Cardiovascular Outcomes with Tirzepatide versus Dulaglutide in Type 2 Diabetes.
Nicholls SJ, Pavo I, Bhatt DL, Buse JB, Del Prato S, Kahn SE, Lincoff AM, McGuire DK, Miller D, Nauck MA, Nishiyama H, Nissen SE, Sattar N, Weerakkody G, Wiese RJ, Zinman B, Zoungas S, Basile J, Davies MJ, Giorgino F, Kellerer M, Ji L, Varkonyi T, Menon V, Broder JC, Herschtal A, D'Alessio D, SURPASS-CVOT Investigators
- DOI
- 10.1056/NEJMoa2505928
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-20
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/954a5a22-33bf-44f2-b17a-31788c48dfe1 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run: 22 reported means were read, and their group size is not stated where the values are printed (this source has no machine-readable table structure). These checks need the count the mean was averaged over, so none was performed.
- No data or code availability links were detected to verify.
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted and well-reported randomized controlled trial with strong methodological rigor across most dimensions. The primary weakness is the vague data availability statement, which does not specify the access mechanism or repository.
Both reviewers agreed on study type (interventional). All eight dimensions were applicable; no dimensions were excluded as not applicable. The reviewers' assessments were highly concordant, with minor divergence on the regulatory compliance sub-criterion within ethical approvals, which did not affect the overall status.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 1 test: 1 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 1 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p = .090 · recomputed p = .096Reviewer 1Verify the p-value for superiority of the primary endpoint (HR=0.92, 95.3% CI 0.83-1.01). The paper reports P=0.09 for superiority. The p-value for superiority can be approximated from the hazard ratio and its confidence interval using the pCI function, assuming the CI is a 95.3% CI (which corresponds to a two-sided alpha of 0.047). However, the pCI function assumes a 95% CI. To adjust, we can compute the p-value from the z-score derived from the CI. The z-score for a 95.3% CI is approximately 1.98. The p-value for HR=0.92 with CI 0.83-1.01 is approximately 0.09. We can use pCI(0.92, 0.83, 1.01, 1) which assumes 95% CI, giving a p-value close to 0.09. The reported p is 0.09, so this is consistent.
“hazard ratio, 0.92; 95.3% confidence interval, 0.83 to 1.01; P = 0.003 for noninferiority; P = 0.09 for superiority”
Taken as given: The hazard ratio is 0.92 and the 95.3% CI is 0.83 to 1.01.; The pCI function uses a normal approximation for the log hazard ratio.; The reported p-value for superiority is two-sided.Method: Used pCI to compute the two-sided p-value from the hazard ratio and its confidence interval, assuming a log-normal distribution.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.92, 0.83, 1.01, 1)
- lowinternal contradictionThe abstract states 'A total of 13,299 patients underwent randomization; 134 were subsequently excluded... The modified intention-to-treat population thus included 6586 patients in the tirzepatide group and 6579 in the dulaglutide group.' However, the Results section states '6648 were assigned to the tirzepatide group and 6651 to the dulaglutide group. A total of 134 patients (62 in the tirzepatide group and 72 in the dulaglutide group) discontinued... the 13,165 remaining patients were included in the modified intention-to-treat population (6586 in the tirzepatide group and 6579 in the dulaglutide group).' The numbers are consistent: 6648-62=6586 and 6651-72=6579. No contradiction.
A total of 13,299 patients underwent randomization; 134 were subsequently excluded... 6586 patients in the tirzepatide group and 6579 in the dulaglutide group.
Abstractreviewer’s wording
Overstated conclusions
None foundConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
7 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- supportedReviewers 1, 2Tirzepatide was noninferior to dulaglutide with respect to the primary composite endpoint.The primary endpoint result (HR 0.92, 95.3% CI 0.83-1.01) has an upper bound below the prespecified noninferiority margin of 1.05, and the p-value for noninferiority is 0.003, supporting the claim.Evidence: Primary endpoint: 801 events (12.2%) vs 862 (13.1%), HR 0.92, 95.3% CI 0.83-1.01, P=0.003 for noninferiority.
