An oral, liver-restricted LXR inverse agonist for dyslipidemia: preclinical development and phase 1 trial.
Li X, Benegiamo G, Vijayakumar A, Sroda N, Kimura M, Huss RS, Weng S, Murakami E, Kirby BJ, von Alvensleben GVG, Kremoser C, Gane EJ, Takebe T, Myers RP, Subramanian GM, Auwerx J
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-025-04169-6
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-20
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/b029c5f1-725e-4936-835a-17129b2d08b3 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×4−2★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ReportingBiological variables not met−0.5★
- ReportingKey resources not met−0.5★
- ReportingStudy design partially met−0.25★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- References were not verified against Crossref/OpenAlex.
- Statistics were not checked: no recomputable values were found in this text — no test statistic reported with its degrees of freedom, no effect estimate printed with both a 95% CI and a p-value, and no percentage printed with both its count and its denominator.
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The efficacy claim is based on reduction in plasma lipids (TG, RC, LDL-C) which are surrogate biomarkers. The paper shows target engagement (reduction in LXR target genes, ApoC3, ANGPTL3) but does not cite validated evidence that these lipid changes are linked to improved clinical outcomes (e.g., reduced cardiovascular events).
“TLC-2716 treatment for 14 days led to dose-dependent improvements in plasma TG and RC and other atherogenic lipids”
- 02Biological variables not reported
Biological variables are inadequately reported across both preclinical and clinical components, with no sub-criterion fully met due to missing details on animal sex, age, housing, and human demographics.
- 03Key resources not identified
Key biological resources are inadequately identified; only software tools are fully reported, while cell line authentication, mycoplasma testing, and reagent identification are lacking.
“PK parameters were estimated via noncompartmental methods using Pheonix WinNonlin 6.2.1 and 8.3.4 (Certara).”
Statistical analysisFind in source - 04Other integrity concern
Trial NCT06564584 was first submitted to ClinicalTrials.gov on 2024-08-19, after the registered study start date of 2024-08-12. Retrospective registration means the protocol and outcomes were not on the public record before the study ran, which is what prospective registration exists to establish.
NCT06564584
reviewer’s wording - 05Other integrity concern
Cell line "HepG2" is on the ICLAC register (CURATED-0001) as misidentified (Liver, hepatoblastoma), not Liver, hepatocellular carcinoma. Results attributed to this line may describe a different cell type unless the stock was authenticated (e.g. STR profiling).
“1 and SREBP1c luciferase reporter assays HT-29 or HepG2 cells were stably transfected with pGL4 luciferase reporter plasmid c”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
The paper presents a well-founded scientific premise and robust statistical analysis, with transparent reporting of the clinical trial and data availability. However, significant reporting gaps exist in study design (randomization, blinding), biological variables (animal age/housing, human race/ethnicity, sex justification), ethical approvals (missing animal IACUC), and key resources (cell line authentication, mycoplasma testing, antibody details).
All eight dimensions were evaluated. Reviewers generally agreed on the 'pass' dimensions, but diverged on the 'warn' dimensions, particularly regarding the extent of missing information in preclinical studies. The synthesis weighed the specific evidence provided by each reviewer, prioritizing concrete omissions over general statements. The statistics component's coverage was limited to recomputing a subset of reported tests, and citation verification was limited to retracted or non-existent references.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
- lowinternal contradictionPlacebo group size is stated as 'two participants per dose' (implying 8 placebo across 4 dose cohorts) in the Study design text, but Table 1 lists Placebo n=10; the total MAD cohort is 50, which is consistent only with n=10 placebo.
“Participants were randomized to receive either placebo (two participants per dose) or TLC-2716 0.5, 2, 6 or 12 mg (eight participants per dose) orally once daily for 14 days.”
Table 1Find in source - lowinternal contradictionTable 1 reports a p-value of 0.0058 for the 6-mg VLDL cholesterol comparison but 0.006 for the numerically identical RC predose row; the underlying data columns are identical.
