Pyrotinib or placebo in combination with trastuzumab and docetaxel for HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer: long term survival results from randomised phase 3 PHILA trial.
Ma F, Yan M, Li W, Ouyang Q, Tong Z, Teng Y, Wang Y, Wang S, Geng C, Luo T, Zhong J, Zhang Q, Liu Q, Zeng X, Sun T, Mo Q, Zhou S, Li P, Cheng J, Wang X, Nie J, Yang J, Wu X, Wang X, Li H, Yao G, Fan Y, Lin J, Zhu X, Xu B
- DOI
- 10.1136/bmj-2025-087259
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-22
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/e1809e69-58e5-45b3-a129-342b892ad013 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- ReportingBiological variables not met−0.5★
- ReportingKey resources partially met−0.25★
- ReportingStatistical analysis partially met−0.25★
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run on this paper: the pass that reads its reported means did not complete. No reported mean was checked for arithmetic impossibility.
- 01Biological variables not reported
The paper reports sex (all female) and age range, but fails to provide a justification for the single-sex design, does not report weight or detailed demographics (race/ethnicity, comorbidities), and relies on a previous report for baseline characteristics, which is insufficient for this paper.
“590 female patients with untreated HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer.”
AbstractFind in source
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-designed, adequately reported phase 3 randomised controlled trial whose central efficacy/safety findings rest on sound methodology: centralised randomisation, triple blinding, a pre-specified power analysis, ethics approval, trial registration, a live data-deposit link, and internally consistent recomputed statistics. The principal rigor gaps are in the reporting of biological variables — no scientific justification for the female-only enrolment, no weight/BMI, and no baseline demographics table in this paper — plus imprecise reporting of the primary PFS p-value as a threshold and traceability/reporting polish issues (an erroneous DOI attached to the data link, unverified proportional-hazards assumption, missing CONSORT reference).
Three independent runs of the same reviewing model plus a copyedit pass and specialised verification components were synthesised; reviewers agreed on six dimensions and diverged on three (biological variables fail-vs-warn, statistical analysis warn-vs-pass, data code availability warn-vs-pass), with the majority and most specific evidence adopted in each case. Statistics verification covered only 5 tests reported with a test statistic/df or effect+CI; threshold-only p-values (e.g., PFS P<0.001) and untested assumptions were not machine-verifiable and remain unverified rather than confirmed. Citation verification found 0 retracted and 0 not-found references among 25 checked.
Numerical inconsistencies
None foundValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Recomputed 5 tests: 5 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 5 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p = .004 · recomputed p = .004Reviewer 1Recompute one-sided p-value for overall survival hazard ratio from reported 95% CI.
“Overall survival was longer in the pyrotinib group (hazard ratio 0.64 (95% confidence interval (CI) 0.46 to 0.89); nominal one-sided P=0.004).”
Taken as given: The hazard ratio is reported as 0.64 with 95% CI 0.46 to 0.89.; The CI is a two-sided 95% confidence interval on the log scale.; The p-value is one-sided, so we divide the two-sided p-value by 2.Method: pCI function computes the two-sided p-value from the estimate and CI on the log scale; result is divided by 2 for one-sided.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.64, 0.46, 0.89, 1) / 2 - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 1Recompute one-sided p-value for progression-free survival hazard ratio from reported 95% CI.
“Improvement in progression-free survival in the pyrotinib group was maintained (22.1 months (95% CI 19.3 to 27.8) v 10.5 months (9.5 to 12.4), hazard ratio 0.44 (95% CI 0.36 to 0.53); nominal one sided P<0.001).”
Taken as given: The hazard ratio is reported as 0.44 with 95% CI 0.36 to 0.53.; The CI is a two-sided 95% confidence interval on the log scale.; The p-value is one-sided, so we divide the two-sided p-value by 2.; The paper reports P<0.001, which is consistent with a very small p-value.Method: pCI function computes the two-sided p-value from the estimate and CI on the log scale; result is divided by 2 for one-sided.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.44, 0.36, 0.53, 1) / 2 - CONSISTENTreported p < .008 · recomputed p = .008Reviewer 3Recompute two-tailed p-value from the reported overall survival HR (0.64) and 95% CI (0.46-0.89) at the April 2024 cut-off.
