BCG Revaccination for the Prevention of Mycobacterium tuberculosis Infection.
Schmidt AC, Fairlie L, Hellström E, Luabeya Kany Kany A, Middelkoop K, Naidoo K, Nair G, Gela A, Nemes E, Scriba TJ, Cinar A, Frahm N, Mogg R, Kaufman D, Dunne MW, Hatherill M, BCG REVAX Study Team
- DOI
- 10.1056/NEJMoa2412381
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-22
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/e013b1c3-4854-4fb0-9a7a-1e5228cac79a is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×6−3★
- ReportingData & code availability not met−0.5★
- ReportingBiological variables partially met−0.25★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- ReportingKey resources partially met−0.25★
- 01Data and code not shared
No data availability statement, repository deposit, or code sharing is provided. The trial is registered on ClinicalTrials.gov, but the paper does not state where data can be accessed.
- 02Internal contradictions in the reported numbers
The Discussion states the initial QFT conversion rate was 6.5-6.9% per person-year, but Table 1 reports incidence rates of 0.0069 and 0.0065 with person time in months; converting those rates to per-year gives approximately 7.8-8.3% per person-year, inconsistent with the text.
“The overall initial QFT conversion rate in this trial (6.5-6.9% per person-year) was lower than the 9.9% per person-year reported for the earlier trial.”
Table 1Find in source - 03Other integrity concern
Trial NCT02075203 was first submitted to ClinicalTrials.gov on 2014-02-17, after the registered study start date of 2014-02. Retrospective registration means the protocol and outcomes were not on the public record before the study ran, which is what prospective registration exists to establish.
NCT02075203
reviewer’s wording
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a rigorously designed and reported randomized phase 2b trial whose null primary result (BCG revaccination did not prevent sustained Mtb infection) is transparently reported and recomputes consistently. The main weaknesses are reporting and consistency gaps: no data availability statement, unnamed ethics committee and no explicit consent statement, unreported sex distribution and weight, unconfirmed proportional-hazards assumption, and several concrete internal numerical contradictions (BCG n=918 vs 919; 1836 vs 1835; incidence-rate units). These are fixable reporting/consistency issues rather than threats to the primary null conclusion.
Three independent reviewer runs were reconciled; reviewers converged on five dimensions and diverged on biological variables (fail vs warn), statistical analysis (warn vs pass), and reporting transparency (pass vs warn), here resolved toward warn by weighing the verifiable evidence. The statistics verification recomputed only 1 reported test (limited coverage; the remaining tests are unverified, not confirmed); citation checks found no retracted or unlocatable references; all 3 reproducibility links were live.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst mediumValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 1 test: 1 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 1 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p = .860 · recomputed p = .836Reviewer 1Recompute two-sided p-value from the reported HR and 95% CI using the pCI function, assuming a log-normal distribution for the HR.
“HR was 1.038 (95% CI 0.73 to 1.48)”
Taken as given: The CI is a 95% confidence interval for the hazard ratio.; The HR is log-normally distributed.; The p-value is two-sided (the paper reported one-sided P=0.58, so two-sided is approximately 0.86, which is consistent with the CI crossing 1).Method: pCI function from the two-sided 95% CI of the HR, with log=1 for a ratio.How we recomputed it: pCI(1.038, 0.73, 1.48, 1)
- mediuminternal contradictionThe Discussion states the initial QFT conversion rate was 6.5-6.9% per person-year, but Table 1 reports incidence rates of 0.0069 and 0.0065 with person time in months; converting those rates to per-year gives approximately 7.8-8.3% per person-year, inconsistent with the text.
“The overall initial QFT conversion rate in this trial (6.5-6.9% per person-year) was lower than the 9.9% per person-year reported for the earlier trial.”
Table 1Find in source - lowinternal contradictionFigure 1 reports 1816 excluded from enrollment among 3653 screened and 1836 randomized; 1816 + 1836 = 3652, leaving one participant unaccounted. Similarly, 1752 in follow-up + 83 discontinued = 1835, not 1836.
Amongst 3653 screened individuals, 1816 were excluded from enrollment. ... A total of1836 were randomized 1:1 to BCG (n=919) or placebo (n=917).
