Effects of SGLT2 inhibition on incident heart failure in carriers of cardiomyopathy-associated genetic variants.
Marston NA, Kany S, Melloni GEM, Jurgens SJ, Kamanu FK, Lai YP, Rämö JT, Raz I, Wiviott SD, Ellinor PT, Sabatine MS, Ruff CT
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-026-04439-x
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-22
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/be3c650c-489e-4e7f-89d1-3faa8dc871f5 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×2−1★
- StatisticsStatistic did not reproduce−0.5★
- ClaimsOverstated claim−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run: 40 reported means were read, and their group size is not stated where the values are printed (this source has no machine-readable table structure). These checks need the count the mean was averaged over, so none was performed.
- 01Printed percentage does not match its own count
12.8% does not match the reported count 12/99
“12.8% of carriers without a history of HF developed HF during the trial”
ResultsFind in source - 02Conclusion reaches beyond the evidence
SGLT2 inhibitor treatment should be started early to prevent HF in individuals who carry P/LP cardiomyopathy variants.
“The findings from this cohort of older and high-risk patients raise the possibility that SGLT2 inhibitor treatment should be started early to prevent HF in individuals who carry P/LP cardiomyopathy variants.”
AbstractFind in source
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
The paper is a well-conducted secondary analysis of a randomized trial, with strong methodology, clear reporting, and appropriate statistical methods. The main weaknesses are the vague data availability statement and minor reporting gaps (no power analysis, no reporting guideline, some threshold p-values).
Both reviewers classified the study as observational (secondary analysis of an RCT). The statistics verification recomputed 11 tests, finding 10 consistent and 1 inconsistent (not detailed); this does not affect the pass status. The citation check found no retracted or missing references. The integrity check flagged a minor internal contradiction in the abstract (variant counts sum to 126 vs 121) and an overstated claim in the discussion.
Numerical inconsistencies
2 findings · worst highValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Summary statistic impossible for the stated N (GRIM/GRIMMER)Recomputed
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 10 tests: 10 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 6 recomputed directly from the reported test statistics, 4 via agent-written checks. 1 reported summary statistic mathematically impossible for the stated N (PERCENT).
- PERCENT12.8% does not match the reported count 12/99
“12.8% of carriers without a history of HF developed HF during the trial”
ResultsFind in source
- CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Recomputed aHR 7.98 (95% CI 3.25–19.59), reported p<0.001
“aHR 7.98, 95% CI 3.25–19.59, P < 0.001”
Taken as given: 3.25–19.59 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the aHR of 7.98, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the aHR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p<0.001 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(7.98, 3.25, 19.59, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Recomputed aHR 7.89 (95% CI 2.48–25.10), reported p<0.001
“aHR 7.89, 95% CI 2.48–25.10, P < 0.001”
Taken as given: 2.48–25.10 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the aHR of 7.89, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the aHR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p<0.001 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(7.89, 2.48, 25.1, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Recomputed HR 0.68 (95% CI 0.55–0.83), reported p<0.001
“HR 0.68, 95% CI 0.55–0.83, P < 0.001”
Taken as given: 0.55–0.83 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the HR of 0.68, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the HR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p<0.001 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(0.68, 0.55, 0.83, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Recomputed HR 8.23 (95% CI 3.61–18.79), reported p<0.001
“HR 8.23, 95% CI 3.61–18.79, P < 0.001”
Taken as given: 3.61–18.79 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the HR of 8.23, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the HR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p<0.001 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(8.23, 3.61, 18.79, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .080 · recomputed p = .081Recomputed HR 2.98 (95% CI 0.88–10.20), reported p=0.08
“HR 2.98, 95% CI 0.88–10.20; P = 0.08”
Taken as given: 0.88–10.20 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the HR of 2.98, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the HR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.08 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(2.98, 0.88, 10.2, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .005 · recomputed p = .006Recomputed HR 0.83 (95% CI 0.73–0.95), reported p=0.005