P value versus placebo b — | — | 0.126 | 0.837 | 0.0058 | 0.148
Table 1reviewer’s wording
Overstated conclusions
2 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
12 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- partialReviewer 1TLC-2716 has therapeutic potential for managing dyslipidemia and reducing residual ASCVD risk in humans.The phase 1 data support tolerability and lipid-lowering in healthy volunteers, but the claim of therapeutic potential for ASCVD risk reduction extends beyond a 14-day, exploratory-endpoint study in 50 healthy participants; the authors themselves hedge with 'therapeutic potential' and note the exploratory nature.Evidence: Phase 1 MAD results (Table 1, Fig. 5) in healthy participants with exploratory endpoints.
“these results highlight the tolerability and therapeutic potential of TLC-2716 as a treatment for managing dyslipidemia and reducing residual atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease risk in humans.”
DiscussionFind in source - partialReviewer 2Higher NR1H3 expression in blood causally increases plasma triglycerides in humans.A Mendelian randomization analysis supports the causal claim, but MR relies on strong instrument and horizontal-pleiotropy assumptions not fully established in the paper; the language 'causes' is stronger than the MR evidence alone warrants.Evidence: Figure 1f (MR showing effect of NR1H3 blood expression on TG); Methods (TwoSampleMR, IVW).
“We confirmed that higher NR1H3 expression in blood causes an increase in TG in humans”
Figure 1FFind in source - supportedReviewer 1TLC-2716 was well tolerated in the phase 1 trial with no clinically notable changes in safety parameters.The safety data (no deaths, no serious AEs, no discontinuations, mild grade-1 AEs only) directly support this claim.Evidence: Extended Data Fig. 9 and the safety paragraph reporting no clinically notable changes, deaths, serious AEs or discontinuations.
“No clinically notable changes in vital signs or safety laboratory and electrocardiogram parameters, deaths, serious adverse events (AEs) or discontinuations of study medication were reported.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 1TLC-2716 reduced plasma triglycerides and postprandial remnant cholesterol in healthy participants.Table 1 and Fig. 5 report placebo-adjusted reductions with 95% CIs and Bonferroni/BH-adjusted p-values for TG and RC at 6 and 12 mg.Evidence: Table 1 placebo-adjusted percentage changes for TG (−37.6% and −38.5%) and RC postprandial (−59.2% and −61.0%) with p-values 0.003/0.024 and 0.032/0.032 respectively.
“Placebo-adjusted median percentage changes in TG from day 1 to day 14 were −37.6% (95% confidence interval (95% CI), −54.0 to −19.9) with 6 mg and −38.5% (95% CI, −67.9 to −7.2) with 12 mg”
Table 1Find in source - supportedReviewer 1TLC-2716 is gut- and liver-restricted and does not impair peripheral reverse cholesterol transport.PK showing low plasma exposure, tissue exposure data, and unchanged ABCA1/ABCG1 in buffy coat/PBMCs directly support this claim.Evidence: Fig. 3g-h (liver/ileum/plasma exposures), the buffy-coat ABCA1/ABCG1 experiment, and Extended Data Fig. 8h.
“TLC-2716 did not alter the expression of the cholesterol efflux transporters Abca1 and Abcg1 in the buffy coat”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 1LXR inverse agonists improve lipid metabolism and insulin sensitivity in preclinical models.The rodent efficacy, MASH-fibrosis, and hyperinsulinemic-euglycemic clamp data support the lipid and insulin-sensitivity effects.Evidence: Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Extended Data Figs. 3-5, including reduced TG, TC, liver fibrosis, and increased glucose infusion rate with TLC-6665.
“The glucose infusion rate was higher in mice on TLC-6665 than in those treated with vehicle and was noninferior to pioglitazone, indicating enhanced systemic insulin sensitivity”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 2TLC-2716 was well tolerated in a phase 1 trial and reduced plasma triglycerides and postprandial remnant cholesterol.The phase 1 MAD data show well-tolerated dosing with placebo-adjusted TG reductions of up to −38.5% and postprandial RC reductions of −61.0%, with exact p-values and 95% CIs.Evidence: Table 1 (placebo-adjusted % changes for TG and RC with p-values), safety section (no serious AEs, all mild except one unrelated grade 2), ClinicalTrials.gov registration.
