Daily Mosnodenvir as Dengue Prophylaxis in a Controlled Human Infection Model.
Durbin AP, Van Wesenbeeck L, Pierce KK, Herrera-Taracena G, Ebone L, Buelens A, Lutton P, Sabundayo BP, Van Eygen V, De Clerck K, Fetter I, Voge NV, Fang X, Goeyvaerts N, Vandendijck Y, Mayfield J, Lenz O, De Meyer S, Kakuda TN, He H, Amaro-Carambot E, Akli RD, Carmolli M, De Marez T, Whitehead SS, Van Loock M, Rasschaert F
- DOI
- 10.1056/NEJMoa2500179
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-22
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/b0f43c53-f8c1-41ac-81be-dcd363e38a61 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×4−2★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ClaimsTreatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability not met−0.5★
- ReportingStatistical analysis partially met−0.25★
- Statistics were not checked: no recomputable values were found in this text — no test statistic reported with its degrees of freedom, no effect estimate printed with both a 95% CI and a p-value, and no percentage printed with both its count and its denominator.
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
Primary efficacy endpoint is DENV-3 RNA viral load AUC, a surrogate outcome. No validated evidence linking this surrogate to clinical benefit is provided, and target engagement at the tested dose is not demonstrated.
“The primary objective was to assess the antiviral activity of mosnodenvir versus placebo in terms of reduction of DENV-3 RNA by evaluating the area under the DENV-3 RNA viral load (VL) concentration-time curves from immediately before inoculation (D1) until…”
- 02Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful
The reported effect is reduction in viral RNA AUC, with 60% of high-dose participants having undetectable RNA vs 0% in placebo. The magnitude is not anchored to a minimal clinically important difference or clinical benefit.
“The proportion of participants without signs of DENV-3 infection was 0% (0/6), 17% (1/6), 60% (6/10) in low-, medium-, high-dose regimens, respectively, versus 0% (0/7) in the placebo arm.”
- 03Data and code not shared
No data availability statement, repository deposit, accession numbers, or code-sharing mechanism is reported in the manuscript.
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
- lowinternal contradictionThe Race row for 'Multiple' in the Combined mosnodenvir column reports '2 (8.79.1)', a malformed percentage; the correct value is 9.1% (2/22). This is a formatting/typographical issue rather than a data integrity problem.
“Multiple | 1 (12.5) | 0 | 0 | 2 (18.2) | 2 (8.79.1) | 3 (10.0)”
Table 1Find in source - lowinternal contradictionIn Table 1, the Race 'Multiple' cell for the Combined mosnodenvir arm reads '2 (8.79.1)' which is a malformed percentage; 2/22 = 9.1%, so the printed value is internally inconsistent.
“Multiple | 1 (12.5) | 0 | 0 | 2 (18.2) | 2 (8.79.1) | 3 (10.0)”
Table 1Find in source - lowinternal contradictionTable 1 reports the Combined mosnodenvir arm 'Multiple' race count as '2 (8.79.1)', an invalid percentage; with N=22, 2 participants would be 9.1%, not 8.79.1%.
“Multiple | 1 (12.5) | 0 | 0 | 2 (18.2) | 2 (8.79.1) | 3 (10.0)”
Table 1Find in source
Overstated conclusions
3 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningfulAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
12 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- partialReviewer 2The associated individual risks from emerging NS4B variations are minor.The paper argues risks are minor because peak/duration of viremia and symptoms were not increased, but this is reasoning from a small sample and the long-term implications of the variants are not established by the data presented.Evidence: Peak and duration of DENV-3 RNA comparable or lower than placebo; symptom frequency/severity not increased.
“The associated individual risks based on these limited data are considered minor as the peak and duration of the DENV-3 RNA levels were comparable or lower than those in the placebo arm.”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Mosnodenvir significantly reduced DENV-3 viral load versus placebo in a dose-dependent manner without relevant clinical safety findings in a CHIM.The primary Tobit ANOVA result and the dose-dependent proportions of participants without detectable infection directly support the claim; safety is appropriately qualified as no apparent concerns in a small sample.Evidence: Primary Tobit ANOVA p<0.001 for high-dose vs placebo; proportion without signs of infection 0%, 17%, 60% across dose arms vs 0% placebo; safety table showing mostly mild/moderate AEs.
“Mosnodenvir significantly reduced DENV-3 viral load versus placebo in a dose-dependent manner without relevant clinical safety findings in a CHIM.”