“HR 0.83; 95% CI 0.73–0.95, P = 0.005”
Taken as given: 0.73–0.95 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the HR of 0.83, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the HR is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.005 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(0.83, 0.73, 0.95, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .030 · recomputed p = .050Reviewer 1P interaction for HHF in carriers vs noncarriers (HR comparison)
“P interaction 0.03”
Taken as given: The p-value is from a two-sided Wald test on the interaction term in a Cox model.; The reported p-value is 0.03.Method: The p-value is reported directly; no recomputation possible without raw data.How we recomputed it: pZ(1.96) - CONSISTENTreported p = .030 · recomputed p = .030Reviewer 2P interaction for HHF treatment effect between carriers and noncarriers
“P interaction 0.03”
Taken as given: The reported P interaction is from a two-sided Wald test on a Cox model.; The Z statistic is approximated from the reported p-value.Method: Approximated Z from p-value using normal distribution.How we recomputed it: pZ(2.17) - CONSISTENTreported p = .004 · recomputed p = .002Reviewer 2P value for difference in prior HF between carriers and noncarriers
“History of HF | 22 (18) | 1,235 (10) | 0.004”
Taken as given: The table is 2x2 with counts: carriers with HF=22, carriers without HF=99, noncarriers with HF=1235, noncarriers without HF=11329.; The test used is a two-sided chi-squared test.Method: Pearson chi-squared test on 2x2 table.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(22,99,1235,11329) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 2P value for difference in MRA therapy between carriers and noncarriers
“MRA therapy | 15 (12.4%) | 592 (4.7%) | 0.0002”
Taken as given: The table is 2x2 with counts: carriers with MRA=15, carriers without MRA=106, noncarriers with MRA=592, noncarriers without MRA=11972.; The test used is a two-sided chi-squared test.Method: Pearson chi-squared test on 2x2 table.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(15,106,592,11972)
- lowinternal contradictionIn the results, the absolute risk reduction in carriers without prior HF is reported as 12.8% in both the text and the figure, but the text says 'This 12.8% ARR was significantly greater than what was observed in noncarriers without HF (ARR 12.8% (95% CI 3.1–22.4%) versus 0.6% (95% CI 0.1–1.1%), P interaction 0.01)'. The ARR for carriers is 12.8% and for noncarriers 0.6%, which is consistent, but the sentence structure is confusing.
“This 12.8% ARR was significantly greater than what was observed in noncarriers without HF (ARR 12.8% (95% CI 3.1–22.4%) versus 0.6% (95% CI 0.1–1.1%), P interaction 0.01)”
ResultsFind in source - lowinternal contradictionThe abstract states '121 carried a cardiomyopathy variant (76 dilated cardiomyopathy, 25 hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and 25 arrhythmogenic cardiomyopathy)', but these numbers sum to 126, not 121. The paper explains that some individuals carry variants in multiple genes, but the discrepancy is not explicitly reconciled in the abstract.
“121 carried a cardiomyopathy variant (76 dilated cardiomyopathy, 25 hypertrophic cardiomyopathy and 25 arrhythmogenic cardiomyopathy)”
AbstractFind in source
Overstated conclusions
1 finding · worst mediumConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions overstated beyond the evidenceAssessed
4 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 1 not fully backed by the presented evidence (unsupported or overstated).
- overstatedReviewers 1, 2SGLT2 inhibitor treatment should be started early to prevent HF in individuals who carry P/LP cardiomyopathy variants.The paper suggests this possibility but acknowledges it is hypothesis-generating and needs confirmation in a prospective trial.Evidence: The paper states 'raise the possibility' and 'need to be confirmed in a prospective, dedicated trial'.
“The findings from this cohort of older and high-risk patients raise the possibility that SGLT2 inhibitor treatment should be started early to prevent HF in individuals who carry P/LP cardiomyopathy variants.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Dapagliflozin lowers the risk of HHF more strongly in carriers of cardiomyopathy-associated variants than in noncarriers.The paper provides hazard ratios and a significant interaction p-value supporting this claim.Evidence: HR 0.18 (95% CI 0.04–0.86) in carriers vs HR 0.70 (95% CI 0.57–0.86) in noncarriers, P interaction 0.03.
“dapagliflozin lowered the risk of HHF more strongly in carriers (hazard ratio 0.18, 95% confidence interval 0.04–0.86) than in noncarriers (hazard ratio 0.70, 95% confidence interval 0.57–0.86; P interaction 0.03).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Carriers of cardiomyopathy-associated variants have an increased risk of HHF compared to noncarriers.The paper reports an adjusted hazard ratio of 8.06 with a narrow confidence interval, supporting this claim.Evidence: aHR 8.06, 95% CI 4.09–15.89, P < 0.001 in the placebo arm.
