.08”
Taken as given: The RR is 0.91 and the 95% CI is (0.83, 0.99).; The CI is two-sided at 95%.; The RR is on a log scale for the p-value calculation.Method: Recomputed two-sided p-value from the RR and its 95% CI using the normal approximation for the log RR.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.91, 0.83, 0.99, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .033 · recomputed p = .028Reviewer 2Check p-value for RR of viral suppression among those on ART (intervention vs control) using reported RR and 95% CI.
“VS | YWH taking ART | 599 | 52.6% | 62.7% | 1.19 (1.02–1.39) | 0.033 | 0.06”
Taken as given: The RR is 1.19 with 95% CI 1.02-1.39.; The CI is two-sided at 95%.; The RR is on a log scale for the p-value calculation.Method: Used pCI function to compute two-sided p-value from RR and 95% CI on log scale.How we recomputed it: pCI(1.19, 1.02, 1.39, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .025 · recomputed p = .036Reviewer 2Check p-value for RR of taking ART among diagnosed YWH (intervention vs control) using reported RR and 95% CI.
“Taking ART | YWH who know their HIV status | 650 | 96.3% | 87.3% | 0.91 (0.83–0.99) | 0.025 | 0.08”
Taken as given: The RR is 0.91 with 95% CI 0.83-0.99.; The CI is two-sided at 95%.; The RR is on a log scale for the p-value calculation.Method: Used pCI function to compute two-sided p-value from RR and 95% CI on log scale.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.91, 0.83, 0.99, 1)
- lowinternal contradictionThe abstract reports RR=1.18 for viral suppression among those on ART, while the results table reports RR=1.19 for the same outcome.
Abstract: 'RR = 1.18 (95% CI, 1.02–1.37)' vs Table 2: '1.19 (1.02–1.39)'
Table 2reviewer’s wording
Overstated conclusions
2 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningfulAssessed
4 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- supportedReviewers 1, 2The intervention did not improve population-level HIV viral suppression among youth.The primary outcome showed no significant difference between arms, supporting the claim.Evidence: Primary outcome RR = 1.07 (95% CI 0.88-1.30), P = 0.47.
“There was no difference by arm in primary outcome (mean cluster prevalence—41.3% (intervention) versus 38.3% (control); risk ratio (RR)—1.07 (95% confidence interval (CI), 0.88–1.30))”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The intervention improved viral suppression among those taking ART.The secondary outcome showed a significant improvement in viral suppression among those on ART in the intervention arm.Evidence: RR = 1.19 (95% CI 1.02-1.39), P = 0.033.
“a higher proportion of those on ART had viral suppression (RR = 1.18 (95% CI, 1.02–1.37)).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The intervention did not impact the proportion of youth with undiagnosed HIV.The secondary outcome for knowing HIV diagnosis showed no significant difference between arms.Evidence: RR = 0.99 (95% CI 0.76-1.28), P = 0.93.
“The intervention did not impact the proportion of youth with undiagnosed HIV, which explains the lack of effect on the primary outcome.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Delivery of integrated HIV and SRH services was feasible and facilitated uptake of essential services beyond HIV.The paper reports high uptake of services and feasibility, supported by process evaluation and service uptake data.Evidence: 36,991 youths accessed the intervention; 84.1% had at least one HIV test; process evaluation reported separately.
“Delivery of integrated HIV and SRH services was feasible and facilitated uptake by youth of essential services beyond HIV, addressing an important programmatic gap.”
AbstractFind in source
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit; effect size not shown to be clinically meaningful.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary efficacy claim is based on virological suppression (HIV viral load <1,000 copies/ml), which is a surrogate biomarker for clinical outcomes such as AIDS progression, mortality, and HIV transmission. The paper does not cite validated evidence linking this surrogate to clinical outcomes, nor does it demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (the intervention is a service delivery model, not a drug with a dose). The secondary outcomes (knowledge of HIV status, ART uptake, viral suppression) are also cascade surrogates. The paper reports a significant improvement in viral suppression among those on ART (RR=1.19, 95% CI 1.02–1.39), but this is a surrogate endpoint without established clinical meaningfulness in this context.
“Primary outcome was virological suppression (defined as HIV viral load <1,000 copies per ml) among youth with HIV (YWH)... Among those taking treatment, the intervention improved viral suppression.”
