A Pragmatic Trial of Glucocorticoids for Community-Acquired Pneumonia.
Lucinde RK, Gathuri H, Mwaniki P, Orindi B, Otieno EO, Mwakio S, Mulemi L, Isaaka L, Shangala J, Saisi M, Isinde E, Oginga IN, Wachira AW, Manuthu E, Kariuki H, Asaava P, Nyikuli J, Wekesa C, Otedo A, Bosire H, Okoth SB, Ongalo W, Mukabi DM, Lusamba W, Muthui B, Adembesa I, Mithi C, Sood M, Aliyan NA, Gituma B, Matiko MG, Omondi CA, Ombajo LA, Kirui N, Ochola L, Abdi AI, Kagucia EW, English M, Hamaluba M, Ochola-Oyier I, Kamuya D, Bejon P, Barasa E, Agweyu A, Akech S, Etyang AO
- DOI
- 10.1056/NEJMoa2507100
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-21
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/e36aeff9-38ef-481a-9744-64b7e55e4482 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×4−2★
- ReportingKey resources not met−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability not met−0.5★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- LinksDead data/code link−0.25★
- 01Key resources not identified
The investigational glucocorticoids are named with doses but not with manufacturer/source; statistical software is not identified. This fails the resource identification criteria.
- 02Data and code not shared
No data availability statement, repository deposit, or code sharing is provided; the paper only mentions that the protocol is available at NEJM.org.
- 03Internal contradictions in the reported numbers
Table 1 shows notable imbalances in several baseline characteristics (hypertension, diabetes, congestive heart failure, pulse rate) between the two arms, yet the text claims 'The characteristics of participants at enrollment... were similar between the trial arms.' This requires explanation.
The characteristics of participants at enrollment... were similar between the trial arms. ... Hypertension: 47 (4.3) [control], 143 (13.1) [intervention]; Diabetes mellitus: 157 (14.4) [control], 50 (4.6) [intervention]
Table 1reviewer’s wording - 04Declared data/code link does not resolve
Dead link — nothing to verify.
“https://www.pactr.org/PACTR202111481740832”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This pragmatic open-label RCT of adjunctive glucocorticoids for CAP in Kenya is well-designed (central randomization, pre-specified power, verified statistical analyses) and transparent in most reporting dimensions. Its main weaknesses are the absence of a data-availability statement, incomplete identification of key resources (drug manufacturers, statistical software), and a missing explicit regulatory-compliance statement, plus an unreconciled baseline imbalance claim versus Table 1.
Two independent reviewer runs (same model) converged on all eight dimension statuses and the overall score; minor divergence on the open-label justification and the chronic-illness table consistency did not change any status. The statistics verification recomputed only 2 of the paper's tests (limited coverage); the citation check found no retracted or unlocatable references (29 checked).
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst mediumValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 2 tests: 2 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 1 recomputed directly from the reported test statistics, 1 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p = .021 · recomputed p = .016Recomputed hazard ratio 0.84 (95% CI 0.73–0.97), reported p=0.021
“hazard ratio 0.84 [95% CI, 0.73–0.97]; P=0.021”
Taken as given: 0.73–0.97 is a two-sided 95% confidence interval for the hazard ratio of 0.84, not a range, an IQR, or a different interval level; the hazard ratio is a RATIO measure, so the interval is symmetric on the log scale; p=0.021 is the p for THIS estimate, not for another comparison in the same sentenceMethod: back the two-tailed p out of the log-scale CI width and compare it against the printed pHow we recomputed it: pCI(0.84, 0.73, 0.97, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .072 · recomputed p = .061Reviewer 1Recompute p-value from 2x2 table of mortality at day 30 (crude analysis)
“There were 246/1089 (22.6%) deaths in the intervention arm and 284/1091 (26.0%) deaths in the control arm.”
Taken as given: The table is 2x2 with events (246, 284) and non-events (1089-246=843, 1091-284=807).; Pearson chi-square test is appropriate for this sample size.Method: Two-sided Pearson chi-square test with 1 degree of freedom from cell counts.How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(246, 843, 284, 807)
- mediuminternal contradictionTable 1 shows notable imbalances in several baseline characteristics (hypertension, diabetes, congestive heart failure, pulse rate) between the two arms, yet the text claims 'The characteristics of participants at enrollment... were similar between the trial arms.' This requires explanation.