“adjusted hazard ratio (aHR) 8.06, 95% confidence interval (CI) 4.09–15.89, P < 0.001”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The benefit of dapagliflozin is particularly pronounced in carriers without prior heart failure.The paper reports a significant interaction and a large absolute risk reduction in this subgroup.Evidence: ARR 12.8% in carriers vs 0.6% in noncarriers, P interaction 0.01.
“This 12.8% ARR was significantly greater than what was observed in noncarriers without HF (ARR 12.8% (95% CI 3.1–22.4%) versus 0.6% (95% CI 0.1–1.1%), P interaction 0.01)”
ResultsFind in source
Efficacy claim is anchored to an adequate endpoint and a meaningful effect.
- ADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is hospitalization for heart failure (HHF), a hard clinical outcome. The paper does not rely on a surrogate biomarker for the efficacy claim.
“We focused on HHF as the primary endpoint of interest because in DECLARE-TIMI 58 the most robust treatment effects were observed for HHF, and HF is the outcome most directly related to CMP phenotypes.”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizeThe effect size is large and clinically meaningful: an 82% relative risk reduction (HR 0.18) and a 13.0% absolute risk reduction in carriers, with a number needed to treat of 7.7 over 4.2 years. This is anchored to a hard clinical outcome (HHF) and is statistically significant.
“Among CMP variant carriers, treatment with dapagliflozin resulted in an 82% reduction in incident HHF (HR 0.18, 95% CI 0.04–0.86). This was significantly greater than the 30% risk reduction observed in noncarriers (HR 0.70, 95% CI 0.57–0.86, P interaction 0.03).”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
1 finding · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
The introduction cites multiple prior studies establishing the benefits of SGLT2 inhibitors in heart failure and the prevalence and risk of cardiomyopathy-associated variants. It clearly states the rationale for testing whether SGLT2 inhibition benefits carriers of such variants. Limitations of prior research are implicitly addressed by noting the lack of dedicated trials in this population.
“Whether SGLT2 inhibitor treatment is of benefit in asymptomatic individuals with a CMP variant is not known.”
“Sodium–glucose cotransporter 2 (SGLT2) inhibitors such as dapagliflozin have been shown to prevent hospitalization for HF (HHF) across the spectrum of left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF)”
“Whether SGLT2 inhibitor treatment is of benefit in asymptomatic individuals with a CMP variant is not known.”
The parent trial DECLARE-TIMI 58 was randomized and double-blind, with randomization method implied (not detailed here). The analysis population is defined by availability of whole-exome sequencing. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are described (patients with type 2 diabetes and increased CV risk). Power analysis is not reported, but this is a post-hoc subgroup analysis. Blinding is described for outcome adjudication. Outlier handling is addressed via available-case analysis with minimal missing data.
“This is a secondary analysis of DECLARE-TIMI 58, a double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial”
“This analysis was not prespecified.”
The paper reports age, sex, ethnicity, BMI, and various comorbidities in baseline tables. Sex is reported for both carriers and noncarriers. Age and health status are reported. Species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable as this is a human study. Demographics are adequately reported.
“Male sex | 74 (61) | 8,051 (64) | 0.57”
“Age | 63.4 ± 6.4 | 64 ± 6.9 | 0.43”
“Ethnicity | Asian 7 (6) | Asian 1,140 (9) | 0.01”
“Age | 63.4 ± 6.4 | 64 ± 6.9 | 0.43 | | Male sex | 74 (61) | 8,051 (64) | 0.57”
“Ethnicity | Asian 7 (6) | Asian 1,140 (9) | 0.01”
The paper states that the trial protocol was approved by the institutional review board at each participating site and that all participants provided written informed consent. This covers both the parent trial and the genetic substudy. Regulatory compliance is implied through adherence to ethical standards.
“The trial protocol was approved by the institutional review board at each participating site, and all participants provided written informed consent.”
“The trial protocol was approved by the institutional review board at each participating site, and all participants provided written informed consent.”
Dapagliflozin is named as the investigational drug. Sequencing methods and software versions are provided (e.g., BWA 0.7.15, GATK 4.1.4.1). Antibodies, cell lines, and mycoplasma testing are not applicable. Reagents are not detailed beyond the drug, but the drug is adequately identified.
“adults with type 2 diabetes and increased cardiovascular risk were randomized to dapagliflozin or placebo treatment.”
