Cabotegravir and rilpivirine for treatment of HIV infection in Africa: week 96 results from the phase 3b randomized, open-label, noninferiority CARES trial.
Kityo C, Mambule IK, Musaazi J, Sokhela S, Mugerwa H, Yawe I, Cresswell F, Siika A, Kosgei J, Shah R, Naidoo L, Opiyo K, Otike C, Möller K, Okwero M, Wambui C, Van Eygen V, Mohammed P, Addo Boateng F, Paton NI, CARES trial team
- DOI
- 10.1038/s41591-025-04041-7
- Record issued
- 2026-08-15
- Engine
- 7.39.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-21
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/f8f23672-b2e0-4494-9372-74bdcb53c22b is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- IntegrityIntegrity concern ×2−1★
- ClaimsEfficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint−0.5★
- ClaimsTreatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful−0.5★
- The numeric-impossibility checks (GRIM/GRIMMER/DEBIT/SPRITE) did not run: 24 reported means were read, and their group size is not stated where the values are printed (this source has no machine-readable table structure). These checks need the count the mean was averaged over, so none was performed.
- 01Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint
The primary efficacy endpoint is virologic suppression (HIV-1 viral load <50 copies/ml), which is a surrogate marker for clinical outcomes. The paper does not demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD data) nor cite validated evidence linking this surrogate to clinical outcomes such as mortality or AIDS progression. The claim of noninferiority is based solely on this surrogate.
“the primary outcome for our analysis up to 96 weeks was VL <50 copies ml −1 , using the Food and Drug Administration snapshot algorithm”
- 02Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningful
The primary effect is a 97% viral suppression rate in both groups, which is high, but the paper does not anchor this to a minimal clinically important difference or demonstrate that the small difference (-0.4%) is clinically meaningful. The noninferiority margin is statistical, not clinical. The effect size is presented as noninferiority without explicit clinical meaningfulness.
“247/255 (97%) in the long-acting group and 250/257 (97%) in the oral therapy group had VL <50 copies ml −1 (difference −0.4%; 95% confidence interval −3.1% to 2.0%), demonstrating noninferiority”
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
This is a well-conducted and transparently reported phase 3b randomized noninferiority trial. The paper demonstrates strong scientific premise, rigorous design, comprehensive reporting of biological variables, ethical approvals, key resources, statistical methods, data availability, and transparency. Minor reporting gaps include unspecified randomization method and placeholder accession numbers.
Both reviewers independently scored all eight dimensions and agreed on all statuses. The study type is interventional (randomized controlled trial). Non-applicable sub-criteria (e.g., animal-related, cell line authentication) were excluded from scoring. The statistics verification covered only a subset of reported tests; no errors were found, but this does not constitute a full validation.
Numerical inconsistencies
1 finding · worst lowValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
Recomputed 1 test: 1 consistent, 0 inconsistent; 1 via agent-written checks.
- UNCOMPUTABLEreported p = .710 · recomputed p = .222Reviewers 1, 2P-value for heterogeneity of treatment response by baseline rilpivirine resistance mutations (P=0.71).
“difference 15.2 (95% CI −43.2 to 11.5) percentage points; P = 0.71 for heterogeneity of treatment response by baseline resistance mutations”
Taken as given: The 2x2 table is constructed from the numbers: long-acting with resistance: 11 suppressed, 3 not; oral with resistance: 15 suppressed, 1 not.; The test is a chi-square test for heterogeneity (Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel) with 1 degree of freedom.; The p-value is two-sided.Method: Recomputed using Pearson's chi-square test on the 2x2 table (11,3,15,1).How we recomputed it: pChi2x2(11,3,15,1) - CONSISTENTreported p = .018 · recomputed p = .017Reviewer 1P-value for adjusted difference in trunk fat mass change in women (P=0.018).
“adjusted difference 1.01 (0.18 to 1.84) kg, P = 0.018”
Taken as given: The estimate is 1.01 kg with 95% CI 0.18 to 1.84.; The CI is two-sided at 95%.; The p-value is two-sided for the difference from zero.Method: Recomputed p-value from the estimate and 95% CI using normal approximation.How we recomputed it: pCI(1.01, 0.18, 1.84, 0)
- lowinternal contradictionThe abstract states '247/255 (97%)' and '250/257 (97%)' for viral suppression, but Table 2 shows '247 (97%)' and '250 (97%)' with denominators implied. No contradiction.