The characteristics of participants at enrollment... were similar between the trial arms. ... Hypertension: 47 (4.3) [control], 143 (13.1) [intervention]; Diabetes mellitus: 157 (14.4) [control], 50 (4.6) [intervention]
Table 1reviewer’s wording - lowinternal contradictionThe number of participants with missing data for oxygen saturation (28+35=63) is given, but the total in the saturation categories (404+404+659+650+28+35=2180) sums correctly, though the text says 808 had low SpO2, but adding 404+404=808, which is consistent.
SpO2 <90: 404 (37.0) [control], 404 (37.1) [intervention]; SpO2 >=90: 659 (60.4) [control], 650 (59.7) [intervention]; SpO2 Missing: 28 (2.6) [control], 35 (3.2) [intervention]
Table 1reviewer’s wording - lowinternal contradictionThe sum of chronic illness subcategories (hypertension, diabetes, etc.) is less than the total chronic illness count for both arms, suggesting either missing subcategories or overlapping conditions not accounted for in the table.
Chronic illness , no. (%) | 398 (36.0) | 390 (35.8) ... Hypertension | 47 (4.3) | 143 (13.1) ... Others | 10 (0.9) | 42 (3.9)
Table 1reviewer’s wording
Overstated conclusions
None foundConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
6 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- supportedReviewers 1, 2Adjunctive glucocorticoid therapy among patients with community-acquired pneumonia in a low-resource setting was associated with a reduction in mortality compared to standard care.The primary outcome (HR 0.84, 95% CI 0.73-0.97, p=0.021) directly supports this claim.Evidence: Hazard Ratio 0.84, 95% CI 0.73-0.97, P=0.021 from ITT analysis.
“Adjunctive glucocorticoid therapy among patients with community-acquired pneumonia in a low-resource setting was associated with a reduction in mortality compared to standard care.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The trial is the largest and only one to date that has evaluated adjunctive glucocorticoids against a mortality endpoint among patients with CAP in a non-ICU setting.The paper describes the trial as the largest in a non-ICU setting and lists previous studies that did not have mortality as primary endpoint.Evidence: Discussion states: 'Our trial is to the best of our knowledge, the largest and only one to date that has evaluated adjunctive glucocorticoids against a mortality endpoint among patients with CAP in a non-ICU setting.'
“Our trial is to the best of our knowledge, the largest and only one to date that has evaluated adjunctive glucocorticoids against a mortality endpoint among patients with CAP in a non-ICU setting.”
Discussion ¶1Find in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The incidences of adverse events and serious adverse events were similar in the intervention and standard care arms.Table 2 shows similar numbers of AEs and SAEs across arms, and the text confirms no significant difference.Evidence: Table 2: Participants with SAEs: 48 (4.4%) in control vs 44 (4.0%) in intervention.
“The incidences of adverse events and serious adverse events (SAEs) were similar in the intervention and standard care arms.”
Table 2Find in source - supportedReviewer 1Glucocorticoids have been reported to be safe when used in the management of severe CAP, reversible hyperglycemia being the main side effect.The paper's safety data show hyperglycemia as a common adverse event in the intervention arm, and no excess of SAEs, consistent with the literature.Evidence: Table 2: Hyperglycemia in intervention arm: 35 events (16.6%). SAEs related to glucocorticoids: 5 participants (<1%).
Glucocorticoids have been reported to be safe when used in the management of severe CAP, reversible hyperglycemia being the main side effect.
Discussion ¶3reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 1Our results are consistent in identifying a beneficial effect of glucocorticoids in the management of CAP.The primary result (HR 0.84) is directionally consistent with prior meta-analyses (HR 0.62), though the effect size is smaller.Evidence: Discussion: 'While the effect size was lower than that in previous reports ... our results are consistent in identifying a beneficial effect.'
“While the effect size was lower than that in previous reports from France (HR 0.53) , Egypt (HR 0.22) and from a meta-analysis of twelve trials (HR 0.62) , our results are consistent in identifying a beneficial effect of glucocorticoids in the management of CAP.”