“tirzepatide was noninferior to dulaglutide with respect to a composite of death from cardiovascular causes, myocardial infarction, or stroke.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The incidence of adverse events appeared to be similar in the two groups.Table 3 shows similar rates of any adverse event (89.6% vs 88.7%) and serious adverse events (31.8% vs 31.9%), supporting the claim.Evidence: Table 3: Any adverse event 5956 (89.6%) vs 5894 (88.7%); serious adverse event 2117 (31.8%) vs 2121 (31.9%).
The incidence of adverse events appeared to be similar in the two groups, although more gastrointestinal adverse events were observed in the tirzepatide group.
Abstractreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 1Tirzepatide was associated with greater improvements in metabolic risk factors compared to dulaglutide.The paper reports significant differences in HbA1c, body weight, triglycerides, and blood pressure, all favoring tirzepatide, with CIs excluding zero.Evidence: HbA1c change -1.66 vs -0.88 percentage points (difference -0.78, 95% CI -0.84 to -0.72); body weight -11.6% vs -4.8% (difference -6.8, 95% CI -7.1 to -6.5).
The glycated hemoglobin level decreased to 6.73% (50 mmol per mole) in the tirzepatide group (change from baseline, −1.66 percentage points) and to 7.51% (59 mmol per mole) in the dulaglutide group (change from baseline, −0.88 percentage points), with a between-group difference of −0.78 percentage points (−9 mmol per mole; 95% CI, −0.84 to −0.72 [−9 to −8]).
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 1A prespecified secondary analysis suggested a possible lower incidence of death from any cause and noncardiovascular causes in the tirzepatide group.The paper reports HR 0.84 (95% CI 0.75-0.94) for all-cause death and HR 0.75 (95% CI 0.63-0.91) for noncardiovascular death, both with CIs excluding 1, supporting the claim, though the paper appropriately labels it exploratory.Evidence: Death from any cause: 566 (8.6%) vs 669 (10.2%), HR 0.84, 95% CI 0.75-0.94; noncardiovascular death: 199 (3.0%) vs 261 (4.0%), HR 0.75, 95% CI 0.63-0.91.
Death from any cause occurred in 566 patients (8.6%) in the tirzepatide group and 669 (10.2%) in the dulaglutide group (hazard ratio, 0.84; 95% CI, 0.75 to 0.94).
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 1The results were consistent among subgroups.The paper states 'The results appeared to be consistent among subgroups stratified according to cardiovascular and diabetes-related clinical characteristics' and references Figure S9 for subgroup analysis, but the figure is not provided in the text. The claim is supported by the statement, but the actual data is in supplementary material.Evidence: Subgroup analysis of the primary end point is shown in Figure S9.
“The results appeared to be consistent among subgroups stratified according to cardiovascular and diabetes-related clinical characteristics.”
Discussion ¶1Find in source - supportedReviewer 2More gastrointestinal adverse events were observed in the tirzepatide group.Table 3 shows higher rates of gastrointestinal events (42.5% vs 35.9%), nausea (25.1% vs 22.4%), and diarrhea (24.8% vs 19.1%) in the tirzepatide group.Evidence: Table 3: Gastrointestinal adverse event 2827 (42.5%) vs 2387 (35.9%).
although more gastrointestinal adverse events were observed in the tirzepatide group.
Abstractreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2A prespecified secondary analysis suggested a possible lower incidence of death from any cause and of death from noncardiovascular causes in the tirzepatide group.The results show death from any cause HR 0.84 (95% CI 0.75-0.94) and noncardiovascular death HR 0.75 (95% CI 0.63-0.91), supporting the claim, though the paper appropriately labels it exploratory.Evidence: Death from any cause: 566 (8.6%) vs 669 (10.2%), HR 0.84 (95% CI 0.75-0.94); noncardiovascular death: 199 (3.0%) vs 261 (4.0%), HR 0.75 (95% CI 0.63-0.91).
a prespecified secondary analysis suggested a possible lower incidence of death from any cause and of death from noncardiovascular causes in the tirzepatide group than in the dulaglutide group.
