Low-Dose Yellow Fever Vaccine in Adults in Africa.
Kimathi D, Juan-Giner A, Bob NS, Orindi B, Namulwana ML, Diatta A, Cheruiyot S, Fall G, Dia M, Hamaluba MM, Nyehangane D, Karanja HK, Gitonga JN, Mugo D, Omuoyo DO, Hussein M, Oloo E, Kamau N, Wafula J, Bendera J, Silvester N, Mwavita J, Joshua M, Mwendwa J, Agababyona C, Ngetsa C, Aisha N, Moki F, Buluku T, Munene M, Mwanga-Amumpaire J, Lutwama J, Kayiwa J, Kamaara E, Barrett AD, Kaleebu P, Bejon P, Sall AA, Grais RF, Warimwe GM, NIFTY Investigators
- DOI
- 10.1056/NEJMoa2407293
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-21
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/d56bbc05-b45b-4db4-9585-aa95260c74a7 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern−0.5★
- ReportingKey resources not met−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability not met−0.5★
- ReportingBiological variables partially met−0.25★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- No reported statistical tests were found to recompute.
- 01Key resources not identified
The investigational product (vaccine) is identified by manufacturer and substrain, but dose preparation details are only referenced in the supplementary appendix, and statistical software is not named.
“the Institut Pasteur de Dakar 17D-204 yellow fever vaccine at a standard dose (13,803 IU) or at a fractional dose of 1000 IU, 500 IU, or 250 IU.”
AbstractFind in source - 02Data and code not shared
The data availability statement is vague and does not provide a concrete access route. No code or data repository is mentioned.
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a methodologically rigorous, well-registered, double-blind randomized noninferiority trial with a sound scientific premise, a priori powering, CI-based estimation, and internally consistent tabulated results. Its main weaknesses are documentation gaps — no explicit informed-consent statement, a vague data-sharing reference without a concrete access route, unnamed statistical software/test, and unreported weight and race/ethnicity — plus minor copyedit issues; none of these undermine the core conclusions.
Three independent reviewer runs of the same model were reconciled; they diverged on biological variables (2 warn vs 1 pass), key resources (1 pass / 1 warn / 1 fail), and statistical analysis (2 pass vs 1 warn), and these splits are reflected in the evidence and confidence. The statistics verification component recomputed 0 tests (coverage limited to tests with a statistic+df or effect+CI), so reported statistics were not machine-verified; the citation check found no retracted or not-found references; the copyedit pass flagged 10 minor issues.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
- lowinternal contradictionThe 500-IU group's proportion of participants with an adverse event is reported as 63% in the Results text but 62% in Table 3; 75/120 = 62.5%, so both are legitimate roundings and this is not an arithmetic error.
“75 (63%) of the participants in the 500-IU group reported 163 adverse events”
Table 3Find in source
Overstated conclusions
1 finding · worst lowConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
7 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- partialReviewers 1, 3The findings support the WHO recommendation to use one fifth of a standard dose in epidemics when the standard dose is 500 IU or higher.The trial data support the dose range, but the leap to the operational WHO-policy recommendation rests on extrapolation beyond the trial's direct comparisons.Evidence: Noninferiority of 500 IU and 1000 IU at day 28; the 500-IU dose is roughly one 27th of the 13,803 IU standard, so 'one fifth' of a 500 IU-minimum standard is within the noninferior range shown.
“The findings from our trial provide support to the WHO recommendation that one fifth of a standard dose of vaccine be considered for use in epidemics, provided that the standard dose in the vaccine used is 500 IU or higher.”
Discussion ¶2Find in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2, 3A yellow fever vaccination dose as low as 500 IU was noninferior to the standard dose of 13,803 IU for producing seroconversion within 28 days.The data show that the 500-IU dose had a difference in seroconversion of 0.01 percentage points (95% CI -5.0 to 5.1) in ITT and -1.8 (95% CI -6.7 to 3.2) in PP, both with lower bounds above -10.Evidence: Table 2 and Figure 2 show the differences and CIs.