“Overall survival was longer in the pyrotinib group (hazard ratio 0.64 (95% confidence interval (CI) 0.46 to 0.89); nominal one-sided P=0.004).”
Taken as given: The reported HR is on the log scale (ratio measure).; The 95% CI is two-sided and symmetric on the log scale.; The pCI function returns the two-tailed p-value from the estimated HR and its CI.Method: pCI computes the two-tailed p-value from the estimate and CI on the log scale; the reported one-sided p is half of the two-tailed p (0.008/2 = 0.004), consistent with the paper.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.64, 0.46, 0.89, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 3Recompute two-tailed p-value from the reported progression-free survival HR (0.44) and 95% CI (0.36-0.53) at the April 2024 cut-off.
“The pyrotinib group showed a sustained benefit in investigator assessed progression-free survival compared with the placebo group, with a median of 22.1 months (95% CI 19.3 to 27.8) versus 10.5 months (95% CI 9.5 to 12.4), and a hazard ratio of 0.44 (95% CI 0.36 to 0.53; nominal one sided P<0.001).”
Taken as given: The reported HR is on the log scale.; The 95% CI is two-sided and symmetric on the log scale.; The pCI function returns the two-tailed p-value.Method: pCI returns a two-tailed p-value of approx 0.0002; the reported one-sided P<0.001 is consistent with half of this value.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.44, 0.36, 0.53, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p < .036 · recomputed p = .035Reviewer 3Recompute two-tailed p-value from the reported overall survival HR (0.74) and 95% CI (0.56-0.98) at the May 2025 cut-off.
“Overall survival was longer in the pyrotinib group compared with placebo group (hazard ratio 0.74 (95% CI 0.56 to 0.98); nominal one sided P=0.02).”
Taken as given: The reported HR is on the log scale.; The 95% CI is two-sided and symmetric on the log scale.; The pCI function returns the two-tailed p-value.Method: pCI returns a two-tailed p-value of approx 0.036; the reported one-sided P=0.02 is consistent with half of this value (0.018 ≈ 0.02).How we recomputed it: pCI(0.74, 0.56, 0.98, 1)
Overstated conclusions
None found · partly checkedConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
Nothing surfaced — but not everything feeding this category ran (missing: surrogate-endpoint assessment), so read this as a partial clean bill.
9 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- supportedReviewers 1, 2Pyrotinib in combination with trastuzumab and docetaxel improves progression-free survival compared with placebo in combination with trastuzumab and docetaxel in patients with untreated HER2-positive metastatic breast cancer.The primary endpoint is investigator-assessed PFS, and the paper reports a hazard ratio of 0.44 (95% CI 0.36 to 0.53, one-sided P<0.001) with median PFS of 22.1 vs 10.5 months. The evidence is adequate.Evidence: Hazard ratio 0.44 (95% CI 0.36 to 0.53), nominal one-sided P<0.001, median PFS 22.1 vs 10.5 months.
“Improvement in progression-free survival in the pyrotinib group was maintained (22.1 months (95% CI 19.3 to 27.8) v 10.5 months (9.5 to 12.4), hazard ratio 0.44 (95% CI 0.36 to 0.53); nominal one sided P<0.001).”
Abstract ¶2Find in source - supportedReviewer 1Pyrotinib combination treatment improves overall survival compared with placebo combination.The paper reports a hazard ratio for OS of 0.64 (95% CI 0.46 to 0.89, one-sided P=0.004) with a clear separation of Kaplan-Meier curves. The evidence is adequate.Evidence: Hazard ratio 0.64 (95% CI 0.46 to 0.89), nominal one-sided P=0.004.
“Overall survival was longer in the pyrotinib group (hazard ratio 0.64 (95% confidence interval (CI) 0.46 to 0.89); nominal one-sided P=0.004).”
Abstract ¶1Find in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The safety profile of the pyrotinib-based regimen is consistent with interim findings and no new safety signals were identified.The paper reports that the safety profile remained consistent with the interim analysis, with no new safety signals. Detailed adverse event tables are provided. The evidence is adequate.Evidence: Safety data cut-off 30 April 2024; adverse event profiles consistent with interim analysis; no new safety signals identified.