“14-day treatment with TLC-2716 was well tolerated (primary endpoints) and resulted in placebo-adjusted reductions up to 38.5% in plasma TG and 61% in postprandial remnant cholesterol (secondary endpoints).”
Table 1Find in source - supportedReviewer 2LXR inverse agonists (TLC-2716/TLC-6665) lower TG and cholesterol in dysmetabolic rodent models.Multiple rodent models (DIO mice, ZDF rats, SD rats) show dose-dependent reductions in liver and plasma TG and TC with reported statistics.Evidence: Figure 2 and Extended Data Fig. 3 (TG AUC, TC AUC, liver TG across three models with n per group and p-values).
In these models, TLC-2716 dose dependently reduced hepatic expression of DNL genes and plasma and liver TG.
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2TLC-2716 reduced lipid accumulation and suppressed inflammation and fibrotic gene expression in steatotic human liver organoids (sHLOs).RNA-seq and GSEA in GCKR TT/CC sHLOs show reduced lipid content and suppression of lipid-, inflammation- and fibrosis-related gene sets.Evidence: Figure 3 (dose-dependent lipid reduction; PCA; GSEA of lipid/inflammation/fibrosis gene sets with q-values).
Gene set enrichment analysis further illustrated that TLC-2716 suppressed the expression of LXR-associated genes and the expression of genes involved in lipid metabolism, inflammation and fibrosis
Figure 3reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2TLC-2716 has a favorable therapeutic index mediated by liver and gut restriction, avoiding impairment of peripheral reverse cholesterol transport.PK shows low plasma and high liver/ileum exposure, no change in buffy-coat ABCA1/ABCG1 in rodents, and no reduction of ABCA1/ABCG1 in human PBMCs.Evidence: Figure 3g-h (exposure), Extended Data Fig. 8h (PBMC ABCA1/ABCG1 unchanged in humans).
TLC-2716 did not reduce the expression of either of these genes, likely due to transient and low systemic exposure of the compound attributable to active hepatic uptake.
Figure 8reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2LXR repression by TLC-2716 improved lipid homeostasis without notable adverse effects in preclinical studies and humans, supporting further clinical development.Consistent efficacy across models and the phase 1 trial with no serious AEs and stable liver biochemistry support this appropriately cautious conclusion.Evidence: Preclinical toxicology (NHP 28-day, CD-1 26-week), phase 1 safety, and lipid efficacy data.
“LXR repression by TLC-2716 improved lipid homeostasis without notable adverse effects (in preclinical studies and humans), supporting its further clinical development for the treatment of hypertriglyceridemia and associated cardiometabolic disorders.”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewer 3TLC-2716 reduces lipid accumulation and suppresses inflammation and fibrotic gene expression in human liver organoids modeling steatohepatitis.The claim is supported by dose-dependent lipid reduction data (Fig. 3b,c) and RNA-seq showing suppression of inflammation and fibrosis gene sets (Fig. 3e,f).Evidence: Fig. 3b,c,e,f
“In human liver organoids modeling steatohepatitis, TLC-2716 reduced lipid accumulation and suppressed inflammation and fibrotic gene expression.”
AbstractFind in source
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe efficacy claim is based on reduction in plasma lipids (TG, RC, LDL-C) which are surrogate biomarkers. The paper shows target engagement (reduction in LXR target genes, ApoC3, ANGPTL3) but does not cite validated evidence that these lipid changes are linked to improved clinical outcomes (e.g., reduced cardiovascular events).