- INADEQUATEEffect sizeThe primary outcome showed no significant difference (RR=1.07, 95% CI 0.88–1.30). The only significant positive effect was on viral suppression among those on ART: 62.7% vs 52.6% (RR=1.19, 95% CI 1.02–1.39), an absolute increase of about 10 percentage points. However, this effect is not anchored to a minimal clinically important difference or to a meaningful clinical outcome; the paper does not state what magnitude of improvement would be clinically significant. The effect is presented as statistically significant but without explicit clinical meaningfulness.
“a higher proportion of those on ART had viral suppression (RR = 1.18 (95% CI, 1.02–1.37))”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
None foundRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
The introduction cites multiple population-based surveys and studies documenting poor HIV outcomes among youth, including low testing rates, low awareness of status, and low viral suppression. It identifies barriers such as stigma, legal constraints, and verticalized services, and hypothesizes that integrating SRH services would increase demand and access. The rationale is logically connected to the study's objectives and hypothesis. Limitations of prior research are implicitly addressed by the study design, though not explicitly framed as addressing prior limitations.
“As HIV services are often not a priority for youth, we hypothesized that integrating the provision of SRH services that are desired and in demand by youth would motivate youth to also take up HIV services.”
“Only 52%, 48% and 45% of those aged 15–24 years in Zimbabwe, Malawi and Zambia, respectively, reported ever having an HIV test in population HIV impact assessments (PHIAs) conducted between 2015 and 2017”
“we hypothesized that integrating the provision of SRH services that are desired and in demand by youth would motivate youth to also take up HIV services”
Randomization was performed via a public ceremony with colored balls drawn from a bag, stratified by province. The unit of randomization is the cluster. Blinding was not possible due to the nature of the intervention, which is stated. A detailed sample size calculation is provided with assumptions and power. Inclusion criteria for the outcome survey are specified. Outlier handling is addressed through exclusion of missing data and sensitivity analyses. The control arm is described as existing services. Independent replication is not applicable for a single trial.
“Within each province, colored balls were drawn from a bag to allocate each cluster to a trial arm.”
“Given the nature of the intervention, it was not possible to mask either the investigators or the study communities.”
“Assuming a conservative estimate of 3% HIV prevalence among 18–24-year-olds and that the proportion of YWH who had viral suppression was 43% in the control arm (60% diagnosed × 84% on ART × 85% virally suppressed, based on ZIMPHIA estimates), with a coefficient of variation of 0.25, the study would have 80% power to detect a difference of 21% (that is, 64% prevalence of viral suppression in the intervention arm) and 90% power to detect a difference of 24% (67% prevalence of viral suppression).”
“A total of 24 clusters, stratified by province, were randomized in a 1:1 allocation ratio to either the control arm or the intervention arm so that each province had four intervention and four control clusters.”
“Given the nature of the intervention, it was not possible to mask either the investigators or the study communities.”
The outcome survey reports sex (male, female, non-binary) and age (median 20, IQR 19-22). Demographics such as education, income, and partnership status are reported in Table 1. Since both sexes are enrolled, a scientific justification for single-sex is not applicable. Species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable for a human trial.
“Overall, 60.8% of participants were female, and the median age was 20 (interquartile range = 19–22) years.”
“Table 1 Characteristics of outcome survey participants”
“Overall, 60.8% of participants were female, and the median age was 20 (interquartile range = 19–22) years.”
“Table 1 Characteristics of outcome survey participants”
The paper states ethical approval was granted by the Medical Research Council of Zimbabwe (MRCZ/A/2387), the Institutional Review Board of the BRTI (AP149/2018), and the LSHTM Research Ethics Committee (12063). For the intervention, consent was implied as services were established public health interventions; for the outcome survey, written consent was obtained with a detailed process. Regulatory compliance is implied through adherence to national guidelines and ethics approvals.
“Ethical approval was granted by the Medical Research Council of Zimbabwe (reference MRCZ/A/2387), the Institutional Review Board of the BRTI (reference AP149/2018) and the LSHTM Research Ethics Committee (reference 12063).”
“For the outcome survey, written consent was obtained from participants.”
“Ethical approval was granted by the Medical Research Council of Zimbabwe (reference MRCZ/A/2387), the Institutional Review Board of the BRTI (reference AP149/2018) and the LSHTM Research Ethics Committee (reference 12063).”
“For the outcome survey, written consent was obtained from participants.”
The intervention package is described in detail, including HIV testing methods, ART provision, and SRH services. Software tools such as ArcGIS v.10.5 and Stata 17.0 are identified. Antibodies, cell lines, and mycoplasma testing are not applicable. Reagents are not specifically identified beyond the intervention components, but the intervention itself is the key resource and is adequately described.