“Adverse event profiles remained consistent with the interim analysis for type, frequency, and severity. After discontinuation of docetaxel, the overall incidence of adverse events decreased substantially.”
Discussion ¶3Find in source - supportedReviewer 1The long-term survival analysis confirms the superiority of the pyrotinib-based regimen.The long-term analysis with median follow-up of 45.5 months shows consistent and prolonged survival benefit, with HR for PFS 0.44 and OS 0.74. The evidence is adequate.Evidence: As of 30 May 2025, median follow-up 45.5 months; PFS HR 0.44 (95% CI 0.36 to 0.54), OS HR 0.74 (95% CI 0.56 to 0.98).
“As of 30 May 2025, with a median follow-up of 45.5 months, the pyrotinib based regimen showed consistent and prolonged survival benefit.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Pyrotinib combination improved overall survival in patients with untreated HER2-positive metastatic breast cancer.The claim is supported by the reported hazard ratio of 0.64 (95% CI 0.46 to 0.89; nominal one-sided P=0.004) at the first cut-off and 0.74 (0.56 to 0.98; P=0.02) at the second cut-off, with consistent survival rate differences.Evidence: HR 0.64 (0.46-0.89), P=0.004; 4-year OS rates 75% vs 64%; HR 0.74 (0.56-0.98), P=0.02 at 45.5 months follow-up.
“Overall survival was longer in the pyrotinib group (hazard ratio 0.64 (95% confidence interval (CI) 0.46 to 0.89); nominal one-sided P=0.004).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 2, 3The pyrotinib-based regimen is an effective treatment strategy for the initial treatment of HER2-positive metastatic breast cancer.The claim is supported by the demonstrated efficacy in PFS and OS, with consistent results across subgroups, and an acceptable safety profile.Evidence: PFS and OS benefits, safety profile, and subgroup analyses support the efficacy of the regimen.
“This analysis reinforces the efficacy of this dual anti-HER2 (pyrotinib plus trastuzumab) regimen as an effective treatment strategy for this patient population.”
ConclusionFind in source - supportedReviewer 3Pyrotinib plus trastuzumab and docetaxel shows superior overall survival compared with placebo plus trastuzumab and docetaxel in untreated HER2-positive metastatic breast cancer.The paper presents HR 0.64 (95% CI 0.46 to 0.89, nominal one-sided P=0.004) at the April 2024 cut-off and HR 0.74 (95% CI 0.56 to 0.98, P=0.02) at the May 2025 cut-off, both showing a statistically significant benefit. The Kaplan-Meier curves and survival rates support the claim.Evidence: Overall survival HR 0.64 (95% CI 0.46 to 0.89) and 0.74 (95% CI 0.56 to 0.98) with corresponding p-values.
“Overall survival was longer in the pyrotinib group (hazard ratio 0.64 (95% confidence interval (CI) 0.46 to 0.89); nominal one-sided P=0.004).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 3Improvement in progression-free survival with pyrotinib plus trastuzumab and docetaxel is maintained during long-term follow-up.The paper reports median PFS 22.1 vs 10.5 months, HR 0.44 (95% CI 0.36 to 0.53, P<0.001) at April 2024, and consistent benefit at May 2025 (HR 0.44, 95% CI 0.36 to 0.54). The PFS rates at 3-5 years are provided.Evidence: PFS HR 0.44 (95% CI 0.36 to 0.53) with nominal P<0.001, and long-term PFS rates.
“Improvement in progression-free survival in the pyrotinib group was maintained (22.1 months (95% CI 19.3 to 27.8) v 10.5 months (9.5 to 12.4), hazard ratio 0.44 (95% CI 0.36 to 0.53); nominal one sided P<0.001).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 3The safety profile of the pyrotinib-based regimen remains consistent with interim analysis, with no new safety signals.The paper states that adverse event profiles remained consistent with the interim analysis, and no new safety signals were identified. Detailed safety data are provided in tables and supplementary materials.Evidence: Safety data tables and statements in the Results and Discussion.
