Pembrolizumab plus axitinib versus sunitinib for advanced clear cell renal cell carcinoma: 5-year survival and biomarker analyses of the phase 3 KEYNOTE-426 trial
Rini BI, Plimack ER, Stus V, Gafanov R, Waddell T, Nosov D, Pouliot F, Alekseev B, Soulières D, Melichar B, Vynnychenko I, de Azevedo SJ, Borchiellini D, McDermott RS, Bedke J, Tamada S, Wu S, Markensohn J, Zhang Y, Loboda A, Vajdi A, Perini RF, Burgents J, Powles T.
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-025-03867-5
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-22
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/e86b98f4-bafc-4552-8260-5abd0d3287fe is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- ReportingStudy design partially met−0.25★
- ReportingBiological variables partially met−0.25★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- ReportingKey resources partially met−0.25★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This paper presents a robust long-term follow-up of a phase 3 clinical trial, with a strong scientific premise, well-described statistical analyses, and high reporting transparency. However, several methodological and reporting details, particularly regarding study design, biological variables, ethical approvals, and data/code availability, are inadequately specified.
This evaluation synthesized three independent reviewer runs and a copyedit report. Reviewers largely agreed on the strengths but diverged on the completeness of reporting in several dimensions. My synthesis weighed the specific evidence provided by each reviewer, prioritizing concrete omissions over general statements. The statistics component recomputed 4 reported tests consistently, but this covers only a subset of the reported statistics.
Numerical inconsistencies
None foundValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Recomputed 4 tests: 4 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 4 via agent-written checks.
- CONSISTENTreported p = .040 · recomputed p = .040Reviewer 1Check p-value for OS hazard ratio (0.84, 95% CI 0.71-0.99) using pCI function.
“The median OS was 47.2 months in the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and 40.8 months in the sunitinib arm (hazard ratio: 0.84; 95% confidence interval: 0.71–0.99)”
Taken as given: The hazard ratio is 0.84.; The 95% confidence interval is 0.71 to 0.99.; The hazard ratio is on a log scale (log=1).Method: Recomputed two-tailed p-value from the hazard ratio and its 95% confidence interval using the pCI function.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.84, 0.71, 0.99, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 1Check p-value for PFS hazard ratio (0.69, 95% CI 0.59-0.81) using pCI function.
“Median PFS was 15.7 months in the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and 11.1 months in the sunitinib arm (hazard ratio: 0.69; 95% confidence interval: 0.59–0.81)”
Taken as given: The hazard ratio is 0.69.; The 95% confidence interval is 0.59 to 0.81.; The hazard ratio is on a log scale (log=1).Method: Recomputed two-tailed p-value from the hazard ratio and its 95% confidence interval using the pCI function.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.69, 0.59, 0.81, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .043 · recomputed p = .040Reviewer 2Recompute the two-tailed p-value for the overall survival hazard ratio from its 95% confidence interval.
“The median OS was 47.2 months in the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and 40.8 months in the sunitinib arm (hazard ratio: 0.84; 95% confidence interval: 0.71–0.99)”
Taken as given: The confidence interval is two-sided at 95% level.; The hazard ratio is a ratio, so log=1.; The estimate is the point estimate of the HR.Method: Using the pCI function which computes the p-value from the estimate and confidence interval under a normal approximation for the log hazard ratio.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.84, 0.71, 0.99, 1) - CONSISTENTreported p < .001 · recomputed p = <.001Reviewer 2Recompute the two-tailed p-value for the progression-free survival hazard ratio from its 95% confidence interval.
