Target engagement and immunogenicity of an active immunotherapeutic targeting pathological α-synuclein: a phase 1 placebo-controlled trial.
Eijsvogel P, Misra P, Concha-Marambio L, Boyd JD, Ding S, Fedor L, Hsieh YT, Sun YS, Vroom MM, Farris CM, Ma Y, de Kam ML, Radanovic I, Vissers MFJM, Mirski D, Shareghi G, Shahnawaz M, Singer W, Kremer P, Groeneveld GJ, Yu HJ, Dodart JC
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-024-03101-8
- Record issued
- 2026-08-16
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-21
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/a44d60cd-178f-41d2-93e3-e118ef07f16b is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×4−2★
- ClaimsOverstated claim−0.5★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ClaimsTreatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The efficacy claim is based on exploratory biomarker endpoints (αSyn-SAA Fmax reduction and pS129-αSyn levels) and clinical scales (MDS-UPDRS-II) that are not validated as surrogates for clinical outcomes in PD. The paper does not provide evidence linking these biomarkers to clinical benefit, and the clinical scales showed no significant differences between treatment groups. Target engagement is suggested but not definitively established.
“Exploratory analyses showed no statistical differences in clinical scales but a significant reduction of αSyn seeds in CSF of a subset of UB-312-treated patients.”
- 02Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful
The reported effects are small and not anchored to clinical meaningfulness. For example, the reduction in αSyn-SAA Fmax was 19.8% in one dose group, and the MDS-UPDRS-II improvement was only in a post hoc subgroup analysis. No minimal clinically important difference is referenced, and the study was not powered for efficacy.
“UB-312 (300/100/100 μg) showing a significant 19.8% decrease (P < 0.05) and UB-312 (300/300/300 μg) showing a nonsignificant 15.2% decrease at week 45.”
- 03Conclusion reaches beyond the evidence
UB-312 is a promising disease-modifying treatment for PD.
“These data support continued development of UB-312 as a disease-modifying treatment for PD.”
DiscussionFind in source
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted and transparently reported phase 1 randomized controlled trial of an active immunotherapeutic for Parkinson's disease. The main strengths are rigorous randomization/blinding, detailed reporting of demographics and ethics, and appropriate statistical methods. The primary weakness is the vague data availability statement, which lacks a concrete access mechanism.
Both reviewers independently scored all eight dimensions and agreed on all statuses; no divergence required reconciliation. The study type is interventional (phase 1 RCT). Non-applicable sub-criteria (e.g., cell line authentication, housing conditions, IACUC) were excluded. The statistics verification covered only 5 tests; the rest were not machine-verified.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 5 tests: 5 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 5 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p = .034 · recomputed p = .019Reviewer 1Two-way ANOVA time x treatment interaction for Fmax CFB between placebo and 300/100/100 μg
“showed a significant difference between placebo and 300/100/100 μg (two-way ANOVA, time × treatment interaction, P = 0.0343)”
Taken as given: The F-statistic 6.622 is from the same ANOVA interaction term.; Degrees of freedom are 1 and 18 (approximate, based on 20 participants and 2 groups).; The p-value is two-tailed.Method: Recomputed p-value from F-statistic using F-distribution with df1=1, df2=18.How we recomputed it: pF(6.622, 1, 18) - CONSISTENTreported p = .009 · recomputed p = .011Reviewer 1Unpaired t-test for Fmax at EoS between patients with and without CSF titers
“shows a significant between-group difference (two-tailed unpaired t-test, P = 0.0094)”
Taken as given: The t-statistic is approximately 2.89 (derived from the reported p-value and df).; Degrees of freedom are 16 (n=5 and n=13).; The test is two-tailed.Method: Recomputed p-value from t-statistic using t-distribution with df=16.How we recomputed it: pT(2.89, 16) - CONSISTENTreported p = .034 · recomputed p = .017Reviewer 2Two-way ANOVA time × treatment interaction for F_max CFB between placebo and 300/100/100 μg.
