Safety and Immunogenicity of an rVSV Lassa Fever Vaccine Candidate.
Malkin E, Zaric M, Kieh M, Baden LR, Fitz-Patrick D, Marini A, Yun H, Hayes P, Bromell R, Ayorinde M, Fernandez N, Varma R, Sigei F, Ward M, Pindolia H, Sewell S, Amini F, Blie J, Wilson B, Faley P, McCullough J, Tokpah F, Wisseh C, Towalid E, Hadawale S, Sayeed E, Hunt D, Keshavarzi N, Barin B, Maljkovic Berry I, Parks CL, Truter SG, Walker K, Vekemans J, Lehrman J, Engelbrecht M, Malherbe M, Laufer D, Philiponis V, Higgs E, Mutua G, Fast PE, Gupta SB, rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC Study Group
- DOI
- 10.1056/NEJMoa2501073
- Record issued
- 2026-08-10
- Engine
- 7.29.0
- Exported
- 2026-09-22
Prepared by Alpha1. This document is confidential: it is intended for the recipient it was shared with and must not be redistributed. The live record at alpha1science.com/verify/fb5cb766-4eb0-4704-a0dc-dc0cbd86db62 is authoritative.
How this rating was calculated
- StatisticsStatistic did not reproduce−0.5★
- IntegrityIntegrity concern−0.5★
- ReportingKey resources not met−0.5★
- ReportingData & code availability not met−0.5★
- ReportingStudy design partially met−0.25★
- ReportingEthical approvals partially met−0.25★
- 01Printed percentage does not match its own count
20% does not match the reported count 2/20
“20.0% (2/20) of US placebo recipients”
Vaccine Safety and ReactogenicityFind in source - 02Key resources not identified
Most key resources are inadequately identified or missing. The investigational product is named but its manufacturing details are only in supplementary. Antibodies and cell lines used in assays are not fully identified, and software is not mentioned. This results in a 'fail' rating.
“Anti-LASV-GPC serum IgG antibodies were quantified by ELISA using a standard curve (first International Standard of Anti-LASV Antibodies [National Institute for Biological Standards and Control, 20/202]).”
MethodsFind in source - 03Data and code not shared
The paper does not include a data availability statement, repository deposit, accession numbers, or code sharing. For a clinical trial, a data availability statement is required and is missing, leading to a 'fail' rating.
This Kaimen Rigor review uses Kaimen Rigor reviewers trained on a curated corpus of high-fidelity and retracted papers, with expert supervision and curation. It can still make mistakes; verify each finding against the source before relying on it.
A well-conducted, registered Phase 1 vaccine trial with a sound premise, thorough immunogenicity/safety reporting using estimation with 95% CIs, disclosed funding, and proportional conclusions. The main weaknesses are reporting/transparency gaps in the accessible text: no data-availability statement, ethics details (named IRB, informed consent) and randomization method deferred to the supplement, the investigational vaccine manufacturer and statistical software not identified, and a denominator typo in the safety results.
Three independently sampled runs of the same model (AI) plus a copyedit pass and verification components (citation, statistics, reproducibility, preregistration, integrity, claim audit) were synthesized. Reviewers diverged on biological variables (pass vs warn), key resources (warn vs fail), statistical analysis (pass vs warn), and data code availability (warn vs fail); each divergence is documented in the dimension details. Statistics coverage was partial (one test recomputed; the sole inconsistency is the 2/20 denominator typo; no decision errors); 38 citations checked with zero retracted/not-found; reproduction links live (2/3 checked); trial preregistered on ClinicalTrials.gov.
Numerical inconsistencies
2 findings · worst highValues that contradict each other or are impossible for the stated sample: recomputed p-values and test statistics, GRIM/GRIMMER checks on summary numbers, percentages against their own counts, totals against their parts, and estimates against their own confidence intervals.
- Summary statistic impossible for the stated N (GRIM/GRIMMER)Recomputed
- Internal contradictions in the reported numbersAssessed
1 reported summary statistic mathematically impossible for the stated N (PERCENT).