“Median PFS was 15.7 months in the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and 11.1 months in the sunitinib arm (hazard ratio: 0.69; 95% confidence interval: 0.59–0.81)”
Taken as given: The confidence interval is two-sided at 95% level.; The hazard ratio is a ratio, so log=1.; The estimate is the point estimate of the HR.Method: Using the pCI function which computes the p-value from the estimate and confidence interval under a normal approximation for the log hazard ratio.How we recomputed it: pCI(0.69, 0.59, 0.81, 1)
Overstated conclusions
None foundConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
12 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- supportedReviewers 1, 2, 3Pembrolizumab plus axitinib showed sustained benefits in OS, PFS, and ORR compared to sunitinib.The reported hazard ratios and confidence intervals for OS and PFS, and the ORR percentages, directly support this claim.Evidence: OS HR 0.84 (95% CI 0.71-0.99), PFS HR 0.69 (95% CI 0.59-0.81), ORR 60.6% vs 39.6%.
“Pembrolizumab plus axitinib showed sustained benefits in OS (hazard ratio: 0.84; 95% confidence interval: 0.71–0.99), PFS (hazard ratio: 0.69; 95% confidence interval: 0.59–0.81) and ORR (60.6% versus 39.6%) compared to sunitinib.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1An 18-gene T-cell-inflamed gene expression profile (Tcell inf GEP) was positively associated with OS, PFS, and ORR within the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm.The reported p-values for Tcell inf GEP associations in the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm support this claim.Evidence: P = 0.002 for OS, P < 0.0001 for PFS, P < 0.0001 for ORR.
“An 18-gene T-cell-inflamed gene expression profile (Tcell inf GEP) was positively associated with OS ( P = 0.002), PFS ( P < 0.0001) and ORR ( P < 0.0001) within the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2An angiogenesis signature was positively associated with OS within the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and with OS, PFS, and ORR within the sunitinib arm.The reported p-values for angiogenesis signature associations support this claim.Evidence: P = 0.004 for OS in pembrolizumab+axitinib; P < 0.0001 for OS, P < 0.001 for PFS, P = 0.002 for ORR in sunitinib.
“An angiogenesis signature was positively associated with OS ( P = 0.004) within the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and with OS ( P < 0.0001), PFS ( P < 0.001) and ORR ( P = 0.002) within the sunitinib arm.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1PD-L1 combined positive score was only associated (negatively) with OS within the sunitinib arm.The reported p-value for PD-L1 CPS association with OS in the sunitinib arm supports this claim.Evidence: P = 0.025 for OS in sunitinib arm.
“Across arms, programmed cell death ligand 1 combined positive score was only associated (negatively) with OS within the sunitinib arm ( P = 0.025).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2PBRM1 mutation had a positive association with ORR within the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm.The reported p-value and ORR rates support this claim.Evidence: P = 0.002; ORR 71.4% vs 52.3%.
“Additionally, PBRM1 (polybromo-1) mutation had a positive association with ORR ( P = 0.002) within the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Within the sunitinib arm, OS was positively associated with VHL and PBRM1 mutations and negatively associated with BAP1 mutation.The reported p-values support this claim.Evidence: P = 0.040 for VHL, P = 0.010 for PBRM1, P = 0.019 for BAP1.
“Within the sunitinib arm, OS was positively associated with VHL (von Hippel–Lindau tumor suppressor gene) ( P = 0.040) and PBRM1 ( P = 0.010) mutations and was negatively associated with BAP1 ( BRCA1- associated protein 1) mutation ( P = 0.019).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2An 18-gene T-cell-inflamed GEP was positively associated with OS, PFS, and ORR within the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm.The paper provides p-values from logistic regression and Cox models showing significant associations.Evidence: Table 2 with p-values: P = 0.002 for OS, P < 0.0001 for PFS and ORR.
In the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm, higher Tcell inf GEP was associated with improved ORR (P < 0.0001), PFS (P < 0.0001) and OS (P = 0.002)
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2Results showed a sustained clinical benefit with pembrolizumab plus axitinib over sunitinib and provide valuable information on biomarkers for immunotherapy-based treatment combinations.The clinical benefit is demonstrated by the survival data; biomarker associations are exploratory and appropriately caveated.Evidence: The entire Results and Discussion sections support this overarching claim.