Figure 1Breviewer’s wording - lowinternal contradictionThe BCG group count is inconsistent: Figure 1 legend says n=919 randomized to BCG, while the abstract and safety population table use n=918; 918+917=1835, not the reported 1836 enrolled.
A total of 1836 participants were enrolled; 918 participants received BCG and 917 received placebo. | A total of1836 were randomized 1:1 to BCG (n=919) or placebo (n=917).
Figure 1reviewer’s wording - lowinternal contradictionThe trial is described as 'double-blind' in the abstract but 'observer-blind' in Methods, with acknowledged inadvertent unblinding from BCG injection-site lesions.
This randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 2b trial | The trial was observer-blinded until the primary endpoint analyses were completed. Inadvertent unblinding occurred due to recognizable lesion formed at the BCG injection site.
Abstractreviewer’s wording - lowinternal contradictionThe number of participants randomized to BCG is reported as 918 in the abstract and 919 in the Results section, a discrepancy of 1 participant.
Abstract: '918 participants received BCG'; Results: 'A total of 1836 were randomized 1:1 to BCG (n=919) or placebo (n=917).'
Abstractreviewer’s wording
Overstated conclusions
1 finding · worst lowConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
7 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- partialReviewers 1, 2The differences in observed efficacy are unlikely due to differences in BCG strain, case definition, biospecimen processing, or assay performance.The Discussion states these were harmonized between trials, but no direct evidence is presented that they were identical; the claim is reasonable but not fully verified.Evidence: Discussion: 'The differences in observed efficacy are unlikely due to differences in BCG strain, case definition, biospecimen processing, or assay performance, which were intentionally harmonized.'
“The differences in observed efficacy are unlikely due to differences in BCG strain, case definition, biospecimen processing, or assay performance, which were intentionally harmonized.”
Discussion ¶1Find in source - partialReviewers 1, 2, 3Given that two randomized controlled trials observed a lack of VE, the evidence supporting BCG revaccination for the prevention of Mtb infection appears weakened.The claim relies on this trial's null result plus a second trial that is cited but not described in detail, so the evidence within this paper only partially supports the conclusion.Evidence: This trial's null primary result and a citation to a BCG revaccination trial in Brazil reporting absence of VE.
“Given that two randomized controlled trials in settings with different force of infection, geography, climate, exposure to environmental mycobacteria, ancestry and age, observed a lack of VE, the evidence supporting BCG revaccination for the prevention of Mtb infection appears weakened.”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2, 3BCG revaccination of IGRA-negative adolescents does not provide protection from sustained Mtb infection.The primary endpoint analysis (HR 1.038, 95% CI 0.73-1.48, one-sided P=0.58) directly supports the claim of no protection.Evidence: Results: primary VE point estimate -3.8% (95% CI -48.3% to 27.4%)
“BCG revaccination of IGRA-negative adolescents does not provide protection from sustained Mtb infection.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2, 3BCG revaccination induced Th1-cytokine-positive CD4 T cells.Immunogenicity data show increased frequencies of BCG-specific CD4 T cells expressing IFN-γ, TNF, IL-2, etc., compared to placebo.Evidence: Figure 3 and associated text describe increased CD4 T cell responses.
BCG revaccination increased the frequencies of antigen-specific CD4 T cells expressing any combination of IFN-γ, TNF, IL-2, IL-17, and IL-22, compared to placebo.
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewers 1, 3Adverse events were more frequent in the BCG group, mostly due to injection site reactions.Safety data show higher solicited injection-site AEs (77.8% vs 38.1%) and more unsolicited AEs in the BCG group.Evidence: Table 2 and text: 77.8% BCG vs 38.1% placebo for injection site symptoms.
Solicited local AEs were reported by 77.8% participants in the BCG group and 38.1% in the placebo group.
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2Geographical or ethnic differences between trials are unlikely to explain the observed differences in vaccine efficacy.The site-specific VE at the Worcester site, where 92.7% of the earlier trial was enrolled, was similar to the overall VE, directly weakening a geography-based explanation.Evidence: Site-specific VE at Worcester similar to overall VE.