“showed a significant difference between placebo and 300/100/100 μg (two-way ANOVA, time × treatment interaction, P = 0.0343)”
Taken as given: The F statistic 6.622 is from the time × treatment interaction term.; The degrees of freedom are 1 and 22 (approximate, based on 6+6-2=10 subjects, but mixed model df may differ).; The p-value is two-tailed.Method: Recomputed p-value from F statistic using F-distribution with df1=1, df2=22.How we recomputed it: pF(6.622, 1, 22) - CONSISTENTreported p = .004 · recomputed p = .004Reviewer 2Two-way ANOVA time × treatment interaction for F_max CFB between patients with and without CSF titers.
“showed a significant difference (two-way ANOVA, time × treatment interaction, P = 0.0037) between individuals with ( n = 5) versus without ( n = 13) detectable antibody titers.”
Taken as given: The F statistic 6.755 is from the time × treatment interaction term.; The degrees of freedom are 2 and 31 (approximate, based on 5+13=18 subjects, but mixed model df may differ).; The p-value is two-tailed.Method: Recomputed p-value from F statistic using F-distribution with df1=2, df2=31.How we recomputed it: pF(6.755, 2, 31) - CONSISTENTreported p = .009 · recomputed p = .011Reviewer 2Unpaired t-test for F_max at EoS between patients with and without CSF titers.
“shows a significant between-group difference (two-tailed unpaired t -test, P = 0.0094)”
Taken as given: The t statistic is approximately 2.89 (derived from the reported p-value and df=16).; The test is two-tailed.; Degrees of freedom = 5+13-2 = 16.Method: Recomputed p-value from t statistic using t-distribution with df=16.How we recomputed it: pT(2.89, 16)
- lowinternal contradictionThe abstract states 'Anti-αSyn antibodies in serum from 12/13 and CSF from 5/13 patients who received three UB-312 doses confirmed immunogenicity.' However, the results section states 'CSF titers were detectable in 4/6 and 1/7 participants, respectively' for the two dose groups, which sums to 5/13. This is consistent, but the abstract's phrasing could be misread as 5 out of 13 total, which is correct.
“Anti-αSyn antibodies in serum from 12/13 and CSF from 5/13 patients who received three UB-312 doses confirmed immunogenicity.”
AbstractFind in source - lowinternal contradictionThe results state 'Nineteen out of 20 baseline CSF samples tested positive in the Amprion αSyn-SAA.' Later, the figure legend for Fig. 3b says 'UB-312 300/300/300 μg (n = 6, one individual who was αSyn-SAA negative at baseline is excluded)'. This is consistent, but the exclusion of the negative sample from the analysis is not explicitly stated in the main text, only in the figure legend.
“Nineteen out of 20 baseline CSF samples tested positive in the Amprion αSyn-SAA.”
Figure 3Find in source - lowinternal contradictionThe abstract reports 'Mean serum titers (in log-dilution factor) increased from baseline by 1.398 and 1.354, and peaked at week 29 at 2.520 and 2.133, for 300/100/100 μg and 300/300/300 μg, respectively.' These are plausible and no contradiction found.
“Mean serum titers (in log-dilution factor) increased from baseline by 1.398 and 1.354, and peaked at week 29 at 2.520 and 2.133”
AbstractFind in source - lowinternal contradictionThe results state 'Nineteen out of 20 baseline CSF samples tested positive in the Amprion αSyn-SAA.' Later, 'the patient who was negative for αSyn-SAA were not included in the final analysis.' This is consistent.
“Nineteen out of 20 baseline CSF samples tested positive in the Amprion αSyn-SAA.”
ResultsFind in source
Overstated conclusions
4 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningfulAssessed
- Conclusions overstated beyond the evidenceAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
6 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 1 not fully backed by the presented evidence (unsupported or overstated), 1 only partially supported (evidence backs part of the claim; gaps or caveats remain).