“Results showed a sustained clinical benefit with pembrolizumab plus axitinib over sunitinib and provide valuable information on biomarkers for immunotherapy-based treatment combinations in advanced RCC.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 3Tcell inf GEP is positively associated with OS, PFS, and ORR within the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm.Table 2 shows statistically significant associations with p-values < 0.05.Evidence: Table 2: Tcell inf GEP ORR P = 2.03e-6, PFS P = 1.41e-5, OS P = 0.002
Tcell inf GEP | 2.03 × 10^−6 (+) | 1.41 × 10^−5 (+) | 0.002 (+) | 0.741 | 0.464 | 0.547
Table 2reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 3Angiogenesis signature is positively associated with OS in the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and with OS, PFS, and ORR in the sunitinib arm.Table 2 shows significant associations for the angiogenesis signature.Evidence: Table 2: Angiogenesis: pembro+axi OS P=0.004, sunitinib ORR P=0.002, PFS P=5.66e-4, OS P=1.69e-7
Angiogenesis | 0.202 | 0.244 | 0.004 (+) | 0.002 (+) | 5.66 × 10^−4 (+) | 1.69 × 10^−7 (+)
Table 2reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 3PD-L1 CPS is negatively associated with OS only within the sunitinib arm.Table 2 shows a significant negative association only for sunitinib OS (P=0.025).Evidence: Table 2: PD-L1 CPS: sunitinib OS P=0.025 (-)
PD-L1 CPS | 0.053 | 0.168 | 0.544 | 0.558 | 0.331 | 0.025 (−)
Table 2reviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 3PBRM1 mutation is positively associated with ORR within the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm.Extended Data Table 3 shows a significant positive association for ORR (P=0.002).Evidence: Extended Data Table 3: PBRM1 ORR P=0.002 (+) in pembro+axi
PBRM1 | ORR: 0.002 (+) | PFS: 0.758 | OS: 0.368
Table 3reviewer’s wording
Efficacy claim is anchored to an adequate endpoint and a meaningful effect.
- ADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary efficacy claim is based on overall survival (OS), a hard clinical endpoint, not a surrogate. No surrogate was used as the primary basis for the efficacy claim.
“Pembrolizumab plus axitinib showed sustained benefits in OS (hazard ratio: 0.84; 95% confidence interval: 0.71–0.99)”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizeThe effect size is a statistically significant improvement in OS (HR 0.84, 95% CI 0.71-0.99) with a median survival difference of 6.4 months, which is clinically meaningful in the context of advanced renal cell carcinoma.
“median OS was 47.2 months in the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and 40.8 months in the sunitinib arm (hazard ratio: 0.84; 95% confidence interval: 0.71–0.99)”
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
5 findings · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Biological variables underreported (sex, age, strain)Assessed
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
- Key resources under-identified (antibodies, cell lines, RRIDs)Assessed
- Study-design details incomplete (controls, blinding, power)Assessed
The abstract and introduction cite the initial KEYNOTE-426 results, IMmotion151, JAVELIN Renal 101, CheckMate 9ER, among others. It acknowledges the need for durable outcomes and predictive biomarkers, addressing limitations of prior biomarker studies such as confounding from different drugs. The hypothesis follows from the cited evidence.
“Because the treatment duration of pembrolizumab is limited to 2 years, it is important to assess the long-term durability of clinical outcomes.”
“Thus, extrapolation of these data to define predictive biomarkers in frontline therapy for advanced RCC is potentially confounded.”
“Thus, extrapolation of these data to define predictive biomarkers in frontline therapy for advanced RCC is potentially confounded.”
“At the first interim analysis of the phase 3 KEYNOTE-426 trial, first-line pembrolizumab plus axitinib showed superior overall survival (OS), progression-free survival (PFS) and objective response rate (ORR) over sunitinib for advanced renal cell carcinoma (RCC).”