ConclusionFind in source - supportedReviewer 1The proportion of participants without signs of DENV-3 infection increased with mosnodenvir dose versus placebo.The reported proportions are internally consistent and directly demonstrate a dose-response relationship.Evidence: Proportions 0% (0/6), 17% (1/6), 60% (6/10) vs 0% (0/7) reported in abstract and results.
“The proportion of participants without signs of DENV-3 infection was 0% (0/6), 17% (1/6), 60% (6/10) in low-, medium-, high-dose regimens, respectively, versus 0% (0/7) in the placebo arm.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Emergent NS4B amino acid variations were detected in all available mosnodenvir-treated participants with sequencing data and in none of the placebo participants.This claim is directly supported by the reported sequencing results.Evidence: NS4B sequencing data: emergent variations in 14/14 mosnodenvir participants with available data, 0/7 placebo.
Emergent amino acid variations in the NS4B region were detected in all 14 participants with available NS4B sequencing data in the mosnodenvir arms, while none were observed in the placebo arm.
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 1The variations that emerged under mosnodenvir dosing point to NS4B as the target for mosnodenvir.The emergence of NS4B variants only under drug pressure, together with cited preclinical findings, supports this mechanistic interpretation.Evidence: NS4B variants in all treated participants with sequencing; none in placebo; consistency with preclinical findings cited.
“The variations that emerged under mosnodenvir dosing were consistent with preclinical findings, pointing to NS4B as the target for mosnodenvir.”
Discussion ¶4Find in source - supportedReviewer 1Mosnodenvir can reduce the incidence of DENV-3 infection and associated symptomatology prophylactically in a dengue-naïve population.The presented prevention proportions and serology outcomes support the claim, with the usual CHIM-to-field extrapolation caveat stated by the authors.Evidence: Dose-dependent prevention rates (0%, 17%, 60% vs 0% placebo); no seroconversion in participants without detectable DENV RNA.
“mosnodenvir administered in low, medium and high dose prevented DENV-3 infection (undetectable DENV RNA, no anti-DENV IgM/IgG/nAb seroconversion and no DENV-associated rash) in a dose-dependent manner, demonstrating that mosnodenvir can reduce the incidence of DENV-3 infection and associated symptomatology, prophylactically in a dengue-naïve population.”
Discussion ¶3Find in source - supportedReviewer 2Mosnodenvir significantly reduced DENV-3 viral load versus placebo in a dose-dependent manner.The Tobit ANOVA (p<0.001) and Wilcoxon rank sum (p=0.001) results and the dose-dependent proportion without infection (0%, 17%, 60% vs 0%) directly support this claim.Evidence: Tobit ANOVA p<0.001 for high dose vs placebo; proportion without signs 0/6, 1/6, 6/10 vs 0/7.
“A Tobit analysis of variance showed a statistically significant reduction on log 10 AUC D1-D29 VL in mosnodenvir high-dose versus placebo participants (2-sided p<0.001).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 2, 3Mosnodenvir prevented DENV-3 infection in a dose-dependent manner.The proportion of participants with no detectable DENV-3 RNA and no seroconversion increased with dose, directly supporting prevention.Evidence: 0% (0/6), 17% (1/6), 60% (6/10) without infection in low/medium/high vs 0% (0/7) placebo.
The proportion of participants with all available DENV-3 RNA measurements being undetectable was 0% (0/6), 17% (1/6), 60% (6/10) in the low-, medium-, and high-dose arms, respectively, versus 0% (0/7) in the placebo arm.
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2Emergent NS4B amino acid variations emerged under mosnodenvir dosing and not placebo.Sequencing data show NS4B variations in all 14/14 mosnodenvir participants with available data and none in placebo, directly supporting the claim.Evidence: NS4B variations detected in 14/14 mosnodenvir participants vs 0/7 placebo.
“Emergent amino acid variations in the NS4B region were detected in each of the 14 participants with available NS4B sequencing data in the mosnodenvir dose arms, while none were observed in the placebo arm.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Mosnodenvir did not have any apparent safety concerns.The safety data (mostly mild/moderate AEs, no deaths, no serious AEs in dosed participants) support this claim, with the caveat of small sample size.Evidence: No serious AEs among mosnodenvir-dosed participants; AEs mild/moderate and reversible.