“Sequence reads were aligned to GRCh38 with BWA 0.7.15-r1140 and converted to SAM specification 1.6 CRAM files with GATK 4.1.4.1”
“randomized to dapagliflozin or placebo treatment”
“Sequence reads were aligned to GRCh38 with BWA 0.7.15-r1140 and converted to SAM specification 1.6 CRAM files with GATK 4.1.4.1”
Cox proportional hazards models are used, and the proportional hazards assumption was tested using Schoenfeld residuals. Exact p-values are reported (e.g., P interaction 0.03). Effect sizes with confidence intervals are provided. Statistical software (R version 4.4.2) is identified. Data presentation includes Kaplan-Meier curves and tables with per-group n. Mathematical plausibility checks were not performed due to lack of raw data.
“We tested the proportional hazards assumption using Schoenfeld residuals and found no violations.”
“P interaction 0.03”
“All analyses were performed using R version 4.4.2 (R Foundation).”
“We tested the proportional hazards assumption using Schoenfeld residuals and found no violations.”
“P interaction 0.03”
The data availability statement says 'Due to contractual agreements with sponsors, trial data are not available to share.' This is a statement but lacks a concrete access route or conditions, making it inadequate. No repository deposit or accession numbers are provided. Code sharing is not mentioned.
“Due to contractual agreements with sponsors, trial data are not available to share.”
“Due to contractual agreements with sponsors, trial data are not available to share.”
Methods are detailed enough for replication. The trial is registered (NCT01730534). Limitations are thoroughly discussed. Conclusions are proportional, noting the need for confirmation. Funding and competing interests are disclosed. A reporting guideline is not explicitly mentioned, but the paper includes a reporting summary.
“These findings must be interpreted in the context of our study design. Although this randomized dataset enabled evaluation of the interaction between rare CMP variant carrier status and SGLT2 inhibitor therapy, the relatively small number of carriers ( n = 121) limits power for subgroup analyses”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 30 references by DOI: 5 verified — 25 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIEpidemiology and aetiology of heart failureNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDapagliflozin and cardiovascular outcomes in type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDapagliflozin in patients with heart failure and reduced ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDapagliflozin in heart failure with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fractionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILong-term outcomes of dilated cardiomyopathy diagnosed during childhood: results from a national population-based study of childhood cardiomyopathyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOI2023 ESC Guidelines for the management of cardiomyopathies: developed by the task force on the management of cardiomyopathies of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOI2022 AHA/ACC/HFSA Guideline for the Management of Heart Failure: a report of the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Joint Committee on Clinical Practice GuidelinesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPrevalence and disease expression of pathogenic and likely pathogenic variants associated with inherited cardiomyopathies in the general populationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAssessing the role of rare genetic variation in patients with heart failureNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICardiomyopathy-associated gene variants in atrial fibrillationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPathogenic cardiomyopathy-associated gene variants and prognosis in atrial fibrillation: results in 18,000 clinical trial participantsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAssociation of genetic variants with outcomes in patients with nonischemic dilated cardiomyopathyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPredicted deleterious variants in cardiomyopathy genes prognosticate mortality and composite outcomes in the UK BiobankNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGenomics-first evaluation of heart disease associated with Titin-truncating variantsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPenetrance of dilated cardiomyopathy in genotype-positive relativesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe ensembl variant effect predictorNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe mutational constraint spectrum quantified from variation in 141,456 humansNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIClinVar: improving access to variant interpretations and supporting evidenceNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEvidence-based assessment of genes in dilated cardiomyopathyNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGenetic evaluation of cardiomyopathy: a clinical practice resource of the American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics (ACMG)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIInternational evidence based reappraisal of genes associated with arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy using the Clinical Genome Resource frameworkNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIRare and common genetic variation underlying the risk of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy in a national biobankNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMonogenic and polygenic contributions to atrial fibrillation risk: results from a national biobankNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIntegrated allelic, transcriptional, and phenomic dissection of the cardiac effects of titin truncations in health and diseaseNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffect of dapagliflozin on heart failure and mortality in type 2 diabetes mellitusNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
2 data/code links checked; 2 live.
- codeGitHubLIVEHTTP 200https://github.com/gatk-workflows/gatk4-exome-analysis-pipelineResolves to GitHub (code repository).
- codeGitHubLIVEHTTP 200https://github.com/konradjk/lofteeResolves to GitHub (code repository).
Copyediting
6 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 6 minor suggestions below.
6 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity, grammar.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract“P interaction 0.03”→ Ensure consistent use of 'P' vs 'p' for p-values throughout.The paper uses both 'P' and 'p' for p-values.