“geographical or ethnic differences between trials are unlikely to explain the observed differences in vaccine efficacy, since the observed site-specific VE in this trial at the Worcester site where 92.7% of the earlier trial was enrolled, was similar to the overall VE observed in this trial.”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewer 3BCG revaccination did not provide any protection from Mtb infection as assessed by QFT, whether defined as sustained conversion, initial conversion, or conversion with higher IFN-γ thresholds.All exploratory efficacy definitions in the trial show no vaccine effect.Evidence: Initial conversion proportions 15.5% vs 14.7% (BCG vs placebo); threshold 4.0 IU/mL 6.9% vs 7.5%; sustained conversion HR 1.038 with CI crossing 1.
“BCG revaccination did not provide any protection from Mtb infection as assessed by QFT, whether defined as sustained conversion, initial conversion, or conversion with higher IFN-γ thresholds.”
DiscussionFind in source
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst mediumAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Other integrity concernAssessed
6 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- mediumotherTrial NCT02075203 was first submitted to ClinicalTrials.gov on 2014-02-17, after the registered study start date of 2014-02. Retrospective registration means the protocol and outcomes were not on the public record before the study ran, which is what prospective registration exists to establish.
NCT02075203
reviewer’s wording
Reporting gaps
4 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data and code not sharedAssessed
- Biological variables underreported (sex, age, strain)Assessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
- Key resources under-identified (antibodies, cell lines, RRIDs)Assessed
The introduction cites the prior phase 2 trial that showed a VE of 45% for sustained Mtb infection, and discusses the need for confirmation in a larger, more diverse population. It also addresses the limitations of the earlier trial, including small sample size and secondary endpoint. The current trial's objectives and hypotheses follow logically from the cited evidence.
“we set out to: a) confirm that BCG revaccination confers prevention of sustained Mtb infection in a larger population with expanded age range and geographical area; and b) identify candidate correlates of protection for this trial endpoint”
“In the absence of a licensed vaccine for the prevention of TB in adolescents and adults, we set out to: a) confirm that BCG revaccination confers prevention of sustained Mtb infection in a larger population with expanded age range and geographical area; and b) identify candidate correlates of protection for this trial endpoint”
“the sample size per treatment arm was approximately 3 times larger; the age range increased to include 10- and 11-year-olds; and the geographical footprint expanded”
Randomization method and unit are reported, as is the observer-blind design with the caveat of inadvertent unblinding. The power calculation is explicit (90% power, one-sided alpha 2.5%, 118 events). Inclusion criteria are summarized and the mITT population and missing completely at random assumption are defined. The clinical-trial-specific not-applicable items (biological-replicate distinction, wet-lab controls, independent replication) are appropriately marked.
“Randomization to BCG or placebo was assigned using a validated Interactive Voice/Web Response System. The trial was observer-blinded until the primary endpoint analyses were completed. Inadvertent unblinding occurred due to recognizable lesion formed at the BCG injection site.”
“The modified intention-to-treat (mITT) population included all participants who received the trial treatment and were QFT negative at the D71 visit, or at the first trial visit post D71 for which a QFT result was available.”
“Randomization to BCG or placebo was assigned using a validated Interactive Voice/Web Response System.”
“The trial was observer-blinded until the primary endpoint analyses were completed. Inadvertent unblinding occurred due to recognizable lesion formed at the BCG injection site.”
“The trial was designed to provide 90% power with a 1-sided alpha of 2.5% for the primary endpoint analysis. Assuming a true VE of 45%, at least 118 sustained QFT conversion events were required to demonstrate VE with a lower bound of zero”
The text gives median age, HIV/QFT-negative status, and the proportion self-identifying as Black African. Sex is referenced only as a randomization/stratification variable and is not reported as a baseline count or percentage. Weight is not reported, and the baseline table is referenced but not shown in the provided text.
“The median age was 13 years (range, 10-18) and most participants (1464 [79.8%]) self-identified as Black African.”
“most participants (1464 [79.8%]) self-identified as Black African.”
“The median age was 13 years (range, 10-18) and most participants (1464 [79.8%]) self-identified as Black African.”
“Randomization was stratified by age, sex, trial site, and school cluster (Worcester site only).”
“Randomization was stratified by age, sex, trial site, and school cluster (Worcester site only).”
“The median age was 13 years (range, 10-18) and most participants (1464 [79.8%]) self-identified as Black African.”