“Adverse event profiles remained consistent with the interim analysis for type, frequency, and severity.”
DiscussionFind in source
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
3 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Biological variables not reportedAssessed
- Statistical reporting gaps (tests, assumptions, effect sizes)Assessed
- Key resources under-identified (antibodies, cell lines, RRIDs)Assessed
Prior work is cited, including the landmark CLEOPATRA study. The rationale for dual anti-HER2 therapy with pyrotinib is logically presented. The paper explicitly notes that the interim analysis had only preliminary OS data, thus addressing a limitation of prior evidence.
“Among the dual anti-HER2 regimens, the combination of pertuzumab and trastuzumab along with docetaxel is the established standard of care for the initial treatment of patients with HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer, based on the landmark Clinical Evaluation of Pertuzumab and Trastuzumab (CLEOPATRA) study.”
“By targeting not only HER2 but also epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR/HER1) and HER4, pyrotinib offers a unique mechanism of action that may lead to sustained inhibition of HER signalling and enhanced antitumour effects compared with reversible HER2 targeted tyrosine kinase inhibitors.”
“The combination of pertuzumab and trastuzumab along with docetaxel is the established standard of care for the initial treatment of patients with HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer, based on the landmark Clinical Evaluation of Pertuzumab and Trastuzumab (CLEOPATRA) study.”
“Here, we present the prespecified final analysis of progression-free survival results, including overall survival, duration of response, and safety results after a longer follow-up period, as well as long term survival outcomes.”
“Dual anti-HER2 treatment, which combines two distinct components targeting HER2 with complementary mechanisms of action, has emerged as a cornerstone in the treatment of HER2 positive breast cancer.”
“This extended analysis aims to provide a more comprehensive understanding of the long term benefits and risks associated with the use of pyrotinib in combination with trastuzumab and docetaxel in the initial treatment of HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer.”
Randomization via centralised IWRS, unit is patient, double-blind, power analysis with 80% power for 4-month PFS increase, inclusion/exclusion criteria detailed, ITT analysis set defined. All 6 applicable sub-criteria are adequate.
“Randomisation was done through a centralised interactive web response system.”
“Patients, investigators, and the sponsor were blinded to treatment allocation.”
“Based on an assumption of a median progression-free survival of 12.5 months with trastuzumab and docetaxel, the study aimed to have 410 investigator assessed progression-free survival events to provide 80% power to detect a four month increase with the pyrotinib plus trastuzumab and docetaxel regimen (16.5 months, hazard ratio 0.76), at a one sided significance level of 0.025 for superiority.”
“Randomisation was done through a centralised interactive web response system.”
“Patients, investigators, and the sponsor were blinded to treatment allocation.”
“The study aimed to have 410 investigator assessed progression-free survival events to provide 80% power to detect a four month increase with the pyrotinib plus trastuzumab and docetaxel regimen (16.5 months, hazard ratio 0.76), at a one sided significance level of 0.025 for superiority.”
“Randomisation was done through a centralised interactive web response system.”
“Patients, investigators, and the sponsor were blinded to treatment allocation.”
Sex is reported (all female), but no scientific justification is given for the single-sex study, which is required per the checklist. Age range is given (18-75) and ECOG performance status is reported, but weight is not reported. Demographics such as race/ethnicity and comorbidities are not reported in this paper; the paper states 'Previous reports have indicated that the baseline characteristics of participants were generally similar between the two groups' without providing the actual data.
“590 female patients with untreated HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer.”
“Previous reports have indicated that the baseline characteristics of participants were generally similar between the two groups.”
“590 female patients with untreated HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer.”
“Participants aged 18 to 75 years with histologically confirmed HER2 positive recurrent or metastatic breast cancer, who had not received the treatment for this stage of the disease were eligible.”
“590 female patients with untreated HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer.”
“Previous reports have indicated that the baseline characteristics of participants were generally similar between the two groups.”
The paper states that the study was approved by the ethics committee of each study centre (referenced in supplementary table S9). Written informed consent was obtained from all patients. Adherence to the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice Guidelines is explicitly stated.
“This study was approved by the ethics committee of each study centre (see supplementary table S9) and was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice Guidelines.”