“TLC-2716 treatment for 14 days led to dose-dependent improvements in plasma TG and RC and other atherogenic lipids”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizePlacebo-adjusted reductions in TG up to 38.5% and RC up to 61% are large and statistically significant. The paper anchors these to clinical meaningfulness by comparing to existing therapies (e.g., injectable inhibitors of ApoC3, ANGPTL3).
“placebo-adjusted reductions up to 38.5% in plasma TG and 61% in postprandial remnant cholesterol”
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst mediumAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Other integrity concernAssessed
4 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- mediumotherTrial NCT06564584 was first submitted to ClinicalTrials.gov on 2024-08-19, after the registered study start date of 2024-08-12. Retrospective registration means the protocol and outcomes were not on the public record before the study ran, which is what prospective registration exists to establish.
NCT06564584
reviewer’s wording - mediumotherCell line "HepG2" is on the ICLAC register (CURATED-0001) as misidentified (Liver, hepatoblastoma), not Liver, hepatocellular carcinoma. Results attributed to this line may describe a different cell type unless the stock was authenticated (e.g. STR profiling).
“1 and SREBP1c luciferase reporter assays HT-29 or HepG2 cells were stably transfected with pGL4 luciferase reporter plasmid c”
Reporting gaps
4 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Biological variables not reportedAssessed
- Key resources not identifiedAssessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
- Study-design details incomplete (controls, blinding, power)Assessed
The paper extensively cites prior research on LXR biology, dyslipidemia, and the limitations of LXR agonists, establishing a clear rationale for developing a liver-restricted inverse agonist. The hypothesis follows logically from the cited evidence, and the authors specifically address how their approach mitigates prior limitations (systemic side effects, lack of clinical testing).
“Given concerns that systemic LXR repression may impair reverse cholesterol transport, we developed TLC-2716, an orally administered, gut- and liver-restricted LXR inverse agonist.”
“However, to date, no LXR inverse agonist has been evaluated in humans.”
“However, to date, no LXR inverse agonist has been evaluated in humans.”
“Given concerns that systemic LXR repression may impair reverse cholesterol transport, we developed TLC-2716, an orally administered, gut- and liver-restricted LXR inverse agonist.”
For the human trial, randomization is stated ('Participants were randomized...') but no method (RNG/block/stratified) is given; randomization unit (participant) is clear. No blinding statement appears anywhere in the methods. The paper explicitly states 'no formal power or sample size calculations were used to determine the sample size for this study.' Inclusion/exclusion criteria are detailed, and the Hodges–Lehmann estimator was deliberately used to handle skewed data/outliers, which serves as the outlier/analysis-population approach. Preclinical animal studies likewise report no randomization or blinding.
“Participants were randomized to receive either placebo (two participants per dose) or TLC-2716 0.5, 2, 6 or 12 mg (eight participants per dose) orally once daily for 14 days.”
“Due to its exploratory nature, no formal power or sample size calculations were used to determine the sample size for this study.”
“Participants were randomized to receive either placebo (two participants per dose) or TLC-2716 0.5, 2, 6 or 12 mg (eight participants per dose) orally once daily for 14 days.”
“Due to its exploratory nature, no formal power or sample size calculations were used to determine the sample size for this study.”
“Given the skewed distribution of plasma lipid data, we applied the Hodges–Lehmann estimator in deriving placebo-adjusted percentage change from baseline values in lipid parameters.”
“The randomized, placebo-controlled phase 1 study included SAD and MAD cohorts.”
“Due to its exploratory nature, no formal power or sample size calculations were used to determine the sample size for this study.”
For the clinical trial, sex and age are reported, but race/ethnicity is not; for preclinical studies, sex is not consistently reported (only toxicology mentions both sexes), age/weight are not reported, species/strain are partially reported, and housing conditions are absent. The single-sex animal studies lack justification. No sub-criterion is fully adequate across the whole study.
“In this clinical trial study, sex is self-reported. Due to the small sample size of each group, sex is not considered in the analysis.”
The clinical trial has a named ethics committee approval (Northern B Health and Disability Ethics Committee) and written informed consent. Regulatory compliance is stated for both human (Declaration of Helsinki) and animal (Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals) studies. However, the specific IACUC approval for animal experiments is not reported in the provided text, despite the description of animal studies.