“A yellow fever vaccination dose as low as 500 IU was noninferior to the standard dose of 13,803 IU for producing seroconversion within 28 days.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 3The 250-IU dose did not meet the noninferiority criteria in the per-protocol analysis at 28 days.The per-protocol analysis shows a difference of -6.7 percentage points (95% CI -11.7 to 1.6), with the lower bound below -10.Evidence: Table 2 and Figure 2B.
“Therefore, the 250-IU dose did not meet the noninferiority criteria in the per-protocol analysis at 28 days.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Postvaccination viremia was infrequent.Only 12 of 480 participants (2.5%) had detectable viremia, which is low.Evidence: Results, immunogenicity paragraph
“Of the total trial population, 12 participants (2.5%; 95% CI, 1.3 to 4.3) were positive for yellow fever vaccine viremia between days 2 and 10”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 1The incidence of adverse events was similar in the four groups.The percentages of participants with adverse events were 55%, 62%, 57%, and 54% across groups, showing no major differences.Evidence: Table 3.
“The incidence of adverse events was similar in the four groups.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 2The 250-IU dose met the noninferiority criterion in the intention-to-treat analyses but did not meet the noninferiority criterion in per-protocol analyses.The intention-to-treat analysis for 250 IU shows a difference of -4.4 percentage points (95% CI -9.4 to 0.7), with lower bound -9.4 > -10, meeting noninferiority. The per-protocol analysis shows -6.7 percentage points (95% CI -11.7 to -1.6), with lower bound -11.7 < -10, not meeting noninferiority.Evidence: Table 2, Figure 2, Results text.
The 250-IU dose met the noninferiority criterion in the intention-to-treat analyses... but did not meet the noninferiority criterion in per-protocol analyses.
Discussionreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewers 2, 3Lower doses led to considerably lower neutralization titers and lower levels of seroconversion at day 10, even though these differences were erased by the peak antibody responses seen at day 28.Table 2 shows that at day 10, seroconversion rates were 50% for 250 IU, 61% for 500 IU, 61% for 1000 IU, vs 85% for standard dose. GMTs were also lower. By day 28, seroconversion rates were similar (94-98%).Evidence: Table 2: Day 10 and Day 28 seroconversion rates and GMTs.
“Our trial showed that lower doses led to considerably lower neutralization titers and lower levels of seroconversion at day 10, even though these differences were erased by the peak antibody responses seen at day 28.”
Table 2Find in source
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
4 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data and code not sharedAssessed
- Key resources not identifiedAssessed
- Biological variables underreported (sex, age, strain)Assessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
The paper cites prior trials on fractional dosing, WHO recommendations, and a Brazilian dose-finding study. It acknowledges that previous data were not formally analyzed for noninferiority and may not be generalizable to adults in Africa or other vaccine substrains. The rationale for the trial is clearly linked to the need for dose-sparing strategies during outbreaks.
“Previous data from Brazil (substrain 17DD) had indicated that immunogenicity is reduced at doses below 587 IU.”
“However, these data were not formally analyzed for noninferiority and may not be generalizable to adults in Africa or vaccines from other substrains.”
“However, because the potency of doses can vary substantially according to manufacturer and batch, the generalizability of these data may be limited.”
“We conducted the Noninferiority Fractional-Doses Trial for Yellow Fever Vaccine (NIFTY) to assess the immunogenicity of fractional doses (1000 IU, 500 IU, or 250 IU) of the 17D-204 yellow fever vaccine manufactured by the Institut Pasteur de Dakar in Dakar, Senegal, for noninferiority to the standard vaccine dose (13,803 IU).”
Randomization was performed by an independent firm using a computerized system with fixed blocks. The trial is described as double-blind. A power analysis is provided with 90% power at a one-sided alpha of 0.025. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are clearly defined. The analysis populations (ITT and per-protocol) are specified, and missing data are handled by random distribution.
“Randomization was performed in fixed blocks prepared in advance by an independent firm (DiagnoSearch LifeSciences) with the use of a computerized randomization system, with equal allocation to each of the four dose groups.”