“All patients provided written informed consent.”
“This study was approved by the ethics committee of each study centre (see supplementary table S9) and was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice Guidelines.”
“All patients provided written informed consent.”
“This study was approved by the ethics committee of each study centre (see supplementary table S9) and was conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki and Good Clinical Practice Guidelines.”
“All patients provided written informed consent.”
The drugs (pyrotinib, trastuzumab, docetaxel) are named with doses and regimen, but their manufacturer/source is not stated in the Methods (only implied by sponsor). SAS version 9.4 is identified with vendor. Other resource criteria are not applicable.
“All statistical analyses were performed using SAS (SAS Institute), version 9.4 or higher.”
“oral pyrotinib (400 mg once daily) or placebo, both combined with intravenous trastuzumab (8 mg/kg in treatment cycle 1 and 6 mg/kg in subsequent cycles) and docetaxel on day 1 of each 21 day treatment cycle.”
“All statistical analyses were performed using SAS (SAS Institute), version 9.4 or higher.”
“Patients were randomly assigned in a 1:1 ratio to receive either oral pyrotinib (400 mg once daily) or placebo, both combined with intravenous trastuzumab (8 mg/kg in treatment cycle 1 and 6 mg/kg in subsequent cycles) and docetaxel on day 1 of each 21 day treatment cycle.”
“All statistical analyses were performed using SAS (SAS Institute), version 9.4 or higher.”
All statistical tests are named (log-rank, Cox, CMH). Assumptions are implicitly handled by the use of standard methods. Effect sizes with 95% CIs are reported for primary and secondary endpoints. SAS version is identified. Data are presented via Kaplan-Meier curves, forest plots, and tables. The p-value for progression-free survival is reported as 'nominal one sided P<0.001', which is not an exact value.
“The Kaplan-Meier method was used to estimate the time-to-event endpoints, including progression-free survival, overall survival, and duration of response, and the Brookmeyer Crowley method was used to calculate the corresponding 95% confidence intervals (CIs). The Kaplan-Meier method was also used to estimate the survival rates for progression-free survival and overall survival, with differences between groups assessed using the stratified log-rank test, and hazard ratios and corresponding 95% CIs determined using the stratified Cox proportional hazards model.”
“Overall survival was longer in the pyrotinib group (hazard ratio 0.64 (95% confidence interval (CI) 0.46 to 0.89); nominal one-sided P=0.004).”
“Improvement in progression-free survival in the pyrotinib group was maintained (22.1 months (95% CI 19.3 to 27.8) v 10.5 months (9.5 to 12.4), hazard ratio 0.44 (95% CI 0.36 to 0.53); nominal one sided P<0.001).”
“The Kaplan-Meier method was used to estimate the time-to-event endpoints, including progression-free survival, overall survival, and duration of response, and the Brookmeyer Crowley method was used to calculate the corresponding 95% confidence intervals (CIs). The Kaplan-Meier method was also used to estimate the survival rates for progression-free survival and overall survival, with differences between groups assessed using the stratified log-rank test, and hazard ratios and corresponding 95% CIs determined using the stratified Cox proportional hazards model.”
“Overall survival was longer in the pyrotinib group (hazard ratio 0.64 (95% confidence interval (CI) 0.46 to 0.89); nominal one-sided P=0.004).”
“nominal one sided P<0.001”
“Overall survival was longer in the pyrotinib group (hazard ratio 0.64 (95% confidence interval (CI) 0.46 to 0.89); nominal one-sided P=0.004).”
“All statistical analyses were performed using SAS (SAS Institute), version 9.4 or higher.”
The paper states: 'The anonymised individual patient data supporting the findings of this study are available in the Mendeley Data ( https://data.mendeley.com/datasets/62224ppy2z/1 ).' This is a concrete data availability statement with a repository. Code sharing is not applicable as the analysis used standard SAS procedures.
“The anonymised individual patient data supporting the findings of this study are available in the Mendeley Data ( https://data.mendeley.com/datasets/62224ppy2z/1 ).”
“The anonymised individual patient data supporting the findings of this study are available in the Mendeley Data ( https://data.mendeley.com/datasets/62224ppy2z/1 ).”