Discussion ¶1Find in source - supportedReviewer 2The results are likely to be more relevant to sub-Saharan Africa settings.The trial was conducted in Kenyan hospitals under pragmatic conditions, reflecting real-world constraints in low-resource settings. This claim is reasonable and supported by the study design.Evidence: Discussion: 'The pragmatic nature of this trial, designed to reflect real-world conditions in low-resource settings, means that the results are likely to be more relevant to sub-Saharan Africa settings.'
“The pragmatic nature of this trial, designed to reflect real-world conditions in low-resource settings, means that the results are likely to be more relevant to sub-Saharan Africa settings.”
Discussion ¶3Find in source
Efficacy claim is anchored to an adequate endpoint and a meaningful effect.
- ADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary endpoint is 30-day all-cause mortality, a hard clinical outcome, not a surrogate.
“The primary outcome was mortality 30 days after enrollment.”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizeHR 0.84 (95% CI 0.73-0.97) with absolute mortality reduction from 26.0% to 22.6%, statistically significant and clinically meaningful in a high-mortality setting.
“hazard ratio 0.84 [95% CI, 0.73–0.97]; P=0.021”
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Data look implausibly cleanAssessed
4 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- lowdata too cleanThe baseline characteristics show notable imbalance in hypertension and diabetes prevalence between arms (control: hypertension 4.3%, diabetes 14.4%; intervention: hypertension 13.1%, diabetes 4.6%). While random variation can cause such imbalances, the pattern is striking.
Hypertension | 47 (4.3) | 143 (13.1) ... Diabetes mellitus | 157 (14.4) | 50 (4.6)
Table 1reviewer’s wording
Reporting gaps
3 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data and code not sharedAssessed
- Key resources not identifiedAssessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
The background cites prior trials and systematic reviews on glucocorticoids for CAP, notes the higher mortality in sub-Saharan Africa, and identifies gaps such as exclusion of HIV/TB patients, older age, and ICU focus. The rationale for the trial is logically linked to these gaps.
“Data from two recently published trials and systematic reviews of adjunctive hydrocortisone in CAP requiring intensive care unit (ICU) admission – , indicate reduced mortality among these patients.”
“We conducted a pragmatic randomized controlled trial to evaluate the effectiveness and safety of adjunctive low-dose glucocorticoids among adult patients hospitalized with CAP in Kenya.”
“Data from two recently published trials and systematic reviews of adjunctive hydrocortisone in CAP requiring intensive care unit (ICU) admission – , indicate reduced mortality among these patients. However, uncertainty remains as other studies , showed no benefit.”
“First, previous trials were conducted among significantly older patients than those in sSA, excluding patients with comorbidities that are common among CAP patients in sSA such as human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection and pulmonary tuberculosis.”
Randomization was performed centrally by an independent statistician using sealed opaque envelopes. The unit of randomization is the individual patient. The trial is open-label, which is acknowledged and justified by the pragmatic nature. An a priori power calculation (85% power, 25% relative reduction) is provided. Inclusion and exclusion criteria are explicitly defined. Missing data are handled under a missing-at-random assumption with sensitivity analyses. For a human RCT, all applicable criteria are met.
“A randomization list was prepared centrally by an independent trial statistician prior to recruitment, who sealed randomization cards in opaque envelopes.”
“A randomization list was prepared centrally by an independent trial statistician prior to recruitment, who sealed randomization cards in opaque envelopes.”
“Eligible patients were adults (aged 18 years or older) with a diagnosis of CAP who did not have a clear indication for glucocorticoids to be included as part of their treatment.”
Table 1 reports sex, age, BMI, comorbidities, and other clinical characteristics. Race/ethnicity is not reported, though the population is from Kenya.
The paper lists ethical approval from KEMRI SERU, Pharmacy and Poisons Board, and Oxford Tropical Research Ethics Committee with protocol numbers. Written informed consent was obtained. However, no explicit statement of compliance with the Declaration of Helsinki or ICH-GCP is provided.
“We obtained ethical approval from the Kenyan Medical Research Institute Scientific and Ethics Review Unit (SERU 4319), the Kenya Pharmacy and Poisons Board (ECCT/21/11/02), and the University of Oxford’s Tropical Research Ethics Committee (OxTREC 4–22).”
“Written informed consent was obtained from participants and/or their legally acceptable representative.”