“In brief, a package of integrated HIV and SRH services was delivered in each intervention cluster.”
“A two-stage analysis was conducted using the clan command in Stata 17.0 (ref. ).”
“All streets within a cluster were manually split into 100–300 m segments within GIS software (ArcGIS v.10.5)”
“A two-stage analysis was conducted using the clan command in Stata 17.0”
The statistical analysis plan was pre-specified. Cluster-level analyses were used, with a two-stage approach using logistic and linear regression. Tests are named (e.g., two-sided significance tests). Exact p-values are reported for secondary outcomes (e.g., P = 0.025, P = 0.033). Effect sizes are reported with 95% CIs. Software is identified (Stata 17.0). Data presentation includes cluster-level geometric means and CIs. Mathematical plausibility checks were not performed due to the complexity of cluster-level analyses, but no obvious errors were noted.
“Taking ART | YWH who know their HIV status | 650 | 96.3% | 87.3% | 0.91 (0.83–0.99) | 0.025 | 0.08”
“There was no difference by arm in the primary outcome (41.3% intervention versus 38.3% control, risk ratio (RR) = 1.07 (95% confidence interval (CI), 0.88–1.30)).”
“In the second stage, linear regression of the log ratio residual on province and arm was used to estimate the RR and 95% CI for the effect of intervention.”
“Taking ART | YWH who know their HIV status | 650 | 96.3% | 87.3% | 0.91 (0.83–0.99) | 0.025 | 0.08”
The data availability statement provides a concrete route: requests are considered by the CHIEDZA Trial Management Group, with a response within 2 weeks and a licence agreement. A request form is available at a DOI. Code and documentation are openly available under a Creative Commons licence at the same DOI. Repository deposit and accession numbers are not applicable for patient-level data, but the code sharing is adequate.
“Requests for data should be sent to the corresponding author, R.A.F. Requests will be considered by the CHIEDZA Trial Management Group, which includes the principal investigator, data manager, statistician and the trial coordinator. Responses to requests for data will be provided within 2 weeks and will be communicated by the corresponding author.”
“Processing code and documentation, including the study protocol and the manual of operations, have been made openly available under a Creative Commons licence at 10.17037/DATA.00004651.”
“Processing code and documentation, including the study protocol and the manual of operations, have been made openly available under a Creative Commons licence at 10.17037/DATA.00004651.”
The trial is registered at ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT03719521). Reporting follows CONSORT for CRTs and CONSERVE guidelines. All pre-specified outcomes are reported, including null results. Limitations are explicitly discussed, including potential biases and the impact of COVID-19. Conclusions are proportional to the evidence. Funding sources and a COI statement are provided.
“Trial registration number: NCT03719521 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT03719521) .”
“The trial is reported in accordance with CONSORT for CRTs () .”
“We acknowledge several limitations.”
“The trial is registered at ClinicalTrials.gov registration: NCT03719521”
“The trial is reported in accordance with CONSORT for CRTs”
“We acknowledge several limitations. The trial was conducted in urban and peri-urban settings only, as the low population densities in rural areas made a trial of this magnitude unfeasible.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). Reporting guideline cited: CONSORT.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 46 references by DOI: 33 verified — 13 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOISeizing the Moment: Tackling Entrenched Inequalities to End EpidemicsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIZimbabwe Population-Based HIV Impact Assessment (ZIMPHIA) 2015–2016: Final ReportNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMalawi Population-Based HIV Impact Assessment (MPHIA) 2015–2016: Final ReportNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIZambia Population-Based HIV Impact Assessment (ZAMPHIA) 2016: Final ReportNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOI90-90-90: An Ambitious Treatment Target to Help End the AIDS EpidemicNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIHIV testing uptake in a sexual and reproductive health service for youth and impact on population prevalence of undiagnosed HIV in ZimbabweNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIZimbabwe Population-Based HIV Impact Assessment 2020 (ZIMPHIA 2020): Final ReportNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPutting youth at the centre: co-design of a community-based intervention to improve HIV outcomes among youth in ZimbabweNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOI‘You can say anything without fear for being judged’: high acceptability of a community-based integrated HIV and sexual and reproductive health service among youth clients in ZimbabweNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIUrban youth unemployment in the context of a dollarised economy in ZimbabweNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIZimbabwe Population Census 2012No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICluster Randomised TrialsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEstimating the complier average causal effect via a latent class approach using gsemNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
1 data/code link checked; 1 live.