“At 96 weeks, 247/255 (97%) in the long-acting group and 250/257 (97%) in the oral therapy group had VL <50 copies ml −1”
Table 2Find in source
Overstated conclusions
2 findings · worst highConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Efficacy rests on an unvalidated surrogate endpointAssessed
- Treatment effect not shown to be clinically meaningfulAssessed
9 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- supportedReviewer 1Cabotegravir and rilpivirine long-acting therapy is noninferior to oral therapy for viral suppression at week 96.The primary outcome shows 97% suppression in both groups with a difference of -0.4% (95% CI -3.1 to 2.0), meeting the noninferiority margin.Evidence: Table 2: 247/255 (97%) vs 250/257 (97%), difference -0.4% (95% CI -3.1 to 2.0).
“At 96 weeks, 247/255 (97%) in the long-acting group and 250/257 (97%) in the oral therapy group had VL <50 copies ml −1 (difference −0.4%; 95% confidence interval −3.1% to 2.0%), demonstrating noninferiority.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Long-acting therapy has an acceptable safety and tolerability profile.The paper reports grade ≥3 adverse events in 16% vs 9%, but most were unrelated to study drug, and only one led to discontinuation. This is consistent with acceptable safety.Evidence: Table 4: 41/255 (16%) vs 22/257 (9%) grade ≥3 AEs; only one treatment-related discontinuation.
“Adverse events of severity grade ≥3 occurred in 41/255 (16%) in the long-acting group and in 22/257 (9%) in the oral therapy group, mostly considered unrelated to the study drug; only one treatment-related adverse event in the long-acting group led to a decision to discontinue treatment (injection-site abscess).”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 1Long-acting therapy produces durable virologic suppression.The 96-week results show sustained suppression, extending the 48-week findings.Evidence: Primary outcome at 96 weeks: 97% suppression in both groups.
“Cabotegravir and rilpivirine long-acting therapy produced durable virologic suppression, met the prespecified noninferiority endpoint compared with oral therapy and demonstrated an acceptable safety and tolerability profile.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2Long-acting therapy may be considered for use in African treatment programs.The evidence supports this recommendation, though the paper notes limitations such as lack of blinding and the need for implementation studies.Evidence: Noninferiority and acceptable safety in a representative African population.
“Long-acting therapy may be considered for use in African treatment programs.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2The trial did not meet the noninferiority criterion for confirmed virological failure.The paper explicitly states this, with a difference of 1.6% (95% CI 0.4 to 4.2) exceeding the 4% margin.Evidence: Table 2: Confirmed virological failure 4/255 (2%) vs 0, difference 1.6 (0.4 to 4.2).
“This outcome did not meet the prespecified noninferiority criterion (Table ).”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Cabotegravir and rilpivirine long-acting therapy produced durable virologic suppression and met the prespecified noninferiority endpoint compared with oral therapy.The primary outcome at week 96 shows 97% suppression in both groups with a difference of -0.4% (95% CI -3.1 to 2.0), meeting the noninferiority margin.Evidence: Table 2: 247/255 (97%) vs 250/257 (97%), difference -0.4 (95% CI -3.1 to 2.0).
“Cabotegravir and rilpivirine long-acting therapy produced durable virologic suppression, met the prespecified noninferiority endpoint compared with oral therapy”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2The trial demonstrated an acceptable safety and tolerability profile.Safety outcomes show grade ≥3 adverse events in 16% vs 9%, but most were unrelated to study drug; only one treatment-related discontinuation. This supports acceptable safety.Evidence: Table 4: 41/255 (16%) vs 22/257 (9%) grade ≥3 AEs; one injection-site abscess led to discontinuation.
“demonstrated an acceptable safety and tolerability profile”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2Baseline rilpivirine resistance mutations were associated with higher risk of virological failure on long-acting therapy.The paper reports 2/14 (14%) with baseline rilpivirine resistance mutations had virological failure vs 2/194 (1%) without, consistent with the published prediction model.Evidence: Results: 'Two participants (14%) of 14 with rilpivirine resistance mutations ... versus two (1%) of 194 without rilpivirine resistance mutations at baseline had virological failure in the long-acting therapy group.'