“Assuming a 95% incidence of seroconversion, we estimated that 120 participants per dose group would provide the trial with 90% power to determine noninferiority at a margin of −10 percentage points and at a one-sided alpha level of 0.025.”
“Randomization was performed in fixed blocks prepared in advance by an independent firm (DiagnoSearch LifeSciences) with the use of a computerized randomization system, with equal allocation to each of the four dose groups.”
“Assuming a 95% incidence of seroconversion, we estimated that 120 participants per dose group would provide the trial with 90% power to determine noninferiority at a margin of −10 percentage points and at a one-sided alpha level of 0.025.”
“This double-blind, randomized, noninferiority trial was conducted at the Kenya Medical Research Institute−Wellcome Trust Research Programme Clinical Trials Facility in Kilifi County, Kenya, and the Epicenter Mbarara Research Centre in Mbarara City, Uganda.”
“Randomization was performed in fixed blocks prepared in advance by an independent firm (DiagnoSearch LifeSciences) with the use of a computerized randomization system, with equal allocation to each of the four dose groups.”
“we estimated that 120 participants per dose group would provide the trial with 90% power to determine noninferiority at a margin of −10 percentage points and at a one-sided alpha level of 0.025.”
“This double-blind, randomized, noninferiority trial was conducted at the Kenya Medical Research Institute−Wellcome Trust Research Programme Clinical Trials Facility in Kilifi County, Kenya”
The paper reports sex (62% women) and age (mean 39.7 years) in Table 1, and health status (HIV, previous medical illness) is partially reported. However, weight is not reported, and race/ethnicity is not mentioned. For a human trial, these are expected but not critical for vaccine response. The absence of weight and race/ethnicity constitutes incomplete reporting of biological variables.
“The mean (±SD) age at enrollment was 39.7±11.5 years, the majority of the participants (296 [62%]) were women, and 38 (8%) were HIV-positive at baseline.”
The paper lists four ethics committees that approved the trial protocol. However, there is no explicit statement that informed consent was obtained from participants. The paper mentions community meetings but not individual consent. Regulatory compliance with the Declaration of Helsinki or other frameworks is not explicitly stated, though regulatory approvals are mentioned.
“The trial protocol was reviewed and approved by the Oxford Tropical Research Ethics Committee, the Kenya Medical Research Institute Scientific and Ethics Review Unit, Mbarara University of Science and Technology Research Ethics Committee, and the Uganda National Council of Sciences and Technology.”
“Regulatory approval was obtained from the Kenya Pharmacy and Poisons Board and the Uganda National Drug Authority.”
“The trial protocol was reviewed and approved by the Oxford Tropical Research Ethics Committee, the Kenya Medical Research Institute Scientific and Ethics Review Unit, Mbarara University of Science and Technology Research Ethics Committee, and the Uganda National Council of Sciences and Technology.”
“The trial protocol was reviewed and approved by the Oxford Tropical Research Ethics Committee, the Kenya Medical Research Institute Scientific and Ethics Review Unit, Mbarara University of Science and Technology Research Ethics Committee, and the Uganda National Council of Sciences and Technology.”
“Regulatory approval was obtained from the Kenya Pharmacy and Poisons Board and the Uganda National Drug Authority.”
The vaccine is identified as 'Institut Pasteur de Dakar 17D-204 yellow fever vaccine' with doses specified. However, the method for preparing the fractional doses is only referenced to the supplementary appendix. No lot number or formulation details are given in the main text. The statistical software used for analysis is not mentioned. These omissions result in a fail as no applicable sub-criterion is fully adequate.
“The participants were randomly assigned to receive vaccination with yellow fever vaccine at a full standard dose (13,803 IU) or at a fractionated dose of 1000 IU, 500 IU, or 250 IU.”
“the Institut Pasteur de Dakar 17D-204 yellow fever vaccine at a standard dose (13,803 IU) or at a fractional dose of 1000 IU, 500 IU, or 250 IU.”