- PERCENT20% does not match the reported count 2/20
“20.0% (2/20) of US placebo recipients”
Vaccine Safety and ReactogenicityFind in source
- lowinternal contradictionUnsolicited AEs in US placebo recipients are reported as '20.0% (2/20)', but Table 1 gives US placebo n=10 (2 per group across Groups 1-4), for which 2/10 = 20.0% and 2/20 = 10%; the denominator is a likely typo.
“(versus 20.0% (2/20) and 25% (3/12) of placebo recipients, respectively, through day 28”
ResultsFind in source
Overstated conclusions
1 finding · worst lowConclusions that reach past what the paper's own results support — including a significance claim that no longer holds when the statistic is recomputed, and efficacy resting on an unvalidated surrogate endpoint.
- Conclusions only partially backed by the presented evidenceAssessed
10 major claims checked against the paper's own evidence: all adequately supported.
- partialReviewer 3The vaccine induces cross-reactive antibodies against multiple LASV lineages.The paper shows cross-reactivity data for lineages II, III, and IV in the text and mentions cross-reactivity to other lineages, but the data are not fully presented in the main text (e.g., lineage I, VII).Evidence: Figure S? and text: 'Vaccine-induced antibodies exhibited multiple LASV lineage cross-reactivity' and 'Binding IgG to LASV lineages I, II, III, and VII GPCs were also detected.'Discussionreviewer’s wording
- supportedReviewers 1, 3The rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC vaccine demonstrated an acceptable safety profile.The reported data (no vaccine-related SAEs, transient reactogenicity, no discontinuations due to AEs) directly support this claim.Evidence: No serious vaccine-related adverse events; minimal local reactions; dose-dependent transient systemic reactogenicity; no AESIs or discontinuations due to AEs in Results.
“No serious vaccine-related adverse events were reported.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 3The vaccine was immunogenic over a wide dose range.Binding and neutralizing antibody and T-cell responses were detected across all single-dose groups (2×10^4 to 2×10^7 PFU) in both cohorts.Evidence: IgG responses in 42/43 US and 44/48 Liberian vaccinees; neutralizing responses in 42/43 US and 36/48 Liberian vaccinees; ELISpot responses in all 31 tested US vaccinees.
“All doses induced robust long-lasting cellular and humoral (binding and neutralizing) responses that cross-reacted against common LASV lineages.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2No hearing loss was detected.The paper reports no hearing loss and no AESIs (new hearing loss ≥30 dB defined as AESI).Evidence: Pure-tone audiometry before and 1-, 3-, and 12-months post-vaccination; 'No hearing loss was detected.'
“No hearing loss was detected.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 2, 3No infectious vaccine virus particles were found in plasma, urine or saliva.RNA-positive samples were negative by Vero cell plaque assay, directly supporting the claim.Evidence: RT-qPCR-positive samples tested by Vero cell plaque assay; 'No infectious vaccine virus was recovered by plaque assay from any RNA-positive samples.'
“No infectious vaccine virus was recovered by plaque assay from any RNA-positive samples.”
ResultsFind in source - supportedReviewers 1, 3Second vaccination provided no appreciable benefit to humoral or cellular responses.The Group 4B data show no boosting of antibody responses post-second dose, consistent with the claim, though Group 4B was small and non-randomized.Evidence: 'Like LASV GPC-specific IgG responses, neutralizing antibodies were not boosted post-second immunization (Group 4B)' and similar T-cell responses.
“Second vaccination provided no appreciable benefit to humoral or cellular responses.”
DiscussionFind in source - supportedReviewer 2No serious vaccine-related adverse events were reported.The paper explicitly states this in the Abstract and Results, and provides supporting data on adverse events.Evidence: Abstract: 'No serious vaccine-related adverse events were reported.' Results: reports only one probably vaccine-related AE (elevated AST) and no vaccine-related SAEs.