Two participants (14%) of 14 with rilpivirine resistance mutations on retrospective sequencing of DNA stored at baseline ... versus two (1%) of 194 without rilpivirine resistance mutations at baseline had virological failure in the long-acting therapy group
Resultsreviewer’s wording - supportedReviewer 2Routine testing of proviral DNA for resistance mutations would be unfeasible and unnecessary as a routine selection step before starting long-acting therapy in the public health approach.The paper provides evidence on low yield, low positive predictive value, and high cost, supporting this conclusion.Evidence: Discussion: 'the low yield, low positive predictive value, high additional cost, challenges of performing and interpreting sequencing on proviral DNA and infrequent overlap with obesity suggests that routine testing ... would be unfeasible and unnecessary.'
“routine testing of proviral DNA for resistance mutations would be unfeasible and unnecessary as a routine selection step to screen people before starting cabotegravir and rilpivirine long-acting therapy in the public health approach in this region”
DiscussionFind in source
Premise concern: surrogate not validated for clinical benefit; effect size not shown to be clinically meaningful.
- INADEQUATESurrogate endpointThe primary efficacy endpoint is virologic suppression (HIV-1 viral load <50 copies/ml), which is a surrogate marker for clinical outcomes. The paper does not demonstrate target engagement at the tested dose (e.g., PK/PD data) nor cite validated evidence linking this surrogate to clinical outcomes such as mortality or AIDS progression. The claim of noninferiority is based solely on this surrogate.
“the primary outcome for our analysis up to 96 weeks was VL <50 copies ml −1 , using the Food and Drug Administration snapshot algorithm”
- INADEQUATEEffect sizeThe primary effect is a 97% viral suppression rate in both groups, which is high, but the paper does not anchor this to a minimal clinically important difference or demonstrate that the small difference (-0.4%) is clinically meaningful. The noninferiority margin is statistical, not clinical. The effect size is presented as noninferiority without explicit clinical meaningfulness.
“247/255 (97%) in the long-acting group and 250/257 (97%) in the oral therapy group had VL <50 copies ml −1 (difference −0.4%; 95% confidence interval −3.1% to 2.0%), demonstrating noninferiority”
Data authenticity concerns
1 finding · worst lowAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
- Other integrity concernAssessed
2 integrity concerns flagged (0 high).
- lowotherThe paper reports that 4 participants in the long-acting group had virological failure, but one of these was not confirmed due to death. This is clearly explained.
Confirmed virological failure (one without a confirmatory viral load test, but with high-level resistance that would have precluded resupplication had a confirmatory test been performed) occurred in 4/255 (2%) participants
Resultsreviewer’s wording
Reporting gaps
None foundRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
The introduction cites WHO recommendations and prior registrational trials of cabotegravir/rilpivirine, noting they were conducted mainly in Europe and North America. It explicitly states that evidence in Africa is limited to one trial (this trial) and that longer-term follow-up is needed, providing a logical rationale for the 96-week analysis. The paper addresses limitations of prior work by highlighting the need for data in a population with high proportions of women and Black participants, NNRTI exposure, and African viral subtypes.
“A two-drug regimen of cabotegravir (an integrase inhibitor) and rilpivirine (a non-NRTI, NNRTI) given by intramuscular injection once every 4 or 8 weeks, has been shown to maintain viral suppression and to increase treatment satisfaction in participants switching from standard therapy in registrational trials done mainly in Europe and North America”
“Such long-acting therapy may also be a valuable alternative to standard oral therapy in treatment programs in Africa, but evidence is currently limited to one trial (this trial), which reported successful outcomes at 48 weeks”
“Longer-term follow-up is needed to establish the durability of this regimen in a setting typical of the public health approach and in a population with a high proportion of women and Black participants, extensive prior exposure to NNRTI-containing regimens, and viral subtypes common in Africa.”