“extrapolation of these data to define predictive biomarkers in frontline therapy for advanced RCC is potentially confounded.”
Randomization method is not explicitly stated (only 'randomly assigned' with stratification). Blinding is described as 'open-label' but no rationale for the open-label design is provided. No a priori sample size calculation is reported in this paper. Inclusion/exclusion criteria and ITT analysis population are adequately defined.
“Participants were randomly assigned in a 1:1 ratio to receive pembrolizumab 200 mg intravenously once every 3 weeks for up to 35 cycles (~2 years) plus axitinib 5 mg by mouth twice daily continuously or sunitinib 50 mg by mouth once daily for 4 weeks on and 2 weeks off, continuously. Randomization was stratified according to the IMDC risk group (favorable versus intermediate versus poor risk) and by geographic region (North America versus Western Europe versus rest of the world).”
“The biomarker analysis followed a statistical analysis plan written before merging of the clinical data with biomarker assessment, specifying where statistical testing would be used and what biomarker cutoffs defined the subgroups for treatment arm comparisons.”
“Participants were randomly assigned in a 1:1 ratio to receive pembrolizumab 200 mg intravenously once every 3 weeks for up to 35 cycles (~2 years) plus axitinib 5 mg by mouth twice daily continuously or sunitinib 50 mg by mouth once daily for 4 weeks on and 2 weeks off, continuously.”
“Participants were randomly assigned in a 1:1 ratio to receive pembrolizumab 200 mg intravenously once every 3 weeks for up to 35 cycles (~2 years) plus axitinib 5 mg by mouth twice daily continuously or sunitinib 50 mg by mouth once daily for 4 weeks on and 2 weeks off, continuously.”
“eligible participants were adults with newly diagnosed stage IV or recurrent clear cell RCC who had not previously received systemic therapy for advanced disease. Participants had a Karnofsky Performance Scale score of 70% or higher at baseline, one or more measurable lesions per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) as assessed by the investigator and a tumor sample available for biomarker assessment.”
Table 1 reports sex (male/female) and age (median and range). Health status is not reported in Table 1 (only eligibility criteria of KPS >=70). Weight is not reported. Race/ethnicity and comorbidities are not reported.
“Age, median (range), years | 62.0 (30–89) | 61.0 (26–90) | | <65 years | 260 (60.2) | 278 (64.8) | | Sex | | Male | 308 (71.3) | 320 (74.6) | | Female | 124 (28.7) | 109 (25.4) |”
“Participants had a Karnofsky Performance Scale score of 70% or higher at baseline, one or more measurable lesions per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) as assessed by the investigator and a tumor sample available for biomarker assessment.”
“Region of enrollment | | North America | 104 (24.1) | 103 (24.0) | | Western Europe | 106 (24.5) | 104 (24.2) | | Rest of the world | 222 (51.4) | 222 (51.7) |”
The paper states the trial was approved by 'appropriate institutional review boards' but does not name the specific body or provide a protocol number. Written informed consent and Good Clinical Practice compliance are stated.
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the principles of Good Clinical Practice and was approved by the appropriate institutional review boards and regulatory agencies. Written informed consent was provided by all participants before enrollment.”
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the principles of Good Clinical Practice and was approved by the appropriate institutional review boards and regulatory agencies.”
“Written informed consent was provided by all participants before enrollment.”
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the principles of Good Clinical Practice”
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the principles of Good Clinical Practice and was approved by the appropriate institutional review boards and regulatory agencies.”
“Written informed consent was provided by all participants before enrollment.”
“The trial was conducted in accordance with the principles of Good Clinical Practice”
Pembrolizumab, axitinib, and sunitinib are named with dose and regimen but the manufacturer is not stated. The PD-L1 IHC assay is identified with vendor. Software tools (SAS, R, OmicSoft, etc.) are identified with versions. No custom code repository is provided.