“The anonymised individual patient data supporting the findings of this study are available in the Mendeley Data ( https://data.mendeley.com/datasets/62224ppy2z/1 ).”
The methods section includes all key procedural details. The trial is registered (NCT03863223). Limitations are discussed (absence of pertuzumab control, need for biomarkers, median OS not reached). Conclusions are appropriately cautious. Funding sources and competing interests are fully disclosed. No explicit mention of CONSORT or other reporting guideline is made, but the paper includes a CONSORT-like flow diagram.
“One of the major limitations of this study was the absence of a control group using pertuzumab-trastuzumab combination treatment.”
“This study was funded by Jiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals, with partial support from the National Natural Science Foundation of China (92459304), CAMS Innovation Fund for Medical Sciences (CIFMS; 2021-I2M-1-014), and National High Level Hospital Clinical Research Funding (2025-LYZX-D-A02).”
“One of the major limitations of this study was the absence of a control group using pertuzumab-trastuzumab combination treatment.”
“Funding: This study was funded by Jiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals, with partial support from the National Natural Science Foundation of China (92459304), CAMS Innovation Fund for Medical Sciences (CIFMS; 2021-I2M-1-014), and National High Level Hospital Clinical Research Funding (2025-LYZX-D-A02).”
“One of the major limitations of this study was the absence of a control group using pertuzumab-trastuzumab combination treatment.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 25 references by DOI: 25 verified.
Every extracted reference resolved against Crossref/OpenAlex with no retraction flags.
1 data/code link checked; 1 live.
- dataMendeley DataLIVEHTTP 200https://data.mendeley.com/datasets/62224ppy2z/1Resolves to Mendeley Data (data repository).
Copyediting
8 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 8 minor suggestions below.
8 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, typo, other.
- MINORtypoConclusions, paragraph 1“for the initial treatment ofHER2 positive metastatic breast cancer.”→ Add a space: 'of HER2'Missing space after 'of'.
- MINORconsistencyAssociated Data, Data Availability Statement“https://data.mendeley.com/datasets/62224ppy2z/1 (10.1126/science.2470152)”→ The DOI 10.1126/science.2470152 appears to be incorrect or unrelated to the Mendeley dataset. Verify and correct.The DOI provided does not match the Mendeley dataset; likely a copy-paste error.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract“Ma Fei professor Yan Min professor Li Wei professor Ouyang Quchang professor Tong Zhongsheng professor Teng Yuee professor Wang Yongsheng professor Wang Shusen professor Geng Cuizhi professor Luo Ting professor Zhong Jincai professor Zhang Qingyuan professor Liu Qiang professor Zeng Xiaohua professor Sun Tao professor Mo Qinguo professor Zhou Shoubing professor Li Peidong professor Cheng Jing professor Wang Xiaojia professor Nie Jianyun professor Yang Jin professor Wu Xinhong professor Wang Xinshuai professor Li Huiping professor Yao Guangyu professor Fan Yang trial statistician Lin Jiaman assistant medical director Zhu Xiaoyu deputy general manager Xu Binghe professor”→ Reformat the author list with commas and proper capitalization (e.g., 'Ma Fei, Yan Min, Li Wei, ...') to improve readability.The author list appears as a run-on string without separators.
- MINORotherAbstract“392 e087259 e087259”→ Remove the extraneous duplicate text 'e087259 e087259'.This appears to be a formatting artifact from the journal template.
- MINORconsistencyAbstract“Accepted 2026 Feb 9; Collection date 2026”→ Verify that the acceptance date and collection date are correct and consistent with the journal's timeline.The date '2026 Feb 9' seems unusually far in the future relative to the submission date.
- MINORconsistencyData availability statement“The anonymised individual patient data supporting the findings of this study are available in the Mendeley Data ( https://data.mendeley.com/datasets/62224ppy2z/1 (10.1126/science.2470152) ).”→ Remove the extraneous DOI (10.1126/science.2470152) which appears to be from a different publication.This DOI does not correspond to the Mendeley dataset and may be a copy-paste error.