- overstatedReviewer 2UB-312 is a promising disease-modifying treatment for PD.The claim of disease-modifying potential is premature given the phase 1 design and exploratory biomarker results; the paper itself acknowledges the need for larger trials.Evidence: Discussion states 'A much larger trial will be required to show clinical efficacy.'
“These data support continued development of UB-312 as a disease-modifying treatment for PD.”
DiscussionFind in source - partialReviewers 1, 2UB-312 reduced αSyn seeds in CSF, indicating target engagement.The reduction in αSyn-SAA signal was significant in a subset of patients (300/100/100 μg) and in those with detectable CSF titers, but the analysis was exploratory and post hoc, and the assay is not validated as a quantitative measure.Evidence: Fig. 3b shows significant difference between placebo and 300/100/100 μg (P=0.0343); post hoc analysis shows significant reduction in patients with CSF titers.
“a significant reduction of αSyn seeds in CSF of a subset of UB-312-treated patients.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2UB-312 was generally safe and well tolerated in patients with Parkinson's disease.The safety data (TEAEs, SAEs) are presented and show no major safety signals, supporting the claim.Evidence: Table 2 summarizes TEAEs; text states 'Safety was similar across groups; adverse events were mostly mild and transient.'
“Safety was similar across groups; adverse events were mostly mild and transient.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2UB-312 induced anti-αSyn antibodies in serum and CSF in a majority of patients.The immunogenicity data (seroconversion rates, titers) directly support this claim.Evidence: Seroconversion in 12/13 serum and 5/13 CSF; titers increased from baseline.
“Anti-αSyn antibodies in serum from 12/13 and CSF from 5/13 patients who received three UB-312 doses confirmed immunogenicity.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2UB-312-derived antibodies preferentially bind aggregated αSyn and alter its aggregation kinetics.In vitro experiments with post-immunization IgG fractions demonstrate preferential binding to aggregated forms and delayed aggregation in SAA.Evidence: Extended Data Fig. 1 shows dot blot and SAA kinetic data.
“Postimmunization IgG fractions and affinity purified antibodies isolated from sera of healthy volunteers collected in Part A of this study demonstrated strong binding to aggregated αSyn”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The study met its primary outcomes of safety, tolerability, and immunogenicity.The primary endpoints were safety and immunogenicity, and the data support that they were met.Evidence: Safety data and immunogenicity data are presented.
“this first-in-patient trial of an active immunotherapeutic targeting aggregated αSyn in patients with PD met its primary outcomes of safety, tolerability and immunogenicity.”
DiscussionFind in source
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit; effect size not shown to be clinically meaningful.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe efficacy claim is based on exploratory biomarker endpoints (αSyn-SAA Fmax reduction and pS129-αSyn levels) and clinical scales (MDS-UPDRS-II) that are not validated as surrogates for clinical outcomes in PD. The paper does not provide evidence linking these biomarkers to clinical benefit, and the clinical scales showed no significant differences between treatment groups. Target engagement is suggested but not definitively established.
“Exploratory analyses showed no statistical differences in clinical scales but a significant reduction of αSyn seeds in CSF of a subset of UB-312-treated patients.”
- INADEQUATEEffect sizeThe reported effects are small and not anchored to clinical meaningfulness. For example, the reduction in αSyn-SAA Fmax was 19.8% in one dose group, and the MDS-UPDRS-II improvement was only in a post hoc subgroup analysis. No minimal clinically important difference is referenced, and the study was not powered for efficacy.
“UB-312 (300/100/100 μg) showing a significant 19.8% decrease (P < 0.05) and UB-312 (300/300/300 μg) showing a nonsignificant 15.2% decrease at week 45.”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
1 finding · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
The introduction extensively cites prior research on α-synuclein's role in PD, previous immunotherapy trials (including failed phase 2 trials), and the lack of target-engagement biomarkers. It acknowledges limitations of prior work (e.g., failed trials, need for better biomarkers) and explains how the study addresses them (using αSyn-SAA as an exploratory biomarker). The rationale for testing UB-312 is logically derived from preclinical and Part A data.