“None of the mosnodenvir dosed participants had serious AEs, and none died. All out-of-range laboratory findings were isolated and fully reversible.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 3Mosnodenvir significantly reduced DENV-3 viral load versus placebo.The primary Tobit ANOVA and exact Wilcoxon test both show a statistically significant reduction in log10 AUC D1-D29 VL for high-dose mosnodenvir versus placebo.Evidence: Tobit ANOVA (2-sided p<0.001) and exact Wilcoxon rank sum (2-sided p=0.001) on log10 AUC D1-D29 VL.
“A Tobit analysis of variance showed a statistically significant reduction on the log 10 AUC D1-D29 VL in the high-dose mosnodenvir arm versus the placebo arm (2-sided p<0.001)”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 3Mosnodenvir had no relevant clinical safety findings in this study.No serious AEs or deaths occurred in mosnodenvir-dosed participants; reported AEs were mostly mild/moderate and reversible.Evidence: Safety analysis: no SAEs in mosnodenvir arms, all AEs mild-to-moderate except two severe (one COVID-19, one lipase/glycemia increase), no deaths.
“None of the mosnodenvir dosed participants had serious AEs, and none died.”
ResultsFind in source
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit; effect size not shown to be clinically meaningful.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointPrimary efficacy endpoint is DENV-3 RNA viral load AUC, a surrogate outcome. No validated evidence linking this surrogate to clinical benefit is provided, and target engagement at the tested dose is not demonstrated.
“The primary objective was to assess the antiviral activity of mosnodenvir versus placebo in terms of reduction of DENV-3 RNA by evaluating the area under the DENV-3 RNA viral load (VL) concentration-time curves from immediately before inoculation (D1) until D29 (AUCD1-D29).”
- INADEQUATEEffect sizeThe reported effect is reduction in viral RNA AUC, with 60% of high-dose participants having undetectable RNA vs 0% in placebo. The magnitude is not anchored to a minimal clinically important difference or clinical benefit.
“The proportion of participants without signs of DENV-3 infection was 0% (0/6), 17% (1/6), 60% (6/10) in low-, medium-, high-dose regimens, respectively, versus 0% (0/7) in the placebo arm.”
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Methods and results do not matchAssessed
4 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- lowmethod result mismatchThe Statistical analysis section states the primary efficacy analysis included all participants from Cohort 1 Group 1, but Results and Table 1 report an efficacy analysis set of 29 inoculated participants across all arms; this should be clarified.
“The primary efficacy analysis included all participants from Cohort 1 Group 1 who were inoculated with rDEN3Δ30.”
Table 1Find in source
Reporting gaps
2 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data and code not sharedAssessed
- Statistical reporting gaps (tests, assumptions, effect sizes)Assessed
The introduction cites dengue epidemiology, the limitations of current vaccines, and mosnodenvir's mechanism (NS3-NS4B inhibition) with in vitro, mouse, and NHP efficacy data. The study objective follows logically from this premise. The discussion explicitly acknowledges CHIM limitations and the need for field confirmation, satisfying the limitations-addressed criterion.
“Licensed dengue treatments are currently unavailable and management consists of supportive measures, such as antipyretics and volume repletion.”
“Findings from those studies must be confirmed in larger safety and efficacy studies in the target population since CHIM studies do not reflect field conditions.”
“In contrast, an oral antiviral could be deployed in outbreaks, could limit cases in endemic areas through a prophylactic approach, and may be used for travelers and those who cannot receive a vaccine.”
“Findings from those studies must be confirmed in larger safety and efficacy studies in the target population since CHIM studies do not reflect field conditions.”
“Mosnodenvir (also known as JNJ-64281802) is an oral, pan-serotype dengue small-molecule antiviral, that blocks viral replication by inhibiting de novo DENV nonstructural protein 3 (NS3)-NS4B interaction.”
“In contrast, an oral antiviral could be deployed in outbreaks, could limit cases in endemic areas through a prophylactic approach, and may be used for travelers and those who cannot receive a vaccine.”
“Findings from those studies must be confirmed in larger safety and efficacy studies in the target population since CHIM studies do not reflect field conditions.”
The randomized, double-blind design and unit of randomization (participant) are clear. A sample size simulation demonstrated >85% power for the primary endpoint. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are summarized and referenced to the protocol. Missing data were handled by pre-specified rules: one high-dose participant with a missing D29 sample was excluded from the primary analysis. The randomization method (e.g., block/stratified/computer-generated sequence) is not reported, so randomization_method is only partially adequate.