- MINORtypoDiscussion, Conclusions“the initial treatment ofHER2 positive metastatic breast cancer.”→ Insert a space after 'of': 'the initial treatment of HER2 positive metastatic breast cancer.'Missing space before 'HER2'.
- MINORotherAbstract, Objective“Design Multicentre, double blind, randomised, placebo controlled phase 3 trial.”→ Add hyphens: 'double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled'.Standard compound adjective formatting.
The published paper is robust on its core methods and results — a well-designed RCT with consistent recomputed statistics, documented ethics approval, trial registration, and a live data link — and no erratum-level validity threat is evident. An informed reader should weigh the unaddressed single-sex (female-only) design without justification, the absence of a baseline demographics table in this paper, the threshold-only reporting of the primary PFS p-value, and the erroneous DOI attached to the Mendeley data statement; of these, the incorrect DOI in the data availability statement is the clearest candidate for a published correction, and the biological-variables and threshold-p-value gaps would warrant clarification or an independent re-analysis of the primary endpoint.
- 1.HIGHdata codeRemove the erroneous DOI '10.1126/science.2470152' from the Mendeley data URL in both the Data Availability Statement and the Associated Data section, and verify the correct dataset identifier.The DOI is unrelated to the Mendeley dataset (likely a copy-paste error from a different publication) and misrepresents the data link, which is a discoverable reporting error in a published data-availability statement.
- 2.HIGHrigorAdd a scientific justification for the female-only enrolment (e.g., the rarity of male breast cancer) in the Methods or Discussion section.The absence of any rationale for the single-sex design is the primary driver of the biological_variables 'fail' and a legitimate reviewer/reader concern.
- 3.HIGHrigorReport weight/BMI and present a full baseline demographics table (age, sex, race/ethnicity, hormone-receptor status, comorbidities) in the Results rather than deferring to 'previous reports'.The paper currently does not contain its own baseline characteristics table, so demographic balance between arms cannot be assessed from this publication alone.
- 4.HIGHstatisticsReport the exact progression-free survival p-value instead of the threshold 'P<0.001' for the primary endpoint.A threshold-only p-value for a computed test is imprecise reporting and is what tipped statistical_analysis to 'warn'.
- 5.MEDIUMstatisticsVerify and report the proportional-hazards assumption for the stratified Cox models, or state that the method is robust to deviations.The assumption is not checked or discussed anywhere in the Methods, which is a standard expectation for Cox-model reporting.
- 6.MEDIUMrigorState the manufacturer/source of pyrotinib, trastuzumab, and docetaxel in the Methods (Procedures) section.Investigational products are named with doses but no source is given, leaving the key_resources 'reagents_identified' criterion inadequate.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingReference the CONSORT reporting guideline and state that the checklist was completed, in the Methods or a reporting statement.The paper follows CONSORT-like reporting but never cites the guideline, a minor but easily fixed transparency gap.
- 8.LOWdata codeConsider depositing the SAS analysis code (e.g., GitHub, Zenodo) referenced from the data availability statement.Sharing the analysis code would strengthen reproducibility of the PFS/OS analyses, even though it is not strictly required for a standard clinical trial.
- 9.LOWcopyeditFix the missing space in 'the initial treatment ofHER2 positive metastatic breast cancer' in the Conclusions and Discussion.Two instances of the same typo ('ofHER2') appear in the text and should be corrected in a published-correction pass.
- 10.LOWcopyeditReformat the Abstract author list, which appears as a run-on string without separators, with commas and proper capitalization.The author string is not readable as printed and is a formatting defect in the published version.
- 11.LOWcopyeditRemove the duplicated 'e087259 e087259' text in the Abstract.This is an extraneous journal-template formatting artifact that should be cleaned up.
- 12.LOWotherVerify that the published acceptance and collection dates ('Accepted 2026 Feb 9; Collection date 2026') are correct and consistent with the journal's timeline.The dates appear implausibly far in the future and may be a metadata error that should be checked against the journal record.
- 13.LOWcopyeditAdd hyphens to compound adjectives in the Abstract design line ('double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled phase 3 trial').The terms are printed without hyphens, which is non-standard compound-adjective formatting.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.