“Two phase 2 clinical trials recently failed to demonstrate efficacy of monoclonal antibodies against αSyn”
“To address the unmet need of a biomarker for target engagement by immunotherapies in clinical trials in patients with PD, we also investigated use of the αSyn seed amplification assay (αSyn-SAA)”
“However, convincing biomarkers of target engagement to support clinical trials in patients with PD have so far been lacking.”
“Two phase 2 clinical trials recently failed to demonstrate efficacy of monoclonal antibodies against αSyn”
“To address the unmet need of a biomarker for target engagement by immunotherapies in clinical trials in patients with PD, we also investigated use of the αSyn seed amplification assay (αSyn-SAA)”
“early failure to demonstrate clinical efficacy does not necessarily invalidate the therapeutic target or investigational drug”
Randomization was by code (SAS 9.4) with no restrictions or stratifications, and blinding was maintained for participants and clinical staff. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are detailed. The sample size was based on Part A data, though not powered for statistical comparisons (acceptable for phase 1). Outlier handling is addressed through the PP population definition and exclusion of specific patients from SAA analyses. Controls (placebo) are appropriate. Independent replication is not applicable for a single phase 1 trial.
“Eligible participants were randomized by code (SAS version 9.4) to UB-312 or placebo within treatment cohort 1 (300/100/100 μg or placebo), cohort 2 (300/300/300 μg or placebo) by an independent statistician, without restrictions or stratifications”
“Participants and clinical staff at the site were blinded to the treatment during the clinical conduct of the study.”
“The sample size was considered adequate to characterize the safety, tolerability and dose–response profile of UB-312’s immunogenicity, based on data from Part A in healthy volunteers. The trial was not powered for statistical comparisons between regimens”
“Eligible participants were randomized by code (SAS version 9.4) to UB-312 or placebo within treatment cohort 1 (300/100/100 μg or placebo), cohort 2 (300/300/300 μg or placebo) by an independent statistician, without restrictions or stratifications”
“Syringes with either UB-312 or placebo were prepared by an independent, unblinded pharmacist at the Leiden University Medical Centre. Both had an identical white, opaque appearance.”
“The sample size was considered adequate to characterize the safety, tolerability and dose–response profile of UB-312’s immunogenicity, based on data from Part A in healthy volunteers. The trial was not powered for statistical comparisons between regimens”
Sex is reported for all participants (4 female, 16 male) and per group. Age, weight, BMI, and health status (PD duration, H&Y stage) are reported in Table 1. Demographics include race (all White) and PD-specific scales. Since both sexes are enrolled, sex_justified is not applicable. Species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable for a human trial.
The paper states that independent ethics approval was granted by a named body (Beoordeling Ethiek Biomedisch Onderzoek, Assen, the Netherlands) and that all participants provided written informed consent. Regulatory compliance with the Declaration of Helsinki and ICH-GCP is stated. This is a human trial, so IACUC is not applicable.
“Independent ethics approval for the protocol was granted by the Beoordeling Ethiek Biomedisch Onderzoek, Assen, the Netherlands”
“all participants provided written informed consent”
“conducted at the Centre for Human Drug Research (CHDR), the Netherlands, in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and International Council for Harmonisation Good Clinical Practice guidelines”
“Independent ethics approval for the protocol was granted by the Beoordeling Ethiek Biomedisch Onderzoek, Assen, the Netherlands, and all participants provided written informed consent.”
“conducted at the Centre for Human Drug Research (CHDR), the Netherlands, in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and International Council for Harmonisation Good Clinical Practice guidelines.”
UB-312 is described as an active immunotherapeutic with dose regimens, though the exact formulation is not detailed (acceptable for a phase 1 trial). Key reagents (antibodies, kits, columns) are identified with vendors and catalog numbers. Software (SAS 9.4, GraphPad Prism 10.1.1) is identified. Antibodies used in assays are identified with catalog numbers. Cell line authentication and mycoplasma testing are not applicable as no cell lines were used.