The paper reports differences in seroconversion rates with 95% confidence intervals, which is standard for noninferiority trials. The power analysis and alpha level are stated. Assumptions are handled by design (large sample, binary outcome). Exact p-values are not reported because the primary analysis uses confidence intervals, which is acceptable. Statistical software is not identified, which is a minor gap. Data presentation includes per-group n and confidence intervals.
“Noninferiority was shown if the lower boundary of the 95% confidence interval of the difference in the incidence of seroconversion was greater than −10 percentage points.”
“Noninferiority was shown if the lower boundary of the 95% confidence interval of the difference in the incidence of seroconversion was greater than −10 percentage points.”
“The difference in the incidence of seroconversion between the 1000-IU dose and the standard dose was 0.01 percentage points (95% CI, −5.0 to 5.1) in the intention-to-treat population”
“Noninferiority was shown if the lower boundary of the 95% confidence interval of the difference in the incidence of seroconversion was greater than −10 percentage points.”
The paper states 'A data sharing statement provided by the authors is available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org' but does not specify the content of that statement. Without knowing the details, this is insufficient. The trial registration number is provided, but that is not a data repository. No code sharing is mentioned. For a clinical trial, a concrete data access mechanism (e.g., managed access platform) is expected.
The trial is registered at ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT04059471). Methods are sufficiently detailed for replication. All pre-specified outcomes are reported, including negative findings for the 250-IU dose in per-protocol analysis. Limitations are explicitly discussed (statistical power, generalizability, long-term follow-up). Conclusions are proportional to the evidence. Funding and conflicts of interest are disclosed. The only missing element is reference to a reporting guideline (e.g., CONSORT), which is minor.
“NIFTY ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT04059471”
“Our trial has limitations, including with regard to statistical power.”
“NIFTY ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT04059471”
“Supported by grants from the European and Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP- RIA2016V-1633) and the Wellcome Trust (203077_Z_16_Z).”
“NIFTY ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT04059471”
“Our trial has limitations, including with regard to statistical power.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 18 references by DOI: 16 verified — 2 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIYellow fever vaccine: WHO position on the use of fractional doses — June 2017No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA simple micro-culture method for the study of group B arbovirusesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
2 data/code links checked; 1 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT04059471LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://www.nejm.org/UNVERIFIEDHTTP 403Liveness indeterminate — content not checked.
Copyediting
10 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 10 minor suggestions below.
10 copyedit issues flagged: mostly typo, consistency, clarity.
- MINORtypoResults, paragraph 2“factional doses”→ fractional dosesTypo: 'factional' should be 'fractional'.
- MINORtypoMethods, Statistical Analysis“postran-domization”→ post-randomizationUnnecessary hyphen and misspelling: 'postran-domization' should be 'post-randomization'.
- MINORconsistencyTable 2 footnote“The widths of the confidence intervals were not adjusted for multiplicity and may not be used in place of hypothesis testing except for the day-28 and safety outcomes.”→ The widths of the confidence intervals were not adjusted for multiplicity and may not be used in place of hypothesis testing, except for the day-28 and safety outcomes.Add a comma for clarity.
- MINORtypoMethods, Trial Design and Participants“see the in the , available with the full text”→ see the Supplementary Appendix, available with the full textIncomplete sentence placeholder.
- MINORconsistencyFunding section“EDCTP- RIA2016V-1633”→ EDCTP-RIA2016V-1633Extra space in grant number.
- MINORclarityMethods, Trial Oversight“The funders had no role in the trial design, data collection and analysis, preparation of the manuscript, or decision to submit the manuscript for publication.”→ No change needed, but consider adding a period after the sentence.Sentence is clear.
- MINORtypoResults, Immunogenicity“factional doses”→ fractional dosesMisspelling of 'fractional'.
- MINORclarityMethods, Trial Procedures“see the in the , available with the full text”→ Repair the broken cross-reference to the supplementary appendix (e.g., 'see the Supplementary Appendix, available with the full text').The sentence contains a garbled XREF artifact: 'see the in the , available'.