Resultsreviewer’s wording
Efficacy claim is anchored to an adequate endpoint and a meaningful effect.
- ADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is a composite of hard clinical outcomes: death from cardiovascular causes, myocardial infarction, or stroke. This is not a surrogate.
“The primary end point was a composite of death from cardiovascular causes, myocardial infarction, or stroke”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizeThe primary outcome shows noninferiority with a hazard ratio of 0.92 (95.3% CI, 0.83 to 1.01), with the upper bound below the prespecified noninferiority margin of 1.05. The effect is anchored to a clinically meaningful outcome and the noninferiority margin was chosen to preserve at least 50% of dulaglutide's efficacy.
“hazard ratio, 0.92; 95.3% confidence interval, 0.83 to 1.01; P = 0.003 for noninferiority”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
1 finding · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
The introduction cites multiple prior trials showing GLP-1 receptor agonists reduce cardiovascular events and that tirzepatide improves metabolic risk factors, but notes the lack of a dedicated cardiovascular outcomes trial. The rationale for using dulaglutide as an active comparator is explicitly stated, and the noninferiority margin is justified. Limitations of prior work (small, short-duration pooled analyses) are acknowledged in the Discussion.
“Clinical trials have shown that glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonists reduce the incidence of major adverse cardiovascular events among patients with high cardiovascular risk and type 2 diabetes, 2-7 chronic kidney disease, 8,9 or obesity. 10”
“The established role of GLP-1 receptor agonists in the management of type 2 diabetes in patients with high cardiovascular risk 2-7 precluded direct comparison of tirzepatide with a placebo control in a large, long-term clinical trial.”
“Although a pooled analysis of previous trials of tirzepatide has examined the effect of tirzepatide on cardiovascular events, 28 those trials were small and short in duration.”
“Clinical trials have shown that glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonists reduce the incidence of major adverse cardiovascular events among patients with high cardiovascular risk and type 2 diabetes, 2-7 chronic kidney disease, 8,9 or obesity. 10”
“Although a pooled analysis of previous trials of tirzepatide has examined the effect of tirzepatide on cardiovascular events, 28 those trials were small and short in duration.”
Randomization method (1:1 ratio, stratified by country and SGLT2 inhibitor use) is described, though the specific randomization algorithm is not detailed. Blinding is described (double-blind, sham dose-escalation). Power analysis is reported (1615 events for 90% power). Inclusion/exclusion criteria are detailed. Outlier handling is addressed via the modified intention-to-treat population and multiple imputation for missing data. Controls are inherent in the active comparator design. Independent replication is not applicable for a single pivotal trial.
Sex is reported (29.0% women overall; Table 1 shows 28.7% and 29.3% in each group). Age, BMI, glycated hemoglobin, duration of diabetes, and comorbidities are reported. Demographics include race and ethnicity. Since both sexes are enrolled, sex_justified is not applicable. Species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable for a human trial.
“29.0% were women”
“White race — no./total no. (%)† 5299/6501 (81.5) 5282/6492 (81.4)”
“The mean (±SD) age of the patients was 64.1±8.8 years, 29.0% were women”
“White race — no./total no. (%)† 5299/6501 (81.5) 5282/6492 (81.4)”
The protocol was approved by the ethics committee at each participating site, and all patients provided written informed consent. The trial is registered (NCT04255433). Regulatory compliance is implied by the trial being conducted under standard clinical trial regulations, though not explicitly named.
“SURPASS-CVOT ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT04255433.”
“SURPASS-CVOT ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT04255433.”
Tirzepatide and dulaglutide are named with dosing regimens. The manufacturer (Eli Lilly) is implied as sponsor. Statistical software (SAS 9.4, RStudio 4.4.2) is identified. No antibodies, cell lines, or mycoplasma testing are applicable.