“In this phase 2a, double-blind study, healthy adults were randomized to receive once daily oral mosnodenvir at different dose levels or placebo for 26 days”
“Based on these simulations, the power to detect a relevant reduction of ≥ 30% on log 10 AUC D1-D29 (VL) at the 2-sided 10% significance level was calculated to be more than 85% with 6 participants in the placebo arm and 10 participants in the mosnodenvir high-dose arm.”
“One participant in the high-dose mosnodenvir arm had a missing sample on D29 and was excluded from the primary analysis since the missing value could not be imputed according to pre-specified statistical analysis plan rules.”
“the power to detect a relevant reduction of ≥ 30% on log 10 AUC D1-D29 (VL) at the 2-sided 10% significance level was calculated to be more than 85%”
“This is a phase 2a, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled human infection model (CHIM) study”
“the power to detect a relevant reduction of ≥ 30% on log 10 AUC D1-D29 (VL) at the 2-sided 10% significance level was calculated to be more than 85% with 6 participants in the placebo arm and 10 participants in the mosnodenvir high-dose arm.”
“One participant in the high-dose mosnodenvir arm had a missing sample on D29 and was excluded from the primary analysis since the missing value could not be imputed according to pre-specified statistical analysis plan rules.”
Participants are described as healthy adults 18-55 years who are DENV/ZIKV seronegative, and Table 1 provides age, sex, race, ethnicity, and site. Since both sexes were enrolled, sex_justified is not applicable. Weight is not reported, making age_weight_health only partially adequate. Demographics are otherwise well characterized.
“We enrolled healthy individuals 18–55 years of age, who were confirmed to be seronegative to DENV and Zika virus (ZIKV) prior to enrollment”
“Mean age (SD), years | 30.0 (7.29) | 29.5 (4.59) | 36.0 (10.68) | 34.5 (9.08) | 33.6 (8.64) | 32.6 (8.35)”
“Female sex, n (%) | 4 (50.0) | 4 (66.7) | 5 (83.3) | 7 (63.6) | 16 (69.6) | 20 (64.5)”
“Female sex, n (%) | 4 (50.0) | 4 (66.7) | 5 (83.3) | 7 (63.6) | 16 (69.6) | 20 (64.5)”
“We enrolled healthy individuals 18–55 years of age, who were confirmed to be seronegative to DENV and Zika virus (ZIKV) prior to enrollment”
“Female sex, n (%) | 4 (50.0) | 4 (66.7) | 5 (83.3) | 7 (63.6) | 16 (69.6) | 20 (64.5)”
“Mean age (SD), years | 30.0 (7.29) | 29.5 (4.59) | 36.0 (10.68) | 34.5 (9.08) | 33.6 (8.64) | 32.6 (8.35)”
“We enrolled healthy individuals 18–55 years of age”
Human subjects research: the protocol was reviewed and approved by Independent Ethics Committees at each site, written informed consent was obtained from each participant, and compliance with Good Clinical Practice and the Declaration of Helsinki is stated. All three applicable criteria are adequately addressed.
“The study is conducted in accordance with Good Clinical Practice guidelines and the Declaration of Helsinki.”
“The study is conducted in accordance with Good Clinical Practice guidelines and the Declaration of Helsinki.”
“The study is conducted in accordance with Good Clinical Practice guidelines and the Declaration of Helsinki.”
Mosnodenvir is identified as 10 mg, 50 mg, and 100 mg oral capsules with full loading/maintenance dose regimens, satisfying the investigational-product identification criterion. Statistical and PK software are identified with versions (SAS 9.04, R 4.2.0, Phoenix). The study does not use cell lines, antibodies, or laboratory animals, so those criteria are genuinely not applicable.
“Mosnodenvir was supplied as 10 mg, 50 mg, and 100 mg oral capsules and administered under fasted conditions.”
“Pharmacokinetic parameters, including maximum plasma concentration (C max ), time to C max (t max ), average concentration (C avg ), terminal elimination half-life (t ½ ) and area under the plasma concentration-time curve (AUC), were determined using the validated software Phoenix (Certara, Princeton, NJ, USA).”
“Analyses were performed with SAS 9.04 (SAS Institute Inc., Cary, NC, USA). Graphs were created in R version 4.2.0”
“Mosnodenvir was supplied as 10 mg, 50 mg, and 100 mg oral capsules and administered under fasted conditions.”
“Analyses were performed with SAS 9.04 (SAS Institute Inc., Cary, NC, USA). Graphs were created in R version 4.2.0”
“Mosnodenvir was supplied as 10 mg, 50 mg, and 100 mg oral capsules and administered under fasted conditions.”