“The study protocol was approved by the Northern B Health and Disability Ethics Committee (2022 FULL 12858).”
“Written informed consent was obtained before enrollment.”
“The study protocol was approved by the Northern B Health and Disability Ethics Committee (2022 FULL 12858).”
“Written informed consent was obtained before enrollment.”
“conducted at a single site in New Zealand (Auckland Clinical Research) from 27 July 2022 to 18 June 2023, in accordance with relevant local regulatory policies.”
“The study protocol was approved by the Northern B Health and Disability Ethics Committee (2022 FULL 12858).”
“Written informed consent was obtained before enrollment.”
The investigational drug TLC-2716 is named but not fully identified with vendor/catalog number; cell lines (iPS-derived HLOs) are not authenticated; mycoplasma testing is not reported; animal species/strains are partially reported without source details; software tools are adequately identified. This results in only 1 of 5 applicable sub-criteria being adequate.
“PK parameters were estimated via noncompartmental methods using Pheonix WinNonlin 6.2.1 and 8.3.4 (Certara).”
“TLC-2716 0.5, 2, 6 or 12 mg (eight participants per dose) orally once daily for 14 days”
“PK parameters were estimated via noncompartmental methods using Pheonix WinNonlin 6.2.1 and 8.3.4 (Certara).”
“The HLO RNA-sequencing data are available under GEO number GSE299888”
“PK parameters were estimated via noncompartmental methods using Pheonix WinNonlin 6.2.1 and 8.3.4 (Certara).”
All statistical tests are named (e.g., Mann-Whitney U, Wilcoxon signed-rank, BH adjustment); exact p-values are provided in tables and figures; effect sizes (Hodges-Lehmann estimators) with 95% CIs are reported; software is identified; individual data points are shown in dot plots with defined error bars and per-group n. Assumption verification is adequate given the use of non-parametric tests for the clinical data.
“we applied the Hodges–Lehmann estimator in deriving placebo-adjusted percentage change from baseline values in lipid parameters.”
“two-tailed Wilcoxon signed-rank tests (for comparisons within groups) and two-tailed Mann–Whitney U -tests (for comparisons between groups) were used, which were adjusted using the BH adjustment method.”
“Placebo-adjusted percentage change from day 1 to day 14 a | — | −14.9 (−39.9, 6.2) | −3.7 (−34.3, 23.9) | −37.6 (−54.0, −19.9) | −38.5 (−67.9, −7.2) | | P value versus placebo b | — | 0.281 | 0.681 | 0.003 | 0.024”
“Data are shown as mean (s.d.) or mean (95% CI).”
The data-availability statement specifies that individual phase 1 patient data are available 'upon reasonable request from academic or qualified clinical researchers affiliated with recognized institutions' with submitted proposal/CV/declaration and a signed data-access agreement — a concrete managed-access mechanism, which is the field norm for IPD. Preclinical raw data and trial summary results are in Source Data. HLO RNA-seq is deposited at GEO (GSE299888), and dbGaP accession (phs002453.v1.p1) is cited for the MVP data. Code availability states 'This study did not generate original code.'
“The HLO RNA-sequencing data are available under GEO number GSE299888”
“This study did not generate original code.”
“the individual data from the phase 1 clinical trial are available upon reasonable request from academic or qualified clinical researchers affiliated with recognized institutions, strictly for the purpose of conducting noncommercial, ethically approvable research”
“The HLO RNA-sequencing data are available under GEO number GSE299888”
“This study did not generate original code.”
“the individual data from the phase 1 clinical trial are available upon reasonable request from academic or qualified clinical researchers affiliated with recognized institutions, strictly for the purpose of conducting noncommercial, ethically approvable research aligned with the original scope of the trial.”
“This study did not generate original code.”
