Subcutaneous weekly semaglutide with automated insulin delivery in type 1 diabetes: a double-blind, randomized, crossover trial.
Pasqua MR, Tsoukas MA, Kobayati A, Aboznadah W, Jafar A, Haidar A
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-024-03463-z
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-20
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/f1f7aa98-048a-4919-a9c7-59c7033cc002 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×2−1★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability partially met−0.25★
- Statistics were not checked: no recomputable values were found in this text — no test statistic reported with its degrees of freedom, no effect estimate printed with both a 95% CI and a p-value, and no percentage printed with both its count and its denominator.
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run: 52 reported means were read, and their group size is not stated where the values are printed (this source has no machine-readable table structure). These checks need the count the mean was averaged over, so none was performed.
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The primary efficacy claim is based on time in range (TIR), a continuous glucose monitoring metric, which is a surrogate for glycemic control. Although the paper cites consensus guidelines that TIR is associated with HbA1c and clinical outcomes, it does not demonstrate target engagement of semaglutide at the tested dose (e.g., pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamic data) nor provide a validated link between the observed TIR improvement and hard clinical outcomes such as microvascular complications. The improvement in TIR is presented as a clinical benefit without direct evidence that it translates to reduced long-term complications.
“The primary outcome was the percentage of time spent in the target glucose range of 3.9–10.0 mmol l −1 during the last 4 weeks of each intervention.”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted and well-reported randomized crossover trial with strong methodological rigor across most dimensions. The main weakness is the data and code availability, which is vague and conditional, and there are minor internal inconsistencies in the reported numbers that warrant correction.
Both reviewers agreed on study type (interventional) and on all dimension statuses except minor sub-criterion differences (outlier handling, data statement adequacy). The statistics verification component had limited coverage (0 tests recomputed), so statistical correctness is not fully verified. The copyedit and integrity checks flagged minor internal inconsistencies.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
- lowinternal contradictionThe number of participants with detectable C-peptide at baseline is reported as 8 (29%) in Table 1 but as 6 (25%) in the Results section.
Number of participants with detectable levels of C-peptide (n (%)) | 8 (29) | ... Of the 24 participants who completed the trial, six (25%) participants had detectable random plasma C-peptide levels at baseline
Table 1reviewer’s wording
Overstated conclusions
2 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
9 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: 1 only partially supported (evidence backs part of the claim; gaps or caveats remain); the rest adequately supported.
- partialReviewer 2Semaglutide is safe in T1D, with no diabetic ketoacidosis or severe hypoglycemia during interventions.No DKA or severe hypoglycemia occurred, but two episodes of euglycemic ketosis occurred, which the paper acknowledges as a safety concern.Evidence: Safety results: no DKA, one severe hypoglycemia with placebo, two euglycemic ketosis with semaglutide.
“While no diabetic ketoacidosis or severe hypoglycemia occurred during any of the interventions, there were two episodes of recurrent euglycemic ketosis without acidosis during semaglutide use.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Semaglutide increases time in target glucose range compared to placebo.The primary endpoint is met with a statistically significant difference (4.8 percentage points, P=0.006), supported by the data in Table 2.Evidence: Table 2: Time in range 74.2% vs 69.4%, difference 4.8 (7.6), P=0.006
Compared to placebo, semaglutide increased time in the target range by a mean 4.8 (s.d. = 7.6) percentage points (P = 0.006)
Abstractreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewers 1, 2Semaglutide does not increase time spent in hypoglycemia.The paper reports no significant difference in time below 3.9 mmol/L (P=0.19) or below 3.0 mmol/L (P=0.65), supported by Table 2.Evidence: Table 2: Below 3.9 mmol/L: median 1.1% vs 1.2%, P=0.19; Below 3.0 mmol/L: 0.3% vs 0.3%, P=0.65
without increasing the time spent below 3.9 mmol l−1 (P = 0.19) or below 3.0 mmol l−1 (P = 0.65)
Abstractreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 1Semaglutide reduces insulin requirements.Total daily insulin is significantly reduced (P<0.001), supported by Table 2.Evidence: Table 2: Total insulin (U/day) median 62.1 vs 46.1, difference -11.3, P<0.001Abstractreviewer’s wording
- supportedReviewer 1Semaglutide leads to weight loss.Weight reduction of 5.3 kg (P<0.001) is reported in Table 3, supported by the data.Evidence: Table 3: Weight change -5.3 (2.9) kg, P<0.001
Weight was reduced by 5.3 (2.9) kg with semaglutide compared to placebo (P < 0.001)
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 1Semaglutide improves glycemic control with automated insulin delivery compared to placebo.The primary and secondary outcomes support this claim, with caveats about sample size and duration acknowledged.Evidence: Primary outcome (time in range) and secondary outcomes (HbA1c, weight, insulin) all show significant improvements.