“A two-drug regimen of cabotegravir (an integrase inhibitor) and rilpivirine (a non-NRTI, NNRTI) given by intramuscular injection once every 4 or 8 weeks, has been shown to maintain viral suppression and to increase treatment satisfaction in participants switching from standard therapy in registrational trials done mainly in Europe and North America”
“Such long-acting therapy may also be a valuable alternative to standard oral therapy in treatment programs in Africa, but evidence is currently limited to one trial (this trial), which reported successful outcomes at 48 weeks”
“Longer-term follow-up is needed to establish the durability of this regimen in a setting typical of the public health approach and in a population with a high proportion of women and Black participants”
The trial is described as a prospective, multicenter, randomized, open-label, noninferiority trial. Randomization was 1:1, though the specific method (e.g., computer-generated) is not detailed, but this is acceptable for a clinical trial. The unit of randomization is the participant. Blinding was not feasible due to different routes of administration, and this is explicitly stated as a limitation. A priori power analysis is provided for both primary and key secondary outcomes, with assumptions and calculated sample sizes. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are described (e.g., stable on first-line oral therapy, VL <50 copies/ml, no past virologic failure). The analysis population (intention-to-treat exposed) and per-protocol population are defined, addressing missing data and outliers. The control group is the standard oral therapy arm. Independent replication is not applicable for a single pivotal trial.
“This was a prospective, multicenter, randomized, open-label, noninferiority, 96-week trial comparing switch to long-acting therapy versus maintaining daily oral therapy”
“For the key secondary outcome, we assumed that 1.7% would have confirmed virological failure in both arms (based on previous 8-weekly long-acting trials) ; with a hierarchical testing procedure, 4% noninferiority margin, 5% two-sided significance level and 85% power, we calculated that 512 participants (256 per group) were required to show noninferiority.”
“The main limitation of the trial was the lack of blinding, which was not feasible due to the different routes of administration between the experimental and standard treatments.”
“512 were enrolled into the trial and randomized between 15 September 2021 and 31 August 2022”
“The main limitation of the trial was the lack of blinding, which was not feasible due to the different routes of administration between the experimental and standard treatments.”
Sex is reported for all participants (58% female). Age is reported as median and IQR, and age groups are provided. BMI and obesity status are reported. Demographics include country, race, and prior NNRTI exposure. Since both sexes are enrolled, sex_justified is not applicable. Species/strain and housing conditions are not applicable for a human trial.
“Female | 146 (57) | 149 (58) | 295 (58)”
“Median age (IQR), years | 43 (36–51) | 42 (35–49) | 42 (35–51)”
“Black race, no. (%) ‡ | 254 (100) | 256 (100) | 510 (100)”
“Female | 146 (57) | 149 (58) | 295 (58)”
“Median age (IQR), years | 43 (36–51) | 42 (35–49) | 42 (35–51)”
“Black race, no. (%) ‡ | 254 (100) | 256 (100) | 510 (100)”
The paper lists specific ethics committees for each country (e.g., Joint Clinical Research Centre Research Ethics Committee, University of The Witwatersrand Johannesburg Human Research Ethics Committee) and states that the protocol was approved. It also states that all participants provided written informed consent. Regulatory compliance is stated via adherence to the Declaration of Helsinki.
“The trial protocol was approved by the ethics body responsible for each clinical research site (Joint Clinical Research Centre Research Ethics Committee and the Uganda National Council for Science and Technology, all in Uganda; Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital Institutional Scientific and Ethics Review Committee, Aga Khan University Institutional Scientific and Ethics Review Committee, and Kenya Medical Research Institute Scientific and Ethics Review Unit, all in Kenya; University of The Witwatersrand Johannesburg Human Research Ethics Committee, and South African Medical Research Council Human Research Ethics Committee, all in South Africa)”
“All trial participants provided written informed consent.”
“This trial complies with all relevant ethical regulations and was conducted in accordance with the trial protocol and the ethical principles originating in the Declaration of Helsinki.”
“The trial protocol was approved by the ethics body responsible for each clinical research site (Joint Clinical Research Centre Research Ethics Committee and the Uganda National Council for Science and Technology, all in Uganda; Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital Institutional Scientific and Ethics Review Committee, Aga Khan University Institutional Scientific and Ethics Review Committee, and Kenya Medical Research Institute Scientific and Ethics Review Unit, all in Kenya; University of The Witwatersrand Johannesburg Human Research Ethics Committee, and South African Medical Research Council Human Research Ethics Committee, all in South Africa)”
“All trial participants provided written informed consent.”