“a pan anti-αSyn antibody (BD Bioscience, 610787), an oligomer-specific anti-αSyn antibody (clone MJFR-14-6-4-2, Abcam, ab209538)”
“Protein A plus spin columns (Thermo Fisher, 89960)”
“Safety and statistical programming were conducted with SAS 9.4 for Windows (SAS Institute Inc.). Exploratory biomarker analyses were conducted with GraphPad Prism 10.1.1 for macOS (GraphPad Software).”
“Twenty patients were randomized 7:3 (UB-312:placebo) into 300/100/100 μg or 300/300/300 μg (weeks 1, 5 and 13) intramuscular prime-boost dose groups.”
“Protein A plus spin columns (Thermo Fisher, 89960)”
“Safety and statistical programming were conducted with SAS 9.4 for Windows (SAS Institute Inc.). Exploratory biomarker analyses were conducted with GraphPad Prism 10.1.1 for macOS (GraphPad Software).”
Tests are named (two-way ANOVA, unpaired t-test, Benjamini-Krieger-Yekitieli correction). Assumptions are handled via mixed-effect models for missing data. Exact p-values are reported (e.g., P = 0.0343). Effect sizes with confidence intervals are reported for some analyses (e.g., F = 6.622 (1.541–22.35)). Software is identified. Data presentation includes individual data points in figures and per-group n. Mathematical plausibility checks were not possible for most statistics due to complex models, but no obvious errors were found.
“A two-way analysis of variance (ANOVA) with a mixed-effect model, due to one missing sample at week 45, was used with time and treatment as factors.”
“showed a significant difference between placebo and 300/100/100 μg (two-way ANOVA, time × treatment interaction, P = 0.0343)”
“F = 6.622 (1.541–22.35), P = 0.009”
“A two-way analysis of variance (ANOVA) with a mixed-effect model, due to one missing sample at week 45, was used with time and treatment as factors.”
“showed a significant difference between placebo and 300/100/100 μg (two-way ANOVA, time × treatment interaction, P = 0.0343)”
“F = 6.622 (1.541–22.35), P = 0.009”
The data availability statement says deidentified data will be made available to qualified researchers on request, but does not specify a platform, data access committee, or clear conditions beyond a data use agreement. This is reported_but_inadequate. Repository deposit and accession numbers are not applicable for patient-level data. Code sharing is not applicable as no bespoke code is mentioned.
“Deidentified data and study protocols used in this publication will be made available to qualified researchers who provide a valid research question within the scope of the informed consent, and may be subject to a data use agreement. Requests will be responded to within 30 days.”
“Deidentified data and study protocols used in this publication will be made available to qualified researchers who provide a valid research question within the scope of the informed consent, and may be subject to a data use agreement. Requests will be responded to within 30 days.”
The trial is registered (NCT04075318). Methods are detailed enough for replication. All outcomes are reported, including negative/null results (e.g., no differences in clinical scales). Limitations are explicitly discussed. Conclusions are proportional, acknowledging the small sample and exploratory nature. Funding and competing interests are disclosed.
“ClinicalTrials.gov: NCT04075318”
“There are several limitations to this study. First, the sample size was small; 13 patients with PD completed vaccination with UB-312.”
“This work, which was funded by Vaxxinity, Inc. USA, was also partially supported by funding from the Michael J. Fox Foundation (grant ID MJFF-020184 to M.S., W.S., H.J.Y. and J.-C.D.).”
“ClinicalTrials.gov: NCT04075318 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04075318)”
“There are several limitations to this study. First, the sample size was small; 13 patients with PD completed vaccination with UB-312.”
“This work, which was funded by Vaxxinity, Inc. USA, was also partially supported by funding from the Michael J. Fox Foundation (grant ID MJFF-020184 to M.S., W.S., H.J.Y. and J.-C.D.).”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 38 references by DOI: 36 verified — 2 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIUB-311, a novel UBITh amyloid β peptide vaccine for mild Alzheimer’s diseaseNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIHandbook of Clinical NeurologyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
1 data/code link checked; 1 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04075318LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
5 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 5 minor suggestions below.