“We conclude that semaglutide improves glycemic control with automated insulin delivery compared to placebo.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Semaglutide increases time in range compared to placebo in adults with T1D using AID.The primary endpoint was met with a statistically significant difference of 4.8 percentage points (P=0.006).Evidence: Primary outcome result: 74.2% vs 69.4%, difference 4.8 (7.6), P=0.006.
Compared to placebo, semaglutide increased time in the target range by a mean 4.8 (s.d. = 7.6) percentage points (P = 0.006)
Abstractreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2Semaglutide reduces insulin requirements and body weight.Significant reductions in total daily insulin and weight are reported with p<0.001.Evidence: Table 2 and Table 3: total insulin reduction -11.3 U, weight reduction -5.3 kg, both p<0.001.
Daily insulin use was reduced by 11.3 units [−23.6, −4.9] with semaglutide compared to placebo (P < 0.001; Table 2). Weight was reduced by 5.3 (2.9) kg with semaglutide compared to placebo (P < 0.001; Table 3)
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2The improvement in time in range is clinically meaningful.The paper cites consensus guidelines that a 3 percentage point difference is clinically meaningful, and the observed 4.8 exceeds this.Evidence: Discussion: 'The mean improvement in time in range was higher than the three percentage points considered in consensus guidelines to be clinically meaningful.'
The mean improvement in time in range was higher than the three percentage points considered in consensus guidelines to be clinically meaningful for a treatment group difference.
Discussion ¶6reviewer’s wording
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary efficacy claim is based on time in range (TIR), a continuous glucose monitoring metric, which is a surrogate for glycemic control. Although the paper cites consensus guidelines that TIR is associated with HbA1c and clinical outcomes, it does not demonstrate target engagement of semaglutide at the tested dose (e.g., pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamic data) nor provide a validated link between the observed TIR improvement and hard clinical outcomes such as microvascular complications. The improvement in TIR is presented as a clinical benefit without direct evidence that it translates to reduced long-term complications.
“The primary outcome was the percentage of time spent in the target glucose range of 3.9–10.0 mmol l −1 during the last 4 weeks of each intervention.”
- ADEQUATEEffect sizeThe primary effect size is a mean increase of 4.8 percentage points in time in range, which the authors explicitly state exceeds the three percentage points considered clinically meaningful per consensus guidelines. Additionally, they report a reduction in HbA1c of 0.5% and weight loss of 5.3 kg (5.1% relative), both of which are anchored to established clinical meaningfulness (DCCT/EDIC evidence and 5% weight loss threshold). The effect is statistically supported (P=0.006).
“The mean improvement in time in range was higher than the three percentage points considered in consensus guidelines to be clinically meaningful for a treatment group difference.”
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Implausibly large reported effectAssessed
2 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- lowimplausible effectThe triglyceride CI for semaglutide in Table 3 has a negative lower bound, which is implausible for a concentration.
“1.17 [−0.63, 1.33]”
Table 3Find in source
Reporting gaps
1 finding · worst mediumRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data/code availability incompleteAssessed
Prior work is cited extensively, including references on AID limitations (refs 5-7), obesity in T1D (refs 8-14), and semaglutide's glycemic/weight benefits in T2D (refs 16-18). The rationale linking semaglutide's potential to improve postprandial control and weight in T1D is clearly stated. Limitations of prior research (e.g., no clinical trials of semaglutide in T1D, only retrospective data) are acknowledged, and the study addresses this gap.
“The aim of this study was to assess whether semaglutide, versus placebo, improves glycemic control and other nonglycemic outcomes in those with T1D while using AID.”
“However, in large randomized trials assessing AID use, 34–53% of participants were still not able to achieve an HbA1c of less than 7%”
“The aim of this study was to assess whether semaglutide, versus placebo, improves glycemic control and other nonglycemic outcomes in those with T1D while using AID.”
“Although semaglutide has not yet been assessed in T1D in clinical trials, retrospective data of off-label use has suggested benefits”
Randomization method (block randomization with random block sizes) and unit (participant) are reported. Blinding is double-blind with clear masking procedures (research pharmacy unblinded, participants/investigators blinded). A priori power analysis is provided (23 participants for 80% power, 28 recruited for 20% dropout). Inclusion/exclusion criteria are detailed. Outlier handling is not explicitly described but the analysis uses a linear mixed model which is robust; no specific outlier handling is reported. Controls are appropriate (placebo). Independent replication is not applicable for a single pivotal trial. Replicate distinction is not applicable for a human RCT.