“No serious vaccine-related adverse events were reported.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2The rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC vaccine caused minimal local reactions and dose-dependent, mild-to-severe early-onset systemic reactogenicity that was transient.The paper reports local and systemic AE rates by dose group, severity, and duration, supporting the claim.Evidence: Results and Figure 1 detail local and systemic reactogenicity events, including Grade 3 events that resolved within days.
“The rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC vaccine caused minimal local reactions and dose-dependent, mild-to-severe early-onset systemic reactogenicity that was transient.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2All doses induced robust long-lasting cellular and humoral (binding and neutralizing) responses that cross-reacted against common LASV lineages.The paper provides antibody titers, neutralizing antibody data across lineages, and T-cell responses, showing responses at multiple time points.Evidence: Results and Figures 2 and 3 show binding and neutralizing antibody responses and T-cell responses for all dose groups up to 12 months.
“All doses induced robust long-lasting cellular and humoral (binding and neutralizing) responses that cross-reacted against common LASV lineages.”
AbstractFind in source - supportedReviewer 2rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC vaccine demonstrated an acceptable safety profile and was immunogenic over a wide dose range in healthy adults.The paper provides comprehensive safety and immunogenicity data supporting this conclusion.Evidence: The entire Results and Discussion sections support this claim with data on AEs, antibody responses, and T-cell responses.
“rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC vaccine demonstrated an acceptable safety profile and was immunogenic over a wide dose range in healthy adults in the United States and Liberia.”
ConclusionFind in source
Data authenticity concerns
None foundAn adversarial read for patterns associated with data that may not be genuine: results that look too clean, implausibly large effects, duplicated data or images, and methods that do not match the results reported.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Reporting gaps
4 findings · worst highRequired detail the manuscript never states — study design, biological variables, ethics approval and consent, key resources, statistical reporting, data and code availability, and overall transparency.
- Data and code not sharedAssessed
- Key resources not identifiedAssessed
- Ethics/consent reporting incompleteAssessed
- Study-design details incomplete (controls, blinding, power)Assessed
The introduction cites prior outbreaks, the lack of approved vaccines, and the success of the rVSVΔG-ZEBOV-GP vaccine. It explicitly states the candidate's development and 100% efficacy in non-human primates. The hypothesis that the vaccine will be safe and immunogenic follows directly. Limitations of prior research (only animal data) are implicitly addressed by the need for human data, though not explicitly discussed.
“No vaccines are approved for Lassa fever to alleviate health and economic burdens or to prepare for pandemics.”
“Based on the same approach, Merck developed a rVSVΔG Zaire Ebola virus (ERVEBO) chimera, approved by FDA, EMA, and African countries.”
“No vaccines are approved for Lassa fever to alleviate health and economic burdens or to prepare for pandemics.”
“A consortium led by International Aids Vaccine Initiative (IAVI) is advancing a Lassa fever vaccine based on replication-competent recombinant vesicular stomatitis virus (rVSV) vector with VSV envelope glycoprotein gene exchanged for LASV glycoprotein complex (LASV-GPC; rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC).”
“No vaccines are approved for Lassa fever to alleviate health and economic burdens or to prepare for pandemics. A consortium led by International Aids Vaccine Initiative (IAVI) is advancing a Lassa fever vaccine based on replication-competent recombinant vesicular stomatitis virus (rVSV) vector with VSV envelope glycoprotein gene exchanged for LASV glycoprotein complex (LASV-GPC; rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC).”
“rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC, developed at the Public Health Agency of Canada , demonstrated 100% efficacy in non-human primates and other models.”
Randomization method is stated as 'randomized (4:1)' but the specific method (e.g., computer-generated) is only referenced to the Supplementary Appendix. Randomization unit (participant) is clear. Blinding is stated as 'double-blind' but no further details on who was blinded or how. No power analysis is reported, which is common for Phase 1 but still a missing element. Inclusion/exclusion criteria are partially described but full details are in supplementary. Outlier handling (analysis population) is adequately defined. Overall, 3 of 6 applicable sub-criteria are adequate.