“Demographics and baseline characteristics were comparable between the two groups ().”
The paper says 'the trial was conducted in accordance with ... the IRB/IEC' but does not name the specific ethics committee that approved the study, nor does it provide a protocol number. Informed consent is only mentioned in a figure label ('informed consent form') but no description of the consent process is provided. Regulatory compliance with ICH GCP and SAHPRA is stated. For a human trial, these are important missing details.
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the International Council for Harmonization of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH) Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines, SAHPRA (South African Health Products Regulatory Authority) Regulations, the IRB/IEC, and other applicable country and local requirements.”
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the International Council for Harmonization of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH) Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines, SAHPRA (South African Health Products Regulatory Authority) Regulations, the IRB/IEC, and other applicable country and local requirements.”
“ICF, informed consent form; PC, post conversion; QFT, QuantiFERON-TB Test”
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the International Council for Harmonization of Technical Requirements for Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH) Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Guidelines, SAHPRA (South African Health Products Regulatory Authority) Regulations, the IRB/IEC, and other applicable country and local requirements.”
“ICF, informed consent form”
The BCG vaccine (BCG Danish 1331, AJ Vaccines, Copenhagen, Denmark) is identified with manufacturer and source. The placebo is not described in detail. No statistical software (e.g., SAS, R) is mentioned; only MedDRA version 26.0 is noted for coding AEs. For a clinical trial, the investigational product is adequately identified, but the absence of software identification is a minor gap.
“BCG (BCG Danish 1331 vaccine, AJ Vaccines, Copenhagen, Denmark)”
“BCG (BCG Danish 1331 vaccine, AJ Vaccines, Copenhagen, Denmark)”
“Immunogenicity was evaluated as the frequency of BCG-specific CD4 or CD8 T cells expressing one or more of the following cytokines: IFN-γ, tumor necrosis factor (TNF), interleukin (IL)-2, IL-17 and/or IL-22, by whole blood intracellular cytokine staining (WB-ICS) assay.”
“BCG (BCG Danish 1331 vaccine, AJ Vaccines, Copenhagen, Denmark)”
“by whole blood intracellular cytokine staining (WB-ICS) assay”
The primary analysis used a stratified log-rank test and stratified Cox model; HR, VE, and 95% CIs are reported, and P=0.58 is exact. Per-group n, CIs, and cumulative event curves are presented. The main omissions—statistical software and proportional-hazards diagnostics—do not undermine the primary results.
“The primary efficacy endpoint was analyzed using a log-rank test, stratified by sex and age group (10-11 years old, 12-14 years old, and >14 years old) to evaluate differences in distributions of event times between the BCG revaccination and placebo groups.”
“The observed HR was 1.038 (95% CI 0.73 to1.48), for a VE point estimate of −3.8% (95% CI −48.3% to 27.4%).”
“The primary efficacy endpoint was analyzed using a log-rank test, stratified by sex and age group (10-11 years old, 12-14 years old, and >14 years old) to evaluate differences in distributions of event times between the BCG revaccination and placebo groups.”
“The observed HR was 1.038 (95% CI 0.73 to1.48), for a VE point estimate of −3.8% (95% CI −48.3% to 27.4%).”
“one-sided P=0.58”
The paper mentions the ClinicalTrials.gov identifier NCT04152161 but does not include a data availability statement. There is no mention of data repository deposit, accession numbers, or code sharing. For a clinical trial, a data availability statement is expected, even if it refers to managed access. The absence of any such statement is a significant omission.
“Supported by Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation; ClinicalTrials.gov (http://clinicaltrials.gov/) Identifier NCT04152161”
“Under the grant conditions of the Foundation, a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 Generic License has already been assigned to the Author Accepted Manuscript version that might arise from this submission.”
Methods are sufficiently detailed for replication. The trial is registered with a number. All outcomes (primary, secondary, exploratory) are reported, including negative results. Limitations are discussed in the Discussion. Conclusions are proportional to the evidence. However, no explicit conflicts-of-interest statement is provided, and while a CONSORT diagram is included, the paper does not state that it follows CONSORT reporting guidelines. Funding is acknowledged.