“Analyses were performed with SAS 9.04 (SAS Institute Inc., Cary, NC, USA). Graphs were created in R version 4.2.0”
Tobit ANOVA and exact Wilcoxon rank sum tests are named, with software identified and individual data points displayed. The reported p=0.001 for the Wilcoxon test is exact, but the primary Tobit result is only 'p<0.001,' which is imprecise. No point estimate or 95% CI for the high-dose versus placebo difference in log10 AUC is provided, leaving effect_sizes_ci not reported. The invalid table percentage '8.79.1' is a copyediting issue, not a statistical impossibility.
“The statistically significant result was also seen by the exact Wilcoxon rank sum test (2-sided p=0.001).”
“Solid black dots represent the individual log10 AUCD1-D29 (viral load) values.”
“A Tobit analysis of variance showed a statistically significant reduction on the log 10 AUC D1-D29 VL in the high-dose mosnodenvir arm versus the placebo arm (2-sided p<0.001)”
“Solid black dots represent the individual log10 AUCD1-D29 (viral load) values.”
“A Tobit analysis of variance showed a statistically significant reduction on the log 10 AUC D1-D29 VL in the high-dose mosnodenvir arm versus the placebo arm (2-sided p<0.001)”
“The statistically significant result was also seen by the exact Wilcoxon rank sum test (2-sided p=0.001).”
“Solid black dots represent the individual log10 AUCD1-D29 (viral load) values.”
The paper mentions a protocol available at NEJM.org and ClinicalTrials.gov registration, but these are not data-availability mechanisms. There is no statement about access to individual participant data, no managed-access platform or data-access committee, and no deposit of viral sequencing data or analysis code. Because the trial generated human subject data and sequencing data, the data_availability_statement and related criteria are applicable and are not addressed.
ClinicalTrials.gov registration (NCT05048875) is provided, methods are detailed with reference to a full protocol, and the Discussion explicitly notes CHIM limitations and the need for larger field studies. Funding and disclosure forms are stated. A CONSORT or other reporting guideline checklist is not mentioned, which is a minor transparency gap but does not undermine the manuscript's overall completeness.
“ClinicalTrials.gov (https://ClinicalTrials.gov) number, NCT05048875 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT05048875)”
“Findings from those studies must be confirmed in larger safety and efficacy studies in the target population since CHIM studies do not reflect field conditions.”
“This study was funded in part by the Intramural Research Program of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and Johnson & Johnson.”
“ClinicalTrials.gov (https://ClinicalTrials.gov) number, NCT05048875 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT05048875)”
“This study was funded in part by the Intramural Research Program of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and Johnson & Johnson.”
“ClinicalTrials.gov (https://ClinicalTrials.gov) number, NCT05048875”
“Findings from those studies must be confirmed in larger safety and efficacy studies in the target population since CHIM studies do not reflect field conditions.”
“This study was funded in part by the Intramural Research Program of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and Johnson & Johnson.”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 38 references by DOI: 2 verified — 36 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIDengueNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe current and future global distribution and population at risk of dengueNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDengue emergency in the Americas: time for a new continental eradication planNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMosquito-borne diseases. An increasing risk in EuropeNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIFrequent outbreaks of dengue fever in South Asian countries-A correspondence analyzing causative factors and ways to avertNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDengue hemorrhagic fever - A systemic literature review of current perspectives on pathogenesis, prevention and controlNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIClinical evaluation of dengue and identification of risk factors for severe disease: protocol for a multicentre study in 8 countriesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDengue guidelines for diagnosis, treatment, prevention and control: new editionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITracing down the Updates on Dengue Virus-Molecular Biology, Antivirals, and Vaccine StrategiesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDevelopment of TV003/TV005, a single dose, highly immunogenic live attenuated dengue vaccine; what makes this vaccine different from the Sanofi-Pasteur CYD vaccine?No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDengue Vaccines: An UpdateNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILive, Attenuated, Tetravalent Butantan-Dengue Vaccine in Children and AdultsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA guide to vaccinology: from basic principles to new developmentsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIVaccines and antiviral drugs in pandemic preparednessNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDevelopment of vaccines and antivirals for combating viral pandemicsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA pan-serotype antiviral to prevent and treat dengue: A journey from discovery to clinical development driven by public-private partnershipsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBlocking NS3-NS4B interaction inhibits dengue