All seven sub-criteria are met. The clinical trial is registered (NCT05483998), a CONSORT checklist is provided, methods are comprehensive, all outcomes are reported, limitations are discussed, conclusions are appropriately cautious, and competing interests are declared.
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT05483998”
“Supplementary Fig. 1. Blank copy of the informed consent, approved study protocol for phase 1 clinical trial and CONSORT checklist.”
“Although these data must be interpreted cautiously due to our evaluation of healthy volunteers and multiple exploratory endpoints”
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT05483998”
“Although these data must be interpreted cautiously due to our evaluation of healthy volunteers and multiple exploratory endpoints”
“A.V., R.S.H., S.W., E.M., B.J.K., R.P.M. and G.M.S. are employed by OrsoBio”
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT05483998”
“Although these data must be interpreted cautiously due to our evaluation of healthy volunteers and multiple exploratory endpoints”
“A.V., R.S.H., S.W., E.M., B.J.K., R.P.M. and G.M.S. are employed by OrsoBio, and J.A. and T.T. are advisors to OrsoBio.”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov). Reporting guideline cited: CONSORT.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
7 data/code links checked; 7 live.
- dataGEOLIVEHTTP 200http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/geo/query/acc.cgi?acc=GSE299888Resolves to GEO (data repository).
- datadbGaPLIVEHTTP 200http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/projects/gap/cgi-bin/study.cgi?study_id=phs002453.v1.p1Resolves to dbGaP (data repository).
- datahttps://www.finngen.fi/en/access_resultsLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://www.finucanelab.org/dataLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT05483998LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/snp/?term=rs61731956LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/snp/?term=rs1260326LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
7 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 7 minor suggestions below.
7 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity, punctuation.
- MINORconsistencyTable 1, VLDL cholesterol vs RC predose rows“P value versus placebo b — | — | 0.126 | 0.837 | 0.0058 | 0.148”→ Standardize to three significant figures (0.006) to match the identical RC predose row.The VLDL-C and RC predose rows contain numerically identical values but report the 6-mg p-value with different precision (0.0058 vs 0.006).
- MINORconsistencyTable 1, Non-HDL-C row“P value versus placebo b — | — | 1.000 | 0.598 | 1 | 0.07”→ Use consistent decimal formatting (1.000 instead of 1) for the 6-mg p-value.The value '1' diverges from the '1.000' formatting used elsewhere in the same column.
- MINORpunctuationTable 1, Small LDL particles row“−34.5 (−80.6 21.5)”→ Insert a comma: '−34.5 (−80.6, 21.5)'.Missing separator between the two CI bounds.
- MINORclarityData availability“The study protocol and statistical plan are available within the article and .”→ The sentence appears to have a dangling 'and .' — likely a mis-rendered link/reference; provide the actual location or accession.Incomplete sentence fragment in the data availability statement.
- MINORconsistencyMethods, Study design vs Table 1“placebo (two participants per dose)”→ Clarify the total placebo count: text implies 8 (2 per dose x 4 doses) but Table 1 lists n=10 for placebo; reconcile the number of placebo participants.Minor internal numeric inconsistency in placebo group size.
- MINORconsistencyExtended Data Fig. 1 legend“LXRβ”→ Define LXRβ as 'liver X receptor beta' at first use in the extended data legends.Abbreviation is defined in the main text but not in the extended data figure legends.
- MINORclarityTable 1 footnote“a Hodges–Lehmann estimators of median (95% CI).”→ Consider adding a brief explanation of the Hodges-Lehmann estimator for readers unfamiliar with non-parametric methods.The term is used without explanation, though it is appropriate for the field.
This published work demonstrates good scientific premise and robust statistical reporting. However, an informed reader should weigh the significant reporting gaps in preclinical study design, biological variables, and ethical approvals (specifically, the absence of animal ethics statements). These omissions, along with the misidentified HepG2 cell line, suggest areas where an erratum or independent re-analysis might be warranted to enhance the robustness and reproducibility of the preclinical findings.