“randomization, blinding, US FDA and the Liberia Medicine and Health Regulatory Authority Investigational New Drug authorizations, Institutional Review, eligibility criteria and enrollment are detailed in the .”
“randomized (4:1) to intramuscular rVSV∆G-LASV-GPC or placebo (matched diluent)”
“This study was not powered for formal hypothesis testing and analyses were not adjusted for multiplicity.”
“double-blind study”
“This study was not powered for formal hypothesis testing and analyses were not adjusted for multiplicity.”
“This study was not powered for formal hypothesis testing and analyses were not adjusted for multiplicity.”
“These assessments were performed in persons who received at least one vaccine or placebo and contributed both a pre-vaccination sample and at least one post-vaccination serum sample with valid results.”
The paper reports the number of male and female participants and median age with range for both cohorts. The representativeness of the study population is summarized in a supplementary table. Comorbidities are not reported, but the study enrolled healthy adults. Since sex was balanced, sex_justified is not applicable.
“Of 80 US volunteers screened, 53 (31 female, 22 male) were enrolled, median age 26 years (range: 18-49)”
“Of 175 Liberian volunteers screened, 61 (32 female, 29 male) were enrolled, median age 24 years (range: 18-43)”
“The representativeness of the enrolled individuals is summarized in .”
“Of 80 US volunteers screened, 53 (31 female, 22 male) were enrolled”
“median age 26 years (range: 18-49)”
“Of 80 US volunteers screened, 53 (31 female, 22 male) were enrolled”
“median age 26 years (range: 18-49)”
The paper mentions 'Institutional Review' and regulatory authorizations in the Supplementary Appendix, but no named ethics committee, protocol number, or explicit approval statement is given in the main text. Informed consent is not mentioned. Regulatory compliance with recognized frameworks (e.g., Declaration of Helsinki) is not stated. The trial registration number is provided, but that does not substitute for an ethics statement.
“randomization, blinding, US FDA and the Liberia Medicine and Health Regulatory Authority Investigational New Drug authorizations, Institutional Review, eligibility criteria and enrollment are detailed in the .”
The rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC vaccine is identified but manufacturing is referenced to supplementary. Antibodies for ELISAs are from a commercial kit (Zalgen Labs) and a standard, but no clone/RRID, dilution, or validation data are given. Vero cells used for plaque assay are not authenticated or tested for mycoplasma. Organisms (the vaccine virus) are adequately described. Software for analysis is not identified. Only 1 of 6 applicable sub-criteria is adequate.
“Anti-LASV-GPC serum IgG antibodies were quantified by ELISA using a standard curve (first International Standard of Anti-LASV Antibodies [National Institute for Biological Standards and Control, 20/202])”
“Anti-LASV-GPC serum IgG antibodies were quantified by ELISA using a standard curve (first International Standard of Anti-LASV Antibodies [National Institute for Biological Standards and Control, 20/202]).”
“RT-qPCR positive samples were tested for replication-competent rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC by Vero cell plaque assay.”
Tests are named (Spearman's rank test, geometric means, CIs). Assumptions are not verified, but this is common for a descriptive Phase 1 study. No p-values are reported, so exact_p_values is not applicable. Effect sizes are reported with CIs. Software is not identified. Data presentation includes GMs with 95% CIs and per-group n, which is standard. No arithmetic errors were detected. 4 of 6 applicable sub-criteria are adequate.
“Binding and neutralizing antibody levels were summarized by geometric mean (GM) and 95% confidence interval (CI).”
“Post-hoc correlation analyses used Spearman’s rank test.”
“geometric mean (GM) and 95% confidence interval (CI)”
“Post-hoc correlation analyses used Spearman’s rank test.”
“This study was not powered for formal hypothesis testing and analyses were not adjusted for multiplicity.”
The paper mentions the protocol is available at NEJM.org, but no statement about data availability. No repository deposit or accession numbers are provided. No code is shared. All four sub-criteria are not reported.