- datahttps://www.chiedza.co.zw/resourcesLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
3 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 3 minor suggestions below.
3 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, typo.
- MINORtypoMethods, Ascertainment of trial outcomes“senitization”→ sensitizationTypographical error.
- MINORconsistencyResults, Trial outcomes“RR = 1.19 (95% CI, 1.02–1.39)”→ RR = 1.18 (95% CI, 1.02–1.37) as in abstractThe RR for viral suppression among those on ART differs between the abstract (1.18) and the results (1.19).
- MINORconsistencyAbstract and Results“RR = 1.18 (95% CI, 1.02–1.37) vs RR = 1.19 (95% CI, 1.02–1.39)”→ Ensure the RR for viral suppression among those on ART is consistent between abstract and results.The abstract reports RR=1.18 while the results table reports RR=1.19 for the same outcome.
The published work is robust and well-reported. An informed reader should weigh the minor internal inconsistency in the reported RR for viral suppression among those on ART (abstract vs results) and the typo, which are cosmetic and do not undermine the conclusions. No erratum is strictly required, but a correction for the RR discrepancy would be prudent.
- 1.HIGHcopyeditReconcile the reported RR for viral suppression among those on ART between the abstract (RR=1.18, 95% CI 1.02–1.37) and the Results section (RR=1.19, 95% CI 1.02–1.39) so they match.An internal contradiction between the abstract and results for a key secondary outcome could confuse readers and undermine trust in the reported findings.
- 2.MEDIUMcopyeditFix the typo 'senitization' to 'sensitization' in the Methods, Ascertainment of trial outcomes section.Correcting typographical errors improves the professional quality of the manuscript.
- 3.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods, specify the exact version of the CONSORT extension for cluster trials used and provide the checklist as supplementary material.Explicitly naming the guideline version and providing the checklist enhances transparency and reproducibility.
- 4.MEDIUMstatisticsReport the intra-cluster correlation coefficient (ICC) for the primary outcome to aid future trial design and meta-analyses.ICC is a key parameter for cluster trials and its absence limits the utility of the results for planning future studies.
- 5.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods, clarify how the 'clan' command in Stata was used and provide the exact code or a reference to the command's documentation.Providing code details enhances reproducibility and allows readers to verify the analysis.
- 6.MEDIUMreportingIn the Results, report the number of clusters with zero events for the primary outcome to assess the robustness of the cluster-level analysis.Knowing the number of zero-event clusters helps readers evaluate the stability of the cluster-level estimates.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingIn the Discussion, explicitly state that the CACE analysis results should be interpreted with caution due to unvalidated assumptions, and consider presenting a sensitivity analysis using a different compliance definition.CACE analyses rely on strong assumptions; acknowledging this and providing sensitivity analyses strengthens the conclusions.
- 8.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods, provide more detail on the randomization procedure, including how the colored balls were prepared and drawn to ensure allocation concealment.Detailed randomization procedures enhance confidence in the allocation concealment and reduce the risk of selection bias.
- 9.MEDIUMdata codeIn the Data Availability section, specify the exact conditions and timeline for data access, including the licence agreement terms and any fees.Clear data access conditions improve transparency and facilitate data sharing.
- 10.LOWreportingIn the Introduction, explicitly discuss how the study design addresses limitations of prior research, such as the reliance on self-reported outcomes and the lack of integrated services.Explicitly addressing prior limitations strengthens the scientific premise and contextualizes the study's contribution.
- 11.LOWreportingIn the Methods, specify the exact version of the CONSORT extension for cluster trials used and provide the checklist as supplementary material.Explicitly naming the guideline version and providing the checklist enhances transparency and reproducibility.
- 12.LOWreportingIn the Results, consider reporting the number of participants with missing data for each secondary outcome, not just the primary outcome.Reporting missing data for all outcomes improves transparency and helps readers assess potential bias.
- 13.LOWreportingIn the Discussion, consider discussing the generalizability of the findings to rural settings, as the trial was conducted only in urban and peri-urban areas.Acknowledging the limitation of generalizability to rural settings helps readers interpret the applicability of the findings.
- 14.LOWreportingIn the Methods, provide more detail on the process for handling protocol deviations and amendments, including how they were reported to ethics committees.Transparent reporting of protocol changes is important for assessing the integrity of the trial.
- 15.LOWdata codeIn the Data Availability section, consider providing a data sharing agreement template or more detail on the licence agreement terms.Providing a template or detailed terms facilitates data sharing and reduces administrative burden for requesters.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.