“Participants, investigators and other research personnel were blinded to allocation.”
“Participants, investigators and other research personnel were blinded to allocation.”
Sex is reported (61% female). Age, weight (BMI), and health status (HbA1c, C-peptide) are reported. Demographics including age, sex, race/ethnicity (not explicitly reported but Canadian context), and comorbidities (obesity, retinopathy) are provided. Species/strain/source and housing conditions are not applicable for a human trial.
The protocol was approved by the research ethics board of the McGill University Health Centre and Health Canada. Informed consent is explicitly mentioned ('written informed consent was obtained and documented'). Regulatory compliance is implied through ethics board approval and Health Canada authorization. The study is registered on ClinicalTrials.gov.
“At the initial visit, study procedures began after written informed consent was obtained and documented.”
“The protocol was approved by the research ethics board of the McGill University Health Centre and Health Canada”
“At the initial visit, study procedures began after written informed consent was obtained and documented.”
The investigational product (semaglutide) is identified by name and manufacturer (Novo Nordisk implied). Placebo (saline) is described. Software tools are identified: MATLAB v.R2024a, SPSS v.29.0.1.1, Sealed Envelope online tool. Antibodies, cell lines, mycoplasma testing, and organisms are not applicable for this human clinical trial. Reagents are not applicable beyond the drug.
“Data processing was performed using MATLAB (v.R2024a); statistical analysis were performed with SPSS (v.29.0.1.1).”
“Data processing was performed using MATLAB (v.R2024a); statistical analysis were performed with SPSS (v.29.0.1.1).”
Tests are named (linear mixed model, Wilcoxon signed-rank, chi-squared). Assumptions are verified (residuals examined for normality). Exact p-values are reported (e.g., P=0.006). Effect sizes with confidence intervals are provided (e.g., mean difference 4.8 (7.6) percentage points). Software is identified. Data presentation includes individual data points in scatterplots (Extended Data Fig. 2) and per-group n stated. Mathematical plausibility is not independently verifiable for all outcomes but no obvious errors are detected.
“Target 3.9–10.0 | 69.4 (10.4) | 74.2 (9.7) | 4.8 (7.6) | 0.006”
“A two-sided linear mixed model was used for the parametric analyses, while a Wilcoxon signed-ranked test was used for the nonparametric analysis.”
Data availability statement is present but vague: raw data cannot be made publicly available due to consent/ethics limitations, but can be shared on request subject to ethics board approval. This is reported_but_inadequate because no platform or timeframe is specified (though 'within 3 months' is mentioned after approval). Code availability is conditional on data sharing, which is inadequate. Repository deposit and accession numbers are not applicable for identifiable patient data.
“All raw data collected from the study cannot be made publicly available given limitations from the informed consent form and ethics board approval. The raw data can be shared by the corresponding authors without cost for unrestricted noncommercial purposes; however, the use will be subject to approval from the Research Ethics Board of the McGill University Health Centre.”
“The raw data can be shared by the corresponding authors without cost for unrestricted noncommercial purposes; however, the use will be subject to approval from the Research Ethics Board of the McGill University Health Centre.”
“The code used for data processing will be made available when the raw data are shared as per the ‘Data availability’ statement.”
Methods are detailed enough for replication. Trial registration is provided (NCT05205928). CONSORT flow chart is included (reporting guideline). All pre-specified outcomes are reported, including negative/null results (e.g., no difference in hypoglycemia). Limitations are discussed (sample size, crossover design, generalizability). Conclusions are proportional (acknowledges need for larger studies). Funding and COI are stated.
“ClinicalTrials.gov registration: NCT05205928”
“The Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials (CONSORT) flow chart is depicted in Fig.”
“First, the study size and length were not sufficient to assess long-term efficacy and safety.”
“ClinicalTrials.gov registration: NCT05205928”
“First, the study size and length were not sufficient to assess long-term efficacy and safety.”