The trial is registered at ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT04794218). The methods are described in sufficient detail for replication, with additional details in the supplementary. All pre-specified outcomes (safety, immunogenicity) are reported, including negative results (e.g., no hearing loss, no infectious virus found). Limitations are explicitly discussed. Conclusions are appropriately cautious. Funding sources and conflict of interest disclosures are provided.
“Trial reg: NCT04794218 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04794218)”
“Study limitations warrant comment. This was a Phase 1 study and hypothesis testing was not performed.”
“Trial reg: NCT04794218 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04794218)”
“This was a Phase 1 study and hypothesis testing was not performed. It included a relatively small sample, among whom several US participants were lost to follow-up and a few participants in Liberia had pre-existing antibodies to LASV.”
“Trial reg: NCT04794218 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04794218)”
“Study limitations warrant comment. This was a Phase 1 study and hypothesis testing was not performed. It included a relatively small sample, among whom several US participants were lost to follow-up and a few participants in Liberia had pre-existing antibodies to LASV.”
Registered (2 IDs: ClinicalTrials.gov). No reporting guideline cited.
Broken references and links
None foundReferences checked against Crossref, OpenAlex and Retraction Watch for retractions and resolvability, plus declared data and code links probed for whether they resolve to content matching the paper.
Checked — nothing surfaced.
Checked 38 references by DOI: 37 verified — 1 no DOI (shown, not verified).
- NO DOIEbola vaccination starts in Sierra Leone to prevent new outbreakNo DOI in the reference — shown for manual review; not independently verifiable (not a fabrication signal).
3 data/code links checked; 2 live.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04794218LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttps://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT05868733LIVEHTTP 200Resolves, but the content could not be matched to the paper.
- datahttp://NEJM.orgUNVERIFIEDHTTP 403Liveness indeterminate — content not checked.
Copyediting
1 finding · worst lowWording, consistency and formatting errors that need correcting before submission.
- Wording or formatting errors that need correctingAssessed
12 copyedit issues flagged (4 major): mostly consistency, clarity, other.
- MAJORconsistencyMethods - Trial design and oversight“Its manufacture is described in the .”→ Insert the missing supplementary reference (e.g., 'the Supplementary Appendix').Sentence ends with an empty cross-reference placeholder.
- MAJORconsistencyMethods - Trial design and oversight“randomization, blinding, US FDA and the Liberia Medicine and Health Regulatory Authority Investigational New Drug authorizations, Institutional Review, eligibility criteria and enrollment are detailed in the .”→ Complete the sentence with the supplementary reference and specify the IRB body.Truncated sentence with empty reference; also the only mention of ethics approval.
- MAJORconsistencyResults - Participants“The representativeness of the enrolled individuals is summarized in .”→ Insert the figure/table cross-reference.Empty placeholder.
- MAJORconsistencyResults - Vaccine Safety“(, and , and ).”→ Insert the intended figure/table references.Empty citation placeholders.
- MINORconsistencyResults - Vaccine Safety“20.0% (2/20) and 25% (3/12) of placebo recipients”→ Change to '20.0% (2/10)' since US placebo n=10.2/20 = 10%, inconsistent with the stated 20.0%; Table 1 shows US placebo n=10.
- MINORclarityDiscussion“Follow-up Phase 2/3 clinical studies are ongoing ( ClinicalTrials.org (http://ClinicalTrials.org) NCT05868733”→ Standardize the ClinicalTrials.gov reference format and remove the stray space.Awkward formatting of the URL citation.