- MINORconsistencyResults vs. Table 3“75 (63%) of the participants in the 500-IU group”→ Align the rounding with Table 3 (75 (62)) or state 62.5%.75/120 = 62.5%; the text rounds up to 63% while Table 3 rounds to 62%.
- MINORotherEnd of article“up.”→ Remove the stray fragment.A dangling 'up.' fragment appears before the figures section.
As a post-publication audit, the published trial is robust: its design, analysis, and conclusions hold up, and an informed reader should treat the reported results as credible. The main things a reader should weigh are the documentation gaps — the absence of an explicit informed-consent statement, the data-sharing statement that only points to NEJM.org without stating access conditions, and the unnamed statistical software/test — which are reporting deficiencies that would warrant a correction/clarification note rather than a retraction-level concern. The minor 500-IU rounding inconsistency (63% text vs 62% Table 3) is benign.
- 1.HIGHethicsAdd a correction/clarification note (Methods, Trial Design and Participants or Trial Oversight) explicitly stating that written informed consent was obtained from all participants and describing the consent process.All three reviewers flagged that no informed-consent statement appears in the text, which is a required reporting element for a human trial.
- 2.HIGHdata codePublish the actual data sharing statement content in the article, specifying the concrete access route (e.g., managed-access platform, data-access committee, request conditions and timeframe) rather than only referencing a statement at NEJM.org.The current statement is a placeholder that does not tell readers how to obtain the data, which is the dimension's single failing criterion.
- 3.HIGHstatisticsAdd a correction note naming the statistical software and version (e.g., Stata, R, SAS) used for the noninferiority analyses in the Statistical Analysis section.All three reviewers noted the software is not identified, and this is a reproducibility-relevant detail for a clinical trial.
- 4.MEDIUMstatisticsName the specific noninferiority test used for the CI-based comparison (e.g., score or Wald-type test for the difference in proportions) in the Statistical Analysis section.Reviewer 2 specifically requested the test be named; while the CI-based approach is adequate, naming the test improves reproducibility.
- 5.MEDIUMrigorReport body weight (or body mass index) in Table 1 baseline characteristics, or state that it was not collected and why, and add a justification for the absence of race/ethnicity data.Two reviewers flagged the missing weight and race/ethnicity as an incomplete reporting of biological variables.
- 6.MEDIUMreportingReference the CONSORT reporting guideline in the Methods and state that the manuscript conforms to it, ideally with the checklist as supplementary material.All three reviewers noted the absence of a reporting-guideline reference, a minor but expected element for a published RCT.
- 7.LOWreportingAdd an explicit statement of adherence to the Declaration of Helsinki or another recognized ethical framework in the Trial Oversight section.Reviewer 2 noted regulatory approvals are stated but framework adherence is not explicitly declared.
- 8.LOWreportingState the conflict-of-interest declaration in the text (e.g., 'The authors declare no competing interests') rather than only referencing disclosure forms.Reviewer 2 noted the COI text is only available via disclosure forms, not in the article itself.
- 9.LOWcopyeditFix the typo 'factional' → 'fractional' in Results, paragraph 2 and Results, Immunogenicity.Misspelling of the key term 'fractional' appears twice in the copyedit pass.
- 10.LOWcopyeditRepair the broken cross-reference 'see the in the , available with the full text of this article at NEJM.org' → 'see the Supplementary Appendix, available with the full text...' in Methods, Trial Design and Participants and Trial Procedures.The garbled XREF artifact leaves incomplete sentences that obscure where dose-preparation details are located.
- 11.LOWcopyeditFix the extra space in the grant number 'EDCTP- RIA2016V-1633' → 'EDCTP-RIA2016V-1633' in the Funding section.Inconsistent grant-number formatting in the funding acknowledgment.
- 12.LOWcopyeditReconcile the 500-IU adverse-event proportion rounding (Results text '75 (63%)' vs Table 3 '75 (62)'; 75/120 = 62.5%) so the two agree, and fix the residual 'postran-domization' typo and the dangling 'up.' fragment.The integrity check flagged the rounding as a low-severity internal inconsistency, and the copyedit pass flagged the typo and stray fragment.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.