“Participants were randomly assigned in a 1:1 ratio to receive pembrolizumab 200 mg intravenously once every 3 weeks for up to 35 cycles (~2 years) plus axitinib 5 mg by mouth twice daily continuously or sunitinib 50 mg by mouth once daily for 4 weeks on and 2 weeks off, continuously.”
“PD-L1 expression was centrally determined using the PD-L1 IHC 22C3 pharmDx (Agilent Technologies).”
“Statistical analyses were performed in SAS version 9.4 and R version 4.2.1 software.”
“pembrolizumab 200 mg intravenously once every 3 weeks for up to 35 cycles (~2 years) plus axitinib 5 mg by mouth twice daily continuously or sunitinib 50 mg by mouth once daily for 4 weeks on and 2 weeks off, continuously.”
“Statistical analyses were performed in SAS version 9.4 and R version 4.2.1 software.”
“pembrolizumab 200 mg intravenously once every 3 weeks for up to 35 cycles (~2 years) plus axitinib 5 mg by mouth twice daily continuously or sunitinib 50 mg by mouth once daily for 4 weeks on and 2 weeks off, continuously.”
“Statistical analyses were performed in SAS version 9.4 and R version 4.2.1 software.”
The paper uses Cox proportional hazards, logistic regression, Kaplan-Meier, and Miettinen-Nurminen methods. P-values are reported exactly (e.g., P = 0.002, P < 0.0001). Hazard ratios with 95% CIs are given. Software versions are stated. Data presentation includes KM curves, forest plots, and CONSORT diagram. No mathematical inconsistencies were detected.
“To estimate the magnitude of the treatment difference (that is, hazard ratio) between the treatment arms, we used a stratified Cox proportional hazards model with the Efron method for handling ties.”
“Tcell inf GEP | 2.03 × 10 −6 (+) | 1.41 × 10 −5 (+) | 0.002 (+) | 0.741 | 0.464 | 0.547”
“The median OS was 47.2 months in the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and 40.8 months in the sunitinib arm (hazard ratio: 0.84; 95% confidence interval: 0.71–0.99)”
“To estimate the magnitude of the treatment difference (that is, hazard ratio) between the treatment arms, we used a stratified Cox proportional hazards model with the Efron method for handling ties.”
“The median OS was 47.2 months in the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and 40.8 months in the sunitinib arm (hazard ratio: 0.84; 95% confidence interval: 0.71–0.99)”
“Statistical analyses were performed in SAS version 9.4 and R version 4.2.1 software.”
“The median OS was 47.2 months in the pembrolizumab plus axitinib arm and 40.8 months in the sunitinib arm (hazard ratio: 0.84; 95% confidence interval: 0.71–0.99)”
The paper provides a detailed data availability statement via the MSD data-sharing website. However, no repository deposit or accession numbers for RNA-seq/WES data are mentioned, and custom analysis code is not shared.
“The MSD data-sharing website ( https://externaldatasharing-msd.com/ ) outlines the process and requirements for submitting a data request.”
“Access to genetic or exploratory biomarker data requires a detailed, hypothesis-driven statistical analysis plan that is collaboratively developed by the requestor and MSD subject matter experts”
The paper includes a CONSORT diagram, trial registration number, detailed methods, and a limitations paragraph. All primary and secondary outcomes are reported. Funding source and competing interests are disclosed.
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT02853331 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02853331)”
“However, the prespecified exploratory biomarker analysis from the KEYNOTE-426 trial is limited by the small sample sizes of some of the subgroups and the lack of statistical power and (or) multiplicity adjustments for association analysis of some biomarkers, hindering definitive conclusions.”
“B.I.R. reports receiving writing support for the present paper from Merck Sharp & Dohme (MSD); payment to his institution for clinical trial research from MSD; and consulting fees from MSD.”
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT02853331”
“The prespecified exploratory biomarker analysis from the KEYNOTE-426 trial is limited by the small sample sizes of some of the subgroups and the lack of statistical power and (or) multiplicity adjustments for association analysis of some biomarkers, hindering definitive conclusions.”