“We obtained ethical approval from the Kenyan Medical Research Institute Scientific and Ethics Review Unit (SERU 4319), the Kenya Pharmacy and Poisons Board (ECCT/21/11/02), and the University of Oxford’s Tropical Research Ethics Committee (OxTREC 4–22).”
“Written informed consent was obtained from participants and/or their legally acceptable representative.”
The paper lists the glucocorticoids and doses (dexamethasone 6mg, etc.) but does not provide manufacturer or source. Standard care antibiotics are not specified with manufacturer. No statistical software is mentioned. Therefore, all applicable criteria are inadequate.
Cox regression and log-rank test are named. Proportional hazards assumption assessed. Exact p=0.021 and 0.049 reported. HR with 95% CI given. Software not identified. The chronic illness subcategories sum to less than the total chronic illness count, which is a minor inconsistency but not a demonstrable error.
“Hazard Ratio, 0.84; 95% confidence interval (CI), 0.73 to 0.97, P=0.021.”
“hazard ratio 0.84 [95% CI, 0.73–0.97]; P=0.021”
The paper does not include a statement about where the data or analysis code can be accessed. The only mention of data access is that the first and last authors vouch for the data, which does not constitute a data availability statement. For a clinical trial, a data-sharing plan is expected. All applicable sub-criteria are not reported, resulting in a fail.
Trial registration numbers are provided. The methods are adequately detailed. Limitations are discussed in the discussion. The conclusion is proportional to the evidence. However, the paper does not state adherence to a reporting guideline, and a pre-specified secondary outcome (immune response) is not reported in this paper.
“Our main limitation lies in the heterogenous patient population that we enrolled in the trial due to limited diagnostic and treatment capabilities.”
“Results of an additional pre-specified secondary outcome examining immune responses by study arm will be reported later.”
“Results of an additional pre-specified secondary outcome examining immune responses by study arm will be reported later.”
“Our main limitation lies in the heterogenous patient population that we enrolled in the trial due to limited diagnostic and treatment capabilities.”
Registered (1 ID: ISRCTN). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
1 finding · worst mediumReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
- Dead data/code linksRecomputed
Checked 29 references by DOI: 23 verified — 6 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIIMAI district clinician manual: hospital care adolescents and adults : guidelines for the management of illnessess with limited-resourcesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA pragmatic randomized controlled trial of standard care versus corticosteroids plus standard care for treatment of pneumonia in adults admitted to Kenyan hospitals (SONIA)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIStatistical analysis with missing dataNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAdjuvant role of corticosteroids in the treatment of community-acquired pneumoniaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOICorticosteroids and ICU course of community acquired pneumonia in Egyptian settingsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffects of low-dose hydrocortisone in ICU patients with severe community-acquired pneumoniaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
4 data/code links checked; 1 live, 1 dead.
- datahttps://www.pactr.org/PACTR202111481740832DEADHTTP 404Dead link — nothing to verify.
- datahttp://www.isrctn.com/ISRCTN36138594LIVEHTTP 200Resolved page looks like data.
- datahttp://www.nejm.org/UNVERIFIEDHTTP 403Liveness indeterminate — content not checked.
- datahttps://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMoa2507100UNVERIFIEDHTTP 403Liveness indeterminate — content not checked.
Copyediting
7 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 7 minor suggestions below.
7 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity, punctuation.
- MINORpunctuationAbstract, Methods“Methods In this randomized, controlled, open label pragmatic trial”→ Methods: In this randomized, controlled, open-label pragmatic trialMissing colon after 'Methods' and hyphen in 'open-label'.
- MINORconsistencyFigure 1 title“Figure 1: Screening, enrollment and follow up of trial participants”→ Figure 1: Screening, Enrollment, and Follow-up of Trial ParticipantsHyphenate 'follow-up' and capitalize for consistency.
- MINORclarityTable 1 footnote“* Plus-minus values are means ±SD. SD denotes standard deviation. IQR denotes interquartile range”→ Plus-minus values are means ±SD. SD denotes standard deviation; IQR denotes interquartile range.Minor punctuation and clarity.
- MINORconsistencyMethods, Trial procedures“Participants in this open label trial”→ Participants in this open-label trialHyphenate 'open-label' for consistency.