“Eligible patients were randomly assigned in a 1:1 ratio to receive weekly subcutaneous injections of tirzepatide at a dose adjusted up to 15 mg or dulaglutide at a dose of 1.5 mg.”
“The statistical analyses were performed with SAS software, version 9.4 or higher (SAS Institute), and RStudio software, version 4.4.2 (Posit).”
“Eligible patients were randomly assigned in a 1:1 ratio to receive weekly subcutaneous injections of tirzepatide at a dose adjusted up to 15 mg or dulaglutide at a dose of 1.5 mg.”
“The statistical analyses were performed with SAS software, version 9.4 or higher (SAS Institute), and RStudio software, version 4.4.2 (Posit).”
Tests are named (Cox proportional-hazards, ANCOVA, Fine-Gray). Assumptions are verified (proportionality assessed). Exact p-values are reported for the primary endpoint. Effect sizes with CIs are reported throughout. Software is identified. Data presentation follows clinical trial conventions (Kaplan-Meier curves, forest plots, per-group n). Mathematical plausibility is not applicable for large-N continuous outcomes.
“P = 0.003 for noninferiority; P = 0.09 for superiority”
“P = 0.003 for noninferiority; P = 0.09 for superiority”
The paper states 'A data sharing statement provided by the authors is available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org.' This is vague and does not specify the access mechanism. No repository deposit or accession numbers are mentioned. Code sharing is not applicable as no bespoke code is described.
“A data sharing statement provided by the authors is available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org.”
“A data sharing statement provided by the authors is available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org.”
The trial is registered (NCT04255433). Methods are comprehensive. Limitations are explicitly discussed (no placebo, lack of diversity, SGLT2 imbalance). Conclusions are appropriately cautious, noting the exploratory nature of secondary findings. Funding and COI disclosures are provided.
“SURPASS-CVOT ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT04255433.”
“Supported by Eli Lilly. Disclosure forms provided by the authors are available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org.”
“SURPASS-CVOT ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT04255433.”
“Supported by Eli Lilly. Disclosure forms provided by the authors are available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None found · partly checkedReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Nothing surfaced — but not everything feeding this category ran (missing: data/code link verification), so read this as a partial clean bill.
Checked 31 references by DOI: 1 verified — 30 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIThe evolving story of incretins (GIP and GLP-1) in metabolic and cardiovascular disease: a pathophysiological updateNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISemaglutide and cardiovascular outcomes in patients with type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILiraglutide and cardiovascular outcomes in type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAlbiglutide and cardiovascular outcomes in patients with type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular disease (Harmony Outcomes): a double-blind, randomised placebo-controlled trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDulaglutide and cardiovascular outcomes in type 2 diabetes (REWIND): a double-blind, randomised placebo-controlled trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICardiovascular and renal outcomes with efpeglenatide in type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIOral semaglutide and cardiovascular outcomes in high-risk type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffects of semaglutide on chronic kidney disease in patients with type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICardiovascular and kidney outcomes and mortality with long-acting injectable and oral glucagon-like peptide 1 receptor agonists in individuals with type 2 diabetes: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized trialsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISemaglutide and cardiovascular outcomes in obesity without diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIManagement of hyperglycemia in type 2 diabetes, 2022. A consensus report by the American Diabetes Association (ADA) and the European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPharmacologic approaches to glycemic treatment: standards of care in diabetes — 2023No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOI2019 ESC guidelines on diabetes, pre-diabetes, and cardiovascular diseases developed in collaboration with the EASDNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOI2018 ACC expert consensus decision pathway on novel therapies for cardiovascular risk reduction in patients with type 2 diabetes and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease: a report of the American College of Cardiology Task Force on Expert Consensus Decision PathwaysNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITirzepatide, a dual GIP/GLP-1 receptor co-agonist for the treatment of type 2 diabetes with unmatched effectiveness regrading glycaemic control and body weight reductionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITirzepatide versus semaglutide once weekly in patients with