“Funding for this study was provided by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC, a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Rahway, NJ, USA”
“ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT02853331”
“Fig. 1 CONSORT diagram.”
“the prespecified exploratory biomarker analysis from the KEYNOTE-426 trial is limited by the small sample sizes of some of the subgroups and the lack of statistical power and (or) multiplicity adjustments for association analysis of some biomarkers, hindering definitive conclusions.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). Reporting guideline cited: CONSORT.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 49 references by DOI: 36 verified — 13 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIKeytruda (pembrolizumab injection), for intravenous useNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEAU guidelines on renal cell carcinomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIPBRM1 and KDM5C cooperate to define high-angiogenesis tumors and increased antiangiogenic response in renal cancerNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBiomarker analysis from the phase 3 CheckMate 9ER trial of nivolumab + cabozantinib v sunitinib for advanced renal cell carcinoma (aRCC)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOINovel serum glycoproteomic biomarkers predict response to nivolumab plus cabozantinib (NIVO+CABO) versus sunitinib (SUN) in advanced RCC (aRCC): analysis from CheckMate 9ERNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIKIM-1 as a circulating biomarker in metastatic RCC: post-hoc analysis of JAVELIN Renal 101No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEvaluation of circulating kidney injury marker-1 (KIM-1) as a prognostic and predictive biomarker in advanced renal cell carcinoma (aRCC): post-hoc analysis of CheckMate 214No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAssociation of gene expression with clinical outcomes in patients with renal cell carcinoma treated with pembrolizumab in KEYNOTE-427No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIImmunomodulatory effects of tyrosine kinase inhibitors (TKIs) in renal cell carcinoma (RCC) patientsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOINivolumab plus cabozantinib (N+C) vs sunitinib (S) for previously untreated advanced renal cell carcinoma (aRCC): final follow-up results from the CheckMate 9ER trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIBiomarker-driven prospective clinical trial in renal cell carcinoma: developing machine learning models to allocate patients to treatment arms using RNA sequencingNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISAMETA: a phase III study of savolitinib + durvalumab vs sunitinib and durvalumab monotherapy in patients with MET-driven, unresectable, locally advanced/metastatic papillary renal cell carcinomaNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGuidance for industry: clinical trial endpoints for the approval of cancer drugs and biologicsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
3 data/code links checked; 3 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02853331LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02853331LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://externaldatasharing-msd.com/LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
9 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 9 minor suggestions below.
9 copyedit issues flagged: mostly typo, consistency, clarity.
- MINORtypoDiscussion, paragraph 6“pressent dataset”→ present datasetTypographical error.
- MINORtypoDiscussion, paragraph 6“PRRM1 mutation”→ PBRM1 mutationTypographical error in gene name.
- MINORconsistencyExtended Data Fig. 4-7“von Lindau-Hippel tumor suppressor gene”→ von Hippel-Lindau tumor suppressor geneInconsistent naming of VHL gene.
- MINORtypoDiscussion, paragraph 4“pressent”→ presentTypo in 'present'.
- MINORtypoDiscussion, paragraph 4“PRRM1”→ PBRM1Incorrect abbreviation for polybromo-1.
- MINORconsistencyExtended Data Table 3, footnote“In the axitinib arm, non-zero associations (two-tailed test) were hypothesized for all biomarkers.”→ In the sunitinib arm, non-zero associations (two-tailed test) were hypothesized for all biomarkers.The footnote refers to the sunitinib arm but incorrectly says 'axitinib arm'.
- MINORclarityDiscussion, paragraph 4“The pressent dataset showed that PBRM1 mutation tended to be associated with improved outcomes, PRRM1 mutation does not seem to be a reliable biomarker”→ The present dataset showed that PBRM1 mutation tended to be associated with improved outcomes; however, PBRM1 mutation does not seem to be a reliable biomarkerRun-on sentence with typo.