- MINORconsistencyTable 1, Chronic illness“Hypertension: 47 (4.3) [control], 143 (13.1) [intervention]; Diabetes mellitus: 157 (14.4) [control], 50 (4.6) [intervention]”→ These imbalances are notable and should be acknowledged in the text or Table 1 footnote to avoid misleading readers about baseline similarity.The paper states characteristics were similar, but the numbers suggest substantial imbalance for some comorbidities.
- MINORclarityMethods, Trial procedures and follow-up“Due to the high pill burden imposed by locally available formulations of hydrocortisone and prednisone (), these were discontinued from the second month of recruitment.”→ Clarify the exact timing and criteria for discontinuation, and whether this decision was pre-specified or post-hoc.The discontinuation of two glucocorticoid arms after recruitment started could introduce bias.
- MINORconsistencyResults, Table 1 and text“Pulse rate: < 125/minute: control 978 (89.6%), intervention 930 (85.4%); ≥ 125/minute: control 109 (10.0%), intervention 154 (14.1%)”→ The difference in pulse rate categories is notable; consider adding a comment on whether this imbalance could affect outcomes.The paper does not discuss this imbalance.
The published trial is robust in design and primary analysis (recomputed tests consistent), but readers should weigh the absence of IPD access, the missing drug-manufacturer/software identification, the unaddressed baseline imbalances in Table 1, and the mid-trial restriction of two glucocorticoid arms. These are reporting gaps that warrant a clarifying correction/erratum rather than invalidating the primary result.
- 1.HIGHdata codeAdd a data availability statement (e.g., in Methods/Trial Oversight) specifying where de-identified individual patient data and analysis code can be accessed (managed-access platform) or why sharing is not possible.Absence of a data-sharing statement on a large publicly funded trial is a major reproducibility gap that readers will weigh.
- 2.HIGHrigorReconcile the text claim that baseline characteristics were 'similar between the trial arms' with the notable Table 1 imbalances (hypertension 4.3% vs 13.1%; diabetes 14.4% vs 4.6%; pulse-rate categories) — add a note or amend the text.The internal contradiction between the text and Table 1 is a transparency/validity concern that readers must weigh.
- 3.HIGHrigorClarify whether discontinuation of the hydrocortisone and prednisone arms after the second month of recruitment was pre-specified or post-hoc, and discuss its potential bias.Mid-trial restriction of intervention arms could bias the comparison and should be transparently explained.
- 4.HIGHotherProvide manufacturer/source (and lot numbers where available) for the five glucocorticoids and name the statistical software with version.Key resources are not fully identified, hindering replication and resource-identification standards.
- 5.HIGHreportingReport the pre-specified secondary outcome on immune responses or provide a firm publication timeline.Deferring a pre-specified outcome raises selective-reporting concerns for readers.
- 6.HIGHdata codeFix the dead link identified in the reproducibility check of the paper's cited/published links.A stated data/code link that fails to resolve undercuts any data-availability claim and reproducibility expectations.
- 7.MEDIUMethicsAdd an explicit statement of regulatory compliance (e.g., conducted in accordance with the Declaration of Helsinki / ICH-GCP) to the Trial Oversight section.The missing compliance statement is a fixable reporting gap that contributed to the ethics warn.
- 8.MEDIUMreportingReference the CONSORT 2010 checklist (or applicable extension) and provide the completed checklist as supplementary material.Referencing a reporting guideline strengthens transparency for a pragmatic trial.
- 9.MEDIUMstatisticsClarify Table 1 so that the sum of chronic-illness subcategories reconciles with the total chronic-illness count (add a note or breakdown).The current presentation is internally inconsistent and could mislead readers interpreting baseline comorbidity burden.
- 10.MEDIUMreportingState the race/ethnicity of participants (e.g., Black African) to complete the demographics reporting.Demographics reporting is incomplete without race/ethnicity, a minor but relevant omission.
- 11.LOWcopyeditApply copyedit fixes: hyphenate 'open-label' and 'follow-up', add colon after 'Methods', and clean up Table 1 footnote punctuation.Minor consistency improvements that polish the manuscript.
- 12.LOWcopyeditAcknowledge the baseline pulse-rate imbalance (e.g., ≥125/min: 10.0% control vs 14.1% intervention) in the text or table footnote.The notable imbalance is currently unaddressed and should be surfaced for readers.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.