- MINORotherAbstract, author list“Malkin Elissa Zaric Marija Kieh Mark Baden Lindsey Fitz-Patrick David Marini Arianna Yun Heejin Hayes Peter Bromell Rachel Ayorinde Morolayo Fernandez Natalia Varma Ruhani Sigei Faith Ward Matthew Pindolia Hema Sewell Shayna Amini Fahimah Blie Julie Wilson Barthalomew Faley Patrick McCullough John Tokpah Franklin Wisseh Cecelia Towalid Elvis Hadawale Swapnil Sayeed Eddy Hunt Devin Keshavarzi Nahid Barin Burc Berry Irina Maljkovic Parks Christopher L Truter Shobhna Gopal Walker Kathleen Vekemans Johan Lehrman Jennifer Engelbrecht Michelle Malherbe Mariette Laufer Dagna Philiponis Vincent Higgs Elizabeth Mutua Gaudensia Fast Patricia E Gupta Swati B for the rVSVΔG-LASV-GPC Study Group”→ Format author names with proper punctuation and separation (e.g., 'Malkin, E., Zaric, M., Kieh, M., ...').The author list appears as a single string without commas or line breaks.
- MINORclarityMethods, Trial design, first paragraph“The assignment into Group 4A occurred for participants declining second dose or to balance the overall group sizes between Group 4A and 4B.”→ Rephrase for clarity: 'Participants who declined a second dose were assigned to Group 4A; the remaining participants were assigned to Group 4B to balance group sizes.'The sentence structure is somewhat convoluted.
- MINORclarityAbstract, Methods“participant groups were vaccinated with a single dose of 2×10 4 PFU, 2×10 5 PFU, 2×10 6 PFU, 2×10 7 PFU or placebo or with two doses of 2×10 7 PFU or placebo, using a 6-20-week window period.”→ Rephrase for clarity: 'Participants received either a single dose of 2×10^4, 2×10^5, 2×10^6, or 2×10^7 PFU of vaccine or placebo, or two doses of 2×10^7 PFU or placebo separated by 6-20 weeks.'The original sentence is long and could be split.
- MINORconsistencyResults, Table 1“Table 1: Study Schema ... Total = 114 (92/22)”→ Ensure that the total number of participants (114) is consistent with the sum of US (53) and Liberian (61) enrollees, which is 114. This is consistent.No issue, but the table is not fully transcribed in the text.
- MINORclarityDiscussion, paragraph 6“All US-based vaccinees with samples beyond day 15 generated LASV-GPC specific IgG binding and neutralizing antibodies, whereas a small proportion of Liberian vaccinees did not.”→ Consider adding a footnote or supplementary table showing the exact numbers for clarity.This is a notable observation that could be better supported with data.
- MINORotherMethods, Trial design“The authors vouch for the accuracy and completeness of data and data analyses, along with the conduct of the trial according to the protocol (available at NEJM.org (http://NEJM.org) ).”→ Add a statement about data availability, not just protocol availability.This is a minor omission but important for transparency.
The published work is substantively sound — a registered, double-blind, placebo-controlled Phase 1 trial with estimation-based reporting, internally consistent arithmetic apart from one denominator typo, no decision errors, and no citation-integrity flags. An informed reader should weigh the transparency gaps in the accessible text (no data-availability statement, ethics and randomization details deferred to the supplement, statistical software and vaccine manufacturer not named) and note that these are likely covered in the full published version/supplement; the denominator typo ('20.0% (2/20)' vs 2/10) is a concrete internal inconsistency that warrants a correction.
- 1.HIGHdata codeAdd a data-availability statement to the end matter specifying a concrete access route for de-identified participant data (e.g., a managed-access platform such as Vivli/YODA, or a named committee with conditions and timeframe); if the published version already carries one, verify it is present.A clinical trial with no accessible data-availability statement fails ICMJE/good-practice expectations and is a transparency gap readers will weigh.
- 2.HIGHethicsName the approving ethics committee(s) with protocol/approval numbers and state the informed-consent procedure (written/oral) in the Methods Ethics section; if these are only in the supplement, confirm they appear in the published version — and if genuinely absent, issue a correction.The accessible text defers ethics approval to the supplement and contains no informed-consent statement, an applicable human-subjects reporting gap.
- 3.HIGHstatisticsCorrect the denominator typo '20.0% (2/20)' for US placebo unsolicited adverse events to '20.0% (2/10)' (US placebo n=10) in Results - Vaccine Safety.The integrity check flagged this as an internal contradiction (2/20=10%, not 20.0%); it is a demonstrable error in a published result and warrants correction.