- 1.HIGHotherAddress the misidentification of the HepG2 cell line (CURATED-0001) by either providing authentication (e.g., STR profiling) for the stock used or acknowledging the potential impact of using a misidentified cell type.The HepG2 cell line is listed as misidentified in the ICLAC register, which could mean results attributed to it describe a different cell type, impacting the validity of findings.
- 2.HIGHethicsAdd an animal-welfare (IACUC or equivalent) approval statement, ideally with institution and protocol number, for all rodent and NHP efficacy/toxicology studies in the Methods section.The absence of an animal ethics statement is a significant reporting gap for extensive animal research and is a core requirement for ethical transparency.
- 3.HIGHrigorReport the randomization method (e.g., computer-generated random numbers, block randomization) for the clinical trial in the Methods, Phase 1 clinical trial / Study design section.The method of randomization is crucial for assessing the internal validity and preventing selection bias in a clinical trial.
- 4.HIGHrigorState whether the clinical trial was blinded (double-blind, single-blind, or open-label) and provide a rationale if open-label, in the Methods, Phase 1 clinical trial section.Blinding status is essential for evaluating potential bias in a placebo-controlled clinical trial.
- 5.HIGHrigorProvide a scientific justification for the use of a single sex (male) in the rodent efficacy studies, or include both sexes, in the Methods, In vivo studies section.Reporting and justifying the sex of animals used is critical for generalizability and reproducibility of preclinical findings.
- 6.HIGHrigorAdd cell-line/organoid authentication (e.g., STR profiling or donor verification) and a mycoplasma-testing statement for the HLO/sHLO work in the Methods section.Authentication and mycoplasma testing are standard quality control measures for cell lines and organoids, ensuring the reliability of in vitro results.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingName a recognized human-research compliance framework (e.g., Declaration of Helsinki, ICH-GCP) in Methods, Study oversight, rather than only 'relevant local regulatory policies'.Citing a specific, recognized framework enhances the transparency and international applicability of ethical compliance.
- 8.MEDIUMrigorReport animal age, weight, and housing/husbandry conditions (light cycle, temperature, enrichment) for the preclinical studies in the Methods section.Detailed reporting of animal characteristics and housing conditions is essential for reproducibility and interpretation of preclinical results.
- 9.MEDIUMreportingReport human race/ethnicity in the baseline demographics table (Fig. 4 / Table 1) to complete the demographic description.Complete demographic reporting, including race/ethnicity, is important for assessing generalizability and potential disparities in clinical trial populations.
- 10.MEDIUMcopyeditClarify the total placebo count in Methods, Study design, to reconcile the statement 'two participants per dose' with Table 1's n=10 for placebo.Internal numerical inconsistencies can confuse readers and undermine confidence in the reported data.
- 11.MEDIUMcopyeditStandardize p-value precision in Table 1 (e.g., a single reported value '0.006' vs '0.0058' for numerically identical VLDL-C and RC-predose rows) to avoid apparent inconsistencies.Consistent reporting of numerical precision improves clarity and avoids misleading readers about the underlying data.
- 12.MEDIUMcopyeditCorrect the punctuation in Table 1, Small LDL particles row, by inserting a comma: '−34.5 (−80.6, 21.5)'.Missing punctuation can hinder readability and misrepresent numerical ranges.
- 13.LOWcopyeditComplete the sentence in the Data availability section: 'The study protocol and statistical plan are available within the article and .' by providing the actual location or accession.An incomplete sentence fragment indicates a missing reference or link, which should be resolved for clarity.
- 14.LOWcopyeditDefine LXRβ as 'liver X receptor beta' at first use in the extended data legends (e.g., Extended Data Fig. 1 legend).Defining abbreviations in all relevant sections ensures clarity for readers who may not read the main text first.
- 15.LOWcopyeditConsider adding a brief explanation of the Hodges-Lehmann estimator in the Table 1 footnote for readers unfamiliar with non-parametric methods.Providing context for specialized statistical terms enhances accessibility for a broader audience.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.