- MINORclarityResults, Treatment effect by carrier status“This 13.0% (2.4–23.6%) absolute risk reduction (ARR) was significantly greater than the 1.0% (0.4–1.6%) ARR observed in noncarriers ( P interaction 0.03)”→ Clarify that the ARR is over the median follow-up of 4.2 years.The time frame is mentioned earlier but could be repeated for clarity.
- MINORgrammarDiscussion, paragraph 3“In this study, we demonstrate that CMP variants are actionable genotypes, in which therapeutic management may be influenced by the results of genetic testing.”→ Consider rephrasing to 'actionable genotypes for which therapeutic management may be influenced'.Minor grammatical improvement.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract“P interaction 0.03”→ Consider using 'P for interaction' for clarity.Consistency in terminology.
- MINORclarityResults, Treatment effect by carrier status“This 13.0% (2.4–23.6%) absolute risk reduction (ARR) was significantly greater than the 1.0% (0.4–1.6%) ARR observed in noncarriers ( P interaction 0.03)”→ Consider rephrasing to avoid ambiguity: 'The absolute risk reduction was 13.0% (95% CI 2.4–23.6%) in carriers, significantly greater than the 1.0% (95% CI 0.4–1.6%) in noncarriers (P for interaction = 0.03).'Clarity of confidence intervals.
- MINORconsistencyTable 1“NT-proBNP, pg ml −1 | 299.6 ± 625.2 | 171 ± 321.4 | 0.0004”→ Ensure consistent decimal places (e.g., 171.0) for clarity.Minor formatting.
The published work is robust and methodologically sound, but readers should weigh the small carrier subgroup (n=121) and the hypothesis-generating nature of the findings. The vague data availability statement and the minor internal contradiction in the abstract warrant attention; an erratum or clarification may be appropriate.
- 1.HIGHreportingReconcile the abstract's variant counts: 76+25+25=126, not 121; clarify that some individuals carry variants in multiple genes, or correct the numbers.The internal contradiction in the abstract is a factual inconsistency that could confuse readers and undermine trust.
- 2.HIGHdata codeEnhance the Data Availability statement to describe a managed-access process or provide a contact for data requests, even if data cannot be shared openly.The current statement is vague and does not meet the standard for clinical trial data transparency.
- 3.HIGHdata codeShare analysis code in a public repository (e.g., GitHub) with a DOI, or state explicitly that code is available upon request.Code sharing enhances reproducibility and is expected for genetic analyses.
- 4.MEDIUMreportingAdd a power analysis or sample size justification for the genetic subgroup analysis in the Methods.The lack of power analysis is a limitation that reviewers and readers will note.
- 5.MEDIUMreportingReference a reporting guideline (e.g., STROBE or CONSORT) in the Methods or Reporting Summary.Explicitly following a reporting guideline improves transparency and completeness.
- 6.MEDIUMreportingMove the trial registration number (NCT01730534) from the Funding section to the Methods section.Registration numbers are typically reported in the Methods for clarity and accessibility.
- 7.MEDIUMstatisticsReport exact p-values instead of thresholds (e.g., 'P < 0.001') where possible, or state that exact values are in supplementary materials.Exact p-values allow readers to assess the strength of evidence more precisely.
- 8.MEDIUMreportingClarify the regulatory compliance framework (e.g., Declaration of Helsinki) in the ethics statement.Explicitly naming the framework strengthens the ethics reporting.
- 9.MEDIUMreportingDetail the investigational product (dapagliflozin) formulation and dose, or cite the parent trial for these details.Complete identification of the intervention is expected for reproducibility.
- 10.LOWcopyeditStandardize the use of 'P' vs 'p' for p-values throughout the manuscript.Consistency in notation improves readability and professionalism.
- 11.LOWcopyeditClarify the time frame for the absolute risk reduction (e.g., 'over the median follow-up of 4.2 years') in the Results.Repeating the time frame avoids ambiguity for readers.
- 12.LOWcopyeditRephrase 'actionable genotypes, in which' to 'actionable genotypes for which' in the Discussion.Minor grammatical improvement for clarity.
- 13.LOWcopyeditEnsure consistent decimal places in Table 1 (e.g., '171.0' instead of '171').Consistent formatting improves data presentation.
- 14.LOWreportingTemper the claim that 'SGLT2 inhibitor treatment should be started early to prevent HF' to reflect the hypothesis-generating nature, as the paper acknowledges the need for prospective confirmation.The claim is overstated relative to the evidence from a post-hoc subgroup analysis.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.