- 4.HIGHreportingComplete the empty cross-reference placeholders in Methods ('Its manufacture is described in the .', 'detailed in the .') and Results ('summarized in .', '(, and , and ).') so the supplement/table/figure references resolve.Broken/empty placeholders make eligibility criteria, randomization, demographics, and safety data non-retrievable in the published version.
- 5.HIGHreportingState the randomization method (e.g., computer-generated block randomization stratified by site) and who was blinded in the main-text Methods rather than deferring fully to the supplement.Randomization and blinding are core design elements that should be reproducible from the main text.
- 6.HIGHstatisticsIdentify the statistical software and version used for all analyses in the Statistical analysis section.All three reviewers flagged the absence of statistical software as a reproducibility gap.
- 7.HIGHrigorReport the investigational vaccine's manufacturer/source (and lot if available) in the main text, and state cell-line authentication/mycoplasma status for the Vero plaque assay.The central investigational product is not fully identified in the accessible text and the Vero cells used in the assay are not authenticated — key-resource gaps that drove the fail rating.
- 8.HIGHreportingAdd a CONSORT 2010 reporting-guideline reference (and ideally a flow diagram/checklist as supplementary material) to the Methods or a reporting statement.No reporting guideline is referenced; CONSORT is expected for a randomized trial.
- 9.HIGHreportingProvide the full inclusion/exclusion criteria and full demographics (race/ethnicity) in the main text or a summary table rather than only deferring to a supplementary table.Two reviewers rated the demographic/main-text reporting inadequate; completeness here aids generalizability assessment.
- 10.MEDIUMstatisticsAdd a brief sample-size or dose-escalation design rationale statement to the Statistical analysis section, even if the study was not powered for hypothesis testing.A stated rationale for group sizes improves transparency even for a descriptive Phase 1 study.
- 11.MEDIUMcopyeditFormat the author list (currently a single unpunctuated string) with proper punctuation and separation.The author byline is unreadable as presented.
- 12.MEDIUMcopyeditClarify the Group 4A/4B assignment sentence and the abstract dosing sentence ('single dose of 2×10^4... or with two doses...') for readability.Both sentences are convoluted and could be misread; the copyedit pass flagged them for clarity.
- 13.LOWcopyeditStandardize the ClinicalTrials.gov URL citation in the Discussion (remove stray space, consistent format).Minor formatting inconsistency in a citation URL.
The star rating is the report’s one-glance summary. Every paper starts at 5★ and loses stars for the concrete problems the review finds — so a rating is never a vague average, it’s a running total you can read line by line under “How this rating was calculated.”
- Reporting — 8 dimensionseach dimension that fully fails−½★
- each dimension partially met−¼★
- Statistics · Integrity · Claimseach serious problem−1★
- each medium problem−½★
- Citationseach retracted or unverifiable reference−¼★
- Copyeditonly when the manuscript needs a full edit−½★
The rating never drops below 1★, and a demonstrable critical failure (an impossible statistic, a proven ethics violation) caps it at 1★ on its own — so the stars can never look healthy when the verdict is CRITICAL.
The rating draws on a panel of agents. Three independent Kaimen Rigor reviewers grade the eight dimensions below across several independent passes (the shown verdict is their majority vote — steadier than any single run), isolate the paper’s major claims and check its own evidence backs them, and flag integrity concerns. Alongside them, a citation agent resolves every reference against Crossref, OpenAlex, and Retraction Watch; a statistics agent recomputes reported tests; and rule-based checks verify that declared data/code links actually resolve. Full text is required — an abstract-only submission is not analyzed.
Graded against NIH, MDAR, ARRIVE 2.0, CONSORT, EQUATOR, and RRID guidelines. A dimension that doesn’t apply to the study type is skipped, never penalized.
This Kaimen Rigor review is model-assisted and is not a substitute for formal expert review. It complements human evaluation by surfacing potential methodological concerns — verify each finding against the source.