“The VE point estimate for the primary endpoint was −0.038 (95% CI, −0.483 to 0.274)”
“ClinicalTrials.gov (http://clinicaltrials.gov/) Identifier NCT04152161”
“Other limitations include that enrollment was paused for four months due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, and schools were closed for several additional months , which may have contributed to a lower incidence rate.”
“ClinicalTrials.gov (http://clinicaltrials.gov/) Identifier NCT04152161”
“Other limitations include that enrollment was paused for four months due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, and schools were closed for several additional months , which may have contributed to a lower incidence rate.”
“Detailed eligibility criteria are described in the and protocol at nejm.org (http://nejm.org/) .”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov). Reporting guideline cited: CONSORT.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 15 references by DOI: 9 verified — 6 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIOverlooked, dismissed, and downplayed: reversion of Mycobacterium tuberculosis immunoreactivityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe quest for vaccine-induced immune correlates of protection against tuberculosisNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDivision of AIDS (DAIDS) Table for Grading the Severity of Adult and Pediatric Adverse Events, Corrected Version 2.1No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe impact of COVID-19 in education–more than a year of disruptionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBCG vaccination scars: incidence and acceptance amongst British high-school childrenNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBCG revaccination study in high-risk adults to begin in 23 statesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
3 data/code links checked; 3 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02075203LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04152161LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://clinicaltrials.gov/LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
1 finding · worst lowWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
- Wording or formatting errors that need correctingAssessed
11 copyedit issues flagged (2 major): mostly consistency, clarity, typo.
- MAJORconsistencyAbstract vs Figure 1 legend“A total of 1836 participants were enrolled; 918 participants received BCG and 917 received placebo.”→ Reconcile the BCG group n: Figure 1 legend reports n=919 randomized, while the abstract and safety tables use n=918; state that one randomized participant did not receive treatment or correct the count.The sum 918+917=1835 differs from the reported 1836 enrolled.
- MAJORclarityMethods, Participants“Detailed eligibility criteria are described in the and protocol at nejm.org (http://nejm.org/) .”→ Revise to 'Detailed eligibility criteria are described in the protocol and Supplementary Appendix at nejm.org.'Garbled sentence with missing words and unclear reference.
- MINORtypoAbstract, Results“A total of1836 participants were enrolled”→ A total of 1836 participants were enrolledMissing space after 'of'
- MINORconsistencyAbstract vs Results“918 participants received BCG and 917 received placebo”→ 919 participants received BCG and 917 received placeboInconsistent with the later statement that 919 were randomized to BCG
- MINORclarityMethods, Statistical analysis“AEs in different categories were summarized by treatment groups and the 95% CI were calculated for a single proportion using the mid-p binomial option.”→ AEs in different categories were summarized by treatment group, and 95% CIs were calculated for a single proportion using the mid-p binomial option.Grammar: 'CI were' should be 'CIs were'
- MINORtypoMethods, Participants“A total of1836 were randomized 1:1 to BCG (n=919) or placebo (n=917).”→ Insert a space: 'A total of 1836'.Missing space after 'of'.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract vs Methods“This randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 2b trial”→ Align blinding terminology: Methods describes the trial as 'observer-blind'; explain whether participants were also blinded or use 'observer-blind' consistently.Inadvertent unblinding from BCG injection-site lesions is acknowledged in Methods.
- MINORclarityMethods, Participants“Detailed eligibility criteria are described in the and protocol at nejm.org”→ Complete the reference to the supplementary appendix or protocol location.The sentence appears truncated.
- MINORtypoResults, Participant Disposition (Figure 1)“A total of1836 were randomized”→ A total of 1836 were randomizedMissing space after 'of'.
- MINORconsistencyMethods, Statistical analysis and Results“1-sided alpha / one-sided P=0.58”→ Use 'one-sided' consistently throughout.Mixed terminology for the same concept.
- MINORotherEnd of manuscript“Supplementary Material Supp”→ Replace with a proper references list or delete placeholder.Placeholder text at the end of the manuscript.
As a published work, the paper is methodologically robust at its core — the primary null result is credible, the reported test recomputes consistently, and the trial was pre-registered — so an informed reader should not doubt the central conclusion. However, the verifiable internal contradictions in participant counts (n=918 vs 919; 1836 vs 1835) and the incidence-rate units (Discussion 6.5-6.9% vs Table 1 ~7.8-8.3% per person-year), together with the absent data availability statement and unnamed ethics committee, warrant a formal correction/erratum and an independent re-check of the disposition data before the paper is relied upon for pooling or meta-analysis.