- MINORtypoDiscussion, paragraph 8“pressent”→ presentTypo: 'pressent' should be 'present'.
- MINORtypoDiscussion, paragraph 8“PRRM1”→ PBRM1Typo: 'PRRM1' should be 'PBRM1'.
This published work demonstrates a generally robust methodology, but an informed reader should be aware of the reporting gaps in study design details, participant demographics, ethical approval specifics, and the lack of public deposition for sequencing data and analysis code. These issues, along with several minor copyedit errors, suggest that a formal erratum or a more detailed supplementary information document would enhance the paper's completeness and reproducibility for future researchers.
- 1.HIGHreportingIn the Methods section, specify the exact randomization method used (e.g., computer-generated random sequence, block sizes) to enhance reproducibility.The specific method of random sequence generation is a critical detail for assessing the rigor of a randomized controlled trial.
- 2.HIGHreportingIn the Methods section, provide a rationale for the open-label design of the trial.Explaining why blinding was not feasible or appropriate is important for transparency in clinical trial design.
- 3.HIGHreportingIn the Methods section, include an a priori sample size or power calculation for the exploratory biomarker analyses, or explicitly state that these analyses were not formally powered.Clarity on power analysis is crucial for interpreting the statistical significance and generalizability of exploratory findings.
- 4.HIGHreportingIn Table 1 or a supplementary table, report additional demographic details such as weight, race/ethnicity, and key comorbidities.Comprehensive demographic reporting is essential for assessing the generalizability and potential disparities in clinical trial results.
- 5.HIGHethicsIn the Methods section under 'Inclusion and ethics', name the specific institutional review board(s) that approved the trial and provide the protocol number.Specific identification of ethics approvals enhances transparency and traceability of ethical oversight.
- 6.HIGHrigorIn the Methods section, state the manufacturer/source for each investigational drug (pembrolizumab, axitinib, sunitinib).Identifying the source of key reagents is fundamental for reproducibility and proper attribution.
- 7.HIGHdata codeDeposit the RNA-seq and WES data in a public repository (e.g., GEO, dbGaP) and provide accession numbers in the Data Availability section.Public deposition of sequencing data is crucial for data transparency, re-analysis, and reproducibility of biomarker findings.
- 8.HIGHdata codeShare any custom analysis code in a public repository (e.g., GitHub, Zenodo) with a permanent identifier and include the link in the Data Availability section.Sharing custom code is essential for computational reproducibility and allows other researchers to verify or build upon the analyses.
- 9.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods section, add a statement on how outliers were handled in the biomarker analyses, or clarify that no outliers were excluded.Explicitly stating outlier handling procedures improves transparency and allows for critical evaluation of data processing.
- 10.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods section, add a brief note on the verification of statistical assumptions (e.g., proportional hazards) for the Cox models.Reporting on assumption checks for statistical models enhances the credibility of the analysis.
- 11.LOWcopyeditCorrect all instances of 'pressent' to 'present' in the Discussion section.Typographical errors detract from the professionalism and readability of the manuscript.
- 12.LOWcopyeditCorrect all instances of 'PRRM1' to 'PBRM1' in the Discussion section.Accurate gene nomenclature is essential for scientific precision and clarity.
- 13.LOWcopyeditEnsure consistent naming of the 'von Hippel-Lindau tumor suppressor gene' throughout the manuscript, especially in Extended Data Fig. 4-7.Consistency in terminology improves readability and avoids confusion.
- 14.LOWcopyeditIn Extended Data Table 3, footnote, correct 'In the axitinib arm' to 'In the sunitinib arm'.Accuracy in table footnotes is important for correct interpretation of data.
- 15.LOWcopyeditRevise the sentence in Discussion, paragraph 4, to improve clarity and correct the run-on structure.Clear and grammatically correct sentences enhance the overall quality of writing.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.