“This study was funded by the Canada Research Chair in Artificial Pancreas Systems held by A.H.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). Reporting guideline cited: CONSORT.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 48 references by DOI: 1 verified — 47 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIConsensus recommendations for the use of automated insulin delivery technologies in clinical practiceNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe effect of intensive treatment of diabetes on the development and progression of long-term complications in insulin-dependent diabetes mellitusNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIntensive diabetes treatment and cardiovascular disease in patients with type 1 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGlycemic management in adults with type 1No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIGlycemic targets: Standards of Medical Care in Diabetes-2020No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIInternational consensus on risk management of diabetic ketoacidosis in patients with type 1 diabetes treated with sodium-glucose cotransporter (SGLT) inhibitorsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISix month randomized, multicenter trial of closed-loop control in type 1 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA comparison of two hybrid closed-loop systems in adolescents and young adults with type 1 diabetes (FLAIR): a multicentre, randomised, crossover trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIMulticenter trial of a tubeless, on-body automated insulin delivery system with customizable glycemic targets in pediatric and adult participants with type 1 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe challenges of achieving postprandial glucose control using closed-loop systems in patients with type 1 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA comparison of postprandial glucose control in the Medtronic advanced hybrid closed-loop system versus 670GNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIOverweight and obesity in type 1 diabetes equal those of the general populationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIObesity is associated with retinopathy and macrovascular disease in type 1 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAbdominal obesity in type 1 diabetes associated with gender, cardiovascular risk factors and complications, and difficulties achieving treatment targets: a cross sectional study at a secondary care diabetes clinicNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIModern-day clinical course of type 1 diabetes mellitus after 30 years’ duration: the diabetes control and complications trial/epidemiology of diabetes interventions and complications and Pittsburgh epidemiology of diabetes complications experience (1983–2005)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISemaglutide and cardiovascular outcomes in patients with type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIOnce-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISemaglutide and cardiovascular outcomes in obesity without diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEfficacy of semaglutide in overweight and obese patients with type 1 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEvaluating the efficacy and safety of long-acting GLP-1 receptor agonists in T1DM patientsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIRecent improvements in attainment of the hemoglobin A1c target of ≤ 7. 0 % among adults with type 1 diabetes in OntarioNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIType 1 diabetes population surveillance through the BETTER Patient-Engagement Registry: development and baseline characteristicsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEfficacy and safety of liraglutide added to insulin treatment in type 1 diabetes: the ADJUNCT ONE treat-to-target randomized trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEfficacy and safety of liraglutide added to capped insulin treatment in subjects with type 1 diabetes: the ADJUNCT TWO randomized trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIImpact of baseline characteristics and beta-cell function on the efficacy and safety of subcutaneous once-weekly semaglutide: a patient-level, pooled analysis of the SUSTAIN 1–5 trialsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffects of semaglutide on beta cell function and glycaemic control in participants with type 2 diabetes: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIIncretin effects on β-cell function, replication, and mass: the human perspectiveNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEfficacy and safety of liraglutide in type 1 diabetes by baseline characteristics in the ADJUNCT ONE and ADJUNCT TWO randomized controlled trialsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIAnti-interleukin-21 antibody and liraglutide for the preservation of β-cell function in adults with recent-onset type 1 diabetes: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 2 trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILower daily carbohydrate intake is associated with improved glycemic control in adults with type 1 diabetes using a hybrid closed-loop systemNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIReductions in insulin resistance are mediated primarily via weight loss in subjects with type 2 diabetes on semaglutideNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIOnce-weekly semaglutide reduces HbA1c and body weight in patients with type 2 diabetes regardless of background common OAD: a subgroup analysis from SUSTAIN 2–4 and 10No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOISemaglutide improves postprandial glucose and lipid metabolism, and delays first-hour gastric emptying in subjects with obesityNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffects of aerobic training and semaglutide treatment on pancreatic β-cell secretory function in patients with type 2 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIThe association between GLP-1 receptor agonist and diabetic ketoacidosis in the FDA adverse event reporting systemNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEuglycaemic diabetic ketoacidosisNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIStarvation-induced true diabetic euglycemic ketoacidosis in severe depressionNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDiabetic ketoacidosis in a patient with type I diabetes treated with a closed-loop sensor-augmented insulin infusion systemNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEuglycemic diabetic keto acidosis in a type 1 diabetic patient after glucose like peptide-1 administration: a case presentationNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIContinuous glucose monitoring and metrics for clinical trials: an international consensus statementNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIEffect of degree of weight loss on health benefitsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIOptimal sampling duration for continuous glucose monitoring to determine long-term glycemic controlNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDuration of hybrid closed-loop insulin therapy to achieve representative glycemic outcomes in adults with type 1 diabetesNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOILow-dose empagliflozin as adjunct to hybrid closed-loop insulin therapy in adults with suboptimally controlled type 1 diabetes: a randomized crossover controlled trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIA novel dual-hormone insulin-and-pramlintide artificial pancreas for type 1 diabetes: a randomized controlled crossover trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIOutpatient overnight glucose control with dual-hormone artificial pancreas, single-hormone artificial pancreas, or conventional insulin pump therapy in children and adolescents with type 1 diabetes: an open-label, randomised controlled trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIComparison of dual-hormone artificial pancreas, single-hormone artificial pancreas, and conventional insulin pump therapy for glycaemic control in patients with type 1 diabetes: an open-label randomised controlled crossover trialNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
2 data/code links checked; 2 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT05205928LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT05205928LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
5 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 5 minor suggestions below.