“This trial complies with all relevant ethical regulations and was conducted in accordance with the trial protocol and the ethical principles originating in the Declaration of Helsinki.”
The trial uses cabotegravir (600 mg) and rilpivirine (900 mg) as the investigational products, with manufacturer (ViiV and Janssen) implied through acknowledgements. The oral comparator (tenofovir/lamivudine/dolutegravir) is also identified. Statistical software (Stata 16.1 and R 4.3.3) is identified. Antibodies, cell lines, mycoplasma, and organisms are not applicable for this clinical trial.
“switch to cabotegravir (600 mg) and rilpivirine (900 mg) intramuscular injections every 8 weeks”
“All analyses were conducted using Stata software version 16.1 (StataCorp), except for the estimation of differences in proportions for the efficacy analysis, which was performed using R version 4.3.3.”
“switch to cabotegravir (600 mg) and rilpivirine (900 mg) intramuscular injections every 8 weeks”
“All analyses were conducted using Stata software version 16.1 (StataCorp), except for the estimation of differences in proportions for the efficacy analysis, which was performed using R version 4.3.3.”
The primary analysis uses the FDA snapshot algorithm and Cochran–Mantel–Haenszel-weighted Miettinen and Nurminen method, which is named. Sensitivity analyses are described. Exact p-values are reported for some outcomes (e.g., P = 0.71 for heterogeneity, P = 0.018 for DEXA). Effect sizes with 95% CIs are reported throughout. Software is identified. Data presentation includes per-group n and percentages. Mathematical plausibility checks were not performed due to lack of raw data, but no obvious inconsistencies were noted.
“The between-group difference was estimated using the Cochran–Mantel–Haenszel-weighted Miettinen and Nurminen method, adjusting for third-drug class (INSTI or NNRTI) at screening.”
“adjusted difference 1.01 (0.18 to 1.84) kg, P = 0.018”
“difference −0.4 percentage points; 95% confidence interval (CI) −3.1 to 2.0”
“The between-group difference was estimated using the Cochran–Mantel–Haenszel-weighted Miettinen and Nurminen method”
“adjusted mean difference 9.6 percentage points; 95% CI 7.5 to 11.8; P < 0.0001”
“difference −0.4 percentage points; 95% confidence interval (CI) −3.1 to 2.0”
The data availability statement provides a concrete mechanism: requests to the corresponding author, review by an independent Trial Steering Committee, and a response within 2 months. This is adequate for patient-level data. Sequencing data will be made available in GenBank, providing accession numbers (though placeholders are used). Code sharing is not applicable as no bespoke code is mentioned.
“Anonymized individual participant data that underlie the results reported in this Article (including data dictionaries) and study documents can be requested for a period of up to 24 months after publication of this Article. An independent review process of data access requests is required under the trial governance structure which formed the basis for local ethics and regulatory approvals.”
“DNA and RNA sequences will be made available in GenBank upon publication of the Article, under accession numbers [X -Y]”
“DNA and RNA sequences will be made available in GenBank upon publication of the Article, under accession numbers [X -Y]”
The trial is registered on PACTR with a registration number. A reporting summary is mentioned. All prespecified outcomes are reported, including secondary and exploratory outcomes. Limitations are discussed, including lack of blinding and generalizability. Conclusions are proportional to the evidence. Funding sources and competing interests are declared.
“The trial was registered on the Pan African Clinical Trials Registry (PACTR, registration number 202104874490818, date of registration 16 April 2021).”
“The main limitation of the trial was the lack of blinding, which was not feasible due to the different routes of administration between the experimental and standard treatments.”
“Janssen funded the trial with a grant awarded to the Joint Clinical Research Centre (CK), which subsequently disbursed funds by subcontracting clinical sites and other entities involved in conducting the trial.”
“The trial was registered on the Pan African Clinical Trials Registry (PACTR, registration number 202104874490818, date of registration 16 April 2021).”
“Reporting summary Further information on research design is available in the linked to this article.”
“The main limitation of the trial was the lack of blinding, which was not feasible due to the different routes of administration between the experimental and standard treatments.”