type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEfficacy and safety of LY3298176, a novel dual GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist, in patients with type 2 diabetes: a randomised, placebo-controlled and active comparator-controlled phase 2 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEfficacy and safety of a novel dual GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist tirzepatide in patients with type 2 diabetes (SURPASS-1): a double-blind, randomised, phase 3 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIOnce-weekly tirzepatide versus once-daily insulin degludec as add-on to metformin with or without SGLT2 inhibitors in patients with type 2 diabetes (SURPASS-3): a randomised, open-label, parallel-group, phase 3 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITirzepatide versus insulin glargine in type 2 diabetes and increased cardiovascular risk (SURPASS-4): a randomised, open-label, parallel-group, multicentre, phase 3 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffect of subcutaneous tirzepatide vs placebo added to titrated insulin glargine on glycemic control in patients with type 2 diabetes: the SURPASS-5 randomized clinical trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITirzepatide as compared with semaglutide for the treatment of obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITransitioning to active-controlled trials to evaluate cardiovascular safety and efficacy of medications for type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIComparison of tirzepatide and dulaglutide on major adverse cardiovascular events in participants with type 2 diabetes and atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease: SURPASS-CVOT design and baseline characteristicsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOINew creatinine- and cystatin C–based equations to estimate GFR without raceNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIKDIGO 2024 clinical practice guideline for the evaluation and management of chronic kidney diseaseNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITirzepatide cardiovascular event risk assessment: a pre-specified meta-analysisNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGenetically predicted glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide (GIP) levels and cardiovascular disease risk are driven by distinct causal variants in the GIPR regionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGlucose-dependent insulinotropic peptide and risk of cardiovascular events and mortality: a prospective studyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITirzepatide for reduction of morbidity and mortality in adults with obesity: rationale and design of the SURMOUNT-MMO trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
Copyediting
2 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 2 minor suggestions below.
2 copyedit issues flagged: mostly typo, consistency.
- MINORtypoResults, Randomization, Patient Characteristics, and Follow-up“eligibile”→ eligibleTypographical error in the word 'eligible'.
- MINORconsistencyTable 2, footnote“The confidence level for the primary end point was adjusted for the interim efficacy analysis; shown is the 95.3% confidence interval, which corresponds to the nominal two-sided significance level of 0.047.”→ Ensure consistency in reporting the confidence level as 95.3% throughout the text and tables.The abstract and results consistently use 95.3% CI, but the footnote explains the adjustment; no major inconsistency.
The published paper is robust and well-reported. An informed reader should note the vague data sharing statement as a limitation for reproducibility; the authors should consider issuing a correction or supplement with a concrete data access plan. No other issues warrant an erratum or re-analysis.
- 1.HIGHdata codeReplace the vague data sharing statement with a concrete description of the data access mechanism, including the repository name (e.g., Vivli, YODA) or data access committee, conditions, and timeline.The current statement is insufficient for reproducibility and does not meet journal standards for data availability.
- 2.HIGHreportingAdd an explicit statement about adherence to the CONSORT reporting guideline in the Methods or a separate section, and mention that the checklist is available as supplementary material.Explicit reporting guideline adherence is expected for clinical trials and is currently missing.
- 3.MEDIUMdata codeConsider providing a link to the full protocol and statistical analysis plan in the data availability statement, as they are currently only mentioned as available with the full text.Access to the full protocol and SAP enhances transparency and reproducibility.
- 4.MEDIUMdata codeIf any bespoke analysis code was used beyond standard SAS/R functions, share it in a public repository (e.g., GitHub) with a DOI.Code sharing further supports reproducibility, even if the code is standard.
- 5.LOWcopyeditCorrect the typo 'eligibile' to 'eligible' in the Results section.Minor typographical error that should be corrected for clarity.
- 6.LOWreportingClarify the data sharing statement in the main text to include the URL or platform where the data sharing statement can be accessed, to avoid ambiguity.The current reference to 'at NEJM.org' is vague; a direct link would be more helpful.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.