5 copyedit issues flagged: mostly consistency, clarity.
- MINORconsistencyMethods, Statistical analysis“statistical analysis were performed with SPSS”→ statistical analysis was performed with SPSSSubject-verb agreement error.
- MINORclarityTable 3“Triglycerides (mmol l−1) | 1.69 [0.80, 1.78] | 0.89 [0.66, 1.09] | 1.17 [−0.63, 1.33] | 0.08 [−0.3, 0.32] | 0.07”→ The median for triglycerides at baseline (1.69) seems high compared to the IQR; consider checking the data.Potential data entry issue; the baseline median is outside the IQR of the placebo group.
- MINORconsistencyTable 3, Triglycerides row“1.17 [−0.63, 1.33]”→ Check if the lower bound should be positive; likely a typo.The CI for triglycerides at semaglutide appears to have a negative lower bound, which is implausible for a concentration.
- MINORclarityMethods, Statistical analysis“Residual values were examined for normality and, if skewed, a Wilcoxon signed-rank test was used.”→ Clarify whether the Wilcoxon test was used for the primary analysis or only for sensitivity.Ambiguity in the analysis plan.
- MINORconsistencyResults, Participant disposition“Of the 24 participants who completed the trial, six (25%) participants had detectable random plasma C-peptide levels at baseline”→ Check consistency with Table 1 which reports 8 (29%) with detectable C-peptide.The number of participants with detectable C-peptide differs between the text and Table 1.
The published work is robust overall, but readers should weigh the vague data/code availability and the minor internal inconsistencies (C-peptide counts, triglyceride CI) when interpreting results. These issues are not validity threats but warrant correction or clarification, possibly through an erratum.
- 1.HIGHdata codeDeposit the custom data-processing code in a public repository (e.g., Zenodo or GitHub with a DOI) and provide a direct link in the Code Availability statement, independent of data sharing.The current code availability is conditional on data sharing, which is inadequate for reproducibility.
- 2.HIGHdata codeClarify the data access mechanism in the Data Availability statement by specifying a managed-access platform (e.g., Vivli) or a clear request process with a defined review timeline and contact email.The current statement is vague and lacks a concrete platform or timeframe, making it difficult for readers to request data.
- 3.HIGHrigorReconcile the discrepancy in the number of participants with detectable C-peptide at baseline: Table 1 reports 8 (29%) while the Results text reports 6 (25%).This internal contradiction undermines data integrity and could confuse readers; it should be corrected in an erratum.
- 4.HIGHstatisticsVerify and correct the triglyceride confidence interval in Table 3, which has a negative lower bound (1.17 [−0.63, 1.33]) that is implausible for a concentration.An impossible confidence interval suggests a data entry or calculation error that needs correction.
- 5.MEDIUMreportingAdd an explicit statement in the Methods that the study followed the Declaration of Helsinki and/or ICH-GCP guidelines.Strengthens the regulatory compliance reporting, which is currently only implied.
- 6.MEDIUMreportingExplicitly state in the Methods that the CONSORT reporting guideline was followed, in addition to including the flow diagram.Makes adherence to reporting guidelines explicit and unambiguous.
- 7.MEDIUMotherDescribe how outliers were defined and handled in the statistical analysis, or state that no outliers were excluded.Outlier handling is not explicitly reported, which is a minor reporting gap.
- 8.MEDIUMcopyeditFix the subject-verb agreement error in the Methods: 'statistical analysis were performed' should be 'statistical analysis was performed'.Minor grammatical error that should be corrected for professionalism.
- 9.MEDIUMstatisticsClarify in the Methods whether the Wilcoxon signed-rank test was used for the primary analysis or only as a sensitivity analysis when residuals were skewed.The current wording is ambiguous about the role of the nonparametric test in the analysis plan.
- 10.LOWreportingAdd a statement on race/ethnicity demographics to the baseline table or participant disposition to improve generalizability assessment.Race/ethnicity is not reported, which limits the ability to assess external validity.
- 11.LOWdata codeConsider depositing de-identified aggregate data or derived metrics in a public repository to enhance transparency, if ethically permissible.Would improve data availability beyond the current on-request model.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.