Registered (1 ID: ClinicalTrials.gov). Reporting guideline cited: CONSORT.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 33 references by DOI: 26 verified — 7 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIConsolidated Guidelines on HIV Prevention, Testing, Treatment, Service Delivery and Monitoring: Recommendations for a Public Health ApproachNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIOverview of WHO Recommendations on HIV and Sexually Transmitted Infection Testing, Prevention, Treatment, Care and Service DeliveryNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIDivision of AIDS Table for Grading the Severity of Adult and Paediatric Adverse Events (Version 2.1, March 2017)No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOI2022 update of the drug resistance mutations in HIV-1No DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIStanford University HIV Drug Resistance DatabaseNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOIHuman Immunodeficiency Virus-1 Infection: Developing Antiretroviral Drugs for TreatmentNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
- NO DOI1993 revised classification system for HIV infection and expanded surveillance case definition for AIDS among adolescents and adultsNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
2 data/code links checked; 2 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT05546242LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.govLIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
Copyediting
4 minorWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
No major wording or formatting errors. 4 minor suggestions below.
4 copyedit issues flagged: mostly typo, consistency.
- MINORtypoAbstract“cabotegravir (600 mg) and rilpivirine (900 mg) intramuscular injections every 8 weeks (optional 4-week oral lead-in).”→ Consider adding a hyphen: '4-week oral lead-in' is correct, but 'intramuscular injections' could be 'intramuscular (IM) injections' for clarity.Minor clarity improvement.
- MINORconsistencyTable 1“Date are n (%), n / N (%) or median (IQR).”→ Change 'Date' to 'Data'.Typo in table footnote.
- MINORconsistencyData availability“under accession numbers [X -Y]”→ Replace placeholders with actual accession numbers.Placeholder not yet filled.
- MINORtypoAbstract“PACTR registration: 202104874490818.”→ Consider adding 'number' for clarity: 'PACTR registration number: 202104874490818.'Minor clarity improvement.
The published work is robust and well-reported. An informed reader should weigh the minor reporting gaps (randomization method not specified, placeholder accession numbers) and the open-label design as limitations, but these do not undermine the overall validity. No erratum or re-analysis is warranted based on the available evidence.
- 1.HIGHdata codeIn the Data availability section, replace the placeholder GenBank accession numbers [X-Y] with the actual accession numbers.Placeholder accession numbers are not actionable for readers and undermine the data availability statement.
- 2.HIGHrigorIn the Methods (Trial design and oversight), specify the randomization method (e.g., computer-generated random sequence, block size, stratification factors).The randomization method is a key methodological detail that is currently not reported, which is a minor but important transparency gap.
- 3.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods, add a statement about the statistical analysis plan being publicly available or registered (e.g., on a repository or as a supplementary file).Enhances transparency and allows readers to verify that analyses were prespecified.
- 4.MEDIUMreportingIn the Results, for the primary outcome, consider reporting the exact p-value in addition to the confidence interval.While CI-only is acceptable, exact p-values can aid interpretation and align with the exact_p_values criterion.
- 5.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods, clarify the randomization allocation ratio (1:1) and whether stratification was used.Provides complete information about the randomization procedure.
- 6.MEDIUMreportingIn the Data availability section, specify the conditions for data access more explicitly (e.g., criteria for approval, any restrictions).Improves clarity for potential data requesters.
- 7.MEDIUMreportingIn the Results, for subgroup analyses, report the number of participants in each subgroup to aid interpretation.Subgroup analyses without denominators can be misleading.
- 8.MEDIUMreportingIn the Discussion, discuss the potential impact of the open-label design on subjective outcomes (e.g., treatment satisfaction) more thoroughly.Acknowledging this limitation strengthens the interpretation of subjective endpoints.
- 9.MEDIUMreportingIn the Methods, describe the process for handling missing data for the primary outcome (e.g., multiple imputation) if applicable.Clarifies how missing data were addressed, which is important for trial validity.
- 10.LOWcopyeditIn Table 1 footnote, change 'Date are n (%)' to 'Data are n (%)'.Fixes a typo in the table footnote.
- 11.LOWcopyeditIn the Abstract, consider adding 'number' after 'PACTR registration' for clarity.Minor clarity improvement.
- 12.LOWcopyeditIn the Abstract, consider using 'intramuscular (IM) injections' for clarity.Minor clarity improvement.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.