virus in non-human primatesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPan-serotype dengue virus inhibitor JNJ-A07 targets NS4A-2K-NS4B interaction with NS2B/NS3 and blocks replication organelle formationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISafety, Tolerability, and Pharmacokinetics of JNJ-1802, a Pan-serotype Dengue Direct Antiviral Small Molecule, in a Phase 1, Double-Blind, Randomized, Dose-Escalation Study in Healthy VolunteersNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGenetically modified, live attenuated dengue virus type 3 vaccine candidatesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPharmacokinetics, safety, and tolerability of different maintenance dose regimens of mosnodenvir (JNJ-1802) in healthy adult participantsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe live attenuated dengue vaccine TV003 elicits complete protection against dengue in a human challenge modelNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDengue human infection models to advance dengue vaccine developmentNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA tetravalent live attenuated dengue virus vaccine stimulates balanced immunity to multiple serotypes in humansNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEvaluation of a new dengue 3 controlled human infection model for use in the evaluation of candidate dengue vaccinesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOITV005 dengue vaccine protects against dengue serotypes 2 and 3 in two controlled human infection studiesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIViral kinetic modeling of mosnodenvir prophylaxis against DENV-3 in a controlled human infection modelNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGenomic surveillance reveals that the dengue 2 virus lineage responsible for the 2023-2024 epidemic in the French Caribbean Islands is resistant to MosnodenvirNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIntroducing the Bacterial and Viral Bioinformatics Resource Center (BV-BRC): a resource combining PATRIC, IRD and ViPRNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe Bacterial and Viral Bioinformatics Resource Center (BV-BRC)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICocirculation of 4 Dengue Virus Serotypes, Putumayo Amazon Basin, 2023-2024No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISimultaneous Cocirculation of 2 Genotypes of Dengue Virus Serotype 3 Causing a Large Outbreak in Sri Lanka in 2023No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDetection of dengue virus serotype 4 in Panama after 23 years without circulationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAssembling a comprehensive dataset to conduct an in-depth genomic investigation of the 2023-2024 dengue virus case surge in Valle del Cauca, ColombiaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIClimate variation and serotype competition drive dengue outbreak dynamics in SingaporeNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISeasonal variations in dengue virus transmission suitability in the AmericasNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
4 data/code links checked; 3 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT05048875LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT05201794LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://NEJM.orgUNVERIFIEDHTTP 403Liveness indeterminate — content not checked.
- codehttp://cran.r-project.org/LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
1 finding · worst lowWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
- Wording or formatting errors that need correctingAssessed
9 copyedit issues flagged (1 major): mostly consistency, other, typo.
- MAJORconsistencyTable 1, Race row 'Multiple', Combined mosnodenvir column“2 (8.79.1)”→ 2 (9.1)2 out of 22 participants is 9.1%, not 8.79.1%; the string '8.79.1' is invalid.
- MINORclarityMethods, Statistical analysis, paragraph 1“The primary efficacy analysis included all participants from Cohort 1 Group 1 who were inoculated with rDEN3Δ30.”→ Clarify whether the primary efficacy set is Group 1 only or all Cohort 1 arms; Table 1 reports an efficacy analysis set of 29 across all arms.Potential mismatch between the stated primary analysis set and the efficacy analysis set in Table 1.
- MINORgrammarTable 2, footnote §“Solicited systemic AEs events reported from challenge up to and including the D43 visit”→ Solicited systemic AE events reported from challenge up to and including the D43 visitRedundant 'AEs events' construction.
- MINORotherEnd of manuscript, footer area“as. 2022;17(6) Associated Data Supplementary Materials Supplement”→ Remove stray citation/header text or format as a proper reference.Appears to be a leftover citation fragment.
- MINORtypoTable 1, Race row 'Multiple'“2 (8.79.1)”→ 2 (9.1)Malformed percentage; 2/22 = 9.1%.
- MINORtypoAuthor affiliation 1“1 John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health”→ Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public HealthInstitution name misspelled.
- MINORconsistencyEnd of manuscript body“as. 2022;17(6) Associated Data Supplementary Materials Supplement”→ Remove stray citation/formatting fragmentLeftover text fragment appears after the footnotes.
- MINORotherTable 2 footnotes“Solicited systemic AEs events reported from challenge up to and including the D43 visit are excluded from as they are considered...”→ Clean up the sentence fragment ('excluded from [Table] as they are considered...')Awkward/fragmentary phrasing in the footnote.
- MINORconsistencyTable 2A“2 (33.3%)”→ 2 (33.3)Inconsistent use of '%' in some cells of the same column (minor formatting inconsistency).
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.