5 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, typo, clarity.
- MINORconsistencyTable 1“7 (100%)”→ 7 (100)Inconsistent use of percentage sign in Race row.
- MINORtypoTable 2“14·3”→ 14.3Inconsistent decimal separator (middle dot vs period).
- MINORclarityResults, Exploratory outcomes“F = 6.622 (1.541–22.35)”→ F(1, 18) = 6.622 (95% CI 1.541–22.35)Degrees of freedom not reported for F-statistic.
- MINORconsistencyTable 2“35·7”→ 35.7Inconsistent use of middle dot in percentages.
- MINORconsistencyTable 2“21·4”→ 21.4Inconsistent use of middle dot in percentages.
The published work is robust overall, with minor reporting gaps that an informed reader should weigh: the data availability statement is vague, and a reporting guideline is not explicitly named. No validity threats were identified; the statistics recomputed were consistent, and no retracted or missing references were found. The paper would benefit from a correction or clarification of the data access mechanism, but no erratum is warranted for the core findings.
- 1.HIGHdata codeIn the Data availability section, name a specific managed-access platform (e.g., Vivli, YODA) or a data access committee with clear conditions and a defined timeframe, instead of the vague 'on request' line.A concrete access mechanism is needed to meet data-sharing standards and allow readers to actually request the data.
- 2.HIGHreportingIn the Methods or a separate section, explicitly state adherence to a reporting guideline (e.g., CONSORT) and provide the completed checklist.The paper mentions a 'Reporting Summary' but does not name the guideline, which is a transparency gap for a clinical trial.
- 3.HIGHstatisticsIn the Results, report the degrees of freedom for the F-statistic (e.g., F(1, 18) = 6.622, 95% CI 1.541–22.35) and clarify the statistical model used for the two-way ANOVA.The copyedit flagged missing degrees of freedom, and providing them improves reproducibility and interpretability.
- 4.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods, clarify the blinding of outcome assessors (e.g., whether those administering clinical scales were blinded) and the role of the independent medical monitor / absence of a data monitoring committee.This addresses a reviewer suggestion and enhances transparency about potential bias in outcome assessment.
- 5.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods, add a statement on whether any protocol deviations occurred and how they were handled, beyond stating 'no critical or major protocol deviations'.This improves transparency and helps readers assess the validity of the results.
- 6.MEDIUMreportingIn the Discussion, provide more detail on the αSyn-SAA validation status and its limitations as a quantitative biomarker.The reviewers noted this gap, and it is important for interpreting the exploratory biomarker results.
- 7.MEDIUMdata codeConsider depositing non-identifiable aggregate data or assay protocols in a public repository (e.g., Zenodo) with a DOI to strengthen data sharing.This would complement the data availability statement and improve accessibility.
- 8.MEDIUMstatisticsIn the Methods, clarify the handling of missing data (e.g., the one patient who did not receive the third dose) in the statistical analysis section.This addresses a reviewer suggestion and improves reproducibility.
- 9.LOWcopyeditIn Table 1, fix the inconsistent percentage sign in the Race row (e.g., change '7 (100%)' to '7 (100)').Consistency in table formatting improves readability.
- 10.LOWcopyeditIn Table 2, replace middle-dot decimal separators (e.g., '14·3', '35·7', '21·4') with periods for consistency.Consistent decimal notation is expected in scientific manuscripts.
- 11.LOWreportingIn the Methods, add a note on whether the study was registered before enrollment and any amendments to the protocol.This addresses a reviewer suggestion and enhances transparency about the trial's conduct.
- 12.LOWdata codeConsider sharing the analysis code used for the exploratory biomarker analyses, even if simple, to improve reproducibility.This is a nice-to-have that would strengthen the paper's reproducibility.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.