- 1.HIGHdata codeAdd a Data Availability statement describing the managed-access route for de-identified participant data (e.g., a named data-access committee or controlled-access platform) with request conditions and timeframe.The paper contains no data availability statement, repository deposit, or code-sharing route, which is a required element for a data-driven clinical trial.
- 2.HIGHrigorReconcile the BCG group count (n=918 in the abstract/safety tables vs n=919 in Figure 1) and the enrollment/follow-up sums (1836 enrolled but 918+917=1835; 1752+83=1835) across the abstract, Results, and Figure 1.These are verifiable impossible-number contradictions in participant disposition that undermine the integrity of the CONSORT accounting.
- 3.HIGHrigorReconcile the Discussion's '6.5-6.9% per person-year' initial QFT conversion rate with Table 1's person-month-based incidence rates (which imply ~7.8-8.3% per person-year); correct the text or the table units.The text and table report inconsistent incidence rates for the same quantity, a concrete internal contradiction an informed reader can verify.
- 4.HIGHethicsName the specific IRB/research ethics committee(s) that approved the protocol and include the protocol/approval number; add an explicit statement that written informed consent/assent was obtained from participants and parents/guardians.The Trial oversight section cites ICH GCP/SAHPRA/IRB-IEC but names no approving committee and gives no consent statement, a required reporting element for a human trial.
- 5.HIGHreportingReport the sex distribution (n, %) and weight or BMI in the baseline characteristics table; the text currently reports only age and race, with sex appearing only as a stratification variable.Sex and weight are relevant baseline biological variables whose absence prevents assessment of group comparability.
- 6.HIGHcopyeditFix the garbled methods sentence in the Participants section — 'Detailed eligibility criteria are described in the and protocol at nejm.org' — to refer clearly to the protocol and Supplementary Appendix.This truncated sentence is a major clarity defect in the Methods that would read as an error in print.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingIdentify the antibodies (clone, fluorophore, vendor, dilution/RRID) and flow-cytometry analysis software (e.g., FlowJo version) used in the whole-blood ICS immunogenicity assay, in Methods or the Supplement.The WB-ICS assay is described without antibody details, preventing replication of the immunogenicity endpoint.
- 8.MEDIUMstatisticsIdentify the statistical software and version (e.g., SAS 9.4, R) used for all analyses in the Statistical Analysis section.No statistical software is named, a routine reporting requirement for reproducibility.
- 9.MEDIUMstatisticsState how the proportional-hazards assumption was assessed for the stratified Cox model (e.g., Schoenfeld residuals) or explicitly note that it was not tested.The primary analysis uses a Cox model, but the PH assumption is not discussed, leaving the primary model's validity unverified.
- 10.MEDIUMreportingAdd a statement that the trial is reported per CONSORT 2010 and cite the completed checklist.No reporting guideline is acknowledged despite the RCT design and CONSORT flow diagram.
- 11.MEDIUMreportingAdd a conflicts-of-interest declaration for all authors.Funding is acknowledged but no COI statement is present, a standard transparency requirement.
- 12.MEDIUMcopyeditReconcile the 'double-blind' terminology in the abstract with the 'observer-blind' description in Methods, and explain whether participants were blinded given the acknowledged unblinding from injection-site lesions.The abstract and Methods describe the blinding inconsistently, which could mislead readers about the blinding level.
- 13.LOWcopyeditFix the missing spaces ('A total of1836') and the grammar ('CI were' → 'CIs were').Minor typos that a copyedit should catch before publication.
- 14.LOWcopyeditReplace the 'Supplementary Material Supp' placeholder at the end of the manuscript with a proper references list or delete it.Placeholder text would be published as-is otherwise.
- 15.LOWotherAcknowledge that the underpinning prior trial (NCT02075203) was retrospectively registered (submitted 2014-02-17 after the registered 2014-02 start) and note this when weighing the confirmatory rationale.Retrospective registration of the prior trial means its protocol and outcomes were not on the public record before it ran, which an informed reader should weigh.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.